Skip to Search



A Guide to the Morton D. Winsberg Photographs of Colonia Baron Hirsch

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Winsberg, Morton D.
Title: Morton D. Winsberg Photographs of Colonia Baron Hirsch
Dates: 1930-1960
Abstract: Photographs of the Colonia Baron Hirsch, primarily of the Jewish settlers, in Argentina.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 170
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Baron Maurice de Hirsch, a Bavarian Jew by birth, began purchasing Argentina land in 1891 to assist the large numbers of migrating Jews from Europe, particularly Russia. He purchased land to form colonies in Moisesville, Santa Fe, Buenos Aires, Chaco, La Pampa, and Rio Negro, under the jurisdiction of the Jewish Colonization Association, an organization he founded to help settle these immigrants. Colonia Baron Hirsch, located between Buenos Aires and La Pampa, was established as an agricultural colony in 1905 and first inhabited primarily by Ukrainian Jews. The population of this colony reached its highest size in 1923 when the settlers numbered over 4,200 individuals from Russia and Eastern Europe.


Scope and Content

Photographs of the Colonia Baron Hirsch, primarily of the Jewish settlers, the homes and other buildings, modes of transportation, and the agriculture and livestock of the colony. The majority of the photographs are not dated, but those with dates are from 1930 to 1946. In addition to these photographic prints, there are a small number of graphic images used by Dr. Winsberg in his book entitled Colonia Baron Hirsch: A Jewish Agricultural Colony in Argentina. The graphics portray population estimates according to date, age, and sex, as well as maps of the colony and the surrounding region.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Morton D. Winsberg Photographs of Colonia Baron Hirsch, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Morton D. Winsberg, Professor Emeritus with the Florida State University Department of Geography, donated this collection in 1996.


Contents List

Folder
1 "Baron Hirsch. El Colono Arturo Leon." Two men, two women, two dogs, and chickens. August 1939
1 Four horses in background of two men with three horses and carriage. 1939
1 Man and woman in doorway of a home. 1930
1 Man and woman with infant and chickens. July 1946
1 Man herding cattle. n.d. (ca. 1930-1946)
1 Man on buggy with two horses. n.d. (ca. 1944)
1 One woman and one man riding horseback in front of two-story building. n.d. (ca. 1930-1946)
1 Open field with dirt road leading to group of trees in background. n.d. (ca. 1930-1946)
1 Three men standing in front of Colonia Baron Hirsch. 1944
1 Two-story downtown building with horse carriages at intersection. n.d. (ca. 1930-1946)
1 Two-story warehouse with horse carriages and a truck parked in front (sign reads "Granjeros Unidos"). n.d. (ca. 1930-1946)
1 Two women and one man gardening in front of house. December 1939
1 Young boy holding harvest of garlic plants. December 1940
1 Four men and one woman with horses and buggies in front of large building. n.d. (ca. 1946)
1 Graphic of Colonia Baron Hirsch: Age and Sex Pyramid. 1958
1 Graphic of Colonia Baron Hirsch: Alienation of Property (1920-1960). n.d. (ca. 1960)
1 Graphic of Colonia Baron Hirsch: Population change between 1905 and 1960. n.d. (ca. 1960)
1 Graphic locating Colonia Baron Hirsch on a map of Argentine provinces. n.d. (ca. 1960)
1 Photographic map of Colonia Baron Hirsch showing roads, railroads, and boundaries. n.d. (ca. 1960)
1 Photographic map of the Colonies of the Jewish Colonization Association of South America settled between 1891 and 1936. n.d.
1 Miscellaneous negatives of Colonia Baron Hirsch with agricultural scenes. n.d. (ca. 1930-1960)
1 "Una calle de Rivera" (a street in Rivera), showing various townspeople including two men on a horse and carriage and one man with a horse in front of shops. n.d. (ca. 1944)
1 Several men working with a McCormick harvester and a team of about a dozen horses. n.d. (ca. 1944)
1 Synagogue with the Star of David. n.d. (ca. 1944)
1 Well-dressed man on horseback. n.d. (ca. 1944)

For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page