Skip to Search



A Guide to the Nathaniel P. Reed Everglades Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2004


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Reed, Nathaniel P. (Nathaniel Pryor), 1933-
Title: Nathaniel P. Reed Everglades Papers
Dates: 1983-2000
Abstract: Reed's correspondence and other documents relating to the Everglades starting in 1983, the beginning of the Save our Everglades program declared by Governor Bob Graham, and spanning until 2000.
Extent: 6 linear feet. (12 Boxes)
Identification: Ms Group 116


Biographical/Historical Note

Nathaniel Pryor Reed was born in New York City, July 23, 1933. He graduated from Trinity College in Connecticut with a B.A. in 1955 and served as an officer in the U.S. Air Force (1955-1959). He was Assistant Secretary of the Interior in the Nixon and Ford administrations (1971-77.) He has served in numerous offices in Florida, including that of Special Assistant to the Governor (Kirk) for the Environment, 1967-1971, and as a member of the Governing Board of the South Florida Water Management District for many years. He has been an officer or board member of numerous environmental organizations, including the National Audubon Society, the Nature Conservancy, the National Resources Defense Council, and 1000 Friends of Florida.


Scope and Content

The papers include Reed's personal correspondence and other documentation relating to the Everglades from the year 1983, the beginning of the Save our Everglades program declared by Governor Bob Graham, created and gathered by him as an environmental activist and, to a lesser degree, as a public official. Accompanying documentation includes documents from many agencies involved with the Everglades, especially the South Florida Water Management District (SFWMD), the Army Corps of Engineers, the Everglades National Park, the Everglades Coalition and numerous other environmental-advocacy groups. Some publications on the Everglades such as periodic status reports and copies of newspaper clippings are also included. Related files on the SFWMD are included for the years1987-1981. Files relating to the 1000 Friends of Florida are included for the years 1990 and 1992. Numerous papers relate to the Army Corps of Engineers Central and Southern Florida Project Comprehensive Review Study (1998). For the years 1993 and 1999, there are additional files relating to Lake Okeechobee. Files are missing for the years 1994-1995.


Arrangement

The papers are in straight chronological order from 1983-1999 (Boxes 1-8). Box 9 contains some subject files for 1999, including a file on Lake Okeechobee, a file from January 2000, and copies of Reed's e-mail, January 1999- January 2000. Box 10 includes press clipping for January 1999 - 2000. SFWMD files, 1987-1991, are in Box 11, and Friends of Florida files for 1990 and 1992 are in Box 12.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Nathaniel P. Reed Everglades Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Everglades Papers


Box 1

Introductory folder with biographical sketch, photograph, and copy of finding guide.
"A Saga That May Yet Lead to a Legacy Everglades National Park," / Nathaniel Pryor Reed. Fairchild Tropical Garden Bulletin, 8-15. July 1983
Everglades: Correspondence with James A. Kushlan, Texas A and M. Save Our Everglades: Second Anniversary Report Card. 1985
Everglades. 1986
Everglades. 1987
Everglades. 1987
Everglades. January-March, 1988
Everglades. April-June, 1988
Everglades. July-September, 1988
Everglades. October-December, 1988
Everglades. October-December, 1988

Box 2

Everglades. January-March, 1989
Everglades. April-June, 1989
Everglades. July-September, 1989
Everglades. October-December, 1989
Everglades. October-December, 1989
Everglades. January-March, 1990
Everglades. April-June, 1990
Everglades. April-June, 1990

Box 3

Everglades. July-September, 1990
Everglades. October-December, 1990
Everglades. October-December, 1990
Everglades. January-March, 1991
Everglades. January-March, 1991
Everglades. April-June, 1991
Everglades. July-September, 1991
Everglades. October-December, 1991

Box 4

Everglades. January-March, 1992
Everglades. January-March, 1992
Everglades. January-March, 1992
Everglades. April-June, 1992
Everglades, Images and Ecosystems. Text by Thomas E. Lodge. Foreword by Peter Beard. Introduction by Marjory Stoneman Douglas. Typed manuscript. 1991
Everglades. July-September, 1992
Everglades. October-December, 1992
Everglades. October-December, 1992

Box 5

Everglades. January-March, 1993
Everglades. January-March, 1993
Everglades. January-March, 1993
Everglades. April-June, 1993
Everglades. April-June, 1993
Everglades. April-June, 1993
Everglades, Ecosystem Update. June 10, 1993
"Dare to Save the Everglades," / Nathaniel P. Reed, Miami Herald. Manuscript, drafts, and comments. Feb. 21, 1993

Box 6

Lake Okeechobee. 1993
Lake Okeechobee. 1993
Everglades. 1996
Everglades. 1997
Everglades. 1997
Everglades. January-June, 1997
Everglades. July-December, 1997

Box 7

Everglades. January-June, 1998
Everglades. January-June, 1998
Everglades. July-December, 1998
Everglades. July-December, 1998

Box 8

Everglades - Primarily Central and Southern Florida Project Comprehensive Review Study (Restudy) Documents. January 1999
Everglades - Primarily Central and Southern Florida Project Comprehensive Review Study (Restudy) Documents. January 1999
Everglades. February-April 1999
Everglades. February-April 1999
Everglades. May-November, 1999
Everglades. May-November, 1999
Everglades. December 1999

Box 9

Berry Farm. November-December, 1999
Everglades: Lake Okeechobee. December 1998-December 1999
National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit for the Everglades Stormwater Treatment Areas - Governor Jeb Bush, Senator Bob Graham. February-March 1999
Nelson, Wayne - Correspondence. Oct. - Dec. 1999
Zebuth, Herbert H. - "A Brief History of Lake Okeechobee and Pollution Control Efforts. 1999
Everglades. January 2000
Barley, Mary, Nathaniel P. Reed, and Debbie Wasserman Schultz. "South Florida Taxpayers Beware." Draft Op-ed, the Miami Herald .
Everglades Emails. January-June 1999
Everglades Emails. January-June 1999
Everglades Emails. July - August 1999
Everglades Emails. September-November 1999
Everglades Emails. September-November 1999
Everglades Emails. December 1999
Everglades Emails. January 2000

Box 10

Everglades Press Clippings. January-March 1999
Everglades Press Clippings. April - June 1999
Everglades Press Clippings. July-October 1999
Everglades Press Clippings. November 1999- January 2000

Box 11

South Florida Water Management District (SFWMD). 1987
SFWMD. January-March 1988
SFWMD. April-June 1988
SFWMD. July-September 1988
SFWMD. October-December 1988
SFWMD. January-March 1989
SFWMD. April-June 1989
SFWMD. July-September 1989
SFWMD. October-December 1989
SFWMD. 1990
SFWMD. 1991

Box 12

1000 Friends of Florida. 1990
1000 Friends of Florida. 1992



Selected Subjects and Access Points

The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog:
Organizations:
United States. Army. Corps of Engineers.
Personal Names:
Reed, Nathaniel P. (Nathaniel Pryor), 1933- -- Correspondence.
Subject Terms:
Contemporary Florida, 1960-
Environmental policy -- Florida.
Environmental protection -- Florida.
Environmentalists -- Florida -- Correspondence.
Everglades (Fla.)
Everglades National Park (Fla.)
Okeechobee, Lake (Fla.)
Politicians -- Florida -- Correspondence.
South Florida Water Management District (Fla.)


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page