Skip to Search



A Guide to the Lillian Smith Papers

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2010


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Smith, Lillian Eugenia, 1897-1966
Title: Lillian Smith Papers
Dates: 1915-1972
Bulk dates: 1935-1966
Abstract: The papers of author, editor, and civil rights leader, Lillian Smith, include her manuscripts and short writings, biographical material, and correspondence, business records, and manuscripts for the journal The South Today.
Extent: 11.5 Linear feet. 24 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 2
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Author, editor, and civil rights leader. Born in Jasper, Florida. Author of multiple books, including: Strange Fruit (1944), Killers of the Dream (1949), The Journey (1954), and Our Faces, Our Words (1964). Smith was publisher and co-editor with Paula Snelling of The South Today, 1942-1945 (formerly entitled, Pseudopodia, 1937/37, and North Georgia Review, 1937-41).


Scope and Content

The Lillian Smith Papers are arranged in two series of files. The first series includes manuscripts and proofs of several books, short writings, and biographical material. The second series is comprised of correspondence, business records, and manuscripts for the journal The South Today (formerly, The North Georgia Review, and Pseudopodia).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

Copyright to this material has not been transferred to the University of Florida. Ms. Smith's estate is represented by Nancy Smith Fichter, Literary Executor, 710 Waverly Rd, Tallahassee, FL 32312.


Related or Separated Material

The Linda Abess Ellis Collection is comprised of letters written by Smith regarding the Laurel Falls Camp.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Lillian Smith Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Lillian Smith, except for the supplemental material (Box 7) in series one.


Contents List

Series 1: Manuscripts, 1944-1966

3 Linear feet. 7 boxes.

Includes typescripts and proofs from four of Lillian Smith's books, Strange Fruit (1944), Killers of the Dream (1949), The Journey (1954), and Our Faces, Our Words (1964), a copy of a speech given at the University of Florida, an autobiographical sketch (1954?), and letters to Earl Miers and Bill Targ of World Publishing.

A box of supplemental papers (Box 7), not from the papers deposited by Lillian Smith, has been added to the Papers. Most of this material derives from assistance given by Marjorie White, a childhood friend of Smith's in Jasper, to researchers Louise Blackwell and Joan Titus. Blackwell co-authored Lillian Smith (Twayne Publishers, 1971) with Frances Clay. Publication data of Joan Titus's work is unknown. The material includes letters by both Smith and her colleague Paula Snelling.


Manuscripts

Box Folder
1 1-2 The Journey (1954) - Typescript. Proof setter's copy, with preliminary leaves. 373 stamped leaves. Stamped "Received, The Haddon Craftsmen," October 30 and Nov. 5, 1953. 2 folders
1 3 The Journey - Typescript - Deleted chapters.
1 4 The Journey - Typescript - Revised pages.
1 5-6 The Journey - Plate proofs. 256 leaves. Date stamped: Nov. 3. 2 folders
1 7 The Journey - (a) Galley proofs marked, "Lillian Smith's Revised galleys."89 sheets
2 1-4 The Journey - Galley proofs, continued: (b) Printer's galleyproofs, incorporating Smith's revisions, date stamped Nov. 12-19. 89 sheets. (b) Unstamped proofs with minor revisions. 90 sheets. (c) Proof, Revised, December 8, with marked revisions, 90 sheets. (e) Proof, stamped Dec. 17. 102 sheets.
3 1-4 Killers of the Dream (1949) - Typescript. Proof setters copy, with preliminary leaves.578 numbered leaves. With letter from Paula Snelling to the Norton Company listing changes; August 5, 1949. 4 folders.
4 1 Killers of the Dream - "Author's 1st proof," galley, July 26, 1949. With author's corrections and proof setter's marks.
4 2 Killers of the Dream - "Author's 1st proof," Aug. 9, 1949.
4 3 Killers of the Dream - New copy to replace galleys 14 and 55.
4 4 Killers of the Dream - Four unmarked galleys of portions of the book.
4 5 Killers of the Dream - "Author's [galley]proofs," with revisions. 84 sheets.
4 6 Killers of the Dream - Plate proof, with some proofsetter's marks. 256 leaves.
4 7 Killers of the Dream -"Why I Wrote This Book" galley proofs; other proofs sheets; fragmentary, unidentified holograph, and book advertisements.
5 1-4 Strange Fruit (1944) - Typescript with minor revisions and proof's setters marks, 662 leaves.
6 1 Strange Fruit - Galley proofs with extensive revisions, inserts, and proof setter's marks. 121 sheets. Accompanied by a typed list of corrections, with an autograph note by Smith and several typed pages to replace proofs.
6 2 Strange Fruit - Galley proofs with revisions. 116 sheets.
6 3 Our Faces, Our Words (1964) - Typescript with revisions. Accompanied by presentation letter to the University of Florida.
6 4 "Autobiography as Dialogue between King and Corpse" A speech given by Lillian Smith at the University of Florida Library on May 10th (1962) during the Arts Festival. Ts (xerox copy, original in Georgia State Archives) 16 p.
6 5 Biographical Material / Lillian Smith [ca. 1954] Typed ms., with a. revisions. 11 p. With cover sheet and note addressed to Bill [Targ] and Earl [Miers] World Publishing. The content suggest that it was written in connection with the publication of Journey.
6 6 5 letters to Earl [Miers, World Publishing] Clayton, GA., [n.d.] Re Journey and other writings.
6 7 4 TLLS to Bill [Targ, World Publishing] Clayton, GA and Neptune Beach, FL., 21 Sept. 1954-30 July 1960. Re Journey, Now is the Time, and other writings. Letter of January 12, 1956, contains an account of the arson on her home.

