Skip to Search



A Guide to the Lewis C. Warden Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Warden, Lewis Christopher
Title: Lewis C. Warden Papers
Dates: 1934-1987
Abstract: Manuscripts of popular and legal works, personal papers, legal research materials, and photographs of lawyer and author, Lewis C. Warden.
Extent: 8 Linear feet. 12 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 91
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Lewis Christopher Warden (1913-1989) was a lawyer and legal editor and writer, who also wrote novels and other popular works. Warden was born August 26, 1913, near St. Clairsville, Ohio, the son of Christopher M. and Alice Lewis Warden. He married Emma Wallace in 1939. The couple had two daughters, Rebecca and Deborah. Lewis Warden died April 30, 1989, in Phoenix, Arizona.

Warden received his bachelor's degree from Ohio State University, in 1934, and a law degree from Harvard University in 1937, converted to a juris doctorate in 1969. He entered private practice in Columbus, Ohio, in 1938, and was later Common Pleas Judge in Gallia County. In 1950, he began employment as a writer and later as an editor for the Lawyers Cooperative Publishing Company of Rochester, New York, and continued until his retirement in 1978. He served in the U.S. Army during World War II. Prior to entering the bar, he was a Methodist pastor in Ohio and Massachusetts. Warden lived in Gainesville, Florida, from 1961 to 1981.

Warden's published books are The New Crusade (1934), a work of personal philosophy; The Life of Blackstone (1938); and three works of fiction, Torrent of the Willows (1954), Murder on Wheels (1964), and Running against the Wind (1981). Additionally he is the author of numerous articles in legal reference works, including American Law Reports, 2nd ed (1950-1953), American Jurisprudence, 2d ed (1974-88), and texts for Florida, Ohio, and New York, all published by the Lawyers Cooperative Publishing Company. He also contributed to the Harvard Law School Bulletin and other periodicals. (Source: Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2002; and the Gainesville Sun, May 4, 1989.


Scope and Content

The Papers include manuscripts of Warden's published and unpublished writings, legal, literary, and personal correspondence, manuscript and printed records of various aspects of his life, and photographs of himself, family, and places he visited.

The bulk of the Papers are manuscripts of his published and unpublished works. Published works include The Life of Blackstone, Torrent of the Willows, a historical novel of French emigrants to Ohio during the time of the French Revolution, and two crime novels Murder on Wheels, and Running against the Wind. Unpublished fiction includes "Courthouse Row," "Cricket on the Hearth," "Devil Tide," "Mr. Grundery," "Mr. Littleman," and "Stick around She Said." Several of these works exist in multiple drafts with alternate titles. His fictional writing tended towards criminal cases with his extended courtroom scenes. The manuscripts also include some short legal writings.

The Papers include legal, literary and professional correspondence. Correspondence relating directly to the literary works are filed with the manuscripts. A large file includes letters, newspaper clippings, and other records relating to a publicity tour in Ohio and West Virginia for Torrent of the Willows. General correspondence, extending from 1935-1987 is in several chronological files. Special files include correspondence with his employer, the Lawyers Cooperative Publishing Company, 1950-1981, both his alma maters, Ohio State University and Harvard Law School, Warden family correspondence, and correspondence concerning a suit Warden bought against the United States government over the question of violation of privacy in the 1940 census. Some records other than correspondence may be found in the correspondence file.

Miscellaneous records include biographical information and records concerning Lewis Warden and his wife, Emma, various certificates and diplomas, printed article by or about Warden from periodicals sources, real estate records regarding his homes, and Warden family history.

There are numerous photographs of Warden throughout his adult life, as well as of his father, wife, and children. Several photographs were taken during his publicity tour for Torrent of the Willows. There are also numerous snapshot photographs from trips in Florida, Alaska, Europe, and elsewhere, that Warden made in the last years of his life, with either his daughter Rebecca or Deborah.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Lewis C. Warden Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated to the University of Florida Libraries by Lewis C. Warden.


