A Guide to the Thomas Moore Papers
Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers
University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
July 2004
Descriptive Summary |
||
| Provenance: | Moore, Thomas | |
| Title: | Thomas Moore Papers | |
| Dates: | 1806-1832 and n.d. | |
| Extent: | 0.2 linear ft. 1 Box | |
| Identification: | Ms Group 38 | |
Biographical/Historical Note
Poet, biographer, composer, and musican. Thomas Moore was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1779. He is widely known for his ten-volume work, Irish Melodies, a collection of songs written by Moore and based on traditional Irish airs. Although famous for this collection of music, his poetry was as celebrated and poems such as "Lalla Rookh" assured him a prominent place among Irish poets. Moore died in 1852.
Scope and Content
Correspondence, poems, and engraved portraits. Nine letters written by Moore to various correspondents, including three letters written to or about a Mr. Power. One letter to Joseph Atkinson discusses Moore's poetry, Lord Moira, and current affairs. The letters date from 1806 to 1832, but most are either not dated or have no year recorded. An 1831 letter includes a six-stanza poem entitled "Thoughts on Editors." In addition to the letters, the collection includes engraved portraits of Moore and a poem entitled, "On the Departure of the 'par nobile fratrum,' Lords C-r-gh and St-w-t, for the Continent."
Access or Use Restrictions
Access
Collection is open for research.
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
[Identification of item], Thomas Moore Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
Contents List
Selected Subjects and Access Points |
||
| The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog: | ||
| Subject Terms: | ||
| Poets, Irish -- 19th century -- Correspondence. | ||
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.