Skip to Search



A Guide to the Leonard Carpenter Panama Canal Collection

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Carpenter, Leonard (Collector)
Title: Leonard Carpenter Panama Canal Collection
Dates: 1887-1973
Bulk: 1914-1929
Extent: 0.4 linear ft. 1 Box
Identification: Ms Group 169


Scope and Content

Photographs, publications, artifacts, notes, correspondence. The collection primarily consists of photographs of Panama and the Panama Canal Zone during construction, beginning in 1914. The photographs show dredging and construction operations, workers, military personnel and camps, ships such as the U.S.S. Ohio, the dam at Pedro Miguel, an hydroelectric plant, locks, the Steamship Cristobal, Paraiso Yard, and a U.S. Navy dirigible. Several photos have captions identifying the persons, places and events shown. Most of the collection, particularly the photographs and items dated 1914 to 1929, originally were created or collected by Walter E. Boyd. He appears in a small number of the photographs, and two of the publications int he collection were mailed to him.

The publications include guides, magazines, and brochures that provide historical and travel information about the Canal. Included among a small number of artifacts is a metal spike from the Pacific Coast railroad, which Boyd evidently brought to the U.S. in 1919. The collection also includes an 1887 letter, in French, regarding a proposal for a scheme to transport dredged rubble from the Canal.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Leonard Carpenter Panama Canal Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Leonard Carpenter in 1993.


Contents List


Box 1

Canal Interoceanique de Panama notice regarding a system for transporting dredged rubble from the Canal (in French, with translation). 1887
Guide: My Trip Through the Panama Canal from the Atlantic to the Pacific. 1929
Miscellaneous Memorabilia, Notes and Publications regarding the Panama Canal. 1927 and n.d.
Official Handbook of the Panama Canal. 1915
Photographs: Assorted uncaptioned photos, Panama Canal. ca. 1920s
Photographs: Miscellaneous Military Base Camp Photos, Panama Canal. ca. 1920s
Photographs: Miscellaneous Photos and Negatives, Panama Canal. ca. 1914-1928
Photographs: Dredging, Soldiers, and Ships. ca. 1914
Photographs: U.S. Military Personnel, Panama Canal. ca. 1920s
Photographs: U.S. Soldiers (Unidentified), Panama Canal. ca. 1920s
Photographs: Views of Panama and the Canal. ca. 1928
Photographs: Workers (Unidentified) and Work Camp, Panama Canal. ca. 1920s
Publication: The Canal Diggers in Panama 1904 to 1928 (by the Panama Canal Retirement Association). 1928
Publication: Panama Canal Review Special Edition. 1973
Publication: The Panama Canal: Twenty-fifth Anniversary. 1939
Spike (Metal) from the Pacific Coast railroad (with a note on envelope reading: "Brought from France by W.E. Boyd in 1919"). n.d.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page