|
|
Library Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Remote Logon | Search |
| Library > Special & Area Studies Collections > General Manuscripts > Finding Aids | |
Finding aid created by Dept. Staff
University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
January 2013
Descriptive Summary |
||
| Creator: | Sandbach, Tinne & Co. | |
| Title: | Records of Sandbach, Tinne & Co. | |
| Dates: | 1820-1882 | |
| Bulk dates: | 1825-1855 | |
| Abstract: | Correspondence to the firm of Sandbach, Tinne & Co. from McInroy, Sandbach & Co., McInroy, Parker & Co., and other affiliates in the Demerara region of British Guiana primarily relating to sugar, molasses, coffee and rum. | |
| Extent: | 0.08 Linear feet. 67 items. | |
| Identification: | MS Group 112 3/2 | |
| Language(s): | English | |
Correspondence to the firm of Sandbach, Tinne & Co. from McInroy, Sandbach & Co., McInroy, Parker & Co., and other affiliates in the Demerara region of British Guiana. The collection relates primarily to the trade in sugar, molasses, coffee, and rum from Demerara and commodities from England sent to British Guiana. Several letters describe conditions at plantations in the Demerara region, and there is an estimate for mill machinery from the factory of Mirrlees and Tait for the sugar estate Providence dated 1866.
There are no letters for the years 1867-1879.
Arranged chronologically: The collection begins with two undated letter fragments.
The collection is open for research.
[Identification of item], Records of Sandbach, Tinne & Co., Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
Guyana -- History -- 1803-1966
Sugar trade -- West Indies.
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.