Skip to Search



A Guide to the Cal Yeomans Collection

Finding aid created by Jim Liversidge

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2009


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Yeomans, Cal, 1938-2001
Title: Cal Yeomans Collection
Dates: 1938-2001
Abstract: Lee Calvin "Cal" Yeomans (1938-2001) was a playwright, poet, actor, artist, educator, lecturer, photographer, real estate investor, land developer and philanthropist who is considered a key contributor to the gay theatre movement of the 1970s and 1980s. The collection is comprised of play and multi-media scripts (in various rewrite stages), poetry, prose, notes, personal and professional correspondence, reviews, newspaper clippings, family papers, personal and exhibit photographs, ephemera, journals, audio recordings, financial records and business correspondence.
Extent: 39.25 Linear feet. 66 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 261
Language(s): English
Access: Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.

Biographical/Historical Note

Lee Calvin "Cal" Yeomans, who described himself as "... a playwright, poet [and] image-maker who found his place," was born in Ocala, Florida on June 13, 1938 and raised in Crystal River, Florida. He was the son of Lee Columbus "L.C." Yeomans, a respected Central Florida businessman (owner of the Miller Point Fish Company and the Regent Movie Theatre in Crystal River) and a powerful Florida legislator. His mother, Vada Allen Yeomans, was a school teacher, business woman and, in the words of Cal Yeomans, "a feminist before her time." Vada's ancestral roots ran deep in Florida history as the great-granddaughter of Citrus County settler John Earl Allen.

Cal Yeomans attended Florida State University (1956-1961) as a business major, but was instinctively drawn to the campus theatre scene and to a variety of summer stock companies throughout the United States. He eventually moved to New York City, without a degree, to study theatre with William Hickey at the HB Studio. In 1963, Cal Yeomans' artistic muse led to a "theatre job" in Atlanta (The Pocket Theatre) where he also worked as a model for the Fashion Institute of America, as a department store window designer and as a teacher of fashion design at Massey College. By 1971, he was back in New York to work in various capacities with Ellen Stewart's La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club (E.T.C.), but a series of nervous breakdowns derailed his career and aspirations in 1975. His slow recovery, extended hospitalization and diagnosis as a paranoid schizophrenic severed his close ties to the New York theatre community and cast a doubt on his future.

In 1977, Cal Yeomans moved to San Francisco and began writing play scripts as a form of therapy and creative release. After leaving the West Coast and returning to Central Florida "for good this time [to] forget theatre" he was discovered "like Lana Turner" when his play, Richmond Jim (described by playwright and theatre critic, Robert Chesley, as "The first genuinely gay play.") was produced by Theatre Rhinoceros in San Francisco and revived at the first NYC Gay Arts Festival. After receiving the Cable Car Award for Outstanding Achievement in Drama (1979), Yeomans followed up this success with Sunsets: A Beach Trilogy produced in 1981 by the Stonewall Repertory Theatre in NYC and by the 544 Natoma Performance Gallery in San Francisco. The New York City production was later revived at the Third National Gay Arts Festival (Chicago, 1982).

Yeomans continued to write (plays, prose and extensive journals) as he focused his attention to the needs of his elderly mother and the family real estate properties in the mid 1980s. For the next 15 years, he expressed his artistic inspiration through poetry and photography producing a series of poetry collections and photo exhibitions (still life studies and male nudes). A number of his individual poems and photographs were reproduced in national publications during the 1980s and 1990s.

1n 1996, Yeomans discovered he had contracted AIDS and, for the remaining years of his life, he devoted his efforts to creating a personal and family legacy through a series of philanthropic activities. The Yeomans Nature Park in Crystal River, Florida, was established on 40 acres of land donated by Cal Yeomans in memory of his parents in 1997. Yeomans also established a number of endowment funds at the University of Florida in Gainesville including The Lee C. Yeomans Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences Fellowship in the Institute of Food and Agriculture Sciences (IFAS), The Vada Allen Yeomans Professorship in Women's Studies at the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and The Calvin Yeomans Special Collections Enrichment Fund for the George A. Smathers Libraries. Cal Yeomans died of heart failure on October 31, 2001.

For more information about Yeomans, please visit Robert Schanke's calyeomans.com.


Scope and Content

The Cal Yeomans Collection is comprised of play and multi-media scripts (in various rewrite stages), poetry, prose, notes, personal and professional correspondence, reviews, newspaper clippings, family papers, personal and exhibit photographs, ephemera, journals, audio recordings, financial records and business correspondence. The oldest items in the collection, particularly family photographs, date from the late 19th Century and the early 20th Century (found in Vada Allen Yeomans' pre-1950 photograph albums) and the most recent items from 2001 (the year of Cal Yeomans' death). However, the bulk of material was collected and saved by Cal Yeomans during his lifetime (1938 - 2001) including all Allen and Yeomans family historical and genealogical ephemera and Crystal River and Central Florida history.

Cal Yeomans was a prolific letter writer and his correspondents include Ellen Stewart (Founder of the La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club in New York City); Eric Garber (aka "Andrew Holleran" - novelist, essayist and short story writer); Robert Chesley (playwright, theatre critic and composer); composers Boyd McDonald and Ned Rorem; actors Pat Bond, Dana Ivey and Grainger Hines; artists Michael Haykin, Egle Gatins, Rosser Shymanski, Raiford Ragsdale and Vance Hendrix; and photographer Mark I. Chester. The collection also includes extensive correspondence with Cal Yeomans' artistic collaborators, friends and family dating from childhood until his passing in 2001.

The Collection is organized in multiple groups, or series: FAMILY HISTORY, FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION - CAL YEOMANS, PHOTOGRAPHS OF CAL YEOMANS, MISCELLANEOUS PHOTOGRAPHS AND EPHEMERA (OVERSIZE), PHOTOGRAPHS OF FRIENDS AND COLLEAGUES, JOURNALS, CORRESPONDENCE, SCRIPTS, POETRY, PROSE, NOTES, CAL YEOMANS - PHOTOGRAPHER (EXHIBIT PHOTOGRAPHS), REEL TO REEL AND CASSETTE RECORDINGS, JOURNALS (OVERSIZE) and RESTRICTED JOURNALS, CORRESPONDENCE AND PHOTOGRAPHS.

The FAMILY HISTORY and FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS comprise an eclectic perspective of the Allen (maternal) and Yeoman families including the personal and public lives of his mother and father. The bulk of this material was left to Cal Yeomans after the death of his mother in the mid 1980s. The BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION - CAL YEOMANS and PHOTOGRAPHS OF CAL YEOMANS groups include childhood, school, career and social ephemera and photographs pertaining to the life of Cal Yeomans. The individual folders also highlight ephemera collected by Cal Yeomans including material of personal interest (Gay Issues, Gay Theatre, HIV/AIDS, etc.), locales (NYC; Gainesville, FL; Center, FL; Key West; San Francisco; Amsterdam; etc.) and extensive promotional and background information on each of his produced plays, publications, readings, lectures and photo exhibits.

The JOURNALS, CORRESPONDENCE and PHOTOGRAPHS OF FRIENDS AND COLLEAGUES groups offer a concise and colorful view of Cal Yeomans' private and public life. His prolific journal output and letters, along with his efforts to preserve all aspects of his life, create a vivid picture of family, friends, his chosen fields of endeavor, the world of show business, his professional colleagues, and the horrific impact of his emotional problems and his physical decline (with a backdrop of the gay community and the world-wide HIV/AIDS epidemic of the late 20th Century). The correspondence (to and from Cal Yeomans) is filed alphabetically (chronologically arranged within multiple folders) under the correspondent's name. Each correspondent is represented, if material is available, by a folder of BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION (following the collected correspondence folders).

The artistic side of Cal Yeomans is expressed through his collected SCRIPTS, POETRY, PROSE, EXHIBIT PHOTOGRAPHS, REEL TO REEL AND CASSETTE RECORDINGS and NOTES. Each play, dating back to the early 1960s (including the undated "first play" - There Ain't No Lemonade), is filed alphabetically by title and preserved in multiple stages of the creative process, including handwritten revisions and notes. His groundbreaking and controversial gay theatre productions of the 1970s and 1980s (Richmond Jim, Sunsets, etc.) are represented with correspondence, promotional ephemera and reviews. The POETRY and PROSE of Cal Yeomans date back to his childhood days and present a creative, thoughtful, sensitive, honest, sometimes angry, and often graphic mind at work. Each individual item is filed alphabetically and dated (if known) and includes handwritten revisions, notes and comments by Cal Yeomans. A single box of NOTES contains 4 folders of random ideas, thoughts, phrases, jottings, and fragments written on scraps of paper, envelopes, etc., and filed in no particular order. Yeomans wrote these notes to be used in future writings, readings, lectures and various projects and were found throughout the unprocessed collection.

The work of CAL YEOMANS - PHOTOGRAPHER (EXHIBIT PHOTOGRAPHS) is organized into Color and Black and White, as well as regular size and oversize (too large for the standard archival boxes). These exhibit photographs include still life, nature and travel studies, but are primarily male nudes (Filed under the specific name of the photo model - unless the name of the model is labeled "Unidentified"). Due to privacy concerns, restrictions have been placed on many of the images (See ACCESS AND USE RESTRICTIONS). Along with the Oversize photographic items, a number of Oversize journals and ephemera have been placed in labeled Oversize boxes and this designation is clearly noted throughout this descriptive guide.

REEL TO REEL AND CASSETTE RECORDINGS have been collected into a single box and include recorded reading and lecture rehearsals, recorded public lectures and readings presented by Cal Yeomans (c. 1970-91), recorded telephone messages left on Cal Yeomans' answering machine (1987-89), the Memorial Service for Bobby Redfern (Owner of the Curry House in Key West), six cassette taped interviews with Ernest Mickler (1988) and miscellaneous readings and reminiscences recorded by Cal Yeomans (circa 1971-95).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Due to privacy concerns, the following Journals (Boxes 56, 57, 58 and 59), Correspondence (Boxes 60, 61 and 62) and Photographs (Boxes 63, 64, 65 and 66) have been restricted and closed until further notice. The dates for the boxes listed above are noted in the finding aid. For more information, please speak with the Collection Curator or Archivist.


Related or Separated Material

The researcher may also be interested in the Ernest Matthew Mickler Papers found in the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries. Ernest Mickler was the author of the book, White Trash Cooking, and a close friend of Cal Yeomans.

In September 1998, Cal Yeomans donated the "Yeomans Collection of Artifacts, Photographs and Archival Paper" (documenting his Central Florida family history) to the Citrus County Historical Society in Inverness, Florida. The researcher may access more information from the Citrus County Historical Society web page.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Cal Yeomans Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

In 1978, Cal Yeomans first contacted the George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida with the intention of donating his papers for the purpose of research and the establishment of a "gay archives" (as mentioned in a November 1983 letter to a friend). In 1986, after years of discussions, the Cal Yeomans Collection (12 boxes) was accepted by Department of Special Collections representative Marcia Brookbank as a donation to be added to the Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts.

