Skip to Search



A Guide to the Orr Family Papers

Finding aid created by Jennifer Harrold, Jeffrey Barr, and James Cusick

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2006


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Orr family
Title: Orr Family Papers
Dates: 1828-1957
Bulk dates: 1843-1900
Abstract: Letters, engravings, and memorabilia of Nathaniel Orr, the engraver/illustrator, his wife Elizabeth, and their daughters, especially Alice Orr Tredwell.
Extent: 3 Linear feet. 7 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 83
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Nathaniel Orr (1822-1908) was one of the most noted engravers of the second-half of the nineteenth century. Born in London, Ontario, he learned engraving from John H. Hall of Albany, New York. Orr moved his business to New York City.

In 1846, Orr married Elisabeth Holmes (1825-1909) of Albany County, New York, the author of several books, including The Belle Heiress (Auburn, NY, 1849), stories, newspaper and journal articles, and poems. Of seven children, three survived to adulthood: Sarah Z. Moore (b. 1847), Effie Hamlyn, and Alice B. Tredwell (b. 1860). The family lived in Hohokus, New Jersey, with a winter home in Melrose, Florida.


Scope and Content

Includes family history and records, legal papers, literary manuscripts, family journals, correspondence, drawings, scrapbooks and albums, family artifacts, examples of Nathaniel Orr's engravings and of Elisabeth Orr's published writings, and a few photographs. All members of the family are included, especially Nathaniel and Elisabeth Orr and daughter Alice Tredwell.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Orr Family Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Papers were acquired from the Orr family house in Melrose, Florida.


Contents List

Biographical Material, Family History and Records, and Photographs 1832-1944


Box Folder
1 1 [Orr, Elizabeth Holmes] Subjects for examination... [verse and religious lessons] October 7, 1832-October 22, 1832. Bound notebook. [16] leaves. 4x6 inches.
1 2 [Orr, Elisabeth Holmes] Math lesson, or examination book, with copies of poems and a story, some signed Elisabeth Holmes, 1837-1838.
1 3 Rundle (Randall) family genealogy, ca. 1670-1740 [ancestors of Elisabeth Orr].
1 4 [Orr, Alice] Autobiography, 1860-1875, 10 leaves, Orr family history, copied from Uncle John Orr's notes, covering 1795-1840, and genealogy of Holmes family in America, 1648, to ca. 1900, and application (copy) of Alice Beecher Orr Tredwell for membership in the Daughters of the American Revolution (1908).
1 5 [Orr, Alice] My trip to Europe, August 21, 1874, - Sept. 19, 1874. Also includes trips of August 15-Sept 2, 1875, "copied from my diary. "Signed A.B.O.; July 9, 1882 -August 20 and (4) Account of wedding, Nov. 12, 1884, and wedding trip to Washington and return home on the 19th.
1 6 [Orr, Elisabeth] Account book and journal of family trip to Great Britain, May-June, 1884.
1 7 [Orr, Elisabeth] Journal from London to Holland, Germany (the Rhine), Switzerland, France, Paris (Dieppe, Newhaven crossing) Brighton and back to London. June 23 -August 3, 1884.
1 8 Orr, Nathaniel. Financial records, Hohokus, New Jersey, June 1905 -. Lists of bank accounts, bonds and investments, insurance policies, etc.
1 9 Miscellaneous loose sheets, primarily about Holmes family, ca. 28 pieces.
1 10 Legal Papers, 1848-1944: (1): 1848. Grant by the authorities of Victoria, Canada of a piece of land to John Finlayson- (2): 1857. Indenture between Daniel Finlayson and James Fisher regarding property in Lambton County.-- (3): 1859. Indenture between Elvenegh Montague and Nathaniel Orr regarding land in Hoboken, County of Hudson.-- (4) 1859-A bond between Nathaniel Orr and Ebenezer Montague. (5) 1944-- Last Will and Testament of Alice Orr Tredwell.
1 11 [Orr, Nathaniel] Stocks, bonds and records of transactions [ca. 1884-1904].
1 12 Orr, Elisabeth. Account book and recipe book (autograph).
1 13 Inventory book of the contents of Home Acre with purchase prices, or possibly current evaluation, and Orr, Elisabeth H. "Contents of My House in Melrose, Florida" [notebook].
1 14 Photographs. (1) Unidentified woman; (2) unidentified woman with horse; (3) family group; (4-5) Nathaniel Orr photos, one in case, with note signed Effie Orr Hamlyn, April 18, 1911, stating that photo was taken in 1847; (6) Orr family burial monument.


