Skip to Search



A Guide to the W.E. Manis Collection

Finding aid prepared by Daniel A. Reboussin

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Manis, W.E. (Wallace Eugene)
Title: W.E. Manis Collection
Dates: 1939-1941
Abstract: Includes photographic prints, letters and ephemera collected or created by W. E. Manis. The collection pertains to the collector's life and work as a Rubber Planter and later in change of the research department of Firestone Plantations Co. in Liberia, West Africa (1940-41). Manis took the photographs and selected items for inclusion in the two scrapbook albums that constitute this gift, complete in 80 pages of 224 black and white photographs, with about 133 sheets of mostly unpublished typescript letters, manuscripts, mimeos and telegrams.
Extent: 2 Albums
Identification: MS Group 143


Biographical/Historical Note

Wallace Eugene ("Gene") Manis was born in Lewiston, Montana on May 20, 1913. He attributed his interest in international travel to the stamp collection hobby that his stepfather, Carl E. Magni, shared with him. He became interested in a career in science by volunteering at the Rocky Mountain Laboratory in Hamilton. He studied horticulture at the University of Montana, earning an AB degree in 1935 and completing a Master's (AM) degree at the University of Michigan in 1936.

Manis was working in the doctoral program at the University of Wisconsin School of Forestry when Firestone Plantations Co. offered him a position in November 1939. He accepted the position of Rubber Planter in the Research Department of Firestone Plantations Co. and traveled to Monrovia, Liberia on a freighter in December 1939. He returned to the US in November 1941.

His subsequent career included employment with several other commercial rubber interests as well as with the USDA in Brazil (1942-43), as a pathologist with the US-Costa Rican Cooperative Rubber Plant Program (1943-44) and in Uraba, Colombia (1944-46). He was in charge of the US-Costa Rican Cooperative Rubber Plant Experiment Sub-Station (1947-54) and was a hybrid seed and ornamental plant producer with Linda Vista, Ltd. in Costa Rica (1955-57). He was a plant breeder with the Rubber Research Institute and with USAID in Ceylon (1958-60).

He returned to Africa as rubber research officer with the Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources in Western Nigeria and with USAID (1961-63). His professional service continued as a research horticulturist in charge of the US plant introduction station, New Crops Research Bureau (1964-73) and as Agricultural Research Officer with the International Programs Division, Agricultural Research Service of the USDA (1974-77). He was a consultant to the UN in Thailand and Burma in 1973, where he worked with the United Nations Program for Drug Abuse Control in Chiang Mai.

A member of the Society for Economic Botany, he held concurrent positions as Adjunct Associate Professor (1966) and as Adjunct Professor with the University of Miami (1967-77). He and his wife, Rosemary, moved to Gainesville, Florida in 1977, and he died the following year.


Scope and Content

The collection consists of two scrapbook albums, dating from November 1939 to November 1941. Materials included begin chronologically with business correspondence by telegram and regular mail relating to his job offer and contract with Firestone Plantations Co., as well as a handful of personal letters prior to his travel, letters offering travel advice for living in the tropics, company manuals and policies, and personal photographs. A 22-page transcribed letter that he wrote to his mother, Mrs. Elsa Magni [his mother's name after remarriage], and his sister, Beth, soon after arriving in Monrovia is also included.

Several examples of informal typescript pamphlets from the company's Overseas Club recreational organization are included (excerpts from several newsletters, a play script, entertainment programs, etc.). Ephemera, mementos and scrapbook items include a small number of manuscript notes or letters from Liberian laborers under his supervision, offering a glimpse of the personal relationships established in the context of this global horticultural and industrial enterprise. Another example, rare in library collections, is a small pamphlet on Kroo (Kru) ethnic history published in Freetown, Sierra Leone. Other examples include two Bank of Monrovia checks with revenue stamps, luggage tags with a customs stamp and the S.S. Acadia ship's menu for Thanksgiving dinner. An official letter on company letterhead confirms to Mrs. Magni the departure of her son on Nov. 7, 1941. A Playbill and program for Olsen and Johnson's New Hellzapoppin revue represent the collector's arrival in New York during November 1941.

The photographs are a rich source of visual information, but captions were not included. Descriptive information has been interpreted from the photographs themselves, from a letter written by Manis to his family in Montana (1940), from interviews with Manis and other knowledgeable persons, and from various reference sources. Subjects include scenes encountered and people met on the trans-Atlantic freighter S.S. Cathlamet (December 2-24, 1939), upon Manis's arrival in Monrovia on Christmas Eve Day, during his establishment as a staff member on the Firestone plantation, through his work and recreational activities while working there, and finally at his departure back to New York on November 7, 1941.

