Skip to Search



A Guide to the Cuba en 1925 Photograph Album

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
July 2007


Descriptive Summary

Title: Cuba en 1925 Photograph Album
Dates: Circa 1925
Abstract: Album entitled "Cuba en 1925, Commandante M. Gajate," featuring hundreds of photographs of people and places in Cuba.
Extent: 0.03 Linear feet. 1 photograph album.
Identification: MS Group 216
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

The photograph album cover is entitled "Cuba en 1925" and includes the name of Commandante Mario Gajate. The album was produced for collectors of photographic cards packaged with cigars and cigarettes, and each page includes the phrase, "Susini, El Cigarro Sin Rival." The pages are assigned headings and grouped topically, primarily around geographic regions such as cities and provinces. A number of pages pertain to people, places and things in Havana. Each photograph card has a caption, and each page has a numbered space for the cards that should be included on that page. Although most of the approximately 1675 cards are included in the album, there are a few spaces where cards are missing.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Cuba en 1925 Photograph Album, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cuba -- Pictorial works.
Photograph collections -- Cuba.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page