Manuscripts, Writings of Elisabeth, Sarah and Alice Orr 1863-1874 and Not dated


Box Folder
2 1 The Children of the Mountain, a Christmas Story, by Elisabeth H. Orr. Dec. 25, 1868. 22 leaves.
2 2 The Damosels of Wynestowe, novel by E. H. Orr.
2 3 Writings and Poems, 1837-1874, a. ms. in notebook, signed Elisabeth Holmes Orr. Some loose leaves and clippings inserted.
2 4 [Orr, Elisabeth] Untitled story in a notebook, 66 numbered leaves. Other writings, clippings, etc. inserted.
2 5 [Orr, Elisabeth] "The Underhills," and other writings in a notebook. Loose leaves included. A published copy in included in the Scrapbooks box in this collection.
2 6 "The Holidays" and other writings, signed Sarah Z. Orr, 1863. 6 leaves.
2 7 Alice Orr.. The Royalists Club, Sept. 8, 1874.
2 8 Alice Orr. Copybook. Includes poems attributed to Elisabeth H. Orr, an essay by Effie Orr, and a dramatization of "Cinderella," in which Effie is listed in the cast.


Correspondence 1843-1939, and Not dated


Box Folder
3 1 Nathaniel Orr. 44 letters, including 41 to E. Holmes Orr, 2 to Sarah Orr Moore, and 1 to Wilbur Tredwell, including 15 letters, [ n. d.]-1844-1847 and 29 letters, 1866-1895. Letter of Sept. 11, 1885, includes a two-page note from Alice to Elisabeth Orr.
3 2 Correspondence to N. Orr, n.d., 1825 -1849. Approximately 70 letters, primarily regarding the engraving business. A few are addressed to individuals other than Orr.
3 2 Ackley, C.A. n.d.
3 2 Adams, J.A. 1843: June 28, Aug.11, Aug. 16, August 22, Oct. 2
3 2 Anderson, Alex Sept. 12, 1825, April 5, 1837, May 30, 1837, to John Hall
3 2 Barry, Railey n.d.
3 2 Beethlum?, B. October 23, 1848
3 2 Benjamin, P.B. n.d.
3 2 Bochsa, Charles n..d. (two letters)
3 2 Brown, Thurlow W. 1849: December 5, December 19 (2)
3 2 Chili, L.M. n.d.
3 2 Clute, John B. Oct. 20, 1843 Oct. 2, 1847
3 2 Darley, F. O. C. n.d. (2)
3 2 Downing, A.J. September 9, 1843
3 2 Fenn, Harry n. d. (2)
3 2 Fogel, George January 3, 1845
3 2 Feilleil, John n.d.
3 2 Fuller, S.E. n.d.
3 2 Goldsmith n.d.
3 2 Gries, N.R. n.d. (2)
3 2 Hall, C. Mason February 2, 1848
3 2 Hall, John H. August 20, 1844. With note on verso: "This man Father learned engraving from in Albany. A. O. T."
3 2 Henry, Joseph 1847: Aug. 18, Nov. 11, Nov. 25; 1848: March 23.
3 2 Herbert, K. n.d.
3 2 Hoppin, Augustus n.d.
3 2 Hughes, John, bishop of New York December 13, 1848
3 2 Hunt, H.W. April 12, 1844
3 2 Ingraham n.d.
3 2 Kirkland, C.M. January 15, 1848
3 2 Machill, Don n.d.
3 2 Marble, D. May 6, 1842
3 2 Miller, Derby 1849: December 5, December 19
3 2 Olin, J.M. n.d.
3 2 O'Reilly, S. December 10, 1844
3 2 Parkin, George and Co. 1848: April 11, May 19
3 2 Pende, J. n.d.
3 2 Randall, H.E. n.d. (2)
3 2 Robruder, Solon n.d.