Approximately 48 prints are of Americans (ship passengers, plantation staff). About 112 prints depict Africans (primarily Liberians, either as plantation laborers or depicted in a variety of village-based activities such as cooking, construction, childrearing, but also as marketers, craftspeople, and celebrants in several kinds of ceremonial activities). Approximately 64 prints depict plantation or urban landscapes (Monrovia, [Harbel?], [Kakata?]) and a few residential interiors (the latter are presumably of Manis's bungalow, including the masks that served as its decor).

The majority of the photographs are of Liberian men, women and children at work or posing for the camera. Manis himself appears in a few of the photos. He identifies the primary Liberian ethnic groups with which he worked as Gio (who call themselves Dan), Mono (Mano, Ma) and Bassa. The Bassa people are Kruan speakers, like the Kru, while the Dan and Ma people are Mande speakers, as are the Mendingo (Manding), who Manis points out are mostly traders in this area.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research, with access restriction applied only for a Firestone Plantations Company employee handbook ("General information for the information and guidance of staff and families of Firestone Plantations Company and affiliated companies in Liberia." June 15, 1941). Users with legitimate research interests should contact the Department of Special and Area Studies Collections to apply for research access to this item. This item may be quoted and cited, but it may not be reproduced until further notice. Patrons seeking access to the item must sign a copy of a restriction statement, confirming that they have read and understood the restrictions, and that they intend to comply with these terms.


Related or Separated Material

The Firestone Tire and Rubber Company's archives are held at the University of Akron, where access may be restricted. For more information on the Firestone Tire and Rubber Company's official corporate archives, please contact: John V. Miller, Director of Archival Services, The University of Akron University Libraries, Polsky Building, 225 South Main Street, Room LL10, Akron, OH 44325-1702, (330) 972-7670

In addition, a portion of the Akron archives was photocopied with permission and deposited as a part of the Liberian Collections Project at Indiana University's Archives of Traditional Music. Information on these materials, identified as the Svend E. Holsoe Collection, is available at: http://www.onliberia.org/collections.htm (e-mail: liberia@indiana.edu).

W.E. Manis and his wife, Rosemary, donated several important art objects from Liberia to the Harn Museum of Art at the University of Florida, including a Deangle masquerade ensemble pictured in the field at the time of its acquisition.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of the photos and documents in the W.E. Manis albums are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) Africana Collection.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], W.E. Manis Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The W. E. Manis Collection was donated by Will and Jean Manis of Sammamish, Washington in June 2003. The collection was acquired through the assistance of Rosemary Manis, Robin Poynor, Susan Cooksey and Dan Reboussin.

Processing Information

These materials were described in 2003 by Dan Reboussin. The following individuals provided assistance in administrative matters and descriptive work: Susan Cooksey, Svend Holsoe, Mandelyn Hutcherson, Erich Kesse, Fredline McCormack, Rosemary and Will Manis, John V. Miller, John Nemmers, Tim Nevin and Robin Poynor.


