Skip to Search



A Guide to the Slavery and Plantations in Saint Domingue Collection

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Title: Slavery and Plantations in Saint Domingue Collection
Dates: 1779-1791
Extent: 6 Folders
Identification: Ms Group 159


Scope and Content

Collection of 22 handwritten letters pertaining to potential sales of various plantations and holdings, including slaves, in St. Domingue (present-day Haiti). Accompanying the correspondence are inventories, legal agreements, and an account book. This material, dated 1779 to 1791, is an excellent source of information about the French colony in the decade leading up to the revolt by black slaves in 1791. The letters reveal the desire of some plantation owners to sell because of the growing unrest in the profitable, slave-based colony.

Several pieces of correspondence are written to Dupre de Saint-Maur. All of the letters and documents are in French, but approximate translations have been provided for the majority of the items. Folders are arranged in alphabetical order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

Some of the documents in this collection are fragile and patrons may not be allowed to photocopy these items. Please consult with department staff before photocopying.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Slavery and Plantations in Saint Domingue Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Charles Apfelbaum, New Jersey, 1999.


Contents List

Folder
1 Letter from E. Theard to La Thubaudiere, Nantes, in which the former asks his nephew to help him sell the cotton and indigo plantation owned by Theard's son (In French, translation included). 1782
Folder
2 Maillard Plantation, Torbeck Parish: six letters, inventories and agreements concerning the sale of the plantation. The letters are from Grandchamp to Dupre de Saint-Maur (In French, translation included). 1782
Folder
3 Mineurs Lemmens Plantation: two letters regarding sale of plantation giving detailed description of lands and holdings, including slaves (In French, translation included). 1782
Folder
4 Plantation of M. de Molie: three letters from Molie and M. de Saint-Maur regarding the sale of the sugar plantation and refinery, including an inventory of property and slaves (In French, translation included). 1782
Folder
5 Plantation of Vergennes, Charles, Gravier, Comte de: account books kept by his steward, Doihenard, including a record of the slaves owned (In French). This folder contains photocopies of the original documents, which have been removed and stored flat in a map case. 1789-1791
Folder
6 Rocheblave Plantation estate inventory (1779) and ten autograph letters from "Alleon-Dulac" (estate manager) to Dupre de Saint-Maur, the Intendant of Bordeaux (In French). 1779-1781



Selected Subjects and Access Points

The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog:
Subject Terms:
France -- Colonies -- Santo Domingo.
Haiti -- History -- To 1791.
Plantations -- Saint-Domingue.
Saint-Domingue -- History -- 18th century.
Saint-Domingue.
Slavery -- Saint-Domingue.


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page