3 2 Shostrar, David July 13, 1846
3 2 Shaw, O.Y. September 18, 1841
3 2 Sirlof, Anne n.d.
3 2 Squire, E. George Oct. 28, 1845, 1846: Dec. 1, Jan. 20, 1847: Feb. 20; April 28, 1849
3 2 Squier, Mrs. n.d.
3 2 Stevens, A. n.d.
3 2 Tenn, Henry n.d.
3 2 Wheeler, O.H. October 25, 1843
3 3 Correspondence to Nathaniel Orr, 1850-1857. Approximately 69 business letters. A few are to individuals other than Orr.
3 3 Ash, W.H. March 25, 1856
3 3 Bishop, Anna 1851: Oct. 20
3 3 Bloomer, Amelia September 10, 1857
3 3 Bocsha, Charles August 8, 1850
3 3 Brennan, J.H. October 15, 27 1857
3 3 Brown, Thurlow W. 1850: March 7; 1851: Sept. 23, Nov. 7; 1852: Jan. 5, 13, May 11, Dec. 11; 1857: Oct. 29, Dec. 5, Dec. 9
3 3 Brown, W. January 26, 1851
3 3 Camp, N.W. Aug. 21, 1855
3 3 Canning, J.D. Dec. 25, 1851 Jan. 13, 1852
3 3 Croome, William 1851: June 26
3 3 De Forest, John W. 1850: July 9, Aug. 1, Sept. 9, Sept. 14
3 3 Derby, Chancey L. 1850: January 15, June 27
3 3 Dey, J.N. April 14, 1857
3 3 Dones, William S. March 12, 1852
3 3 Fuller, Sarah E. December 26, 1851
3 3 Gavazzi, Alessandro April 11, 1853
3 3 Green, Duff July 10, 1856
3 3 "Haché," April 21, 1850
3 3 Hanson, Thomas November 19, 1855
3 3 Harris, Clarendon June 19, 1854
3 3 Hart, N. Bloome February 2, 1857
3 3 Hayes, Barry P. October 23, 1852
3 3 Herrick, Henry June 25, 1850
3 3 Hoffman, A. October 31, 1853
3 3 Hopkins, John H. November 13, 1856
3 3 Horman, R. January 23, 1850
3 3 Hough, Franklin B. June 1, 1852
3 3 Jones, J.D. June 21, 1852
3 3 Kendall, H. August 9, 1857
3 3 Lingley, Joseph October 11, 1852
3 3 Lohele (?), William May 20, 1856
3 3 McLenan, John 1851: December 6, July 19, 1856
3 3 Mathies, Mrs. December 16, 1850
3 3 Miles, Pliny November 9, 13 1853
3 3 Miller, Derby December 19, 1849
3 3 Mocklesby (?), John July 27, 1851
3 3 Owen, D.D. May 20, 24 1852
3 3 Pasch, Ih. 1854
3 3 Randall, Henry July 2, 1850; 1857: Feb 8, March 7
3 3 Seaman, J.S. March 23, 1850
3 3 Shears, William May 5, 1852
3 3 Smith, C.A. October 14, 1853
3 3 Vertel, Johannes April 6, 1853
3 3 Wallin, Samuel November 30, 1850
3 3 Watson, Alex 1855: April 23, June 13
3 3 Watts, James November 22, 1854
3 3 Welin (?), B. November 25, 1854
3 3 Wells, S.R. September 8, 1857
3 3 Wells, T. January 21, 1852
3 3 Wislo, Anna October 20, 1851
3 3 Wright, E.K.W. April 30, 1855
3 4 Correspondence to Nathaniel Orr, 1858-1879. Approximately 60 business letters. A few are to individuals other than Orr.
3 4 Anthony, A.V.S. October 19, 1876, December 2, 1879
3 4 Arthur, William Sept. 30, 1867
3 4 Bagley, M. S. 1871: Oct. 13
3 4 Baird, Spencer 1860: Feb. 26, June 4, 16
3 4 Beaulier, Emile T. February 25, 1876
3 4 Blanchard, L. July 27, 1867