Supplemental Material

Box Folder
7 1 ALS from Marjorie [Worley] to Marjorie White; Jasper, FL. 5 June 1966. ALS from Marjorie White to Lillian Smith and 2 ALL (drafts) to Louise Blackwell; [Gainesville, Fl. 1966]. TLS from Louise Blackwell to Marjorie White; Tallahassee, FL, 23 May 1966.
7 2 Letters from Marjorie White to Joan Titus. Typed memoir of Lillian Smith, by Marjorie White. Holograph questions and answers re Lillian Smith.
7 3 ALS from Marjorie White to Lillian Smith. 9 cards and letters from Lillian Smith to Marjorie and Ruth White; [n.d.] and 1944-1966
7 4 Joan Titus. Letters to Marjorie White; New York [etc.] 1967-1970 and no date. Includes numerous unidentified photos. Some are dated from between 1915 and 1919 and may be from Jasper, Fl, and possibly include Lillian Smith. One is marked "Wesleyan" which Marjorie White attended. Later photographs appear to be from Smith's home in Georgia and may include her gravesite.
7 5 Snelling, Paula. 6 letters and cards to Marjorie and Ruth White; Clayton, Ga., 1950-1972. (Items 1-5 are the gift of Mrs. Joseph H. White III)
7 6 Miss Smith of Georgia - video recording (VHS and DVD versions) 1962. (Gift of Joan Titus)
7 7 Lillian Smith: The Journey - audio recording (CD version) created by Joan Titus. (Gift of Joan Titus)


Series 2: The South Today - Correspondence and Records

7.1 Linear feet. 17 boxes.

Contains correspondence, business records, some manuscript submissions, and miscellaneous materials, including a complete set of issues of The South Today. The General and Business Correspondence overlap in content, but some of the General Correspondence is broader in scope than journal business and is more personal. Correspondence with contributors, printers, advertisers, publishers and others regarding the operations as well as the scope and philosophy of the journal may be found both in the General Correspondence and the Business Correspondence. The subscription correspondence is predominantly, but not exclusively, orders, renewal notices, problems of receipt, etc.

Much of the correspondence is addressed to Paula Snelling. Some copies, or drafts of replies by Smith or Snelling are included.