Scrapbook Album 1

One handbook for employees of the Firestone Plantations Company. View Page
"Handbook for Employees of Firestone Plantations Company." View Item
Job offer via telegram and contract letter. View Page
Western Union job offer telegram stamped Nov. 17, 1939. View Item
Firestone Plantations Co. contract for Junior Planter position. View Item
Three telegrams with envelopes. View Page
Telegram 1: personal note from Mother (Mrs. Elsa Magni). View Item
Telegram 2: personal note from Betty. View Item
Telegram 3: personal note from Beth (Manis's sister). View Item
Three letters from Health Service scientists whom Manis met while volunteering at the Rocky Mountain Laboratory in Hamilton, Montana. View Page
Personal ms. letter from Cornelius B. Philips on US Public Health Service letterhead. Nov. 26, 1939. View Item
Typescript letter from Dr. Gordon E. Davis, US Public Health Service. Nov. 26, 1939. View Item
Ms. letter from H.R. Herman dated "Tuesday noon." View Item
Photographic prints. S.S. Cathlamet freighter, passengers, tugboats, etc. The ship left Pier 17 in Brooklyn on Dec. 2, 1939. Ports of call were Dakar on the 18th and Freetown on the 21st, arriving at Monrovia on the 24th. View Page
Photo: S.S. Cathlamet from shore or dock (small lighter boats are alongside). View Item
Photo: View of tugboat from aboard S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: Three passengers on deck of S.S. Cathlamet. Mac, a West Highland Terrier, belongs to Perry and Olive Jester View Item
Photo: View of S.S. Cathlamet's tugboat from aboard ship. View Item
Photo: Crewman on deck of S.S. Cathlamet freighter. View Item
Photo: Passenger on deck of S.S. Cathlamet freighter. View Item
Photo: S.S. Cathlamet freighter. View Item
Photographs of passengers on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Page
Photo: Olive and Perry Jester, Fran and John Diefenback, Dewey and Mary Miller, Eddie and Helen Kloke, Gravey and Kit Graves, "Mac." View Item
Photo: Three passengers on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: Four passengers on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: A passenger on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: Two passengers on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: A passenger on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photographs of S.S. Cathlamet and the passengers on board. View Page
Photo: Six passengers on board S.S. Cathlamet (with Mac). View Item
Photo: Two passengers on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: One passenger on board S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: Three passengers on board S.S. Cathlamet (with Mac). View Item
Photo: Crew and laborers on deck of S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Photo: S.S. Cathlamet from shore or dock (lighters pulled alongside). View Item
Photograph of ship, a Kroo pamphlet, and a postcard of African woman. View Page
Photo: Ship arriving in port (taken from S.S. Cathlamet). View Item
"Reasons why Kroo people were never slaves: an historiette of the Kroo Confederacy." View Item
Postcard portrait of African woman in traditional dress. View Item
Bank of Monrovia check with Firestone watermark, 2 one cent revenue stamps. View Page
Bank of Monrovia check with Firestone watermark, 2 one cent revenue stamps. View Item
Photographs of an African crewman and an urban street scene. Also a folded letter to Elsa Magni. View Page
An African crewman poses in dress whites on board the S.S. Cathlamet. View Item
Typescript letter dated 12/27/1939 advising Mrs. Elsa Magni that her son arrived in Liberia on Dec. 24. View Item
Photo: Monrovia (Water Street?). Many pedestrians, African man in white suit, pith helmet. View Item
Two photos of palm trees. View Page
Photo: Palm trees bordering a rural road. View Item
Photo: Top of a palm tree against the sky (showing rows of many bird nests on the fronds?). View Item
Letter dated Feb. 21, 1940 to Manis from Johnny Cooper requesting work. View Page
Ms. letter dated Feb. 21, 1940 to Manis from Johnny Cooper requesting work. View Item
Seven photos on grounds of plantation guest house with portraits of Liberian servants or workers. View Page
Photo: Stone guest house with galvanized roof, elevated first floor. View Item
Photo: Liberian man in white shirt and shorts posing with long handled brush and shoes. View Item
Photo: Liberian man in white shirt and pants posing. View Item
Photo: Liberian man in white shorts and t-shirt posing. View Item
Photo: Liberian man in khaki shorts and white t-shirt posing. View Item
Photo: Young boy in shirt and shorts posing in front of a plantation pickup truck. View Item
Photo: Adolescent boy in Western clothes posing with foot on running board of pickup truck. View Item
Letter dated Feb. 19, 1940 to Mr. Manis from "Momo" requesting a job. View Page
Ms. letter dated Feb. 19, 1940 to Mr. Manis from "Momo" requesting a job. View Item
Four photos with Liberian children depicted. View Page
Photo: Two Liberian children, one in Western and another in local dress. View Item
Photo: Liberian boy with tethered monkey. View Item
Photo: Two Liberians posing in front of elevated (guest house?) residence. View Item
Photo: Young Liberian displaying underwing plumage of an African Harrier-hawk. View Item
Letter dated March 21, 1940 from R. F. Nyan. View Page
Ms. letter dated March 21, 1940 requesting transfer to another position. View Item
Eight photographs of plantation laborers and one of a plantation office building. View Page
Photo: Liberian rubber tappers with latex collection buckets. View Item
Photo: Plantation building (divisional office?) View Item
Photo: Plantation workers in front of collection station. View Item
Photo: Plantation workers in open building (divisional collection station?). View Item
Photo: Young Liberian man in Western clothing and with glasses. View Item