3 4 Colt, Mrs. Samuel 1864: May 30, Jan. 9, August 24, Sept. 3, Sept. 6, Nov, 2, Dec. 14, Dec. 19; 1865: Jan. 4, 7, Feb. 3, Mar. 29, July 17; 1866: Jan. 10, April 13; January 15, 1867; December 5, 1868
3 4 Copestick, Alfred July 8 and August 6 1859
3 4 Devens, Richard M. 1865: July 28 and 31 to Case and Co.; n. d.
3 4 Dodge, Charles R. June 25, 1872
3 4 Ehinger, John W. March 6, 1859
3 4 Goldsmith, J. C. Feb. 15, 1878, Jan. 15 1879
3 4 Greely, Horace Feb. 10, June 7 1864
3 4 Hamlyn, Tom 1879: April 21, July 15
3 4 Hamlyn, William 1879: May 24
3 4 Hatfield, Julia 1869
3 4 Haven, H. April 26, 1859
3 4 Hughes, G.E. August 22, 1874, to Mr. Miller
3 4 Ingraham, J.W. January 23, 1860
3 4 Irish, William N. 1860: April 7
3 4 Laindart, A.H. October 5, 1870
3 4 Lander, E.J. March 22, April 2 1879
3 4 Mackenzie, R. Shelton August 16, 1863
3 4 Marsh, Edward August 12, 1865
3 4 Newton, W.H. May 9, 1874
3 4 Noble, Louis January 8, 1863
3 4 Paude (?), Thomas 1859
3 4 Pogges, June 11, 1879
3 4 Seaman, Henry December 31, 1858
3 4 Smith, Stephen March 8, 1861
3 4 Snell, R. September 21, 1858
3 4 Stoddard, R.H. July 18, 1860 to J. O. Victor
3 4 Sutro, Adolph May 25, 1874
3 4 Tisdale, W.J. February 5, 1864
3 4 Whenler, J. Talbys March 23, 1875
3 4 Wright, F (?) S. October 6, 1874
3 4 Unsigned fragment 187-? December
3 5 Correspondence to Nathaniel Orr, 1880-1900. Approximately 29 letters. A few are to individuals other than Orr. Several of the letters are written to or from Melrose and elsewhere in Alachua County, Florida.
3 5 Caldwell, M. S. M. (Melrose, Fl.) April 24, 1892
3 5 Campbell, Alexander April 22, 1890
3 5 Darlington, A..M. April 24, 1890
3 5 Derby, C.S. August 1, 1886
3 5 England, J.W. June 30, 1882
3 5 Fletcher, J. May 6, 23 1882
3 5 Fuller, A.S. January 20, 1887
3 5 Fuller, W.G. March 30, 1886 enclosure: J.H. Barrett letter
3 5 Fox, Lucy M. (Melrose, Fl.) April 3, 1890
3 5 Garret, Edmund H. September 3, 1880
3 5 Graubech, D (?) April 12, 1884
3 5 Hamlyn, James December 12, 1900
3 5 Houghton, Mifflin Co. (Millet) June 7, 1881
3 5 Hyatt, Thadeus April 26, 1889
3 5 Lowry, N.W. (Melrose, Fl.) May 3, 1890
3 5 Levy, W.B. March 4, 1889
3 5 Liemley, Arthur November 9, 1881
3 5 Meriam, F.B. (Waldo, Fl.) June 5, 1890
3 5 Moore, M. November 1, 1881
3 5 Morgan, J.D. December 4, 1887
3 5 Nichols, Arabella May 20, 1890
3 5 Nichols, G.M. April 28, 1890
3 5 Orr, John William January 19, 1880
3 5 Saunders, Elizabeth April 21, 1880
3 5 Von Luttichan, H., baron (Waldo, Fl.) June 15, 1887, March 25, 1894
3 5 Weir, John W. July 14, 1896
3 5 Woodward, J.D. May 7, 1880, June 12, 1880
3 6 Untitled story by Elizabeth Orr.
3 7 Sarah Zuelia Orr. 2 letters from grandmother Sarah Holmes, 1855-1858; 3 letters, 1877-1884 and postcard, 1935, to sister Alice, letter to husband George, and letter to her mother and to sister Effie.