Cal Yeomans also created an annual endowment for the George A. Smathers Libraries (The Calvin Yeomans Special Collections Enrichment Fund) and continued to negotiate additional donations (40 more boxes through the years) with the UF Smathers Libraries staff (Carmen Hurff, Bernard McTeague and John Ingram). He was a regular and familiar visitor to the Smathers Library Research Room until his death in 2001.


Contents List

Family History


Box
1 Allen Family Miscellaneous - Information (Obituary clipping for John Toy Allen - no date, a 1908 letter from Cal Yeomans' maternal grandmother to his aunt Bertha Allen and a photocopy of pages from the family bible noting various births and deaths) pertaining to the family of Vada Allen Yeomans (Mother of Cal Yeomans).
1 BACK HOME - A HISTORY OF CITRUS COUNTY, FLORIDA by Hampton Dunn. Published by the Citrus County Bicentennial Steering Committee (1976). The 506 page volume contains historical information on L.C. and Vada Yeomans and is inscribed by Vada Yeomans to her son, Calvin Yeomans. Includes a hand-written, two page family history by Vada Yeomans at the front of the book.
1 Christmas Letter (No date) - Copy of typed and signed (L.C. Yeomans) Christmas greeting sent by "Mr. And Mrs. L.C. Yeomans and Calvin" (Crystal River, Florida). The letter thanks "You who have rendered a loyal, faithful service to me and my business that money cannot buy.."
1 Citrus County Historical Society, Inc. (Inverness, FL) - Deed of Gift, inventory and related paperwork (1998) pertaining to Calvin Yeomans' donation of Yeomans family artifacts, photographs and papers to the Historical Society.
1 Crystal River, Florida Miscellaneous - Letters, postcards, brochures, etc. pertaining to the town and to the Yeomans family.
1 Crystal Town Association Miscellaneous - Two 1996 and 1998 Crystal River Historical calendars (including many reproduced vintage images of the town).
1 LEE, JACKSON and DAVIS: A SHORT BIOGRAPHY by Robert Wesley Smith, Jr. - A booklet "from Raiford... for Crystal River Family Biography."
1 Photo Wallet engraved ("Mother") by Cal Yeomans and presented to Vada Allen Yeomans (No date)
1 Poetry and Prose - Miscellaneous writings (c. 1970 - 93) by Cal Yeomans about Vada Allen Yeomans (Mother)
1 Postcards and Letters - Miscellaneous notes (no specific dates listed) - Sent by Vada Allen Yeomans (Mother of Cal Yeomans)
1 Postcards and Letters - Miscellaneous notes (1967 through the early 1980s) - Sent to Vada Allen Yeomans (Mother) from Cal Yeomans.
1 TRUE STORIES by Vada Allen Yeomans (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Handwritten memories presented in book form (1978) by Vada Allen Yeomans.
1 Yeomans, Lee Columbus "L.C." (Father of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous information (Newspaper clippings, photos, paperwork, etc) pertaining to the State Seafood Operators and Dealers and the Miller Point Fish Company ("L.C." was a partner in this Crystal River company). Cal Yeomans established the LEE C. YEOMANS FISHERIES AND AQUATIC SCIENCES FELLOWSHIP (in honor of his father) at the University of Florida (1996).
1 Yeomans, Lee Columbus "L.C." (Father of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous biographical information (U.S.S. Leviathan troop assignment card - U.S. Navy, etc.)
1 Yeomans, Lee Columbus "L.C." (Father of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous information (Newspaper clippings, photos, letters, stationary, etc) pertaining to his career as a Florida state representative (1945 - 51).
1 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous biographical information (Identification cards, certificates, newspaper clippings, notes, etc.)
1 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous information and sympathy cards pertaining to the death of Vada Allen Yeomans (January 23, 1985).
1 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous letters sent to Vada Allen Yeomans (c. 1966- 80) from relatives and friends.
1 Yeomans Nature Park - Crystal River, Florida - Miscellaneous information (Letters and newspaper clippings) pertaining to the donation of land by Cal Yeomans to the city of Crystal River and the establishment and dedication of a nature park in honor of the Yeomans family (1991 - 97).


