A Guide to the Documents relating to the trial of Ruby McCollum for the murder of Dr. LeRoy Adams, Live Oak, Florida, 1954
Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff
University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
March 2005
Descriptive Summary |
||
| Title: | Documents relating to the trial of Ruby McCollum for the murder of Dr. LeRoy Adams, Live Oak, Florida, 1954 | |
| Dates: | 1954 | |
| Abstract: | Documents relating to the trial of Ruby McCollum for the murder of Dr. LeRoy Adams, Live Oak, Florida, 1954. Official records copied from the State of Florida Archives and notes and correspondence of Zora Neale Hurston, among others. | |
| Extent: | 0.25 linear feet. (1 Box) | |
| Identification: | Ms Group 118 | |
Biographical/Historical Note
In 1952, Ruby McCollum, a black woman shot and killed her white lover, prominent Live Oak, Florida, physician C. Leroy Adams. Her subsequent conviction and death sentence (1954) were later overturned by the Florida Supreme Court, but she was declared mentally incompetent and incarcerated for many years in a mental hospital. Zora Neal Hurston covered the trial for the Pittsburgh Courier and collaborated with William Bradford Huie whose book, Ruby McCollum: Woman in the Suwannee Jail (New York, 1956) is the principal account of the case.
Scope and Content
Notes on the trial by Zora Neale Hurston, a Hurston letter to William Bradford Huie, notes compiled by an unkown source, and official court documents. All documents are photocopies. The collection also includes the complete transcripts of the trial in digital format.
Access or Use Restrictions
Access
Collection is open for research.
Related Material
The University of Florida Smathers Libraries also holds the Zora Neale Hurston Papers.
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
[Identification of item], Documents relating to the trial of Ruby McCollum for the murder of Dr. LeRoy Adams, Live Oak, Florida, 1954, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
Contents List
Selected Subjects and Access Points |
||
| The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog: | ||
| Personal Names: | ||
| Adams, C. Leroy. | ||
| Hurston, Zora Neale. | ||
| McCollum, Ruby, defendant. | ||
| Subject Terms: | ||
| Criminal courts -- Florida. | ||
| Criminal justice, Administration of -- Florida. | ||
| Criminal procedure -- Florida. | ||
| Discrimination in criminal justice administration -- Florida. | ||
| Florida -- Race relations. | ||
| Judicial process -- Florida. | ||
| Minorities -- Florida. | ||
| Race discrimination -- Florida. | ||
| Social justice -- Florida. | ||
| Trials (Murder) -- Florida. | ||
| Women murderers -- Florida. | ||
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.