Skip to Search



A Guide to the Memorabilia of José Toribio Medina

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2006


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Bromsen, Maury A., compiler.
Title: Memorabilia of José Toribio Medina,
Dates: 1927-1953
Bulk dates: 1952-1953
Abstract: News clippings and memorabilia collected by Maury A. Bromsen related to the centennial celebration for José Toribio Medina in 1952.
Extent: 0.2 linear feet. (17 Folders)
Identification: MS Group 203


Biographical/Historical Note

José Toribio Medina (1852-1930) was a Chilean historian, bibliographer, author, editor, translator, and publisher. He published over 300 different works during his life.

Maury A. Bromsen (1919-2005) was an expert in, and a collector of materials relating to, colonial Spanish America, particularly pertaining to printing, publishing, and the bibliographers of that time. In the 1950s he served as a member of the Department of Cultural Affairs for the Pan American Union (later the Organization of American States). During this time, he established the quarterly Inter-American Review of Bibliography. In 1952, he played a prominent role in the Pan American Union's centennial celebration for Medina. He also edited a collection of essays about Medina, published in 1960 by the Pan American Union.


Scope and Content

Newspaper articles, journal articles, programs, and some miscellaneous ephemera from Bromsen's collection of materials pertaining to José Toribio Medina and the centennial celebration held in his honor in 1952. The majority of the items are related to centennial activities that took place in Washington D.C. In addition, the collection includes a number of articles and biographies about Medina.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This memorabilia was separated from the majority of the Maury A. Bromsen Medina Collection, which has been cataloged as part of the Rare Books collection.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], [Title of Archival Collection], Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

This memorabilia was donated as part of the Maury A. Bromsen Medina Collection, a collection of works by and about Chilean author José Toribio Medina that was given to the Smathers Libraries by bookdealer Maury A. Bromsen.


Contents List

Medina Memorabilia

Folder 1 Stamps issued by Spain to assist the victims of Chile's earthquake. 1962
Folder 2 Dominguez Parada, Manuel. "Veinte Minutos con Jose Toribio Medina." Pareceres, San Salvador. 1927
Folder 3 Periodical and newspaper articles about Medina. 1930-1946
Folder 4 Senora Mercedes Ibanez de Medina - news clippings. 1936
Folder 5 Pamphlets, broadsides and ephemeral imprints concerning the centennial commission in Chile. 1952
Folder 6 Circulars, invitations, programs of the Medina centennial homages in Chile. 1952
Folder 7 Spain and England. 1952-1953
Folder 8 Periodical articles and reprints during the centennial in Chile (includes extracts). 1952
Folder 9 Cuba. 1952
Folder 10 La Prensa newspaper clipping. 1952
Folder 11 Library exhibits (library and university bulletins). 1952
Folder 12 Pamphlets, broadsides and forms concerning the Fondo Historico y Bibliografico. 1952
Folder 13 U.S. newspapers - articles during the centennial. 1952
Folder 14 Ephemera of cooperating institutions during centennial. 1952
Folder 15 Medina Centennial Celebration - program and information (D.C. and Pan American Union). 1952
Folder 16 U.S. - Pan American Union, articles. 1952
Folder 17 Porter, Keyes - article in the Baltimore Sun. 1952



Selected Subjects and Access Points

Medina, José Toribio, 1852-1930 -- Centennial celebrations, etc.
Medina, José Toribio, 1852-1930.
Pan American Union.


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page