Biographical Information - Cal Yeomans


Box
2 Address Books - Miscellaneous (1981 - 85)
2 Amsterdam, The Netherlands - Miscellaneous information (Letters, journal entries, brochures and programs, newsletters, etc) pertaining to the various trips to Amsterdam by Cal Yeomans in the 1990s through 2000.
2 Anclote Manor Hospital, Tarpon Springs, Florida - Documents and letters pertaining to Cal Yeoman's hospitalization following an emotional breakdown (1975 - 76).
2 Appointment Calendars and Planners - Miscellaneous (1975, 1978, 1987, 1991, 1994 and 1995).
2 Atlantic Center for the Arts, New Smyrna Beach, Florida - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous documents, letters and application information pertaining to the Allen Ginsberg Fellowship workshop at the Atlantic Center for the Arts (May 21 - June 8, 1984).
2 Atlantic Center for the Arts, New Smyrna Beach, Florida - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous documents, letters, class handouts, photos, postcards, journal entries, etc. pertaining to the Allen Ginsberg Fellowship workshop at the Atlantic Center for the Arts (May 21 - June 8, 1984).
2 Atlantic Center for the Arts, New Smyrna Beach, Florida - Folder 3 - Miscellaneous letters and journal entries pertaining to the Allen Ginsberg Fellowship workshop at the Atlantic Center for the Arts (May 21 - June 8, 1984). The folder contains Cal Yeomans' observations, opinions and reactions to the workshop (1984 - 85).
3 Cal Yeomans Collection, The - George A. Smathers Libraries, Department of Special and Area Studies Collections - Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts - Miscellaneous notes, letters, references, etc. pertaining to the acquisition of the Cal Yeomans Manuscript Collection (c. 1978 - 2001)
3 Center, Florida - Poem ("This is my home... This is where I found myself... ") by Cal Yeomans describing his mobile home and environs in Center, Florida (1985).
3 Charities - Miscellaneous letters, notes and memberships acknowledging Cal Yeomans' contributions to various charities.
3 Childhood - Miscellaneous ephemera (Letters to "Daddy," Valentine and Mother's Day cards to Vada Yeomans, etc.)
3 Christmas Card (No date) - "Season's Greetings" photo (of illuminated manger scene) card sent by Cal Yeomans.
3 Christopher Street Magazine - Issue 114 (1987) - 2 copies featuring "A Portfolio by Calvin Yeomans" (pages 40 -47).
3 Classified Advertisements (c. 1999) - Miscellaneous classified dating advertisements composed by Cal Yeomans.
3 Crystal River High School (1956) - Miscellaneous ephemera pertaining to Cal Yeomans' high school graduation (Name cards, awards, certificates, diploma and graduation tassel).
3 Crystal River Library - Newspaper photograph clipping (June 3, 1981) - The Crystal River Music Club presenting "assistant Librarian" Cal Yeomans with a donated book for the library holdings. Cal Yeomans worked as a library assistant (paid position).
3 Crystal River (Florida) Real Estate - Miscellaneous information (Documents, ledgers, notes, letters, etc.) pertaining to Crystal River properties owned by Cal Yeomans and his family.
3 Crystal River Grade School (1945 - 51) - Miscellaneous award and honors certificates presented to Cal Yeomans during his grade school years.
3 Crystal River Grade School (1948 - 53) - Miscellaneous school work (Papers and notebooks) of Cal Yeomans.
3 Fashion Institute of America, The - Atlanta, Georgia - Miscellaneous letters pertaining to a class fashion project (Cal Yeomans - Instructor) and Cal Yeomans, as fashion model, in newspaper photograph (c. 1969)
3 Financial Information - Miscellaneous investment and banking documents of Cal Yeomans (1975 - 99).
3 First Baptist Church, Crystal River, Florida - Miscellaneous Bible School certificates presented to Cal Yeomans (1944 - 51)
3 Flat Rock Playhouse, Hendersonville, North Carolina - "Room Service" program (Cal Yeomans as "Senator Blake") - The Vagabond Players (c.1957) - "North Carolina's First Professional Equity Company."
3 Florida Boys State, Tallahassee - Certificate of Attendance (June 18 - 25, 1955)
3 Florida State University, Tallahassee - Cal Yeomans' official course transcript (1956)
3 Florida State University, Tallahassee - School of Music/Opera Guild - Miscellaneous theatre production programs (1956 - 60). "Kiss Me Kate" (Cal Yeomans as "Stage Doorman" and "Men of the Chorus"), Rigoletto (Cal Yeomans - member of "Chorus Personnel"), "Juno and the Paycock" (Cal Yeomans as "Charles Bentham"), "The Sleeping King" (Cal Yeomans as "The Sleeping King") and "Cosi Fan Tutte" (Cal Yeomans not listed in credits).
3 Fort Lauderdale, Florida - Miscellaneous letters from Cal Yeomans pertaining to activities in Fort Lauderdale (No date).
3 Gainesville, Florida - Miscellaneous ephemera (Postcards, programs, newsletters, letters, etc.) pertaining to life in Gainesville, Florida (c. 1980s and 1990s).
3 Gay Issues - Miscellaneous ephemera (Newspaper articles, newsletters, magazines, programs, handbills, letters, notes, etc.), collected by Cal Yeomans, pertaining to issues of concern and interest in the local, state and national gay communities (c.1980s and 1990s).
4 Gay Theatre - Miscellaneous ephemera (Programs, handbills, newspaper articles, letters, etc.) pertaining to gay-themed theatre on a national, state and local level, collected by Cal Yeomans (c. 1980s and 1990s).
4 Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta - Miscellaneous papers written by Cal Yeomans for English classes at Georgia Institute of Technology (1970)
4 Glines, The - Miscellaneous ephemera (Programs, handbills, letters, etc.) pertaining to "A non-profit organization for gay arts" in New York City - collected by Cal Yeomans (1983 - 94).
4 HIV/AIDS - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous ephemera (Pamphlets, newsletters, newspaper articles, personal letters, notes, memorials, fundraising information, medical information, political posters, handbills and buttons, etc) collected by Cal Yeomans (1980s and 1990s).
4 HIV/AIDS - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous ephemera (Pamphlets, newsletters, newspaper articles, personal letters, notes, memorials, fundraising information, medical information, political posters, handbills and buttons, etc) collected by Cal Yeomans (1980s and 1990s).
4 HIV/AIDS - Folder 3 - BORROWED TIME: AN AIDS MEMOIR by Paul Monette (1988). Advance Reading Copy (Monograph paperback). NEWSWEEK review by Walter Clemons: "... shattering eloquence. The category of gay literature no longer applies: we enter the arena of human loss."
4 HIV/AIDS - Folder 4 - THE DARKER PROOF: STORIES FROM A CRISIS by Edmund White and Adam Mars-Jones (1988). Monograph paperback. "First-rate writing that aims its arrow straight for the heart of the past decade and strikes a bulls-eye" - Joseph Pintauro.
4 Hickey, William - Invitation to "a varied theatrical program" directed by William Hickey (No date) - 18th Street Playhouse, NYC (No date). Cal Yeomans studied acting under William Hickey at the HB Studio in New York City (early 1960s).
4 Identification Cards - Miscellaneous cards (Driver's license, Central Florida Community College, Sam's Club, various banks, voter registration, business cards, etc.) belonging to Cal Yeomans
4 Key West - Miscellaneous ephemera (Brochures, photographs, programs, letters, etc.) pertaining to Cal Yeomans' life in the city (c.1980s and 1990s).
4 Last Will and Testament of Lee Calvin Yeomans, The - The original Last Will and Testament (March 11, 1986) and related documents (1990).
4 LINE FORMS TO THE REAR, THE - Miscellaneous promotional and production ephemera (1980 - 81) pertaining to various productions of the play (Stonewall Repertory Theatre, Theatre Rhinoceros, etc.) written by Cal Yeomans.
4 Living Will of Lee Calvin Yeomans, The - Multiple copies of the document (January 25, 1990).
5 Massey Junior College, Atlanta, Georgia - Miscellaneous school-related ephemera (c. 1969- 70). Cal Yeomans taught fashion design at Massey Junior College.
5 Medical History - Miscellaneous ephemera pertaining to the personal medical history of Cal Yeomans.
5 Miscellaneous Biographical Information - General ephemera (Publicity photographs, newspaper articles, letters, etc.) pertaining to the life and career of Cal Yeomans (1938 - 2001).
5 MY LIFE STORY BY CALVIN - Grade school biography assignment written by Cal Yeomans (May 8, 1948).
5 Parliament House Motor Inn, Orlando, Florida - Miscellaneous promotional ephemera pertaining to "The World's Largest and Most Famous All Gay Resort and Entertainment Center" frequently visited by Cal Yeomans.
5 Passport - Document issued to Cal Yeomans (June 30, 1967 - June 30, 1970).
5 Passport - Document issued to Cal Yeomans (June 6, 1972 - June 5, 1977).
5 Passport - Document issued to Cal Yeomans (March 13, 1987 - March 12, 1997).
5 Photograph Exhibits and Shows - Miscellaneous ephemera (Promotional material, newspaper articles, letters, model releases, etc.) pertaining to various exhibits and shows presented by Cal Yeomans as professional photographer (1980s and 1990s).
5 Photographs - Miscellaneous #1 - Miscellaneous (black and white) male nude (amateur and professional) photographs (various photo sizes - c. 1900-1980s). Collected by Cal Yeomans.
5 Photographs - Miscellaneous #2 - Miscellaneous (black and white) male nude (amateur and professional) photographs (various photo sizes - c. 1900-1980s). Collected by Cal Yeomans.
5 Photographs - Miscellaneous #3 - Miscellaneous (black and white) male nude (amateur and professional) photographs (various photo sizes - c. 1900-1980s). Collected by Cal Yeomans.
6 Piano and Voice Lessons - Miscellaneous ephemera (Practice slips, diary entry, newspaper clippings, etc.) pertaining to piano and voice lessons taken by Cal Yeomans under the instruction of Mrs. Henry Edwards (Crystal River, FL - 1951-52).
6 Pocket Theatre, Atlanta, Georgia - Miscellaneous ephemera pertaining to the Pocket Theatre - Cal Yeomans was a member of the company in 1963 appearing in "The Importance of Being Ernest," etc.
6 POIRET IN EXILE - Miscellaneous ephemera (Letters, journal entries, etc.) providing background information on the formation of the play by Cal Yeoman (c. 1981).
6 Portrait Sketches of Cal Yeomans - A series of pen and ink sketches of Cal Yeomans by Roy Lohr (1984).
6 Prearranged Funeral Agreement for Cal Yeomans - Document signed by Cal Yeomans (August 31, 1994) in agreement with the Charles E. Davis Funeral Home, Inverness, FL.
6 Price, Leontyne - Folder includes an autographed 8x10 color promotional performance herald (1989) of Metropolitan Opera Star Leontyne Price (a particular favorite of Cal Yeomans). The autograph was obtained and sent by Grady McClendon to Cal Yeomans (see letter). Also a letter and poem (dedicated to Leontyne Price) by Cal Yeomans.
6 Publications - Miscellaneous ephemera (Letters, cards, copies of the Spring 1987 AMETHYST in which THE DADDY POEMS are excerpted, etc.) pertaining to publishing activities and the published works of Cal Yeomans.
6 Readings and Lectures - Miscellaneous ephemera (Programs, promotional material, letters, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc.) pertaining to the public readings and lectures of Cal Yeomans (c. 1974 - 90).
6 Recipes - Miscellaneous recipes (brochures, clippings, printouts, etc.) collected by Cal Yeomans.
6 RICHMOND JIM - Production photograph of Theatre Rhinocerous (original San Francisco production of MALE RITES, 1979).
6 RICHMOND JIM - Production photographs, New York City, 1980.
6 RICHMOND JIM - Production photograph of the 1983 Portland, Oregon play written by Cal Yeomans and directed by Jerry West.
6 RICHMOND JIM - FOLDER 1 - Miscellaneous promotional and production ephemera pertaining to various productions of the play written by Cal Yeomans.
6 RICHMOND JIM - FOLDER 2 - Miscellaneous promotional and production ephemera pertaining to various productions of the play written by Cal Yeomans.
7 ROAD KILL - Miscellaneous background and promotional information pertaining to the play by Cal Yeomans (1992).
7 San Francisco, California - Miscellaneous journal entries and notes on the city by Cal Yeomans (1977 - 89).
7 SELECTED POEMS OF JARVIN PARKS 1931 - 67 - Booklet edited by T. Gordon Little, Raiford M. Ragsdale and Cal Yeomans in conjunction with the Memorial Exhibition of his paintings at the High Museum of Art, Atlanta, Georgia (February 8, 1967).
7 Senior Center Craft Center Gift Shop, Clearwater, Florida - Note cards (Created by Cal Yeomans ?) sold at the gift shop.
7 Sketches (Pencil) - "Attempts at sketching" human figures by Cal Yeomans (c. early 1950s).
7 SUNSETS - Miscellaneous production photographs (various photo sizes and proof sheets) for various productions of the trilogy written by Cal Yeomans.
7 SUNSETS - Miscellaneous promotional and production ephemera pertaining to various productions of the trilogy written by Cal Yeomans.
7 Tallahassee Little Theatre, Florida - Miscellaneous ephemera (Programs, newspaper clippings, notes, etc) pertaining to productions (KIND LADY and THE BARRETTS OF WIMPOLE STREET) in which Cal Yeomans appeared (c. 1959 - 60).
7 TENDERLOIN SUITE, THE - Miscellaneous promotional and production ephemera pertaining to the audio visual presentation written and produced by Tom Smith, Alma Rainbow and Cal Yeomans at the Unitarian Center, San Francisco (June 1979).
7 Theatre Atlanta Off Peachtree - Miscellaneous ephemera (programs, newspaper clippings, etc.) pertaining to the 1971 production of THE IMMORALIST by Ruth and Augustus Goete. Directed by Fred Chappell with Cal Yeomans as "Michel."
7 Theatre Productions - Miscellaneous ephemera (Programs and newspaper clippings) pertaining to various productions in which Cal Yeomans appeared in the mid to late 1950s.
7 University of Florida Lesbian and Gay Society (UFLAGS) - Miscellaneous ephemera (Promotional material, programs, newsletters, letters, reading notes, newspaper clippings, script, etc.) pertaining to Cal Yeomans' various public readings of plays and poetry on the Gainesville campus (1983 - 85).
7 Valentine's Day Cards - Created and sent by Cal Yeomans (1981).
7 WET PAINT - Miscellaneous ephemera pertaining to the play written by Cal Yeomans (1974 - 84).
7 Wingspread Summer Theatre, Colon, Michigan - Miscellaneous ephemera (Photographs and newspaper clippings) pertaining to the theatre and productions featuring Cal Yeomans (c. 1960).
7 Worthington Springs, Florida - Real Estate - Miscellaneous documents, letters and journal entries pertaining to the property owned by Cal Yeomans (c. 1990 - 93).


Family Photographs


Box
8 Allen, Ellen Davis (Mother of Vada Yeomans - Maternal grandmother of Cal Yeomans) - Color-tinted photograph.
8 Crystal River, Florida - Miscellaneous photographs of the home of Vada Yeomans (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - 311 NE 9th Street, Crystal River, FL - "As she left it."
8 Crystal River, Florida - Miscellaneous photographs of Miller's Point (the Yeomans Family property) in Crystal River, FL (c.1940 - 84).
8 Crystal River, Florida - Miscellaneous photographs and slides of Crystal River, FL (c. 1947-75).
8 Crystal River, Florida - Miscellaneous photographs of Crystal River, FL taken by Vada Yeomans (Mother of Cal Yeomans) and sent to Cal Yeomans in San Francisco (1977- 78).
8 Relatives and Family Friends - Miscellaneous photographs and photo negatives of the extended Yeomans and Allen families and family friends.
8 Unidentified Photographs - Miscellaneous unidentified family photographs.
8 Yeomans, Lee Columbus "L.C." (Father of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous photographs and photo negatives of "L.C." Yeomans.
8 Yeomans, Lee Columbus and Vada Allen Yeomans (Parents of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous photographs of "L.C." and Vada Yeomans taken together.
8 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous photographs of Vada Yeomans in Europe (1972).
8 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous photographs of Vada Yeomans in the Holy Land (1974).
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous photographs of Vada Allen Yeomans.
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous photographs and photo negatives of Vada Yeomans.
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Miscellaneous photo slides of Vada Yeomans (c. 1960 - 76) in Crystal River and Ozello, FL.
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Folder 1 - Pages from Vada Yeomans' (pre - 1950) photo album.
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Folder 2 - Pages from Vada Yeomans' (pre - 1950) photo album.
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Folder 3 - Pages from Vada Yeomans' (pre - 1950) photo album.
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Folder 4 - Pages from Vada Yeomans' (pre - 1950) photo album.
9 Yeomans, Vada Allen (Mother of Cal Yeomans) - Folder 5 - Pages from Vada Yeomans' (pre - 1950) photo album.


