Skip to Search



A Guide to the Rufus Nims Architectural Drawings

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2004


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Nims, Rufus
Title: Rufus Nims Architectural Drawings
Dates: 1950-1992
Abstract: Architectural drawings created by South Florida architect Rufus Nims. These include plans for residences and buildings in Florida, Louisiana, New York, Costa Rica, and several countries in the Caribbean. The collection also includes motel and hotel designs for Howard Johnson, Marriott, and other corporations.
Extent: 11.75 linear feet. (18 Boxes)
Identification: Ms Group 177


Biographical/Historical Note

Architect. Rufus Nims graduated from North Carolina State in 1934 and worked in twenty-five states and twelve foreign countries throughout his career. He is best known for his work with the Howard Johnson hotels and restaurants and his residential work in South Florida and the Caribbean. Nims was one of a handful of architects who defined the modern tropical house following World War II, before the widespread use of central air-conditioning. Nims challenged the traditional Spanish and Mediterranean design principles found in South Florida at the time by experimenting with building materials, construction technologies, and house structures.


Scope and Content

The collection consists primarily of architectural drawings created by Nims. These include plans for residences and buildings in Florida, Louisiana, New York, Costa Rica, and several countries in the Caribbean, among other locations. South Florida cities such as Miami, Key Biscayne, and Coconut Grove are well represented. The collection also includes motel and hotel designs for Howard Johnson, Marriott, and other corporations. A small number of newspaper clippings and photographs are also included.

Each project has been assigned a project number. You can view or download the complete Projects List in Microsoft Excel format at http://web.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/NimsProjects.xls. Each project description in the list includes a brief name for the project, the name of the corporation or individual for whom the project was executed, the geographic location, the approximate date, and a code indicating whether or not the project was actually built. A key explaining the codes for the last category is available at the bottom of the spreadsheet document. In addition, a detailed list of each item in the collection was created during the initial processing of the collection. You can view or download this preliminary inventory in Microsoft Word format at http://web.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/Nims_detail.doc.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Rufus Nims Architectural Drawings, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collected was donated February 2004 by Rufus Nims, with the assistance of Martha Kohen, Director of the University of Florida School of Architecture.


Contents List

Architectural Drawings


Box 1

1: Bonding States. Plaza Development Corp., Ruston, Louisiana. 1978
Set I: Preliminary sketches including diagrams, plans, and sections on 7 sheets, 11"X17" pencil on graphed vellum.
Set II: Preliminary Drawings, 10 plans on 3 sheets, 17" X 24" pencil on graphed vellum.
Set III: Reproductions of preliminary sketches of plans. Land use diagrams.

2: Umbrella Inn: For Francis E. Gorman, St. Kitts, British West Indies. 1963
Set I: Preliminary drawings on 4 sheets, 24" X 36". Pencil on vellum.

3a: Overall Plan for Public Plaza Inc.: Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 1967-1968
Set I: Documents. Topographic site maps (different areas), Sizes: 24" X 36". Prepared by Gulf Coast Aerial Mapping Co.
Set II: Drawings of site plan

3b: Moving Picture Theater for Public Plaza Inc. Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 1967-1968
Set I: Plans, sections, and perspectives

3c: Service Station for Public Plaza Inc. Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Service Station. 1967-1968
Set I: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
Set II: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
Set III: Other drawings: Plans, sections, and perspectives.

Box 2

3d: A Community Merchandising Center for Public Plaza Inc. Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 1967-1968
Set I: Plot plans, ground plans, balcony plans.
Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions

3e: Apartments for Public Plaza Inc. Hammond, Louisiana. 1967-1968
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" and various sizes, pencil on vellum

4: School Competition Preliminary Drawings. 1953
Set I: Preliminary plans, elevations, floor plans. 5 sheets, 30" X 36"

5a: Hotel: Torres de Punta Leona, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1977
Set I: Design drawings on 6 sheets, 24" X 36", reproductions

5b: Residences: Playas de Punta Leona, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1978
Set I: Original Thinking: Preliminary drawings on two sheets, 17" X 24", pencil on vellum

5c: Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1979
Set I: Three Topographic maps of Punta Leona, Costa Rica

5d: Punta Leona Villas, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1980
Set I: Bound set of design drawings, 16" X 16" reproductions

Box 3

5e: Hotel Punta Leona Club, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1981
Set I: Construction drawings, 30" X 41" reproductions
Set II: Misc. reproductions of design drawings

5f: Hotel Punta Leona: Villas, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1982
Set I: Construction drawings, 21" X 29" reproductions

5g: Club de Tenis, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1983
Set I: Misc. drawings, 24" X 36".