Photo: Liberian man in white shirt and overalls. View Item
Photo: Rubber tapping, or possibly tapper training. Tappers appear to be practicing on the stumps of thinned trees. View Item
Photo: About 15 rubber tappers sitting on bench in front of tapping buckets at collection station. View Item
Note dated Feb. 9, 1940 ("Dear Boss, Please come help immediately..."). View Page
Ms. note requesting medical help for a fellow worker wounded by a razor in a fight. View Item
Five photos of the rubber plantation depicting a road, tapping techniques and saplings. View Page
Photo: Rubber tree with 30 degree, 1 mm. cut for tapping, porcelain collection bowl attached (cuts deeper than a millimeter may damage the tree). View Item
Photo: Rubber tree and tree stump with cuts in bark (possibly the result of test tapping and thinning or an example of a training tool for tappers?). View Item
Photo: Dirt road through new plantations of rubber saplings. View Item
Photo: Plantation of small rubber trees. View Item
Photo: A sapling (2 year old trees are 12-14' tall). View Item
Ms. letter from Henry Cooper dated Feb. 26, 1939 (sic--must have been 1940). View Page
Letter from Henry Cooper requesting a pass for his wife to leave the hospital and return home. View Item
Five photos of plantation office buildings in a cleared area. View Page
Photo: Plantation office buildings. View Item
Photo: Plantation building. View Item
Photo: Possibly nursery areas? (Thousands of acres between Du and Farmington Rivers felled, cleared, burned in mid-1930s). View Item
Photo: Plantation office building. View Item
Photo: Plantation office buildings on ridge above cleared area. View Item
Letter dated March 13, 1940 from Henry Cooper. View Page
Letter from Henry Cooper, begins "Dear Boss..." Requests help after "a Vai man" named Boymah beat writer's wife. View Item
Four landscape photos. View Page
Photo: Falls on a river in the bush. View Item
Photo: Dirt track road with apparently abandoned building (roof has no thatch). View Item
Photo: Clearing a forested area. View Item
Photo: Reed or cane screens erected on three sides of a leveled earthen floor. View Item
Ms. letter dated Sept. 26, 1941 to W.E. Manis from Edward Urey. View Page
Letter from Edward Urey regarding his pay. View Item
Four photos depicting plantation landscapes. View Page
Photo: Plantation landscape with buildings in background. View Item
Photo: Plantation landscape with road, building in background on a hill. View Item
Photo: Wide plantation landscape with fence in foreground, buildings behind. View Item
Photo: Plantation landscape with large executive residential building on hill in background. View Item
Typescript: "Staff assignments. June 2, 1941." View Page
Staff assignments June 2, 1941 (p. 1 shows Manis in change of research dept.) View Item
Ms. Letter dated Feb. 21, 1940. View Page
Ms. Letter from "Fireman" requesting a hospital pass for his daughter. View Item
Five photos of small round houses in different settings. All appear to be built by Firestone rather than indigenous construction. View Page
Photo: Set of ten or twelve houses set close together on cleared hillside. Apparently company housing or work camp buildings? View Item
Photo: Liberian man in Western clothes posing in front of a round thatched house. View Item
Photo: Twenty five or more round thatched houses closely set together on flat, cleared land with three Liberians standing. Good example of company built housing, almost military in its straight lines. View Item
Photo: Several open, round, thatched buildings (palaver houses or "plava huts"). These outbuildings or kitchens traditionally use "river thatch." View Item
Photo: Eighty+ small round thatched houses on cleared hillside (possibly a Firestone plantation work camp?). View Item
Five images of house construction. Apparently these are not residences but "plava huts" or kitchens, employing "river thatch." View Page
Photo: Four men in Western clothes sitting and making construction materials. View Item
Photo: House frame without thatch or wall covering. View Item
Photo: Two houses, background house framed only, foreground example is thatched. View Item
Photo: Thatching the roof on a house. View Item
Photo: Man posing in front of a house with frame completed. View Item
Five river and landscape photos, two with construction project. View Page
Photo: River rapids with American man standing in khakis. View Item
Photo: River rapids from above, tree stumps in foreground, three figures by the bank. View Item
Photo: Construction project behind earthen dam (possibly a dam or bridge?) with a crane and truck. View Item
Photo: Two Liberian men entering a cleared area. View Item
Photo: Construction project on bank of large river. View Item
Six photos of Manis's residence in Liberia, two of exterior and four of interior. View Page
Exterior photo (bungalow house as provided for American staff at Firestone Plantations). View Item
Exterior photo of residence (pickup truck in front). View Item
Photo: Manis residence interior with 15+ masks (shows Deangle costume for masquerade now in Harn collections). View Item
Photo: Manis residence interior with 12+ masks, Deangle costume for masquerade (now in Harn collections). View Item
Photo: Manis residence interior with mask over fireplace, carved figures and other objects on mantle. View Item
Photo: Manis residence interior with 19+ masks, Deangle costume for masquerade (now in Harn collections). View Item
Photograph of two American women inside a residence. View Page
Photo: Portrait of two women, one seated other standing holding carved figure. View Item
Portrait and two small photos with newsletter clipping from "Planter's Punch" Dec. 15, 1940. View Page
Photo: Portrait of an American woman in a lounge chair holding a cocktail. View Item