The principal correspondents in terms of quantity and prominence of the writer include novelist Evelyn Scott (50), Margaret Anderson (33), J. M. Michaux (25), Howard Odum (20), Walter White (12), Henrietta Buckmaster (16), Motier Harris Fisher (15), Olive Tilford Dargan (11), Louis Adamic (9), Silas Bent (9), Cash, W. J. (6), Charles S. Johnson (7), Lucy Mason Randolph (12), Pauli Murray (10), James Still (6), James Weldon Johnson (6), and Virginus Dabney (6). Most of the correspondence from these individuals is in the General Correspondence. Numerous other prominent correspondents are listed in the contents of the General Correspondence and index to the Business Correspondence. The subscription correspondence is not indexed, but includes orders and sometimes correspondents from several well known writers and other individuals.

Arrangement: Arranged in four sequences: General Correspondence (Boxes 8-10), including some manuscripts submissions, Business Correspondence (Box 11), Subscription Correspondence (12-23), and Miscellaneous Material (Box 24). The General Correspondence is arranged alphabetically. The box of Business Correspondence is arranged chronologically and accessible through an index of names. The Subscription Correspondence is also chronological, but includes no list of names or index.


General Correspondence

Arranged alphabetically. An asterisk by a name indicates that it is also found in the Business Correspondence index. The number of letters is indicated in parenthesis for those individuals from whom there are six or more letters.