3 8 May Moore [i.e Mary? eldest daughter of Sarah and George]
3 8 a). Letter to Grandpa [Nathaniel Orr] /s/ May, Jan. 5, 1890;
3 8 b). to Mother, /s/ Mary, March 31, 1917;
3 8 c). three letters to Alice [Tredwell] /s/ May [n. d.]
3 8 d). The folder contains an unidentified document, 1878.
3 9 Minnie Moore [i.e. May, or Mary Moore?, daughter of George and Sarah Moore?] letter to "Dear Aunties [1874] and 2 letters Alice [Orr Tredwell] 1882.
3 10 Elizabeth Holmes Moore [youngest daughter of George and Sarah Moore] Letter to Mamma, Dec. 5, 1895, and 9 cards and letters to Elisabeth H. Moore, from various persons, [n. d.] 1948-1957.
3 11 George Moore. Letter to "Dear Girls," January 3, 1875; 2 letters to Alice O. Tredwell, 1883-1906, and business letter from Keiser and Co., to George Moore, 1906.
3 12 Effie Orr.16 letters to mother, E. H. Orr, sister Alice Orr Tredwell and other family members, 1874-1891.
3 13 Walter Hamlyn (husband of Effie Orr Hamlyn), 2 letters to E. H. Orr, May 8-Oct. 10, 1882, letter to Wilbur and Alice Tredwell, May 14, 1880, and business memorandum to him, March 4, 1886.
3 14 Alice Orr. Approximately 40 letters and documents, [n. d] and 1870 [bulk 1882] to 1939. The bulk are letters written by Alice Orr to family and friends, many from England in 1882. Contains a few letters written to her and husband Wilbur Tredwell. Includes a copybook with an 1882 letter to her niece Minnie. The documents include a story, written at about age 10 (1870) and some narrative accounts of journeys.
3 15 Miscellaneous. 8 letters from family members: "Auntie" Henrietta Wood Newton, 1874-1884, 1 from Harold Wood, 1895; 1 Louis [Orr?] one from nephew Lennie, 1879, and others.
3 16 Ella L.Turner [Ella Teddy Smythe?] Approximately 54 letters to Effie and Alice Orr and to Joe [Jefferson?, n. d.] 1874-1882. These letters were taken from a folder labelled Ella Teddy Smithe, but letters are signed Ella L. Turner, and some of the stationery has the monogram "ELT." Smythe is identified as a school-friend in Alice Orr's "Autobiography." Joe may be a shortened name for Josie, who is also identified in the "Autobiography."
3 17 Miscellaneous Correspondence. 8 pieces, 1856-1905.
3 17 To: Cunningham, J.P. From: ? April 22, 1856
3 17 To: Joe [Jefferson] From: Ford, C.J. September 23, 1869
3 17 To: Goesbeck, David From: James Eight October 14, 1873
3 17 To: Fuller From: Thurber August 25, 1887
3 17 To Whom It May Concern From: McNulty, William August 5, 1880
3 17 To: [Effie and Alice Orr] From: Anna Talmadge May 9, 1880
3 17 To: H.V. Noszki From: Benkman, G. June 2, 1891
3 17 To: H.V. Noszki From: Colson, W.W. February 23, 1905