5h: Hotel Punta Leona Administration Building, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1984
Set I: Misc. drawings, 8.5" X 26" pencil on trace

5i: Misc. Documents for Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1985
Set I: Site photograph, news article, project description, operating projections, maps
Set II: Misc. sketches and drawings on trace paper

5j: Punta Leona Residences, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1986
Set I: Preliminary plans, sections, and elevations on four sheets, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

5k: Hotel Torre Mar, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1987
Set I: Preliminary drawings, reproductions

Box 4

6: Reno Vada Resort, Reno Nevada. 1962
Set I: Design drawings, seven sheets, 24" X 36". Pencil on vellum

7a: Two-bedroom Condominium House for Mr. Robert Goldman. 1962-1963
Set I: Design drawings, pencil on vellum

7b: Development for Mr. Robert Goldman, Marion County, Florida. 1962-1964
Set I: Design drawings: Land use study, diagrammatic layout of a city.
Set II: Preliminary drawings on three sheets sizes varied: 30" X 48" to 36" X 69", scale not specified

8: Residence for Dave and Kathleen Robinson. 1989
Set I: Design drawings
Set II: Misc. reproductions, 36" X 46"

9: Apartment for Joyce Mitchell, 404 Building 1, Quayside, Miami, Florida. 1977
Set I: Construction Details, 18" X 18" pencil on vellum

10: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. La Ricos, Roanoke County, Virginia. 1956
Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 36"
Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36"
Set III: Previously bound sheets 24" X 36", reproductions of Set II
Set IV: Design drawings 24" X 36", pencil on vellum

Box 5

11a: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Straus, Harbor County, Key Biscayne Florida. First design. 1960
Set I: Design drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on vellum.
Set II: Bound set of construction drawings, 19" X 25"
Set III: Construction drawings, 18" X 24" reproductions. Labeled: Complete set for Mr. Straus
Set IV: Misc. drawings: Sketch of clear glass light detail, alternate for second floor and roof framing and details, landscape diagram
Set V: Misc. documents: Sketch of survey, area site plan, cost estimate

11b: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Straus, Harbor County, Key Biscayne, Florida. Nicknamed Igloo. 1968
Set I: Design drawings, pencil on vellum.

11c: Alterations to Straus Residence, 592 Fernwood Road, Key Biscayne, Florida. A studio for Mr. Clifford Straus. 1973
Set I: Plan, section, and details, 18" X 24" pencil on vellum. Scale: various

12: Sweetland. 1967
Set I: Design drawings: sketches of unit/lot, site plans, overall layouts, sections, elevations.

13: DIA Shopping Center by Creative Developers Inc. 1968
Set I: Design drawings, pencil on vellum

Box 5-6

14: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Sam Coslow, Palm Island, Miami Beach, Florida. 1966-1968
Set I: Preliminary layout drawings, pencil on vellum
Set II: Preliminary design drawings, pencil on vellum
Set III: Preliminary sketches on 13 sheets, pencil on trace and Mylar, various sizes.
Set IV: Misc. reproductions of design drawings.
Set V: Construction drawings, 36" X 44" reproductions
Set VI: Construction drawings, 36" X 48" photocopies
Set VII: Furniture details, pencil on graph paper

Box 7

15: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Barnett Guthartz. 1973
Set I: Bound set of drawings, reproductions.

16: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. John Hamer. Circa 1980
Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum.
Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
Set III: Documents: Sketch of Survey and location map for John Hamer.

17: City House (Nims?). Not dated.
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pen on trace paper

18: Addition to Residence for Mark Ancet. 7790 SW 110 St. Miami, Florida. 1992
Set I: Addition to residence: drawings, pen on trace and vellum.
Set II: Design drawings, 19" X 24" pencil on trace
Set III: Misc. drawings and documents: sketches, handwritten agreement between Rufus Nims and Mark Ancet.

Box 8

19: Hotel and Transient Housing for the College of Boca Raton, Boca Raton, Florida. 1979-1984.
Set I: Preliminary drawings, pencil on vellum
Set II: Preliminary design drawings, 25" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set III: Misc. design drawings, pencil on vellum
"Set IV: Presentation drawings, 30"" X 36"" pen and pencil on vellum and film"

20: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Collins, Key Biscayne, Florida. 1972-1973.
Set I: Preliminary design drawings and sketches
Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

21: Honeymoon Capital Hotel for Gene Guido, Niagara Falls, New York. 1879-1981
Set I: Preliminary Study: floor and room plans, elevation sketches.