Box
8 A (Miscellaneous). 1935-44
8 *Adamic, Louis (9). 1936-43
8 Afro-American Newspapers. 1942-43
8 Alexander, Will. 1942-43
8 Allen, John D. 1936-37
8 Anderson, Charles H. 1943-44
8 Anderson, Margaret (editor, Common Ground) (33). Includes carbon of typescript, "What Does the Southern Regional Council Want" by J. Saunders Redding. 1941-44
8 Association for Democracy. 1943
8 Ateca, Dorothy. 1942
8 B (Miscellaneous). 1936-43
8 Baldwin, Roger. 1942
8 Bastone, Mary (6). 1942-43
8 Bear, Frances Virginia "Teddy" (7). 1942-44
8 Beard, Mary P. 1942
8 *Bent, Silas (9). 1937-38
8 Bethune, Mary McLeod re charges that both Bethune and Smith are subversive. 1943
8 Brown, Sterling (6). 1942-43
8 Buck, Pearl S. 1942-43
8 Buckmaster, Henrietta (16). 1941-43
8 Bunzel, Joseph H. (6). 1942-44
8 Burke, Felding. 1938-1942
8 C (Miscellaneous). 1936-44
8 Civilian Public Service Camps. 1941-43
8 *Caldwell, Erskine. 1936-42
8 Cash, W.J. (6). 1936-41
8 Center, Stella. 1937-39
8 *Chamblee, Dora Lee (6). 1940-43
8 Christian Advocate. 1943
8 CIO Committee to Abolish Discrimination. 1943-1945
8 Clyde, Ethel. 1945-47
8 Common Sense. 1942-43
8 Congress for Democracy in South Carolina. 1939-43
8 Congress of Southern Mountain Workers. 1942
8 Cooke, Anne. 1942-43
8 D (Miscellaneous). 1937-47
8 Dabney, Virginius (6). 1936-43
8 Dargan, Olive Tilford (11). 1936-43
8 Davis, Helen and Rube. 1936-42
8 Davis, John W. 1943
8 Davis, Lambert. 1938
8 Davis, Lois B. 1937
8 DeLeon, Margery (9). 1936-40
8 Dickson, Louise. n.d.
8 DuBois, W. E. B. 1937-38
8 *Durr, Virginia. 1943
8 E (Miscellaneous). 1936-45
8 Ethridge, Mark and Willie Snow. 1937-42
8 F (Miscellaneous). 1937-47
8 Fan Mail. 1944-45
8 *Fisher, Motier Harris (15). 1940-42
8 Fellowship of Reconciliation. 1940-42
8 Fellowship of Southern Churchmen. 1942-43
8 Frazen, Cola Mae (8). 1942-43
9 G (Miscellaneous). 1936-45
9 Gayle, Margo (7). 1940-45
9 Granberry, John C. 1942
9 H (Miscellaneous). 1936-45
9 Hamilton, Josephine (6). 1937-40
9 Haygood, William C. and Mrs. 1942-43
9 Henderson, Mrs. C.K. 1937-43
9 Highlands Folk School. 1942-43
9 I (Miscellaneous). 1943
9 Ireland, Virginia (6). 1941-42
9 J (Miscellaneous). 1936-45
9 Johnson, Charles S. (7). 1942-43
9 Johnson, James Weldon(6). 1937-38
9 Justice, Department of. 1941-43
9 K (Miscellaneous).
9 Keeney, Mary Lane. 1941-43
9 Kimsey, Ed. 1937-43
9 Knight, Grant C. 1936-37
9 Knopf, Alfred A. 1942
9 Kollmorgan, Walter M. 1942-43
9 L (Miscellaneous). 1938-44
9 Laurence, Jacob. n.d.
9 Lilienthal, David (T.V.A.). 1939-42
9 M (Miscellaneous). 1936-44
9 *McGill, Ralph. 1941
9 McCormack, Ada (8). 1943-44
9 *Mason, Lucy Randolph (12). 1938-42
9 *Mays, Benjamin E. (Morehead College). 1942-43
9 Mencken, H. L. 1938
9 Michaux, J. M. (25). 1940-45
9 Mitchell, Margaret. 1936
9 Moody, Minnie Hite. 1936-38
9 *Murray, Pauli (10). 1942-43
9 Norman, Dolly. 1938
9 O (Miscellaneous). 1937-44
9 *Odum, Howard (20). 1940-44
9 P (Miscellaneous). 1936-44
9 Pergament, Lola. 1936-38
9 Peterkin, Julia. [n.d.]
9 Pittsburgh Courier. 1943
9 Post Office (U.S.). 1942-45
9 R (Miscellaneous). 1936-44
9 Raper, Arthur (9). 1939-43
9 Rich Printing Company. 1942-44
9 Rosenwald Fund - South Today grants, fellowships. 1942-44
9 Rosenwald Fund - Scholarship, interviewing trips. 1939-43
10 S (Miscellaneous). 1936-45
10 *Scott, Evelyn (50). 1937-38; n.d.
10 Smith, Charles M. 1942-43
10 *Smith, Frank (6). 1937-43
10 Still, James (6). 1937-42
10 Stokeley, James. 1942
10 T (Miscellaneous). 1936-45
10 Thompson, Eunice. 1940
10 T.V.A. 1942
10 Upshaw, Jacques. 1938
10 V (Miscellaneous). 1943-44
10 Van der Veer, Virgina. [1940. n.d.]
10 W (Miscellaneous). 1936-45
10 Warren, Robert Penn. 1936
10 *White, Walter (NAACP) (12). 1937-43
10 Wilder, Charlotte. 1937
10 Workers Defense League. 1941-43
10 X -Y (Miscellaneous). 1942-43
10 "Achieving a Real Democracy in the South," 1939-1943. Essays submitted in response to call for papers on the topic. 1939-1943
10 Advertising copy. 1942-1944
10 Advertising correspondence. 1942-1945
10 Correspondence re manuscript contest. 1937
10 Non-fiction manuscripts and correspondence. Includes manuscript on race by Margaret Walker. 1936-1944
10 Party for Negro and white women. 1943
10 Poetry correspondence and manuscripts. 1936-1944
10 Publishers correspondence. Re publication of Lillian Smith's works and book reviews for South Today. 1933-1943
10 Reviews correspondence. 1936-1943

Business Correspondence

See the Index of Names in Business Correspondence for an alphabetic list of correspondents.


Box
11 Business Correspondence. 1936
11 Business Correspondence. 1937
11 Business Correspondence A-C (includes submissions for "Causes of War" essay contest). 1939
11 Business Correspondence D-G. 1939
11 Business Correspondence H-L. 1939
11 Business Correspondence M-Q. 1939
11 Business Correspondence R-Z. 1939
11 Business Correspondence. 1940
11 Business Correspondence. 1941
11 Business Correspondence. 1942
11 Business Correspondence. 1943
11 Business Correspondence. 1944
11 Business Correspondence. 1945
11 Business Correspondence. 1946
11 Business Correspondence. 1947-1949

