Skip to Search



A Guide to the Aaron S. Oberly Letter Describing Havana, Cuba, in 1865

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Oberly, Aaron Shimer
Title: Aaron S. Oberly Letter Describing Havana, Cuba
Dates: 1865
Abstract: Manuscript letter dated April 5, 1865, written aboard the U.S. Steamer Santiago de Cuba by U.S. Navy Assistant Surgeon Aaron S. Oberly.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 164
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Oberly served as an assistant surgeon in the U.S. Navy during the Civil War, primarily at the naval academy located at Newport, Rhode Island. In addition, he served aboard various vessels including the U.S.S. Sabine, U.S.S. Kineo, U.S.S. Santee, U.S.S. Macedonia, and the U.S.S. Santiago de Cuba.


Scope and Content

Manuscript letter dated April 5, 1865, written aboard the U.S. Steamer Santiago de Cuba by U.S. Navy Assistant Surgeon Aaron S. Oberly. In the four-page letter, Oberly describes his stay at Havana, Cuba, and discusses the people, the climate, the music, and the activity on the roads and docks of the city. He refers to seeing a blockade runner flying a Confederate flag and mentions that his own ship had "left last Saturday night the harbor of Charleston." The letter is addressed to "Maria," probably Maria A. Woodford of New Haven, Connecticut.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection. Other related materials include the Aaron Shimer Oberly Papers, Auburn University, Special Collections and Archives Dept., and the Aaron S. Oberly Letters, University of South Carolina, South Caroliniana Library.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

A digital reproduction of this item is available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Aaron S. Oberly Letter Describing Havana, Cuba, in 1865, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Charles Apfelbaum, New Jersey, 1998.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Havana (Cuba) -- Description and travel.
Santiago de Cuba (Steamship)
United States. Navy -- Surgeons -- Civil War, 1861-1865.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page