Skip to Search



A Guide to the Valerie Sammons Collection

Finding aid created by Alexandra von Mering

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
June 2012


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Sammons, Valerie
Title: Valerie Sammons Collection
Dates: 1983
Abstract: Newspapers, T-shirts, pamphlets, and photographs gathered or created by Valerie Sammons on a goodwill visit to Grenada in 1983.
Extent: 0.2 Linear feet. 1 flat box.
Identification: MS Group 315
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

In 1979, the New Jewel Movement of Grenada, led by Maurice Bishop, overthrew President Eric Gairy. The generally peaceful revolution established the People's Revolutionary Government of Grenada (the PRG). Bishop was killed in a 1983 coup by members of Grenada's armed forces, which culminated in a US led invasion and occupation.


Scope and Content

This collection consists of materials gathered or created by Valerie Sammons, a registered nurse, on a goodwill visit to Grenada in 1983. The collection contains newspapers, T-shirts, pamphlets, and photographs. Most of the material dates from Sammons' time in Grenada. However, there is some historical information on the New Jewel Movement and Maurice Bishop. The photographs were taken by Sammons.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Valerie Sammons Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Valerie Sammons.


Contents List

Box
1 Information on Pre- and Post-Revolution Grenada
1 Bishop and the PRG Before the 1983 Coup
1 Basic Health Information in Grenada 1981
1 National Women's Organisation of Grenada (First Congress). 1981
1 Photographs. March 1983
1 Valerie Sammons Notes on Talk at Socialist Workers Party Hall
1 Miscellaneous
1 2 T-shirts

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Grenada -- History
Grenada -- Politics and government -- 1974-1983



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page