Subscription Correspondence

Box
12 Subscription Correspondence. 1937-1941
13 Subscription Correspondence. 1942-1943 Jun
14 Subscription Correspondence. 1943 Jul-1943 Nov
15 Subscription Correspondence. 1943 Dec-1944 Feb
16 Subscription Correspondence. 1944 Mar-May
17 Subscription Correspondence. 1944 Jun-Oct
18 Subscription Correspondence. 1944 Nov-Dec
19 Subscription Correspondence. 1945 Jan-Feb
20 Subscription Correspondence. 1945 Mar-Apr
21 Subscription Correspondence. 1945 May-Jul
22 Subscription Correspondence. 1945 Aug-Dec
23 Subscription Correspondence. 1946-1947

Miscellaneous Materials (Reprints)

Box
24 "Re Lillian Smith" by Paula Snelling. n.d.
24 Reprints of articles by Smith. 1943-1945
24 Printed Material. 1942-1971
24 Pseudopodia vol. 1. 1936 Sum-1937 Win
24 North Georgia Review vo. 2-6. 1937 Spr-1941 Win
24 South Today v. 7-8. 1942 Spr-1944-1945 Win
24 "Do You Know Your South?"--Source and Promotional Materials. 1941
24 "Letter from Buss Eye" / Jane Parks Ward, Xerox copy, from Georgia State Archives(?). 1966 Sep
24 Mailing Lists. n.d.
24 Promotional Materials. 1939-1945
24 Clippings. 1936-1945
24 The Church and Tomorrow--Sources. 1944
24 Pseudopodia Proof. 1936
24 Statements on Programs. 1943
24 South Today: Post Office difficulties and threatened investigation by Georgia legislators. 1943
24 Photographs and Illustrations for South Today. 1943
24 Rosenwald Fund South Today grants, fellowships. 1939-1944