Photographs of Cal Yeomans


Box
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white baby photograph - Crystal River, FL (1938).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 31/4x31/4 Sepia-toned (7 month old) baby photograph - Crystal River, FL - insert in Valentine's Day card (1939).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 3 - 8x10 black and white photographs of Cal Yeomans holding rubber ball - Crystal River, FL (c. 1939).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white Crystal River High School band and chorus concert photograph - Crystal River, FL (c.1945). Cal Yeomans is part of the robed children's choir (at right - directly under the tuba player - face partially obscured).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 4 - 5x7 (and 1 wallet sized) Sepia - toned photographs of Cal Yeomans on a pony (8 years old) - Crystal River, FL - (c. 1947)
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white (School?) photograph of Cal Yeomans in matching shirt and pants (hands folded on lap) - Crystal River, FL (late 1940s).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white (School?) photograph of Cal Yeomans in checkered shirt - Crystal River, FL (mid 1940s). Cal Yeomans' note: "Vada made this shirt for me."
10 Yeomans, Cal - Snapshot of Cal Yeomans (and father, "L.C.") feeding pelican at shore sea wall - unidentified location w/ text by Cal Yeomans (late 1940s).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white photograph of Cal Yeomans and father, "L.C.", on a 'gold panning expedition" in "Dahlonga (sic.)," Georgia ("about 1950").
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous childhood photographs of Cal Yeomans (1938 - 56).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white (School?) photograph of Cal Yeomans (13 years old) - Crystal River, FL - (c. 1951).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 2 - 4x5 photographs in "Zeller-O'Neal Studios, Inverness, FL" cardboard framed display folders (8th grade school photo?) - Crystal River, FL - (C. 1952).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white group photograph - Florida Boys State (June 1955) - Cal Yeomans is in back row - 2nd from right).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white group photograph of "Miss Ada's B.'s Music Club Meeting at Peeble's home in Dunellon (sic. Dunnellon, FL) - 1955." - Cal Yeomans is in back by the palm tree wearing open-collared shirt.
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 color-tinted Crystal River High School Graduation photograph - Crystal River, FL (1956).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Black and white proof sheet and photo negatives of the 1956 Senior Class Play (Unidentified) - Crystal River, FL.
10 Yeomans, Cal - 3 - 8x10 black and white production photographs of PEG O' MY HEART presented at Mars Hill College, Mars Hill, North Carolina (July 21, 1956). Cal Yeomans appeared as "Alaric" and, in photos 1 and 2 is sitting in the chair on left. In photo 3, Cal Yeomans is seen in the dark robe.
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white production photograph of unidentified play presented at the Flat Rock Playhouse, Hendersonville, North Carolina (c. 1957 - 60). Cal Yeomans is on right in top hat.
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white photograph of Cal Yeomans and Carolyn Eastwood at the Florida State University Military Ball, Tallahassee, FL - (1958). Military Ball announcement included in folder.
10 Yeomans, Cal - 2 - 5x7 black and white photographs of Cal Yeomans taken on "3rd Street, Crystal River - c. 1958."
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans from the 1950s.
10 Yeomans, Cal - 2 - 8x10 black and white proof sheets of Cal Yeomans' audition/publicity head shots (Wayne Olsen - photographer c. 1961)
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous black and white audition/publicity photographs (various sizes) - Photographs by Wayne Olsen and Evon Streetman (1961-62)
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous proof sheets, slides and photo negatives, taken by Cal Yeomans, at the Wingspread Summer Theatre, Colon, Michigan (Summers of 1960 and 1961).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous 8x10 black and white audition/publicity photographs of Cal Yeomans - "Ivey-Enberg Talent" - representatives (Atlanta, Georgia - c. 1963).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white production photograph - THE BARRETTS OF WIMPOLE STREET (Tallahassee Civic Theatre - Tallahassee, FL - c. 1960). Photo by Evon Streetman. "Cal Yeomans as 'Robert Browning'."
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white photograph of Cal Yeomans and "Miss America" ("Ricki") - Atlanta, Georgia (1969).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white production photograph of Cal Yeomans and a cat (Unidentified production) presented by the Pocket Theatre, Atlanta, Georgia (1963).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs of Cal Yeomans' Atlanta, Georgia home (27 Maddox Drive). Photos by John Ferdon (1965).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous snapshots and newspaper images of Cal Yeomans (with friends) taken in the early 1960s.
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous audition/publicity photo negatives of Cal Yeomans (early 1960s).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans by Raiford Ragsdale (1970 - 75).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous 8x10 black and white /color photographs of Cal Yeomans taken by Raiford Ragsdale in Atlanta, Georgia (1974-75).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs (Various sizes) of Cal Yeomans and friends (1973 - 75). Various photographers including John Ferdon, Charles Glazer, etc.
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs and slides taken by Cal Yeomans of Ozello, Florida property and landscape - "The Final Island" (1975).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous "self-portrait" photographs (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans taken at 193 Orchard Street, NYC (1975).
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8 - 5x8 black and white photographs of Cal Yeomans. Cal Yeomans note: "A guy named Tony took these pictures of me in Cedar Key (FL) in 1975."
10 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white production photograph of Cal Yeomans and Grainger Hines in THE IMMORALIST, Atlanta, Georgia (1970).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous 8x10 black and white (unidentified) production photographs featuring Cal Yeomans, Atlanta, Georgia (c. 1970).
10 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans taken by Raiford Ragsdale (c.1974).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous snapshots of Cal Yeomans, Crystal River, Florida (1979).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs and images (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans, NYC (1975 - 78).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous snapshots of Cal Yeomans and friends taken at 244 Hermann #4, San Francisco, CA 94117 (1977).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans and friends in Los Angeles and San Francisco (1977 - 78).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans from the 1970s.
11 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white proof sheet with photographs of "Cal Yeomans and C.D. Arnold being interviewed by Dick Hasbany, San Francisco - 1982." Photographs by Mark Chester.
11 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white photograph of Cal Yeomans and the San Francisco skyline (1982). Photograph by Mark Chester.
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous color snapshots of Cal Yeomans taken by Tom Smith - Center, Florida (c. 1982).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous color proof sheets and photo negatives, taken by Cal Yeomans, at the Atlantic Center for the Arts, New Smyrna Beach, Florida (May/June, 1984).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs of Key West property (1986 - 88). Photos by Larry Riffle, John Ferdon and Tom Smith.
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs and images (various sizes) of Cal Yeomans from the 1980s.
11 Yeomans, Cal - Photo button (badge) of Cal Yeomans (c. 1990).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous snapshots of Cal Yeomans by Martha Hoggard, Micanopy, Florida (August 1990).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous snapshots of Cal Yeomans and the Hoggard Family by Martha Hoggard - Micanopy, Florida (1990 - 91).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous 8x10 black and white photographs of Cal Yeomans by Mark I. Chester (1992).
11 Yeomans, Cal - 8x10 black and white "self portrait" photograph of Cal Yeomans and Grady McClendon - SoHo (NYC) - c. 1992
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous black and white proof sheets of Cal Yeomans and friends (1975-99). Photographs by Mark Chester.
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous black and white publicity photographs (various sizes) by Mark Chester (c. late 1990s).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous color photographs of Cal Yeomans in Amsterdam, The Netherlands (November 1996) by Jeff Wentzel.
11 Yeomans, Cal - Passport (color) photograph of Cal Yeomans (January 25, 1997).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Christmas with photograph of Cal Yeomans and friends (Amsterdam, The Netherlands - 1997).
11 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous photographs (Black and white/ color - various sizes) of Cal Yeomans and friends (1990 - 2001).


Miscellaneous Photographs and Ephemera (Oversize)


Box
12 Advocate, The (June 24, 1982) - "Gay Pride '82" issue - Article featuring Cal Yeomans (Name misspelled as "Cal Yoemans") and his views on Gay Theatre - page 51.
12 Collage (by Cal Yeomans) - "Of Youth and Class and Homosexual Love" (1989).
12 Collage (by Cal Yeomans) - "Creamed Chipped Beef #1" (1999).
12 CROW - Poster for LaMama Theatre production of "An Opera Project Work In Progress" (NYC - No date listed).
12 Jolley, Gary (Partner of Ernest Mickler) - Matted 11x15 watercolor painting - "Vase of Flowers #2" by Gary Jolley (No date listed).
12 Regent Theatre, Crystal River, Florida (Owned by the parents of Cal Yeomans) - Photograph of Irene Pugh, Nellie Hiatt and Aretha Johns at the Regent Theatre's candy bar snack counter (1953).
12 University of Florida Lesbian and Gay Society Speakers Series, Gainesville, Florida - Schedule of Speakers poster (Fall 1983) - featuring Cal Yeomans "Nationally acclaimed playwright and poet."
12 Yeomans, Cal - Audition/Publicity photograph (c.1960).
12 Yeomans, Cal - Photograph of Cal Yeomans in Athens, Georgia (June 1975). Photograph by Raiford Ragsdale.
12 Yeomans, Cal - 5x7 color photograph and snapshots - "Cock Self-Portrait" - Micanopy, Florida (1983).
12 Yeomans, Cal - 5x7 black and white photograph - "Self- Portrait" (October 25, 1988).
12 Yeomans, Cal - 21/2x31/2 color photograph (c. early 1990s).
12 Yeomans, Cal - Miscellaneous 10 1/2x13 1/2 black and white photographs of Cal Yeomans by Carolyn Jones Studio, NYC (c. 1990s).
12 ZOO STORY - Production photograph - Theatre Atlanta, Georgia - unidentified actors (1971).


