Skip to Search



A Guide to the Observations Importantes by Sugar Traders in Nantes, France

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
June 2007


Descriptive Summary

Title: Observations Importantes by Sugar Traders in Nantes, France
Dates: 1788
Abstract: "Observations Importantes" by anonymous sugar traders in Nantes, France, and an "Avis" written by the deputies of commerce of Brittany.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 2 items.
Identification: MS Group 112 2/9
Language(s): French
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

The first manuscript document is entitled "Observations Importantes" and was written in 1788 by anonymous sugar traders in Nantes, France. The traders claimed indemnities because their trade suffered as a result of the "Traite des Noirs pour les colonies" in the years 1787-1788. They also complained about the refusal of the "Ferme Generale" to pay the premiums for the slaves. The second manuscript document is entitled "Avis" and appears to have been written by deputies of commerce of Brittany. The Avis responds to the "Observations" and also discusses the growing arms trade.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Observations Importantes by Sugar Traders in Nantes, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Nantes (France) -- History.
Slave trade -- France -- Colonies.
Slave trade -- France -- Nantes.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page