Letter to "Dear Miss Fortune" from "Senorita", Research, printed in "Planter's Punch" Dec. 15, 1940. View Item
Photo: Plantation guest house with elevated first floor. View Item
Small photo of kitchen items (canned ham and other goods, sliced bread) on a table. View Item
Three photos of termites: the queen, a mound and surface tube across a road. View Page
Photo: Large termite mound. View Item
Photo: Termite queen held up for camera on a light colored piece of paper. View Item
Photo: Termite surface tube crossing a dirt road. View Item
Four photos of Americans posing with animals. View Page
Photo: American man in hunting khakis and pith helmet with rifle, posing with a large unidentified bird. View Item
Photo: Manis on boat posing with a barracuda. He loved fishing, but wasn't very interested in hunting. View Item
Photo: American man with two young chimpanzees. View Item
Photo: Two young chimpanzees hugging photographer's pant leg. View Item
Two photos, primarily Liberian men. View Page
Photo: Young Liberian man posing in front of a Traveller's palm in residential garden. View Item
Photo: Roadside group of Liberian and American men with two pickup trucks near thatched roof houses. View Item
Three photos of Americans. View Page
Photo: Two American men and a woman, seated. View Item
Photo: An American man and woman, standing. View Item
Photo: Two American men and a woman, seated. Manis is on the right. View Item
Four photographs: three of land clearing and one of an American couple. View Page
Photo: American woman posing on a Caterpillar Diesel bulldozer. View Item
Photo: An American man and woman, standing at top of a steep hill. View Item
Photo: A bulldozer, parked in felled and cleared area. View Item
Photo: Bulldozers and other heavy equipment for clearing, with a few Liberian workers. View Item
Four photos of Americans at the beach. View Page
Photo: Three American men and an American woman at a picnic on the beach, three wear pith helmets. Manis is in left foreground. View Item
Photo: An American man and woman in pith helmets and bathing suits at the beach. View Item
Photo: Three Americans at the beach. View Item
Photo: Four Americans, three men and a woman picnic on the beach, all wearing pith helmets or a hat. View Item
"Planter's Punch, Firestone Overseas Club newsletter. Harbel, Liberia. Vol. 2, No. 4." View Page
"Planter's Punch, March 1 and 15, 1941." View Item
Two photos and a clipping. View Page
Photo: Street scene, African urban buildings (possibly Kakata, site of the Booker Washington Institute vocational and agricultural school). View Item
Newsletter clipping: "New Kakata Road Open" from Division 26 to Kakata. View Item
Photo: Landscape photograph with forest, plantation building in background with water tower. View Item
Two photos and a cover of minstrel show program. View Page
Photo: American men and women seated separately on small set of bleachers (at a sporting event?). View Item
"Minstrel show" program: "Firestone Overseas Club presents the Greater Minstrel Shows 9:30 p.m. Sept. 27, 1941. Clubhouse." View Item
Photo. American woman on porch of a plantation building, two Liberian employees in background. View Item
Three photos of rubber plantation laborers. View Page
Photo: Long line of Liberian men entering a plantation building. View Item
Photo: Large group of Liberian plantation workers with rubber saplings behind them. View Item
Photo: Several Liberian men display cloth, other items for sale in front of field of rubber saplings. View Item
Three photos of a public event (on the Firestone plantation parade grounds or athletic fields?). View Page
Photo: A large group of Liberians and Americans surrounds a group of Liberian women. View Item
Photo: Acrobats of the Snake Society toss a child between them. View Item
Photo: A large group of Liberians and Americans watches a Snake Society acrobat toss child above his head. View Item
Two photographs of Liberians. View Page
Photo: Liberian couple stands for (wedding?) portrait in front of round thatched roof house, man in Western suit. View Item
Photo: 31 Liberian men pose for group portrait, three at center in western dress (for wedding?). View Item
Eight photographs: return from the hunt. A forest buffalo (Syncerus caffer nanus) trophy is displayed. View Page
Photo: American man with rifle poses over "bush cow" or buffalo trophy. Note Liberian man in hammock, who died, as Will Manis recalled, when the buffalo charged and gored him. View Item
Photo: Second American man with rifle poses over buffalo trophy. View Item
Photo: Two American men (Manis is on the right) pose over trophy, Liberian men and boys, American woman and children in background. View Item
Photo: Three American men, two women, two children in fore with Liberians behind (one in uniform). View Item
Photo: American girl about 6 years old in pith helmet stands on carcass holding rifle (with her mother?). View Item
Photo: The hunting trophy displayed on ground. View Item
Photo: American woman and two children pose in front of raised trophy supported by Liberian men. View Item
Photo: Liberian men supporting the trophy. View Item
Snapshot of an American woman standing at a tourist site. View Page
Photo: American woman standing with river falls in background, cabana with hammock, leans on chain fence. View Item
A newsletter clipping announcement and a script for "The bride wore red pyjamas." View Page
"One act play Sunday." Dec. 15, 1940 newsletter clipping. View Item
Play script: "The bride wore red pyjamas." View Item
Photograph of two American women walking along a dirt road. View Page
Photo: Two American women walking along a dirt road, Plantation residence in background. View Item
Pamphlet entitled: "General Instructions" View Page
Typescript: "General information for the information and guidance of staff and families of Firestone Plantations Company and affiliated companies in Liberia. View Item