Photographs of Friends and Colleagues


Box
13 Azito, Tony - One page promotional herald for "Handyrag - NYCTE - Sept.29 - 4739395."
13 Balko, Edward - Miscellaneous black and white photos (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans
13 Boetzher, Bernd - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans - Micanopy, Florida (January 1990).
13 Bond, Pat - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans taken in the Gainesville, Florida area (c. 1984 - 87).
13 Boyd, Craig - Miscellaneous 5x7 black and white photographs by Cal Yeomans - Gainesville, Florida (1987).
13 Breadstill, John - Color snapshot (Christmas 1979) - Snowcapped mountains in background (Unidentified location).
13 Brennan, Michael - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) and photo negatives (c.1970s - 1987).
13 Caussin, Jacques - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs and slides by Cal Yeomans - Ozello, Florida (November 1975).
13 Chappell, Fred - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) of Fred Chappell and family (c. 1960s - 1983) - Theatrical resume included in file.
13 Chesley, Robert - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) and photo negatives (1986 - 90). Photos by Cal Yeomans. Memorial program and a copy of the San Francisco Bay Times (July 1990) with Robert Chesley on the cover are included in the folder.
13 Deckard, Diane - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) - no specific dated listed.
13 Edmonds, Mitchell - Photo postcard, in costume, for a production of TARTUFFE - Glendale, California - sent to Cal Yeomans in 1992.
13 Emerton, Bruce - 5x7 black and white photograph by Cal Yeomans (No date listed).
13 Eubanks, Tom - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) and photo negatives by Cal Yeomans (1987).
13 Ferdon, John - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) of John Ferdon and family (c. 1940s - 80s).
13 Ferdon, John - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) of John Ferdon and family (c. 1940s - 80s).
14 Fulton, Will - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans - Ozello, Florida and Mississippi (1986 - 87).
14 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans (c. 1980s and 1990s).
14 Ginsberg, Allen - Miscellaneous color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans - Atlantic Center for the Arts, New Smyrna Beach, Florida (1984).
14 Gransden, Vern - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans - various locations (c. mid 1980s - 90s).
14 Haddix, Ralph - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans (C. 1983).
14 Hardin, Vic - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) of Vic Harden and friend by Cal Yeomans (1987 - 91).
14 Hartman, Peter - Color snapshot of Peter Hartman (Founder of the 544 Natoma "performance gallery" in San Francisco) by Cal Yeomans (No date listed). An article on Peter Hartman (by Robert Chesley) from the September 1988 issue of "Coming Up!" is included in the folder.
15 Haykin, Michael - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans and Dale Kittle (1985 - 96).
15 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix of Vance Hendrix and family (c. 1980s). Samples of the artwork of Vance Hendrix also included in the folder (No specific dates listed).
15 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous black and white/color photographs (Various sizes) and photo negatives by Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix of Vance Hendrix and family (c. 1980s).
15 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 3 - Miscellaneous 8x10 black and white photographs taken by Vance Hendrix and sent to Cal Yeomans (No specific date or location listed).
16 Hines, Grainger - Miscellaneous signed and autographed 8x10 black and white publicity and production photographs of Grainger Hines (c. 1983 - 85) and a photocopied newspaper clipping for the play ONE LAST RIDE (February 21, 1992) featuring Grainger Hines.
16 Ivey, Dana - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs and proof sheets (Various sizes - taken by Cal Yeomans) and newspaper clippings of Dana Ivey (c. 1978 - 88).
16 Jensen, Rod - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) of Rod Jensen and his artwork (c. mid 1980s) taken by Cal Yeomans.
16 Jones, Elvin - 5x7 color photograph by Cal Yeomans - Atlantic Center for the Arts, New Smyrna Beach, Florida (1984).
16 Kennedy, Jim - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) of Jim Kennedy and friend (Ukiah, California - 1987).
16 Kittle, Dale - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) taken by Cal Yeomans (c. 1991 - 97).
16 Lowman, Annette - Snapshot of Annette Lowman (Istanbul, Turkey) sent to Cal Yeomans from Annette Lowman (January 1993).
16 Lynn, Anne - Miscellaneous 8x10 black and white audition/publicity photographs and theatrical resume (No date listed).
16 McClendon, Grady - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) of Grady McClendon with his mother, Gertrude McClendon, and Cal Yeomans (Ozello, FL, Micanopy, FL, Crystal River, FL, etc. - c. 1982 - 85).
16 McCoy, Bruce - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) of Bruce McCoy and friends (Morocco, San Francisco, Brooklyn, NY, Florida, etc. - c. 1984 - 96).
16 Merryman II, Guy E. - Miscellaneous color snapshots of Guy E. Merryman II and his workplace (c. 1993).
17 Mickler, Ernie - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs and photo negatives (Various sizes) of Ernie Mickler with Gary Jolley (partner), Eric Garber, Ellen Stewart and Cal Yeomans (Florida - c. 1985 - 88).
17 Montague, Tony - Color snapshot (No date).
17 Miler, Josie - 5x7 black and white photograph by Cal Yeomans (Gainesville, FL - No date).
17 Newman, Bob - Miscellaneous 5x7 black and white photographs by Cal Yeomans (1987).
17 Parker, Michael - Color photo collage of Michael Parker by Cal Yeomans (No date).
17 Parks, Jarvin - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) of Jarvin Parks and his artwork (Atlanta, GA - c. 1959 - 66).
17 Pierce, Harrison - Color photograph of Harrison Pierce and friend and photo by Harrison Pierce of Palatka (FL) statue (c. 1986).
17 Porch, John Westley - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs and photo slides (Various sizes) of Jon Porch with Cal Yeomans and Raiford Ragsdale (c. 1979 - 80).
17 Porch, John Westley - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs and photo slides (Various sizes) of Jon Porch with Cal Yeomans and Raiford Ragsdale (c. 1979 - 94).
18 Ragsdale, Raiford - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) of and by Raiford Ragsdale (c.1970 - 1980s).
18 Reid, Zacq - Miscellaneous 5x7 black and white photographs by Cal Yeomans (c. 1987).
18 Riffle, Larry - Miscellaneous 5x7 black and white photographs and proof sheet of Larry Riffle and friend taken by Cal Yeomans (c. 1987).
18 Shymanski, Rosser, W. - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs and proof sheets (Various sizes) of and by Rosser W. Shymanski. Also included in the folder - Miscellaneous handbills and promotional material (C. 1984 -88).
18 Sitton, Jim - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) of Jim Sitton (c. 1965 - 1980s).
18 Smith, Jo Anne - 4x6 color snapshot of Jo Anne Smith (Ozello, FL - No date).
18 Smith, Tom - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) of Tom Smith (c. 1978 - 86). Includes notes by Cal Yeomans.
19 Stabley, Don - Miscellaneous 5x7 black and white photographs and photo negatives by Cal Yeomans (1986).
19 Stewart, Ellen - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) of Ellen Stewart and LaMaMa staff (c. 1974 - 78).
19 Stewart, Ellen - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) and photo negatives of Ellen Stewart in Florida (1988).
19 Unidentified Photo Models - Folder 1 - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans (c. 1980s and 90s).
19 Unidentified Photo Models - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs (Various sizes) by Cal Yeomans (c. 1980s and 90s).
19 Van Cleft, Don - Miscellaneous black and white and color photographs, proof sheet and photo negatives (various sizes) by Cal Yeomans (c. 1987).
19 Ward, Cindi - Black and white snapshot by Cal Yeomans (Ozello, FL - No date).
19 Weiss, Jeff - Black and white photograph (Various sizes ) by Cal Yeomans (NYC - 1978).
19 Welch, Mark - Miscellaneous black and white snapshots by Cal Yeomans (c. 1987).
19 Windover, Allen - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) of Allen Windover (Micanopy, FL - c. 1987).
19 Williams, Carlton - 5x7 black and white photograph by Cal Yeomans (Center, FL - 1987).
19 Wright, David - 5x7 black and white photograph by Cal Yeomans (Key West - No date).
19 Zettler, Peter - Miscellaneous black and white photographs (Various sizes) of Peter Zettler (Acrosstown Repertory Theatre, Gainesville, FL) by Cal Yeomans (1994).


Journals


Box
20 Yeomans, Cal - (c. 1963 - 64).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (February 16, 1966 - July 6, 1970).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (February 6, 1967 - Labor Day 1968).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (c. Fall 1970 - March 1, 1971).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (March 12, 1971 - June 18, 1971).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (June 20, 1971 - October 2, 1971).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (November 11, 1971 - March 25, 1972).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (March 27, 1972 - July 1972).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (Compilation of 1973 - 75 - 2 copies).
20 Yeomans, Cal - (Compilation of 1973 - 75 - Draft copy with notes and corrections and hardbound copy).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (October 22, 1972 - September 24, 1973).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (September 25, 1973 - February 8, 1974).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (February 15, 1974 - April 10, 1974).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (April 15, 1974 - October 25, 1974).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (October 25, 1974 - February 28, 1975).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (Printed - pink pages - compilation January 2 - 31, 1975).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (March 1, 1975 - August 6, 1975).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (August 14, 1975 - September 11, 1975).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (August 1975 - "My Life with Butane Driggers").
21 Yeomans, Cal - (August 26, 1975 - October 24, 1975).
21 Yeomans, Cal - (November 1975). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
21 Yeomans, Cal - (March 1976 - July 1976). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
21 Yeomans, Cal - (October 1975 - June 6, 1976).
22 Yeomans, Cal - ("Early" 1976 - January 17, 1977).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (July 4, 1976 - August 23, 1976).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (August 27, 1976 - June 26, 1977).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (OVERSIZE JOURNAL August 28, 1975 - May 14, 1976) - Filed in OVERSIZE (Flat) BOX 51.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (OVERSIZE JOURNAL December 1976 - October 1, 1978) - Filed in OVERSIZE (Flat) BOX 51.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (June 27, 1977 - September 20, 1977).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (July 21, 1977 - May 27, 1978).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (OVERSIZE JOURNAL September 24 - December 1977) - Filed in OVERSIZE (Flat) BOX 51.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (December, 14, 1977 - January 16, 1978).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (January 17, 1978 - February 7, 1978).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (February 8, 1978 - March 2, 1978).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (OVERSIZE JOURNAL June 1978) - Filed in OVERSIZE (Flat) BOX 51.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (June 1978 - July 1978). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (August 1978 - October 1978). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (October 1978 - March 1979). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (July 1978 - April 1979). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (May 1979 - December 1979). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (June 12, 1979 - December 28, 1979).
22 Yeomans, Cal - (September 2, 1979 - December 16, 1979 - "Final Island Journal").
22 Yeomans, Cal - (December 1979 - September 1982). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1980 - December 1980). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
22 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1981 - December 1981).
23 Yeomans, Cal - (September 12, 1981 - January 22, 1982).
23 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1, 1982 - December 31, 1982).
23 Yeomans, Cal - (September 23, 1982 - September 11, 1986).
23 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1, 1983 - March 31, 1983).
23 Yeomans, Cal - (April 2, 1983 - August 31, 1983).
23 Yeomans, Cal - (September 2, 1983 - December 31, 1983).
23 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1, 1984 - December 31, 1984). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
23 Yeomans, Cal - (May 1985 ).
24 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1, 1986 - May 31, 1986).
24 Yeomans, Cal - (May 3, 1986 - August 7, 1986)
24 Yeomans, Cal - (August 7, 1986 - December 31, 1986).
24 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1987 - May 1987). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
24 Yeomans, Cal - (May 1987 - November 1987). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
24 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1988 - February 1988). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
24 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1988 - July 1988). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
24 Yeomans, Cal - (July 25, 1988 - October 14, 1988).
24 Yeomans, Cal - (October 1988 - December 1988).
24 Yeomans, Cal - (January 2, 1989 - October 19, 1989).
24 Yeomans, Cal - (January 2, 1989 - February 23, 1989).
24 Yeomans, Cal - (August 29, 1989 - November 5, 1991).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (November 9, 1989 - March 12, 1990).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (March 13, 1990 - November 2, 1990).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (July 13, 1990 - January 17, 1991).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (October 21, 1990 - March 14, 1991).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (February 24, 1991 - October 7, 1991).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (March 1991 - October 1991). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
25 Yeomans, Cal - (September 22, 1991 - December 31, 1991).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1992 - May 1992). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
25 Yeomans, Cal - (May 8, 1992 - September 6, 1992).
25 Yeomans, Cal - (September11, 1992 - February 3, 1993).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (February 3, 1993 - April 1, 1993).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (May 7, 1993 - November 21, 1993).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (November 1, 1993 - December 26, 1993).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (January 6, 1994 - July 21, 1994).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (March 1994 - February 1995). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THIS JOURNAL HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
26 Yeomans, Cal - (July 31, 1994 - February 22, 1996).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (March 8, 1996 - April 30, 1996).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (April 1996 - September 1996).
26 Yeomans, Cal - (September 11, 1996 - November 4, 1996).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (November 6, 1996 - December 11, 1996).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (December 11, 1996 - March 2, 1997).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (April 12, 1997 - July 10, 1997).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (July 14, 1997 - December 15, 1997).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (December 15, 1997 - April 15, 1998).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (April 16, 1998 - August 11, 1998).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (August 11, 1998 - November 13, 1998).
27 Yeomans, Cal - (November 13, 1998 - April 10, 1999).