Index of Names in the Business Correspondence

See the Business Correspondence series for a chronological list of files.
[Murray] Pauli. 1947
___________, Esther. 1943
Adamic, Louis. 1939
Adams, Claud D. 1939
Adams, Clifford (Mrs.). 1939
Adams, Mrs. J.B. 1939
Alderton, Marion S. 1944
Alexander, I.J. 1939
Allen, Thos. C. 1943
Alverson, C.H. 1939
American News Co. 1942
Amos, Julia D. 1943
Armstrong, C.G. 1949
Arwood, W.W. 1939
Ballow, Pauline Hughes. 1941
Barron, Katherine. 1944
Beck, Anna. 1946
Beckman, C.G. 1939
Bellamy, Ray. 1939
Bengston, Nelson. 1946
Bent, Silas. 1939
Benton, Sullye Jane. 1939
Benty, Bernice. 1939
Bernard, Milton. 1939
Bernstein, Harry. 1946
Berreman, J.V. 1949
Bettinger, B.E. 1939
Bingham, Alfred M. 1943
Bishop, David H. 1939
Bolton, R.L. 1949
Bousfield, M.O. 1939
Bowen, J.O. (Bowen Press). 1942, 1943
Bowen, Julia. 1939
Bray, Robert S. 1946
Brazeal, B.R. 1940
Brooks, Lee M. 1942
Brown, F.D. 1939
Brunner, L.J. 1949
Bryant, F. E. 1943
Bueno, J.R. de la Torre. 1939
Buhler, S. Arthur. 1939
Burke, Mr. James W. 1946
Button, Chas. A. 1940
Caldwell, Erskine. 1944
Cameron, Kenneth. 1936
Campbell, Olive D. 1940
Cantrell, Cynthia. 1939
Carlisle, Charles A. 1946
Castor, Gladys C. 1949
Cerminara, G. 1949
Chamblee, Dora Lee. 1940
Chester, Charle (Miss). 1939
Cheves, Creola. 1939
Christi, Edwin S. 1946
Clark, Harry P. 1939
Clement, Rufus E. 1939
Coates, Kenneth D. 1939
Coe, Ethel P. 1944
Cofer, Maud. 1939
Coff, Betty R. 1940
Coleman, Carroll D. 1936
Collins, Maxie C. 1939
Conway, Nell Wood. 1939
Cox, Clarence A. 1939
Craig, A.F. 1949
Crooks, K.B.M. 1949
Cross, R.E. 1945
Crotty, Bessie A. 1939
Crutchfield, Lee. 1939
Cushman, C.H. 1939
Daly, James. 1939
David, Hall. 1939
Davis, Dolores W. 1939
Davis, Joseph C. 1944
Davis, Lucille J. 1945
Day, Charles M. 1939
De Freitas, M.S. Teixeira. 1946
Dean, Austin F. 1939
DeBoer, Bernhard. 1943
Dei, Dora C. 1943
DeLoach, E. 1949
DeLoach, E.H. 1949
Dent, A.W. 1944
Dickinson, Ann Pentecost. 1939
Dixon, Normon R. 1946
Dobbins, Evelyn. 1943
Dodge, Alice L. (Workers Defense League). 1942
Domar, William A. 1939
Doughry, de Grande. 1946
Duffey, May Frank. 1939
Duker, Majorie G. 1939
Durr, Virginia. 1940
Edmonston, Donald B. 1939
Ehrman, Jules. 1939
Ethinger, Amos A. 1939
Fauss, Mrs. Herman. 1939
Faxon, F.W. Co. 1939
Ficklen, Edward B. 1941
Finucane, James. 1939
Fish, Robert H. 1939
Fisher, E.H. 1949
Fisher, Motier H. 1940, 1941, 1943
Ford, Edward Jr. 1939
Foreman, Clark. 1939
Foreman, R.L. 1939
Foster, R.I. 1939
Fougeay, Wm. F. 1939
Frank. 1940
Free Labor Committee. 1944
Friedlander, Jean. 1945
Fry, Eileen. 1944
Gayle, Margot. 1939
Gilburn, Laura. 1939
Gilmore, William G. 1943
Glover, Margaret Love. 1939
Gran, Allen Jr. 1939
Granbery, John C. 1940
Green, A.L. 1939
Green, Claud B. 1941
Greene, Mrs. George C. 1939
Gross, Beatrice Froger. 1946
Grow, Rayjond. 1943
Haas, A. 1949
Hacker, Francis. 1947
Hall, Chester. 1939
Halper, Albert. 1939
Hamilton, Joseph. 1943
Hammond, Ralph C. 1939
Hansen, P. 1949
Hanson, G.H. 1939
Harnes, Lou Emma. 1939
Harper, Maby. 1940
Harter, Hansel. 1944
Hearn, Janie. 1939
Heartman, Charles F. (Book Farm). 1940
Heberick, B. 1937
Heckman, Ann. 1946
Hedgeman, A., Arnold and others. 1943
Henderson, F. 1939
Henderson, W.C. 1939
Henegan, S. Herbert. 1942
Hensley, S/sgt. Charles D. 1943
Heyman, Josephine. 1943
Hiftline, Lillian. 1939