Scrapbook Album 2

Three photos of Liberians in local dress. View Page
Photo: Liberian woman carrying a baby on her back, row of houses in background. View Item
Photo: Man in Muslim clothing, probably of Mandinka ethnicity, with white turban or head covering and white robe. View Item
Photo: Three Liberians, a woman and two men with baby in older man's arms and on woman's back. View Item
Three photos of Liberian adults and children. View Page
Photo: Two women, an adult man and three children in a cleared forest area. View Item
Photo: Two children and an infant in a recently cleared area. View Item
Photo: Man in Muslim clothing poses with a woman in local dress (same people as on previous page). View Item
Two photos of Liberian men performing traditional tasks. View Page
Photo: Liberian man making "men's weave" strip cloth with a traditional loom. View Item
Photo: Liberian man cutting strips of reed or palm (for house construction?). View Item
Three photos of women and children in village. View Page
Photo: Seated woman beside a sleeping infant and dog. She wears chalk on her face, which is used as a traditional cure and after Sande initiations. View Item
Photo: Child with distended belly standing with a crying toddler. View Item
Photo: Woman bathes baby in enamel bowl, preadolescent child stands nearby. Houses, mortar, pestles behind. View Item
Three photos of Liberians gathering (for market?) in village. View Page
Photo: Liberian group in village on market day. Women seated with baskets under tree at center. View Item
Photo: Liberian group in village. Men seated on cloths spread on ground in foreground. Houses behind. View Item
Photo: Liberian group in village. Most people in this image are standing or walking except for two sitting children. View Item
Three photos of Liberian men manually sawing planks from large timber. View Page
Photo: Two men use a large saw to cut a log set in a lashed wooden frame to allow saw to work vertically. View Item
Photo: Four men operating two-man saw with large cleared area in background. View Item
Photo: Close up view of lashed frame apparatus for sawing timbers into planks. View Item
Three photos of Liberian women making crawfish trap baskets and carrying them to market. View Page
Photo: Young woman emptying crawfish from her traps, long narrow baskets, into a bucket. View Item
Photo: Two women carrying crawfish traps on their heads, and holding bouquets of flowers. View Item
Photo: Two women and a child seated in front of a house. Younger woman tends a cooking pot while the older woman makes a large flat basket, shares stool with child. View Item
Two photos of young Liberians working. View Page
Photo: Five young Liberian men and women carrying goods on roadside. Several use handmade back packs. View Item
Photo: Three young men appear to be carrying bundles or sheaves of rice on their heads. Possibly to shade the sun? View Item
Three photos of adult Liberians at work. View Page
Photo: Liberian woman tends a market stall in village or work camp. She has bitter ball, cola and rice among other things for sale. View Item
Photo: Young men sewing with a treadle sewing machines on a porch. Note ceiling mats above. View Item
Photo: Seated man at work, perhaps making shoes. He has a kit of leather material at his side. View Item
Three photos of Liberian men and women using mortars and pestles. Apparently posed. View Page
Photo: Young Liberian woman pounds grain in front of house. Two women stand behind, one with winnowing basket. View Item
Photo: Two Liberian men using a mortar, each with a pestle. View Item
Photo: Two Liberian women using a mortar, each with a pestle. They are posed in front of a reed or bamboo fence. View Item
Three photos of Liberians in village setting. View Page
Photo: Four Liberian adult men eat cassava from a bowl. Cooking fire with pot suspended from tripod is nearby. Underexposed image. View Item
Photo: Two Liberian men and a woman holding an infant surround a cooking fire with several metal pots. View Item
Photo: Five Liberian men sit on a mat around a bowl. Two houses, a cooking pot, sandals are nearby. View Item
Single closeup portrait of a Liberian woman. Her face is adorned with white powder. She wears a batik dress and a plaid headscarf. View Page
