|
|
Library Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Remote Logon | Search |
| Library > Special & Area Studies Collections > General Manuscripts > Finding Aids | |
Finding aid created by Dept. Staff
University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
July 2007
Descriptive Summary |
||
| Creator: | Parreño, Desiderio | |
| Title: | Historia Grafica de la Maritima Parreno Scrapbook | |
| Dates: | 1921-1941 | |
| Abstract: | Scrapbook documenting the development of the Maritima Parreño port facilities in Santiago de Cuba during the 1920s and 1930. | |
| Extent: | 1 Linear feet. 1 scrapbook; 34 leaves. | |
| Identification: | MS Group 217 | |
| Language(s): | Spanish | |
Scrapbook documenting the development of the Maritima Parreño port facilities in Santiago de Cuba during the 1920s and 1930s. The items in the scrapbook primarily document the renovation and expansion of the docks, warehouses, and other facilities of the Parreño company. The album was kept by Desiderio Parreño, who was responsible for the expansion of the firm. Included are over 140 photographs with detailed handwritten captions, and a small number of news clippings, letters, and postcards. Also included are staff photos and a "Baccardi" souvenir folio with views of Santiago. Among the topics and events covered in the scrapbook are the dredging of the harbor, repair of damage after the 1932 earthquake, installation of telephones, and several trains and steamships.
The collection is open for research.
This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.
[Identification of item], Historia Grafica de la Maritima Parreño Scrapbook, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
Santiago de Cuba (Cuba) -- History.
Santiago de Cuba (Cuba) -- Pictorial works.
Shipping -- Cuba -- History.
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.