Hill, E.C. 1949
Hill, John. 1939
Hill, Louise B. 1939
Hodge, J.F. 1949
Holt, Ruby Ray. 1939
Homan, Margaret. 1939
Hornaday, C.L. 1939
Howard, Katherine. 1945
Huffman, Miriam A. 1943
Hunter, Clayton. 1939
Hutchens, Eleanor. 1939
Ida. 1939
Jacobs, John Hall. 1939
Janes, Edmund K. 1946
Jones-Williams, Marion. 1948
Jones, E. Paul. 1943
K (Micellaneous). 1944
Kalhorn, R. 1949
Kalling, W.M. 1939
Kaufman, Irene L. 1939
Kelley, Helen O. n.d.
Kelley, Joseph J. 1939
Kester, Mrs. Howard A. 1940
Kimberg, S. 1944
King, Morten. 1940
Klein, Alexander. 1946
Knopf, Blanche W. 1936
Koss, Seymour. 1939
Kurtright, F.B. 1949
Lambert, Allen Clay. 1939
Lancaster, C.H. 1939
Laughlin, James. 1940
Lee, J. Oscar. 1947
Lesesne, Katherine. 1939
Lesh, Frank. 1939
Levett, Rhoda. 1939
Levin, Alvin F. 1940
Litch, L. 1949
Lund, M. 1949
Lyon, Helen Kilpatrick. 1939
Marbuet, Mrs. Walter. 1940
Martin, Samuel. 1940
Mason, Helen Smith. 1943
Mason, Lucy Randolph. 1940, 1944
Mathewson, G. Henri. 1939
Maulden, John William. 1939
Mays, Benjamin E. 1943
McDonald, Caunette. 1941
McDowell, W.B. 1939
McGill, Ralph. 1939
Meacham, Katharine. 1944
Medairy, Loretta Codd. 1939
Miles, Lou Ella. 1946
Milgram, Morris. 1943, 1946
Miller, Mildred. 1939
Minor, R. Clyde. 1946
Montgomery, Anne. 1939
Moore, Carrie C. 1939
Moore, Zoe Steen. 1939
Mudgett, H.P. 1949
Nannette. 1941
Nesbitt, Arthur. 1939
Nevin, Henry. 1939
Nix, Earl. 1939
Odum, Howard W. 1944
Orcutt, Cap. Henry. 1946
Orkin, Wm. S. 1946
P., Walter. 1941
Pares, Ruby C. 1939
Patton, Theodore. 1939
Payne, Algred C. 1946
Pearce, Rhena (Mrs.). 1943
Penneman, Nikolaus. 1939
Penny, Lloyd G. 1939
Platt, Davis P. 1943
Pope, Liston. 1939
Porter, Doris. 1940
Pruitt, Grace. 1939
Pyettel, C.L. 1942
Radnor School District. 1949
Reece, Mrs. R.H. 1939
Rees, A.D. 1939
Reich, Gustav. 1939
Rice, Joe. 1946
Riley, F.C. 1939
Roberts, Elta C. 1944
Roberts, M. Ernestine. 1939
Roberts, Mrs. Franz A. 1939
Roberts, Nina. 1946
Robertson, Ben. 1939
Rupert, Hoover. 1946
Sanders, Samuel. 1939
Schaum, Suzie. 1943
Schloss, Louis. 1941
Schunk, Fred. 1939
Scott, Evelyn. 1939
Scott, Hardy. 1941
Segal, Joseph. 1939
Seleen, D.D. 1949
Shane, Elizabeth. 1947
Sheer, Daniel Elvin. 1939
Shipp, Carmeron. 1944
Shnaper, L.A. 1939
Short, J. 1949
Shryock, Richard H. 1940
Sibley, Martha. 1946
Sider, H. 1949
Simon, Paul R. 1946
Slaght, J.S. 1949
Smith, Christine. 1939
Smith, Frances. 1943
Smith, Frank. 1939, 1944
Smith, J. Holmes. 1943
Smith, T.E. 1939
Snelling, Paula. 1948
Sprague, M.D. 1939
Sprinkle, Placide E. 1943
Stanford, Calvin. 1939
Steffen, M. 1949
Stover, Ruth B. 1939
Street, Thomas M. 1946
Strorecker, G.A. 1945
Taylor, Robert. 1939
Thomas, Cecil and Francis. 1943
Thornley, Mrs. W.E. 1939
Tilley, Violet. 1947
Tipton, A.R. 1939
Tipton, James H. 1939, 1941
Tipton, S.R. 1939
Tompkins, Helen. 1946
Towery, James G. 1939
Trotter, B.F. 1949
Tyler, W.O. 1949
Utley, Margaret. 1943
Vivo, Jorge A. 1946
Wagner, Leila. 1946
Wallace, M. McCready. 1946
Walsh, Richard J. 1943
Ward, Ruth S. 1947
Waylonis, Sgt. George R. 1943
Weinberg, Amelia L. 1939
Weston, M. Moran. 1943
Whitaker, Mrs. C.R. 1944
White, Walter. 1940
Widman, Mary. 1943
Williams, Milton W. 1939
Williams, O.J. 1949
Wilson, Leon. 1939, 1941
Winfield, Arthur A. 1940
Young, Evelyn Orne. 1944
Zeuch, William Edward. 1939


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page