Photo: Portrait of Liberian woman in batik dress with plaid headscarf. She wears chalk on her face, which is worn for Sande Society initiation ceremonies and as a traditional cure. View Item
Two photos of Liberian women. View Page
Photo: Liberian woman with an enamel bowl balanced on her head, carrying an infant on her back. View Item
Portrait of a Liberian woman standing with arms folded. She is in front of a house and smiles broadly. View Item
Two photos of Liberians. View Page
Photo: Liberian man posing along a path in the bush, with several women standing in background. View Item
Photo: Adolescent girl in ceremonial dress. She may be dressed for a Sande initiation ceremony. View Item
Two photos of Liberian men in village. View Page
Photo: Liberian man displays scarification pattern on his back. Possibly a Poro Society marking? View Item
Photo: Two seated Liberian men playing Mancala or "Poo" with pebbles or seeds placed in holes in the ground. View Item
Two photos of Liberians in village setting. View Page
Photo: Liberian man and woman pose standing up for portrait in front of a house. View Item
Photo: Liberian man standing with two young women and two older women in front of a house. Possibly the women are this man's wives? View Item
Three photos of houses and people in a Liberian village. View Page
Photo: Large house with a thatched roof, with two women in front. View Item
Photo: A group of nine children in the village. Small photo is damaged in lower left. View Item
Photo: A group of three young boys in the village, with a preadolescent boy. View Item
Three photos of Americans and Liberians handling snakes. Members of the Snake Society keep snakes in their villages. View Page
Photo: American man in short khakis and pith helmet handles a large snake. View Item
Photo: American man in short khakis and pith helmet poses with a large snake. View Item
Photo: Manis poses with a Liberian man and woman, each of whom holds a snake. View Item
Three photos of Liberians and an American in pith helmet handling snakes. View Page
Photo: American man in pith helmet and with a holstered pistol poses with several Liberians handling two large snakes. View Item
Photo: Liberian man in ceremonial Snake Society dress holds a snake's head in his mouth. American man holds a second snake. View Item
Photo: Liberian man in ceremonial Snake Society dress handles a snake. Three musicians with small slit drums, rattles, play amongst several observers. Houses apparently "Gio" or Dan. View Item
Four photos of acrobats of the Snake Society performing. Young girls typically are the ones tossed. View Page
Photo: Adult in ceremonial costume stands over two children performing backbends. Drummers are nearby. View Item
Photo: Snake Society acrobatic performance accompanied by several musicians amongst the audience. View Item
Photo: Acrobatic performance attended by a group of Americans standing in front of their pickup trucks. View Item
Photo: Acrobatic performance with drummers and observers. African and Western style buildings behind. View Item
Three photos of Snake Society acrobatic performances. View Page
Photo: Adult acrobat raises one hand to support a child standing on one leg. View Item
Photo: Acrobatic performance with child standing on adult's shoulders. African and Western style buildings behind. View Item
Photo: Acrobatic performance with child sitting on adult's shoulders. African and Western style buildings behind. View Item
Three photos of an acrobatic Snake Society performance. View Page
Photo: Adult acrobat prepares to catch a child performer. Drummers are behind with a small audience. View Item
Photo: Adult acrobat prepares to catch a child performer. He holds a large knife in one hand. View Item
Photo: Adult acrobat prepares to catch a child performer. Drummers are behind with a small audience. View Item
Single photo of W. E. Manis standing with Mano performer, who wears a Deangle mask and costume. View Page
Photo: Manis purchased this Deangle mask and costume after the wearer performed in it for a boys' initiation ceremony. Manis and his wife Rosemary donated it to the Harn Museum of Art in 1978. View Item
Two photos of a masked and costumed dancer known as a "Country Devil" or "Bush Devil." View Page
Photo: A masked and costumed dancer. Thatched buildings are visible in background. View Item