Scrapbooks and Albums 1874-1881, and Not dated


Box Folder
4 1 Scrapbook of news clippings relating to Nathaniel Orr. Only a few items are identified as to source. The book has his bookplate, but is signed Elisabeth Holmes and Mrs. N. Orr on endpapers.
4 2 Scrapbook, signed N. Orr on flyleaf, containing engraved prints, some signed N. Orr.
4 3 Scrapbook, primarily containing clippings articles, stories, and poems by Elisabeth Orr.
4 4 Album of Pearls. Orr's remembrance book of trip in Ireland and Europe, 1874. Autographs and pressed flowers.
4 5 Alice Orr's Emerson Birthday Book. Christmas, 1881.
4 6 Alice Orr. Autograph books, with dried flowers from, Europe, 1874.


Drawings by Alice Orr, Elisabeth Orr's Publications, and Memorabilia 1828-1913


Box Folder
5 1 Drawings. (1) Notebook of drawings, with a. presentation inscription form N. Orr to Alice B. Orr, Dublin, Sept., 1874, (2) Album of Drawings by Alice Orr, during travels in Europe, 1875, (3) Notebook of drawings, one dated 1879, (4) Notebook of color drawings, endpaper dated July 4, 1879, drawings dated 1883.
5 2 Belle Heiress. By Mrs. N. Orr, of N.J., written expressly for Charles S. Brown, of Oswego, N.Y.. Auburn, N. Y.: Printed by Henry Oliphant, 1849. 89 pp.
5 3 Connecticut Cookbook and Housekeeper's Assistant. By Mrs. N. Orr. New York: Robert M. De Witt, c.1871.192 pp. Ms. recipes inserted.
5 4 Miscellaneous manuscript and printed items relating to N. Orr and family, including a) inscription intended to be placed of gravestone of deceased child of George and Mary Moore, died Jan. 3, 1842, in autograph of Mary Moore, b) Diagram of Home Acre, Melrose Florida, showing location of trees, March 31, 1903, c) Yearbook of the New Jersey Society Daughters of the Revolution, 1913 (Members' names include Effie Orr Hamlyn and Alice Orr Tredwell), and other items.
5 5 a. Book of Common Prayer, Edinburgh, 1828. Signed M[ary] A[nne] Moore and Effie Orr on endpapers. b. Book of Common Prayer. Oxford [n. d.] Signed "Alice Orr, London, on flyleaf.
5 6 Three address books
5 7 Artifacts:
5 7 a) Suspender, with note: "One of a pair of suspenders worked by Mama for Papa in the Year 1846 -- [signed] Alice Orr, July 1, 1881
5 7 b) Leather shipping tag in the shape of a fish, addressed to Mrs. Orr, Melrose, from Henrietta, postmarked Madison, Wis., Feb. 13, 1906.
5 7 c) Religious book-mark, perhaps for a large, family Bible.
5 7 d) Baby glove of L. Z. Moore, given by Martin Andrews
5 7 e) Brass nameplate, inscribed Alice Orr.


Books, Nathaniel Orr Engravings and Loose Plates 1846-1865


Box Folder
6 1 Books:
6 1 a) The American Flag, by Joseph Rodman Drake. Illustrated... F.O.C. Darley. New York: James G. Gregory, 1861. Some engravings signed N. Orr.
6 1 b) "Christ Was Born on Christmas Day." A Carol, with Illustrations by John A. Hows. New York: James G. Gregory, 1864. Also an 1865 issue. Unbound sheets. Engravings signed N. Orr.
6 1 c) Forest hymn by William Cullen Bryant, with illustrations by John A. Hows. New York: W.A. Townsend and Co. 8 unbound quarto sheets. Engravings by N. Orr and Co.
6 1 d) Joseph and His Brethren, in Original Verse. New York: Engraved and published by N. Orr, c. 1846. 2 copies.
6 1 e) The Liberty Bell, by William Ross Wallace. Illustrated...by John A. Hows. New York: James G Gregory, 1862. Some engravings signed, N. Orr and Co.
6 1 f) The Vagabonds, by J. T. Trowbridge. With illustrations by F. O. C. Darley... New York, James Gregory, 1863. Also a second copy, 1864.
6 1 g) A Visit from Saint Nicholas. Illustrated from drawings by F.O.C. Darley. New York: James G. Gregory, 1862. Engravings signed N. Orr Co. 2 copies.
6 2 Thirty-seven plates in 28 encapsulated sheets. 18 are signed by N. Orr; others, signed by other engravers, or unsigned. Includes illustrations from Romeo and Juliet, As You Like It, and other books, portraits, including Lyman Beecher and Thomas Cole, and other scenes.
6 3 Engravings of Dr. E. Browne and Lyman Beecher (multiple copies). Duplicates.
6 4 Forty-three drawings and engravings encapsulated in 22 sheets. A few are signed N. Orr. Most are unsigned.
6 5 Forty-five drawings encapsulated in 23 sheets. Probably illustrations for an unidentified book, or books. One is dated 1863.
6 6 Sixty-two drawings and engravings in 21 encapsulated sheets. Unidentified.
6 7 Thirty-six engravings by 25 encapsulated sheets by N. Orr and others. Includes one sheet of Orr's bookplates.
6 8 Nathaniel Orr's book plate (small box).
6 9 Three carved, wooden blocks