Contents List

Published Manuscripts


Box Folder
1 1 The Life of Blackstone, by Lewis C. Warden Published by the Michie Company, Charlottesville, VA. Autograph ms. (Formerly in Creative Writing Collection). 1938
1 2 The Life of Blackstone, by Lewis C. Warden Published by the Michie Company, Charlottesville, VA. Autograph ms. (Formerly in Creative Writing Collection). 1938
1 3 The Life of Blackstone. Contract and correspondence between Warden and the publisher, other correspondence, short writing by Warden on Blackstone, publication announcements, newspaper review, etc. 1937-1940
2 1 Torrent of the Willows. Typed ms. 855 leaves. (Formerly in Creative Writing Collection) Published by Vantage Press. 1954
2 2 Torrent of the Willows. Typed ms. 855 leaves. (Formerly in Creative Writing Collection) Published by Vantage Press. 1954
3 1 Green by October Waters, by Lewis Warden and James Porter. Typed ms. in 2 bound volumes. A note on the title page indicates that this is an early version of Torrent of the Willows.
3 2 Torrent of the Willows. Ms. copy of preliminary material and outline; agreement with J. Sherman Porter (1942) and dissolution (1947); letter of rejection from Henry Holt (1953), contract, correspondence, etc. with Vantage Press (1954-55), correspondence with agent for movie rights (1955), dust jacket, etc. Letters from readers and friends is in the general correspondence. 1942-1955
3 3 Torrent of the Willows: Promotional material, correspondence and announcements for book signings and appearances in Ohio, West Virginia, and Rochester, New York. Also see the newspaper clippings. 1954-1955
3 4 Torrent of the Willows: Newspaper clippings: reviews and announcements. Periodical announcements. 1954-1955
4 1 Murder on Wheels. Typed ms. with extensive autograph revisions. 1 folder. Published by Avalon Books, New York. (Formerly in Creative Writing Collection). 1964
4 2 Murder on Wheels. Correspondence with publishers, contract, review, and promotional material. 1962-1966
4 3 Against the Wind, autograph ms. 8 notebooks. Published as Running Against the Wind by the Christopher Publishing House, West Hanover, MA. 1981
4 4 Running Against the Wind ["Against the Wind"] by Lewis Warden. Typed mss. Variant drafts interleaved.
4 5 Running Against the Wind. Correspondence with publishers, etc., promotional material. 1959-1981


Unpublished Manuscripts


Box Folder
5 1 Devil Wind, a novel, by Lewis C. Warden. Typed ms., with extensive autograph revisions. "Courthouse Row, or The Devil Wind," added in pencil. Initial "C' in the author's name struck through. 596 pp. Several drafts with variant pages interleaved.
5 2 Devil Wind, a novel, by Lewis C. Warden. Typed ms., with extensive autograph revisions. "Courthouse Row, or The Devil Wind," added in pencil. Initial "C' in the author's name struck through. 596 pp. Several drafts with variant pages interleaved.
5 3 The Devil Wind, or Courthouse Row, by Lewis Warden. "about 90,000 words." 349 leaves.
5 4 The Devil Wind, or Courthouse Row, by Lewis Warden. "about 90,000 words." 349 leaves.
5 5 Comes the Devil Wind, a Novel by L. C. Warden. Typed ms. Added notes to title page: "New title: Courthouse Row," and "Last version." ca. 90,000 words. 351 leaves.
5 6 Comes the Devil Wind, a Novel by L. C. Warden. Typed ms. Added notes to title page: "New title: Courthouse Row," and "Last version." ca. 90,000 words. 351 leaves..
5 7 Greenvalley and the Jealous Mistress. Typed ms. 23 leaves. Attached to a copy of biographical sketch from Who's Who in the Midwest, 1949 ed. 1949, 1956
5 8 Correspondence with prospective publishers and an agent. 1957-1968, 1976
6 1 Cricket on the Hearth, a Novel by Lewis Warden. Typed ms. 417 leaves. Bound volume.
6 2 Cricket on the Hearth. Typed ms.
6 3 Cricket on the Hearth. Typed ms.
6 4 Cricket on the Hearth. Typed ms.
6 5 Cricket on the Hearth - Correspondence.
6 6 The Penfields of Big Bend, a novel by L. W. Christopher (Lewis Warden). Typed ms. 169 leaves. Incomplete. Note on title page that the manuscripts was entered in the General Contest for the Crowell Award, three chapters and book outline."
6 7 The Penfields of Broadlynn, a novel by Lewis C. Warden. Typed ms. Fragment.
7 1 [Tide Gate, marked through] Typed ms. with extensive autograph revisions. 283 leaves.
7 2 Devil Tide, a novel by Lewis Warden. Typed ms., about 75,000 words. 262 p.
7 3 Mr. Grundrey, a novel by Lewis Warden. Typed ms. 157 leaves.
7 4 Grundrey's Last Brief - Correspondence with publishers.
7 5 Mr. Littleman: -- the Firecracker King (a humorous novel) by Lewis C. Warden. Typed ms. (carbon) 260 leaves.
8 1 The Short Road to, or Stick around she Said, autograph ms. 2 notebooks.
8 2 Stick around She Said. Typed ms., 130 leaves.
8 3 Stick around She Said, correspondence with publishers. 1973-1974
8 4 [7 Sweets and 7 Sorrows] Typed ms. with extensive autograph revisions. 378 leaves. Title taken from note on discarded box. Begins "The bus rolled along a winding brick road".


