Skip to Search



A Guide to the G. Pucci's Photograph Album Relating to Eritrea, Ethiopia and Libya

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2013


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Pucci, G.
Title: G. Pucci's Photograph Album Relating to Eritrea, Ethiopia and Libya
Dates: 1939
Abstract: An album containing photos taken by an Italian soldier, G. Pucci, in Eritrea, Ethiopia and Libya, February 3-27, 1939.
Extent: 1 Linear feet. 1 volume.
Identification: MS Group 8
Language(s): Italian
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

The album contains 95 photographs of a trip taken by Italian soldier G. Pucci in 1939 to Eritrea, Ethiopia and Libya. The photos are well identified with captions, and Pucci's itinerary is well documented: Tessenei (Feb. 3), Amara - Addis Ababa (Feb. 5-7), Addis Abeba - Lechemti (Feb. 10), Assab - Dessie (Feb. 11-12), Asmara - Gondar (Feb. 14-15), Gondar - Debra Marcos - Addis Abeba (Feb. 16), Litoranea Libica (Feb. 22-27). Smaller villages are included, such as Gasperini, Ghedo, Bati, Sardo, Mille, Elidar, Guma, Assab, Adi Arcai and Debarech. Subjects in Eritrea and Ethiopia include colonial dignitaries, Italian built roads and bridges, colonial pioneers, an inspection by Duke Aosta, an air corps camp at Dessie, fantazia by Somali irregulars, Abyssinian leaders, military pontoon bridges across the Blue Nile, Ethiopian royalty at Dabat, an Italian family with African servant and children in militzia costume, colonial construction, warehousing, agriculture, and a Portuguese castle. Pucci flew to Libya on February 21 and several other scenes at various locations are shown: Muslim school children giving a fascist salute, ruins at Leptas Magna, newly created Italian villages such as Cesare Battisti and Francesco Crispi, Zliten, a Muslim procession, the Oasis of Mazurta, ruins of Sabrata, and different monuments to the Italians. The album also includes two poems written by Pucci, the first at the Grotte del Lete on February 23 and the second at Sirte on February 24.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The Martin Rikli Photographs at the University of Florida document Rikli's Ethiopian (Abessinien) expedition, which coincided with the second Italo-Abyssinian War.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this album are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], G. Pucci's Photograph Album Relating to Eritrea, Ethiopia and Libya, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased in 2012.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Eritrea -- Colonization
Eritrea -- History
Eritrea -- Pictorial works
Ethiopia -- Colonization
Ethiopia -- History -- 1889-1974
Ethiopia -- Pictorial works
Italy -- Colonies -- Africa
Libya -- Colonization
Libya -- History
Libya -- Pictorial works



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page