22: Apartments for Burl Johnson, Merritt Island, Florida. High-density condominium type houses or apartments, 20 units per acre. 1963
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

Box 9

23: Residence for James McDonald, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1973-1981
Set I: Bound reproduction set of construction drawings
Set II: Construction documents, reproductions. By Uni bilt Systems Inc. Stamped by Dewey N Corbett, Engineer.

24: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Ben Bloom, Keystone Point at Keystone Island, Florida. 1959
Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 35"
Set II: Misc. sketches.
Set III: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
Set IV: Bound set of finalized construction drawings

25: Housing Study- Gas Concrete sponsored by Vincoa International, Inc. for Rock Resorts, Inc., Mauna Kea, Hawaii. 1970
Set I: Preliminary drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

26: "A delightful land plan of Kayman Kai on the charming island of Grand Cayman BWI, for Don Dise Developer." 1965
Set I: Misc. drawings

Box 10

27a: Motor Hotel for Cherry Hill, New Jersey. 1968
Set I: Documents: Budget for hotel, building and construction specifications, expense sheet from Desmond Miremond and Associates Inc.
Set II: Bound set of drawings, reproductions with pencil annotations
Set III: Bound set of construction drawings, 36" X 36" reproductions with pencil annotations and corrections
Set IV: Misc. sketches, 24" X 36", pencil on Mylar.

27b: Marriott Inn Hot Shoppers, Cherry Hill, New Jersey. 1968
Set I: Misc. floor plan reproductions

Box 11

28: Brookone Hills Housing Development, Monrovia, Liberia. 1963
Set I: Preliminary study
Set II: Preliminary study, 11" X 17" pencil on graphed paper with annotations
Set III: Misc. drawings
Set IV: Design drawings, 25" X 36" pencil on trace/vellum.
Set V: Design drawings, 25" X 36" pencil on vellum

29: Residence for Howard and Rosalie Aronson, Lake Cassanovia, New York. 1970
Set I: Design drawings, 30" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set II: William Oliver, Architect(?): floor plan.

30: Residence for Howard and Rosalie Aronson, Bocaire Boulevard, Boca Raton, Florida. 1989
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

31: House for Florida Atlantic Builders Association. 1981
Set I: Design drawings, reproductions
Set II: Documents: Contact sheet and business cards

32: Office for Leonard Brothers Trucking Co. Inc. 1972
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set II: Bound set of design drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions

Box 12

33: Howard Johnson Motor Lodge Re-Do. 1984
Set I: Design drawings, 8.5" X 11" pen/pencil on vellum.
Set II: Misc. drawings: Perspective, drawing from J.Q. Adams, Architect.

34: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Fred C Berg, Plantation Key, Florida. 1979
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set II: Design drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
Set III: Misc. drawings: Second floor plan, pencil on vellum

35: Hilltop Motor Lodge for Mr. Dryden Jones, Cocoa, Florida. 1964
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set IIA: Electrical drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set IIB: Electrical drawings, 12" X 18" pencil on vellum, with annotations
Set III: Detail Drawings, 12" X 18" pencil on vellum, with annotations

36: Residence for Mr. Don Verkins of Americon Inc. Three bedroom atrium house. Not dated.
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum, some with corrections, sketches and annotations.
Set II: Misc. drawings, 24" X 36", no scale specified on most

Box 13

37: Residence for Dr. and Mrs. Charles Hall. 1971-1972
Set I: Preliminary drawings, pencil on vellum
Set II: Construction drawings, pencil on vellum/Mylar. With annotations and corrections

38: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. John Messmore, Redington Beach, Florida. Circa 1953.
Set I: Construction drawings, pencil on trace
Set II: Misc. drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on trace

39: Residence for Dr. D.G. Williams, Hibiscus Island, Miami Beach, Florida. 1951-1955.
Set I: Construction drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on trace
Set II: Preliminary drawings, pencil on trance/vellum
Set III: Misc. drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on trace
Set IV: Documents: Handwritten note and sketch, lists

Box 14

40: Residence remodeling for Garrison Boyce and Donald Laier (labeled as Otto Cohen's house). 1 Dilido Drive, Dilido Island, Miami Beach, Florida. O.J. Jorgensen-Structural Engineer. 1988-1989
Set I: Preliminary drawings
Set II: Design/Construction drawings