Correspondence


Box
28 Barton, Crawford - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Crawford Barton (1980 - 91).
28 Barton, Crawford - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Crawford Barton.
28 Bishop, Gary - Letters sent to Cal Yeomans (1981).
28 Boetzher, Bernd - Letters sent to Bernd Boetzher from Cal Yeomans (1990).
28 Bond, Pat - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans (c. 1984 - 86).
28 Brennan, Michael - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Michael Brennan (1978 - 86).
28 Caussin, Jacques-Pierre - Letters and "Jacques Notes" by Cal Yeomans to Jacques Pierre Caussin (1975).
28 Chappell, Fred - Letters, cards, photos, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Fred Chappell (1979 - 2000).
28 Chesley, Robert - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, articles, photos, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Robert Chesley (1979 - 93).
28 Chesley, Robert - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Robert Chesley (c. 1986 - 94).
28 Chesley, Robert - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. pertaining to the life, career and death of Robert Chesley (1989 - 95).
29 Chester, Mark I. - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Mark I. Chester (1982 - 96).
29 Chester, Mark I. - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Mark I. Chester (c. 1981 -96).
29 Cowan, Mark I. - Letters sent to Cal Yeomans (1987 - 96). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE CORRESPONDENCE IN THIS FOLDER HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
29 Cunningham, Billy - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Billy Cunningham (c. 1982).
29 Deckard, Diane - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Diane Deckard (1980 - 93).
29 Dreier, Ruth - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Ruth Dreier (1996 - 99).
29 Emerton, Bruce - Letter sent to Cal Yeomans from Bruce Emerton (August 24, 1988). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE CORRESPONDENCE IN THIS FOLDER HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 1 - Letters sent to Cal Yeomans from John Ferdon (December 1972 - October 1981).
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 2 - Letters sent between Cal Yeomans and John Ferdon (November 1981 - June 1983).
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Ferdon (July 1983 - December 1985).
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 4 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Ferdon (January 1986 - December 1986).
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 5 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Ferdon (January 1987 - December 1987).
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 6 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Ferdon (January 1988 - July 1988).
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 7 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Ferdon (August 188 - December 1988).
29 Ferdon, John - Folder 8 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Ferdon (January 1989 - March 1989 and "No specific date").
30 Ferdon, John - Folder 9 - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Norma Ferdon Eder (Sister of John Ferdon) following the (April 27, 1989) death of John Ferdon (April - July 1989).
30 Ferdon, John - Folder 10 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of John Ferdon.
30 Ferdon, John - Folder 11 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of John Ferdon.
30 Ferdon, John - Folder 12 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of John Ferdon.
30 Fulton, William - Letter sent to Cal Yeomans from William Fulton (May 15, 1992).
30 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Eric Garber (1986 - 2000). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE CORRESPONDENCE IN THIS FOLDER HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
30 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Eric Garber.
30 Gatins, Egle - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Egle Gatins (c.1970s and 1980s)
30 Gatins, Egle - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Egle Gatins (1990 - 99 and "No specific date").
30 Gatins, Egle - Folder 3 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Egle Gatins.
31 Gransden, Vern - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vern Gransden (1985 - 93).
31 Gransden, Vern - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vern Gransden (1994 - 2000 and "No specific date").
31 Gustafson, David - Letter sent to Cal Yeomans from David Gustafson (November 1985).
31 Hafley, Charlotte and Bruce - Postcard sent to Cal Yeomans from Charlotte and Bruce Hafley (1986).
31 Hartman, Peter - Letters sent to Cal Yeomans from Peter Hartman (1982 - 84).
31 Haykin, Michael - Folder 1 - Notes by Michael Haykin to Cal Yeomans (c. 1985 - 86) and journal entries by Cal Yeomans (1985). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE CORRESPONDENCE IN THIS FOLDER HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
31 Haykin, Michael - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Michael Haykin (1985 - 2008).
31 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (1978 - 2000 and "No specific date"). Includes letters, cards, etc sent between Cal Yeomans and members of the Hendrix family. DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE CORRESPONDENCE IN THIS FOLDER HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
31 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Vance Hendrix (aka "Joe Hendrix").
31 Hill, Kelly - Note and newspaper articles sent to Cal Yeomans from Kelly Hill (October 1992).
31 Hines, Grainger - Letters, telegrams, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Grainger Hines (1980 - 83 and "No specific date").
31 Ivey, Dana - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dana Ivey (1974 - 89).
31 Ivey, Dana - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dana Ivey (1990 - 96).
31 Ivey, Dana - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dana Ivey (1997 - 2000 and "No specific date").
31 Ivey, Dana - Folder 4 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Dana Ivey (1981 - 97).
31 Jeanrenaud, Joan - Note and card sent to Cal Yeomans from Joan Jeanrenaud (February 16, 2000).
31 Jensen, Rod - Letters, artwork, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Rod Jensen (1987 - 94 and "No specific date").
31 Kirkpatrick, Brian - Letters, newspapers articles, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Brian Kirkpatrick (1994 -96).
31 Kittle, Dale - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Dale Kittle (1987 - 2000).
32 Lowman, Annette - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Annette Lowman (1995 - 97).
32 MacCartee, Carol - Letter sent to Cal Yeomans from Carol MacCartee (June 1980).
32 McClendon, Grady - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Grady McClendon (1975 - 83).
32 McClendon, Grady - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Grady McClendon (1984 -89).
32 McClendon, Grady - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Grady McClendon (1990 - 97 and "No specific date"). Includes a few letters from Gertrude McClendon (Mother of Grady McClendon) to Cal Yeomans.
32 McCoy, Bruce - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Bruce McCoy (1982 - 92).
32 McCoy, Bruce - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Bruce McCoy (1993 - 96).
32 McCoy, Bruce - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Bruce McCoy (1997 - 2000).
32 McDonald, Boyd - Folder 1 - Letters sent between Cal Yeomans and Boyd McDonald (1987 - 90).
32 McDonald, Boyd - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Boyd McDonald (1993).
32 Meeks, A. Rayford and Nena (Cousins of Cal Yeomans) - Letters, newspaper articles, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from A. Rayford and Nena Meeks (1985 - 98 and "No specific date"). Includes a letter from Patty Hancock (1997).
32 Merryman II, Guy E. - Cards sent to Cal Yeomans from Guy Merryman II (1996).
33 Mickler, Ernest Matthew - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans (and his mother, Vada Yeomans) and Ernest Mickler (1984 - 87 and "No specific date").
33 Mickler, Ernest Matthew - Folder 2 - Miscellaneous correspondence pertaining to the life and career of Ernest Mickler (1983 - 93 and "No specific date").
33 Mickler, Ernest Matthew - Folder 3 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Ernest Mickler (1940 - 88).
33 Mickler, Ernest Matthew - Folder 4 - Legal documents pertaining to the estate of Ernest Mickler (1988 - 89).
33 Miller, Lynn - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Lynn Miller (1985 - 96).
33 Patrick, Robert - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Robert Patrick (1987 - 96 and "No specific date").
33 Patrick, Robert - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Robert Patrick.
33 Picano, Felice - Cards and publicity mailer sent to Cal Yeomans from Felice Picano (1995 - 99).
33 Pierce, Harrison - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Harrison Pierce (1983 - 90).
33 Ponyman, John Kuhner - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from John Ponyman (1983 - 84).
33 Ponyman, John Kuhner - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of John Ponyman (1983 - 84).
33 Porch, Jon Wesley - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Porch (1979).
33 Porch, Jon Wesley - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and John Porch (1980 - 94 and "No specific date").
33 Porch, Jon Wesley - Folder 3 - Miscellaneous art work by John Porch.
34 Ragsdale, Raiford - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans, Raiford Ragsdale and Vada Yeomans (1975 - 83).
34 Ragsdale, Raiford - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Raiford Ragsdale (1984 - 86).
34 Ragsdale, Raiford - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans, Raiford Ragsdale and others (1987 - 90).
34 Ragsdale, Raiford - Folder 4 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Raiford Ragsdale (1991 - 96).
34 Ragsdale, Raiford - Folder 5 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Raiford Ragsdale (No specific date).
34 Ragsdale, Raiford - Folder 6 - Miscellaneous letters pertaining to the life and career of Raiford Ragsdale (1974 - 96).
34 Ragsdale, Raiford - Folder 7 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Raiford Ragsdale (c. 1968 - 96).
35 Riffle, Larry - Letters sent between Cal Yeomans and Larry Riffle (1985 - 95).
35 Rorem, Ned - Letters, cards, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Ned Rorem (1969).
35 Sanders, Troy - Letter sent to Cal Yeomans from Troy Sanders (1982).
35 Sarton, May - Postcard and letter sent to Cal Yeomans from May Sarton (1980).
35 Shymanski, Rosser - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Rosser Shymanski (1984 - 92).
35 Shymanski, Rosser - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Rosser Shymanski.
35 Sitton, Jim - Folder 1 - Letter, cards, etc. pertaining to the life and career of Jim Sitton (1974 - 86).
35 Sitton, Jim - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Jim Sitton.
35 Smith, Tom - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, poetry, scripts, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (1978).
35 Smith, Tom - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1979 - September 1979).
35 Smith, Tom - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (October 1979).
35 Smith, Tom - Folder 4 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (November 1979 - December 1979). Also includes a 1979 letter from Dr. Tom Smith (No specific date).
36 Smith, Tom - Folder 5 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1980 - February 1980).
36 Smith, Tom - Folder 6 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (March 1980 - April 1980).
36 Smith, Tom - Folder 7 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (May 1980 - June 1980).
36 Smith, Tom - Folder 8 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (July, August and September 1980).
36 Smith, Tom - Folder 9 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (October, November and December 1980 and 1980 - "No specific date").
36 Smith, Tom - Folder 10 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1981 - May 1981).
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 11 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (June 1981 - September 1981).
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 12 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (October 1981 - December 1981 and 1981 - "No specific date").
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 13 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1982 - April 1982).
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 14 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (May 1982 - August 1982).
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 15 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (September 1982 - December 1982 and 1982 - "No specific date").
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 16 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1983 - March 1983).
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 17 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (April 1983 - July 1983).
37 Smith, Tom - Folder 18 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (August 1983 - September 1983).
38 Smith, Tom - Folder 19 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (October 1983 - December 1983 and 1983 - "No specific date").
38 Smith, Tom - Folder 20 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1984 - February 1984).
38 Smith, Tom - Folder 21 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (March 1984 - May 1984).
38 Smith, Tom - Folder 22 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (June 1984 - August 1984).
38 Smith, Tom - Folder 23 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (September 1984 - December 1984 and 1984 - "No specific date").
38 Smith, Tom - Folder 24 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1985 - July 1985).
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 25 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (August 1985 - October 1985).
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 26 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (November 1985 - December 1985 and 1985 - "No specific date").
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 27 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (January 1986 - May 1986).
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 28 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (June 1986 - December 1986 and 1986 - "No specific date").
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 29 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Dr. Tom Smith (1987).
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 30 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Tom Smith (Part 1).
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 31 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Tom Smith (Part 2).
39 Smith, Tom - Folder 32 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Tom Smith (Part 3).
40 Smith, Tom - Folder 33 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Tom Smith (Part 4).
40 Smith, Tom - Folder 33 - Ephemera (Miscellaneous cassette tapes) pertaining to the life and career of Tom Smith (Part 5).
40 Souza, Blaine - Letter, note, etc. sent to Cal Yeomans from Blaine Souza (c. 1983).
40 Stewart, Ellen - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Ellen Stewart (1972 - 1992 and "No specific date").
40 Stewart, Ellen - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent to and sent from Cal Yeomans pertaining to Ellen Stewart and LaMaMa (1984 - 92 and "No specific date").
40 Stewart, Ellen - Folder 3 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Ellen Stewart and LaMaMa.
40 Stewart, Ellen - Folder 4 - Art work (paper plates) created by Suzie Hawkins (Box Office staff member at La MaMa (No date).
40 Swett, Pat - Letters sent to Cal Yeomans from Pat Swett (1996).
40 Weiss, Jeff - Play critique from Jeff Weiss (No date).
40 Wentzel, Jeff - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Jeff Wentzel (1994 - 2000 and "No specific date"). DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE CORRESPONDENCE IN THIS FOLDER HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.
40 Wentzel, Jeff - Folder 2 - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Jeff Wentzel.
40 Zettler, Peter - Ephemera pertaining to the life and career of Peter Zettler.