Correspondence of Elizabeth Holmes Orr with her family 1874-1907


Box Folder
7 1 Elizabeth H. Orr, Letters, Undated (Originals)
7 1 Letter to "My Dear Husband", from Home Acre, Melrose Florida, Friday Noon." Nathaniel and Alice leave Melrose; attends a picnic; visits Mrs. Caldwell who's dining room caught fire; recovering from an illness: "I think not one of you realized what a sick weak one I was or how happy am now to be so near my old self again." Effie is in Melrose and has been asked to join the literary society; a friend mentions that Nathaniel Orr elected president of one of the insurance companies; receives a letter from Nathaniel this day (Saturday); letter spans Friday and Saturday; "With love to all I am yours affectionately."
7 1 Letter to "My Dear Husband," from Melrose, Good Friday. Letter is written on Easter Sunday; Effie has had an accident; Elizabeth desires to return home(New Jersey) on "Sunday next", April 22; at the cottage during the days; staying with Walter and Effie now; writes of her illness: "came down with much heart trouble and have not been in the street since, Your own."
7 1 Letter to "Effie Dear", from Coney Island, July 2. With Nathaniel, Mary, and Alice; makes mention of entertainment by "darkies;" writes of sickness: "have not been feeling well since you left- your father thought a trip to the seaside would do me good; George lunched with them yesterday, "Affectionately, Mama." Postscript, writer unknown: "My Dear Effie," July 4. Waiting on a visit from Effie's aunt in Chicago; "your mother feels quite bad about it. I was going to go with Alice but your mother is in such low spirits I prevailed her to go in my place, With love to Mattie and kind regards to her father and mother, In Haste, OM".
7 1 Letter, no addressee, no signature. Mrs. Shephard did not visit; Effie is writing Alice; inquires about Bessie
7 1 Letter to "Alice Dear", from Melrose. "The girls" have left; worked all day, had dinner in Bayview; writes of illness- "I looked badly and am awfully shaky"; Sarah cares for Elizabeth; writes of weather: "the air is balmy and sweet with opening flowers"; writes of family: "the travelers have now probably left Charleston and by Thursday Morning, you will see them in the flesh, Yours affectionately, Mother." Postscript: "Got a letter from Frank to Effie and myself. I mislaid it or would have sent it in Walter's letter. Lovely letter."
7 1 Letter to "Sarah Dear", Thursday evening, 9 o clock. Gives Sarah her seal skin as "I will probably never spend another winter north;" Effie has a party; Alice is going to Manhattan on Monday
7 1 Letter to "Alice Dear", (no date but note at top stating "Today is Effie's marriage day. 19 years."), from Hohokus, N.J., Tuesday noon. Writes of being up north with the family; "Lovingly, Madre"
7 1 Letter to "Sarah Dear", from Hohokus, N.J., July 29th. Plans to go to the sound tomorrow; Nathaniel going to N.Y. tomorrow if weather permits: "will be with you about 12 o clock;" had visitors; asks Sarah to "see that your father buys lightweight winter clothes;" no signature.
7 1 Letter to "My Dear Sarah"; from Melrose, December 20. With Nathaniel and Alice; "your letters from Jacksonville and Savannah arrived, Lovingly yours, Mother."
7 1 Letter to "Dear Sarah and All", from Melrose, January 3. Begins "and now I am going to tell you some unpleasant things that have happened within the past week;" McRae's owner dies Thursday; Faber sends word that Nox the dog dies; Orr family house in Waldo visited by the Darlingtons; not signed.
7 1 Letter to "Dear Husband", March 30. Going on a trip writes "I dread the voyage and possible fog." Walter and Effie are both ill: "Walter is not well, and Effie is going through a cold like mine."
7 1 Letter to Dear Sarah, Thursday, 9 pm. Writes of reading of Bessie's tennis tournament in the Tribune this day; Alice made currant jelly, Effie was down for a while; dining room is still unfinished; "Goodnight, Madre". Second letter on same paper, Friday, 11 am. "No news of Bessie's tournament in Tribune." "Hat's came today. They are beautiful." "Let us hear from you often, if only by card, Mother."
7 1 Letter, no addressee, no signature, short note. "Alice and Effie may come down on Wednesday and stay all night with you, Affectionately, Mother."