Legal Writings


Box Folder
8 5 The Development of the Hamiltonian and Jeffersonian Theories of Government in the United States. Typed ms. 36 pp.
8 6 The Gap and Court Congestion, for the Harvard Law School Bulletin "Commentary," Dec. 1971. Typed ms., 2p. with letter from Harvard Law School Bulletin. Dec. 1971.
8 7 Improvement of the Bench and Bar., 2 drafts.
8 8 Review of How the Government Breaks the Law, by Jethro K. Lieberman for Harvard Law School Bulletin. Typed mss., 4 pp., and autograph notes. 26600
8 9 Synopsis of Procedures Used by Lew Warden in Writing Am Jur 2d Articles, typed mss. 3 pp.
8 10 Test Cases, prepared and submitted by Lewis C. Warden. Typed ms., 10 pp.
8 11 Voters Handbook by Lewis C. Warden. Sponsored by the Columbus Junior Chamber of Commerce. 2 drafts. 1940


Correspondence


Box Folder
9 1 Harvard University Law School. 1947-1987
9 2 Lawyers Co-Operative Publishing Company. 1950, 1961-1969
9 3 Lawyers Co-Operative Publishing Company. 1970-1981
9 4 Ohio State University Alumni Association. 1954-1985
9 5 U.S. Census Suit. 1940
9 6 Warden family, Christopher (father), Deborah and Rebecca (daughters). 1967-[ca. 198-]
9 7 General Correspondence. 1935-1949
9 8 General Correspondence. 1950-1959
9 9 General Correspondence. 1960-1969
9 10 General Correspondence. 1970-1979
9 11 General Correspondence. 1980-1987


Miscellaneous Records


Box Folder
10 1 Biographical Sketches, passport (1936), certificate of marriage (1939), obituaries.
10 2 Certificates, Diplomas, etc.
10 3 Harvard Law School Bulletin - Articles by or about Warden, excised from whole issues. 1964-1972
10 4 Harvard Law School Class of 1937 Reports. 1957-1982
10 5 Itinerary for European Trip with Becky Warden, with 2 photos and a postcard. August-September, 1985
10 6 Ohio State University Monthly - Information relating to Warden, excised from whole issues. 1957-1979
10 7 Real Estate Records (Columbus, Ohio). 1948
10 8 Real Estate Records (Rochester and Gainesville). 1962-1964
10 9 Rules for the Court of Common Pleas, Gallia County, Ohio. Lewis C. Warden, Judge. Gallipolis, Ohio: Printed by the Midget Press. 17199
10 10 Warden, Emma (d. 1981) - Obituaries and Social Security card. 1981
10 11 Wills (drafts) of Lewis and Emma Warden. 1941-1980
10 12 Witness (Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Company) Article concerning Warden. 25112
10 13 Warden Family History.
10 14 Work logs for LCP (Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Company). October 8-19 1973


Photographs


Box Folder
11 1 Christopher M. Warden (father) 3 photos. 1953, Not dated
11 2 Emma Warden (wife). Not dated
11 3 Emma Warden gravesite. 5 photos. 1981
11 4 Lewis Warden, Baker Art Gallery photo, Columbus, Ohio. 1934
11 5 Lewis Warden, U.S. Army. 1942
11 6 Lewis Warden and James Porter. 1945
11 7 Lewis Warden and Lewis Warden family (wife and children). 5 photos. 1954
11 8 Lewis Warden studio portrait, Columbus, Ohio. 1954
11 9 Lewis Warden, Rochester, NY., Torrent of the Willows Promotion. 19937
11 10 Lewis Warden and John Swank, mayor of Newark, Ohio, Torrent of the Willows Promotion. 2 photos. 20029
11 11 Lewis Warden, Johm Swank, and customer, Mrs. Charles Pressler, Autograph party for Torrent of the Willows, Newark, Ohio. 20043
11 12 Lewis Warden, C. W. Warden, and Hugh Stillman, Huntington, West Va. Hufco Photograph. 20044
11 13 Warden Family (Lewis, wife Emma, daughters Rebecca and Deborah) at home in Gainesville and elsewhere in Florida. 14 photos. 1964-1972
11 14 Lewis Warden - Receiving 25-year pin from Lawyers Co-operative Publishers. 1976
11 15 Ohio homes where Lewis Warden lived, taken by Mrs. Oliver Kuhn, and home in Brighton, New York.
11 16 Las Vegas, Lewis and Debbie Warden. 30895
11 17 Yellowstone National Park, Lewis and Debbie Warden. 30926
11 18 Disney World and Sea World, Lewis and Debbie Warden, Christmas. 1984
11 19 Europe, Lewis and Becky Warden. August-September, 1985
11 20 Alaska (1 of 2), Lewis and Debbie Warden. August-September, 1986
11 21 Alaska (2 of 2) Lewis and Debbie Warden. August-September, 1986
11 22 Photographs and other memorabilia from reunions of Warden's St. Clairsville, Ohio, Class of 1939, 1975-1985. Two photographs and two programs. Warden is not included in the photos.


Scrapbooks and Certificates


Box Folder
12 1 Scrapbook of Lewis C. Warden for University of Florida Special Collections Library. 12x18 inches. Primarily newspaper clippings of activities.
12 2 Lewis Warden Scrapbook (2). 12 x 15 inches.
12 3 Certificates of admission to the State of Ohio Bar, graduation from Harvard Law School, commission as judge of the Court of Common Pleas, etc. 1938-1950


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Alachua
Contemporary Florida, 1960
Lawyers as authors -- Correspondence.
Warden, Emma.
Warden, Lewis Christopher -- Correspondence.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page