Scripts by Cal Yeomans


Box
41 A.D. 1969 (1970)
41 AT THE END OF THE ROAD (1980 - Part 2 of the BEACH TRILOGY)
41 AUTUMN DIALOGUE (1983) - includes background information, notes and multiple copies (rewrites ) of the script.
41 CONVERSATION FOR THE DUKE AND DUCHESS OF WINDSOR, A (1978) - includes 4 copies (handwritten notes, the first printed draft and two final copies of the script.
41 COUNTRY PLAY (No date) includes handwritten notes.
41 DEATH OF TENNESSEE WILLIAMS, THE (No date)
41 DELL (1962) - includes a typed copy and photocopies of the script with handwritten notes.
41 EARTHLY CHARIOT, THE (1974) includes "Introductory Comments" by Jeff Weiss.
41 ELEVENTH STREET LADY (1970)
41 ESTELLE (No date) - includes THE UTTERANCE OF ESTELLE - A VERY SHORT STORY BY CAL YEOMANS, SONG FOR ESTELLE (A poem by Cal Yeomans), a handwritten copy of the script and various copies and rewrites of the script.
41 FINAL ISLAND JOURNAL, THE (1979 - Script for a multi-media presentation)
41 FRUIT PLAY (1972 - written for La MaMa). Two copies (one with collage cover created by Cal Yeomans) of the script (with "Introductory Comments by Jeff Weiss").
41 FUGUE (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
41 GAY DIALOGUE (1976 - 77) - Notebook information and preparation for the script.
41 HIBISCUS (No date) - Two copies (with handwritten notes) of the script.
41 IN A GARDEN OF CUCUMBERS (1980 - 81) - FOLDER 1 - includes a paragraph describing the play, handwritten notes and rainbow artwork by Jon Porch.
41 IN A GARDEN OF CUCUMBERS (1980 - 81) - FOLDER 2 - includes multiple copies of the play and various rewrites.
42 JOEY (1970 - 71) - written by Cal Yeomans while living in Atlanta, GA.
42 MALIBU (1979 - aka MALIBU CANYON - A GAY SOAP) - includes handwritten notes and multiple copies of the play various rewrites.
42 MERRY GO ROUND (No date - aka MERRY GO ROUND TO DISASTER) - includes multiple copies of the script including rewrites with handwritten notes.
42 MISCELLANEOUS AND UNTITLED SCRIPTS by Cal Yeomans - includes many scripts with handwritten notes.
42 MISS LIBERTY (No date) - includes notes, newspaper and magazine articles (inspiration and reference), pertaining to the play by Cal Yeomans and Fred Chappell (compiled in a folder by Cal Yeomans).
42 NEW HOPE FARM (1975)
42 ONE TWO, BOY MAN (1973 - "Second play written for La MaMa - Put into workshop but never performed") - includes multiple copies of the script at various stages and rewrites with handwritten notes.
42 PIECES OF A WAY (1978 - 85) - includes multiple copies of the script, handwritten notes, artwork, and correspondence pertaining to the script.
42 POIRET IN EXILE (1979 - a script for an audio-visual slide show) - includes handwritten notes and promotional material for the production.
42 POP IS PICKED UP AND BLASTED HOME (No date)
42 PROLOGUE AND SEVEN DIALOGUES (No date)
42 PUT THE BLAME ON MAME (1969) - includes handwritten notes.
43 REST IN PEACE, QUEEN (1982 - aka BERMA RETURNS TO THE STAGE - A BAROQUE DIVERTISSEMENT) - includes multiple copies of the script at various stages and rewrites with handwritten notes.
43 REVEREND, THE (No date)
43 RICHMOND JIM (c. 1977) - includes multiple copies of the script at various stages and rewrites with handwritten notes.
43 ROADKILL (1992) - includes three copies of the script with handwritten notes.
43 SILENCE (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
43 SOLILOQUY OF A TRANSVESTITE IN A TENDERLOIN HOTEL (1978 - "FOR TOM SMITH")
43 SOMEBODY'S ANGEL CHILD (1983) - includes multiple copies of the script with handwritten notes.
43 STOOL PLAY #1 (1976 - 77 - aka REQUIEM) - includes multiple copies of the script at various stages and rewrites with handwritten notes.
43 STUDIO PIECE (1980 - aka DIALOGUE DANS LE VERGER) - includes multiple copies of the script with handwritten notes.
44 SUNSETS (1981) - includes multiple copies of the script at various stages and rewrites with handwritten notes.
44 SWAMP PLAY #2 (1974) includes "Introductory Comments by Jeff Weiss."
44 THERE AIN'T NO LEMONADE (No date - Cal Yeomans' first play script) - includes handwritten notes.
44 TONY AND JIM (No date - unfinished script)
44 TWENTY-FIRST AND TWENTY-SECOND LOSSES OF HOMER LEE JACKSON, THE (c. 1991 - aka RATTLESNAKE SUICIDE) - includes newspaper clippings (research) and multiple copies of the script with handwritten notes.
44 WET PAINT (1978 - A TROUPE PLAY ONLY JUST BEGUN) - includes two copies.
44 WILTED WICKER (No date)


Poetry by Cal Yeomans


Box
45 BIKER POEMS, THE (1975) - handwritten
45 BOOTLESS CRIES (1979 - 80 - aka "COCK POEMS FOR A RAINY DAY") - multiple copies collected under various titles.
45 COCK POEMS FOR A RAINY DAY (1979) - handwritten and typed copies.
45 DADDY POEMS, THE (1979 -81) - Multiple copies including artwork and "found photo" illustrations, correspondence with the Gay Sunshine Press (San Francisco) and the only published portion of THE DADDY POEMS in the GAY SUNSHINE JOURNAL.
45 ELEGIES FOR KINGS AND PRINCES (1991) - Two copies with handwritten notes.
45 FRAGMENT FOR ANDREI SERBAN (1975)
45 GLORY HOLE POEMS, THE (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
45 MISCELLANEOUS POETRY by Cal Yeomans - Folder 1.
45 MISCELLANEOUS POETRY by Cal Yeomans - Folder 2.
45 PARLIAMENT HOUSE (Orlando, FL) POEMS, THE (No date).
45 POEMS FOR LUNA PARK (1983)


Prose by Cal Yeomans


Box
46 APPARITION (1977 - A FICTIONALIZED MEMOIR) - includes handwritten and typed copies.
46 BALLAD OF OLA MAE AND BABY BRUCE, THE (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
46 BEHIND THE GLASS WALL (No date)
46 BEYOND THE FAULT (1977) - Folder 1 - includes handwritten and typed notes.
46 BEYOND THE FAULT (1977 - 78) - Folder 2 - includes typed (Part 1 - HOLIDAY - 1977) and handwritten (Part 2 - 1978) copies.
46 BODY IS WHAT COUNTS, THE (1963 - Atlanta, GA)
46 CORN DOGS OF WIZARD CITY, THE (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
46 DIARY OF BUTANE DRIGGERS, THE (No date - excerpt)
46 JOURNAL OF MY DEATH (c. 1991) - includes 2 copies.
46 LETTER FROM AN OLD QUEEN TO A YOUNG QUEEN (1978) - includes handwritten notes.
46 MISCELLANEOUS PROSE - untitled writings by Cal Yeomans.
46 MOONLIGHT AND ROSES (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
46 PAIN OF WORDS, THE (No date)
46 QUEER BIO (No date) - includes multiple handwritten and typed copies with handwritten notes.
46 SHELBYVILLE SODIME CASE, THE (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
46 SILENCE (No date) - includes handwritten note.
46 SPITTING ON GRAVES (c. 1995) - includes handwritten notes.
46 SYNTHETIC METAPHOR OF CULTURAL MESSAGES (1981)
46 TAMMIE SUE (No date) - includes handwritten notes.
46 WAIF # 1 (1972) - handwritten copy.
46 YOU'RE ONLY GREY ONCE (No date) - includes handwritten note.


Notes by Cal Yeomans


Box
47 MISCELLANEOUS NOTES (No date) - Folder 1 - Random ideas, thoughts, phrases, jottings, fragments, etc. written on scraps of paper, envelopes, etc. Filed in no particular order.
47 MISCELLANEOUS NOTES (No date) - Folder 2 - Random ideas, thoughts, phrases, jottings, fragments, etc. written on scraps of paper. Filed in no particular order.
47 MISCELLANEOUS NOTES (No date) - Folder 3 - Random ideas, thoughts, phrases, jottings, fragments, etc. written on scraps of paper. Filed in no particular order.
47 MISCELLANEOUS NOTES (c. 1981) - Folder 4 - Miscellaneous notebooks containing random ideas, thoughts, phrases, jottings, fragments, etc. Filed in no particular order.


Cal Yeomans - Photographer (Exhibit Photographs)


Box
48 Exhibit Photographs - Printed promotional material pertaining to CAL YEOMANS: PHOTOGRAPHS 1983 - 86 - Cal Yeomans' 1986 photo exhibit at The Ambush (nightclub), Gainesville, FL.
48 Exhibit Photographs (Black and White) - IN THE EYE OF THE BEHOLDER - A BOOK OF BEAUTY SHOPS (1986 - 87) - photographs organized in a binder by Cal Yeomans.
48 Exhibit Photographs (Black and White) - Miscellaneous photographs and photo negatives "submitted to CHRISTOPHER STREET (magazine) to illustrate 'Andrew Holleran's' column." Includes letters pertaining to the photograph collection (c. 1987).
48 Exhibit Photographs (Black and White) - Miscellaneous photographs and photo negatives (No date).
48 Exhibit Photographs (Black and White) - Miscellaneous 8 x10 matted photographs.
48 Exhibit Photographs (Color) - Miscellaneous photographs (various sizes).
48 Exhibit Photographs (Color) - Miscellaneous BEACH photographs and photo negatives (1985 - various sizes).