7 1 Letter to "Sarah Dear", from Hohokus, N.J., Thursday. Nathaniel is ill; "Your father has been ailing for several days with the old trouble;" a saw mill is being built in front of Home Acre and Nathaniel is too ill to consult a lawyer; "With love, Mother."
7 1 Letter to "My dear Sarah and all", from Melrose, Tuesday. Winter in Melrose; with Nathaniel, quite settled; occupied: "and this is my twelfth letter so you see I am not idle;" an uncle up north is sick with Kidney trouble and Bright's disease; rainstorm raised lake nearly a foot; not signed.
7 1 Letter to "Dear Sarah," no date or place, 3pp. "I enclose Mrs. White's reply to your father..."
7 2 Elizabeth H. Orr, Undated, (Photocopies of above)
7 3 Elizabeth H. Orr, Letters, 1874-1898 (Originals)
7 3 Letter to Effie and Alice, "Dear children," April 28, 1874 ("up north"). Reprimands daughters for engaging in practical jokes; reminds them of how young ladies should behave in public and with men.
7 3 Letter to "My dear husband," June 14, 1875, Brussels. Gossipy letter about friends and family.
7 3 Letter to "Me dear husband," April 23, 1881, "Cottage." Worried about his health and that of Effie.
7 3 Letter to "Alice dear," December 8, 1886, Melrose. Discusses groves, family fishing, trip to Jacksonville.
7 3 Letter to "My dear George," Jan. 30, 1887, Melrose. "I have gained over ten pounds eating corn beef and vegetables... Effie is plump and rosy." "There is a nice society here, not large, and mostly northerners." "Florida has the most poverty stricken look of any land I ever saw."
7 3 Note, 1888, concerning a revival in the Methodist Church. Signed "madre."
7 3 Letter to "My dear husband," March 25, 1888, Melrose. Donating a bible to the local church; information on the grove; furnishing the house.
7 3 Letter to "Dear Effie and all," Jan. 10, 1889, Melrose. Write about a sea trip from New York back to Melrose.
7 3 Letter to "Dear Alice and all," Jan. 20, 1889, Melrose. "We are all well and enjoying the life here." The new hotel is nearly finished and the keeper of the Magnolia in St. Augustine wishes to run it.
7 3 Letter to "My dear May," Feb. 14, 1889, Melrose. "Tuesday I thought I was in for yellow fever but well cared for and good as new the next day. Only a little shaky."
7 3 Letter to "Dear Wilbur," Feb. 25, 1889, Melrose.
7 3 Letter to "My dear Alice," (from Nathaniel Orr), Jan. 10, 1890, Hotel Santa Fe. Mentions there were six unmounted photographs of live oak enclosed with this note. Orr requests photography supplies when Alice visits.
7 3 Letter to "Mrs. Orr, Hohokus, N.J.," Jan. 15, 1891, Newark, N.J., from D.A. Lawrence. Concerning the purchase of a burial lot.
7 3 Letter to "Dear husband," April 14, 1891. Writes concerning the neighbors' dispute with a railroad company.
7 3 Letter to "Dear husband," March 26, 1893, Melrose Inn. Visiting a winery on his birthday anniversary. "Gen. Earl died today, poor man, his sufferings were very great."
7 3 Letter to "My dear husband," Oct. 31, 1893, Melrose. Concerning her sickness-night sweats, coughing, fever.
7 3 Letter to "Sarah dear," Dec. 8, 1895, Melrose. Family visiting for her birthday. Describes freeze damage to grove. "You will hardly know Melrose there have been so many buildings added to it."
7 3 Note, June 20, 1898. Request of a marriage certificate confirming date of marriage to Nathaniel on April 20, 1846.
7 3 Letter to "My dear Mrs. Orr," June 30, 1898, Long Island.
7 4 Elizabeth H. Orr, Letters, 1874-1898 (Photocopies of above)
7 5 Elizabeth H. Orr, Letters, 1902-1907, (Originals)
7 6 Elizabeth H. Orr, Letters, 1902-1907 (Photocopies of above)
7 7 Elizabeth H. Orr, Diary, Nov. 30, 1886 to Feb. 28, 1887 (Original)
7 8 Elizabeth H. Orr, Diary, Nov. 30. 1886 to Feb. 28, 1887 (Photocopy)


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Anderson, Alexander, 1775-1870 -- Correspondence.
Colt, Elizabeth H. -- Correspondence.
DeForest, John William, 1826-1906 -- Correspondence.
Engravers -- New York (State) -- Correspondence.
Henry, Joseph, 1797-1878 -- Correspondence.
Orr family.
Orr, Elizabeth Holmes -- Correspondence.
Orr, Nathaniel -- Correspondence.
Poets, American -- New York (State) -- Correspondence.
Squier, E. G. (Ephraim George), 1821-1888 -- Correspondence.
Women journalists -- New York (State) -- Correspondence.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page