41: Four corners house (a.k.a House on corner of patio). 1950
Set I: Misc. drawings, pencil on vellum

42: West Bay Development, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1963
Set I: Misc. plans, drawings, perspectives, etc. [Note: Removed from box and stored flat in Map Case]

43: "The Mercado". A shopping center for the city of St. Augustine, Florida. Dryden Jones, Real Estate Inc. 1980
Set I: Preliminary drawings, 11" X 17" pencil on vellum

44: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Burl Johnson, Magens Bay Area, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. 1962-1963.
Set I: Misc. drawings.
Set II: Design drawings

45: Residence for Alan Hutchison, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1966-1969
Set I: Design Drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

46: Hotel Development for George Selkirk, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1977
Set I: Preliminary drawings, 30" X 42" pencil on vellum

47a: Golden Sovereign Resort, for Golden Sovereign, LTD., Double Head, Conch Point, Barkers Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. Includes: houses, cottages, hotel, and a downtown. 1969-1981
Set I: Preliminary drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on trace/vellum
Set II: Bound set of drawings labeled preliminary, reproductions
Set III: Design drawings, 11" X 25" pencil on vellum
Set IV: Misc. drawings

Box 15

47b: Turtle Inn, for Golden Sovereign, LTD., Orchid Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1969-1981
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set III: Misc. drawings.

48: Warehouse for Mrs. Mary H. Carter, Perrine, FL. Jorgensen and Schreffler Consulting Engineer. 1962
Set I: Construction drawings

49: Quepos Hotel Study. Not dated.
Set I: Study sketches: Plans, perspectives, elevations, 24" X 36" reproductions. Not scaled, not dated

50: Housing Development Studies, Curacao. Product of Steel Co. 1972
Set I: Preliminary design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set II: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set III: Misc. drawings

51: Office Park, proposed office layout for an advertising agency, Birmingham, Alabama. 1957
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

Box 16

52: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Frank Hudson, Old San Antonio Road, eight miles north of Benchly. 1972-1973.
Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum

53: Bolivia. Various house plans. 1962-1963
Set I: Construction drawings of houses with various square feet, 24" X 36"
Set II: Construction drawings of various house models, 24" X 36"

54: Pavilion for Dade Jr. College. Not dated.
Set I: Misc. drawings

55: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. J. Goodkin, Keystone Island # 5, North Miami, Florida. 1966-1967
Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum/Mylar
Set II: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions with annotations
Set III: Misc. drawings
Set IV: Documents: calculations, test boring report.

Box 17

56: Office Towers (International Tower), Miami, Florida. 1957-1961
Set I: Preliminary design drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on Mylar
Set II: Misc. Drawings
Set III: Misc. Documents: Photograph of Model, news articles, booklets and other spare sheets

57: Heart of Syracuse Hotel, for Howard Aronson, Syracuse, New York. 1956-1957.
Set I: Preliminary drawings, 24" X 36" ink on vellum

58: Model Prototype Hotel Room, for Howard Aronson, Syracuse, New York. 1956-1957.
Set I: Preliminary drawings

Box 18

59: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. J. Jamieson, Miami, Florida. 1953
Set I: Preliminary drawings

60: Housing Development for Mr. Charles Koche/ Burl Johnson, Island of Montserrat, British West Indies. 1965
Set I: Preliminary drawing, 36" X 36" pencil on vellum

61: Berry Hill Barn Living Units, Don Dise Developer, Grand Cayman. Living units for Land Plan in Kayman Kay (26). 1965
Set I: Preliminary drawing, 11" X 32" pencil on trace

62: Little Haiti Iron Market Competition, Lemon City/Little Haiti. 1977-1978
Set I: Misc. drawings

63: Residence for Jean Paul Barbier, Island Drive, Key Biscayne, Florida. 1979
Set I: Early schematic drawings, 24" X 48" pencil on trace

Drawer 1

Newspaper Clippings [Note: Stored flat in Map Case].

Photographs [Note: Stored flat in Map Case].

Mounted display photographs [Note: Stored flat in Map Case].



Selected Subjects and Access Points

The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog:
Subject Terms:
Architectural drawing -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- Caribbean Area.
Architecture -- Designs and plans.
Architecture -- Florida -- 20th Century.
Architecture -- Louisiana -- 20th Century.
Architecture -- New York -- 20th Century.
Architecture, Domestic -- Florida.
Hotels -- Designs and plans.


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page