Cal Yeomans - Photographer (Miscellaneous Photographs and Photo Negatives)


Box
49 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (c. 1990s) - Miscellaneous photographs (Color - various sizes)
49 Florida (c. 1980s and 1990s) - Miscellaneous photographs (Black and White and Color - various sizes).
49 Glass, Philip (May 27, 1988) - Photo series (Black and White) of composer and musician Philip Glass (University of Florida lecture, Gainesville).
49 Miscellaneous Photographs (c. 1980s and 1990s) - Black and White and Color - various sizes.
49 New York City (c. 1978) - Miscellaneous photographs (Black and White and Color - various sizes).
49 San Francisco (c. 1978) - Miscellaneous photographs (Black and White and Color - various sizes).
49 Miscellaneous Photo Negatives (c. 1974 - 86) - stored in gray acid-free box.


Miscellaneous Reel to Reel and Cassette Recordings


Box
50 Reel to Reel (3 inch) tape recording audio letter (random thoughts with music background) sent from Cal Yeomans (and unidentified friends) in Atlanta, Georgia, to Fred Chappell, New York City (date unknown). Includes CD reproduction.
50 Reel to Reel (5 inch) recorded performance (title unknown) of Fred Chappell and Cal Yeomans (Theatre Atlanta, GA - c. early 1970s). Includes CD reproduction.
50 Reel to Reel (7 inch) tape recording of IN A GARDEN OF CUCUMBERS by Cal Yeomans (Theatre Atlanta, GA - c. 1971). Includes CD reproduction.
50 Miscellaneous Cassette Recordings - Stored in gray acid free box. Includes the following in chronological order:
50 CAL YEOMANS - Rehearsal project for ONE, TWO, BOY, MAN with music by Don Arrington for the play (including the song "Waiting") (1974)
50 POIRET IN EXILE by Cal Yeomans. Read by Gary Gerdes (1979)
50 Side A: WILL'S TAPE, BERMA, etc. - Read by Cal Yeomans at University of Florida, Gainesville (c. 1983). Side B: Cal Yeomans reading and describing his play, 21ST AND 22ND LOSSES OF HOMER LEE JACKSON (Sept. 2, 1987)
50 SOMEBODY'S ANGEL CHILD, etc. - Read by Guy Bishop, Rick Jacobi, etc. - recorded by Tom Smith (September 1979)
50 GAY TALK, Gainesville, FL - Cal Yeomans reading the night Michael Brennan died (March 29, 1988)
50 CAL YEOMANS - LIVE IN KEY WEST - Homemade recording of proposed public reading of journal entries, poetry and "an audio letter" from Cal Yeomans sent to an unknown recipient (c. 1988)
50 BOBBY REDFERN (Owner of the Curry House in Key West) MEMORIAL SERVICE - Gingerbread Square Gallery, Key West, FL (May 10, 1987)
50 ERNEST MICKLER (6 cassettes) - interview with Cal Yeomans at Crescent Beach, FL (October 7-8, 1988)
50 CAL YEOMANS rehearsing for Los Angeles reading of 21ST AND 22ND LOSSES OF HOMER LEE JACKSON, SUNSETS, and LINE FORMS TO THE REAR (September 3, 1987)
50 CAL YEOMANS - Miscellaneous phone messages (1987 - 89 - 5 cassettes) - callers listed on cassette labels
50 GAY TALK, Gainesville, FL - Cal Yeomans reading PLAY FOR PETER AND HIS SCULPTURES, HIBISCUS, LETTERS TO ERIC and discussions of gay theatre and the death of Ernest Mickler (March 28, 1989)
50 CAL YEOMANS - describing a police incident in Ocala, FL - ends abruptly
50 CAL YEOMANS - reading PIECES, etc. (November 28, 1993)
50 CAL YEOMANS - Public journal and poetry reading in Gainesville, FL (c. mid 1990s)
50 CAL YEOMANS - LIVING WITH HIV - THE FIRST THREE YEARS 1991-93 - rehearsal for Gainesville, FL public reading of journals and poetry (c. mid 1990s)
50 CAL YEOMANS - reading miscellaneous (No specific date)


Journals (Oversize)


Box
51 Yeomans, Cal - (August 1975 - May 14, 1976)
51 Yeomans, Cal - (November 1976 - October 1978)
51 Yeomans, Cal - (December 1975 - September 1, 1977) - the dates do not follow in a logical sequence.
51 Yeomans, Cal - (June 1978)


Cal Yeomans - Photographer (Exhibit Photographs - Oversize - Black and White)


Box
52 Exhibit Photographs - Miscellaneous (Black and White) mounted and matted (various size) photographs (c. 1980s) - includes a MODELS NEEDED poster and a mounted poster announcing the gallery exhibit of CAL YEOMANS: PHOTOGRAPHS 1983 - 86 at THE AMBUSH in Gainesville, FL (1986).


Cal Yeomans - Photographer (Exhibit Photographs - Oversize - Color)


Box
53 Exhibit Photographs - Miscellaneous (Color) mounted and matted (various size) photographs (c. 1980s).


Cal Yeomans - Photographer (Exhibit Photographs - Oversize - Photo Collages)


Box
54 Exhibit Photographs - Miscellaneous hand colored "Homosexual/homoerotic" photo collages (with gemstones) sent in a package to Raiford Ragsdale from Cal Yeomans (May 26, 1978) with a handwritten letter on taped cardboard (included).


Photographs and Ephemera (Miscellaneous - Oversize)


Box
55 Atlantic Center for the Arts (New Smyrna Beach, FL) - 15x20 inch ARTIST IN RESIDENCE poster (May 1984) signed by Robert Frank, Elvin Jones and Allen Ginsberg.
55 FAUST (Part 1) - 13 x17 inch poster for the La MaMa - Ceta and The International Theatre Institute production (No date listed).
55 GOATMAN - 16 x 20 inch color production photograph from the La MaMa (NYC) presentation (February 1985)
55 Hardin, V. - 12 x 18 inch pastel sketch of Cal Yeomans by V. Hardin (January 27, 1991).
55 IMMORALIST, THE - 15 x 20 inch mounted production photograph from the (c. 1971) Atlanta, GA presentation of THE IMMORALIST. Pictured: Cal Yeomans (L) and Grainger Hines (r). Photograph by Michael Carr.
55 SUNSETS - THREE ACTS ON A BEACH by Cal Yeomans - 11 x 17 poster (Mounted 16 x 20) for the 544 Natoma Theatre Workshop production - San Francisco Premiere (September 1982).


Restricted Journals - DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE MATERIAL IN THE FOLLOWING BOXES HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.


Box
56 Yeomans, Cal - (November 1975).
56 Yeomans, Cal - (March 1976 - July 1976).
56 Yeomans, Cal - (July 21, 1978 - April 1979).
56 Yeomans, Cal - (May 1979 - December 1979).
56 Yeomans, Cal - (June 1978 - July 1978).
56 Yeomans, Cal - (October 1978 - March 1979).
56 Yeomans, Cal - (December 1979 - September 1982).
57 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1980 - December 1980).
57 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1984 - December 1984).
57 Yeomans, Cal - (June 1985 - December 1985).
57 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1987 - May 1987).
57 Yeomans, Cal - (May 1987 - November 1987).
57 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1988 - February 1988).
58 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1988 - July 1988).
58 Yeomans, Cal - (October 1988 - December 1988).
58 Yeomans, Cal - (March 1991 - October 1991).
58 Yeomans, Cal - (January 1992 - May 1992).
58 Yeomans, Cal - (March 1994 - February 1995).
58 Yeomans, Cal - (April 1996 - September 1996).


Restricted Journals (Oversize) - DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE MATERIAL IN THE FOLLOWING BOX HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.


Box
59 Yeomans, Cal - (August 1978 - October 1978).


Restricted Correspondence - DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS, THE MATERIAL IN THE FOLLOWING BOXES HAS BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE - FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.


Box
60 Cowan, Mark I - Letters sent to Cal Yeomans from Mark I. Cowan (1987 - 96).
60 Emerton, Bruce - Letter sent to Cal Yeomans from Bruce Emerton (August 24, 1988).
60 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Eric Garber (1986 - 88).
60 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Eric Garber (1989).
60 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Eric Garber (1990 - 91).
60 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 4 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Eric Garber (1992 - 94).
60 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 5 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Eric Garber (1995).
60 Garber, Eric (aka "Andrew Holleran") - Folder 6 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Eric Garber (1996 - 2000).
60 Haykin, Michael - Notes by Michael Haykin to Cal Yeomans (c. 1985 - 86) and Journal entries by Cal Yeomans (1985).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 1 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - July 1978 - June 1980).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 2 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - July 1980 - December 1980).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 3 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - January 1981 - December 1984).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 4 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - January 1985 - May 1986).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 5 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - June 1986 - May 1987).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 6 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - June 1987 - September 1989).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 7 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - October 1989 - April 1991).
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 8 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - May 1991 - December 1993 and 1993 - "No specific date").
61 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 9 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - January 1994 - December 1995 and 1995 - "No specific date").
62 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 10 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - January 1996 - December 1996).
62 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 11 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - January 1997 - December 1999).
62 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 12 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - January 2000 - October 2000).
62 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 13 - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Vance Hendrix (and family - No specific date - Miscellaneous).
62 Hendrix, Vance (aka "Joe Hendrix") - Folder 14 - Miscellaneous photographs of Vance Hendrix - Most photographs by Cal Yeomans (No specific date).
62 Wentzel, Jeff - Letters, cards, etc. sent between Cal Yeomans and Jeff Wentzel (1994 - 2000 and "No specific date").
62A Schanke, Robert A. - Miscellaneous Cal Yeomans research materials collected and donated by Dr. Robert A. Schanke, Professor Emeritus of Theatre at Central College, Iowa, and biographer of Cal Yeomans (2007-).


Restricted Photographs - CAL YEOMANS - PHOTOGRAPHER (EXHIBIT PHOTOGRAPHS) - DUE TO PRIVACY CONCERNS THE PHOTOGRAPHS IN THE FOLLOWING BOXES HAVE BEEN RESTRICTED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE SPEAK WITH THE COLLECTION CURATOR OR ARCHIVIST.


Box
63 Photographs by Cal Yeomans - 9 identified models (c. 1975 - 90)
64 Photographs by Cal Yeomans - 3 identified models (1986 - 89)
65 Photographs by Cal Yeomans - 8 identified models (1983 - 88)
66 Photographs by Cal Yeomans - 5 identified models and 14 unidentified models (c. 1978 - 90)


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Dramatists, American -- 20th century.
Homosexuality and literature -- United States.
Homosexuality and theater.
Yeomans, Cal -- Diaries.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page