Photo: Dancer in mask and costume. Thatched building behind, with photographer's shadow visible on ground. View Item
Two photos of a dancer in masquerade. View Page
Photo: Thirteen men and boys pose behind seated masquerade, one with a drum. View Item
Photo: Dancer in masquerade performs in front of a male audience. View Item
Three photos of a masqueraded dancer, one with a group of Liberian men, women and children behind. View Page
Photo: Nine Liberian men, women and children pose with drum, flag, other objects behind a masquerade. View Item
Photo: Masquerade sitting in front of a small thatched structure (kitchen or shrine?). View Item
Photo: Standing masquerade posed in front of a small structure. View Item
Two photos of a masked, costumed dancer. View Page
Photo: A masked and costumed dancer performs in front of drummers and an audience of mostly young men. View Item
Photo: A masked and costumed figure performs (possibly a dancer supporting another on his shoulders). View Item
Two photos of a masked, costumed dancer (or dancers). View Page
Photo: A masked and costumed figure performs. View Item
Photo: A masked and costumed dancer performs in front of drummers and an audience. View Item
Photograph of a masked performer on tall stilts. The "stilt devil" is associated with Snake Society ceremonies. View Page
Photo: A masked figure on stilts performs in front of a large male audience. View Item
Three photos of a masked dancer performing on tall stilts before a large audience of 70 or more men. View Page
Photo: Masked dancer performs on tall stilts in front of a large audience of more than 70 young men. View Item
Photo: Masked dancer performs on tall stilts. An American squats in the foreground. View Item
Photo: Masked dancer performs on tall stilts. An American man squats in the foreground. View Item
Three photos of a masked dancer on tall stilts. View Page
Photo: Masked dancer performs on tall stilts in front of a large audience. View Item
Photo: Masked dancer performs on tall stilts. One leg is raised up. View Item
Photo: Masked dancer performs on tall stilts. Performer is bending low or kneeling on the stilts. View Item
One photo of masked dancer on stilts, resting against a thatched roof. View Page
Photo: Masked dancer on stilts, resting against a thatched roof. View Item
Six photos of masks (objects on plain white background). View Page
Photo: Mask 1. Tufted figure. View Item
Photo: Mask 2. Figure with two horns. View Item
Photo: Mask 3. Figure with short curved horns. View Item
Photo: Mask 4. Bird figure. View Item
Photo: Mask 5. Monkey figure. View Item
Photo: Mask 6. Figure with six protruding teeth. View Item
Six photos of masks (objects on plain white background). View Page
Photo: Mask 1. Almond-shaped figure with six teeth. View Item
Photo: Mask 2. Mustached figure with tusks. View Item
Photo: Mask 3. Almond-shaped figure. View Item
Photo: Mask 4. Mustached figure. View Item
Photo: Mask 5. Figure with crocodile shaped mouth. View Item
Photo: Mask 6. Figure with bird beak shaped mouth. View Item
Two photos, one depicting three masks and the other with four masks. View Page
Photo: Four bearded or mustached masks appear to be suspended from nails on a white wall. View Item
Photo: Three masks, one with a long beak, another with four sharp metallic teeth, are suspended on a white wall. View Item
Travel mementos: luggage tag and customs stamp. View Page
Luggage tag for stateroom passage on S. S. Acadia. View Item
Customs stamp and round luggage sticker. View Item
Three photos, ship's dinner menu and a typescript letter. View Page
Photo: Passenger ship (S.S. Acadia ?) from lighter with Liberian oarsmen. View Item
Photo: Group of American men, women and Liberian men (departing passengers, those awaiting arrivals?). View Item
Photo: Departure of lighter, ferrying passengers from shore to moored ship. View Item
Ephemera. S.S. Acadia menu for Thanksgiving dinner, en route to New York. Nov. 20 1941. View Item
Typescript letter dated Nov. 7, 1941 to Mrs. Elsa Magni advising her that W.E. Manis sailed from Liberia on Nov. 6. View Item
"The Playbill for the Majestic Theatre" (describing "Olsen and Johnson's New Hellzapoppin") View Page
"The Playbill for the Majestic Theatre." View Item
Brochure for "Olsen and Johnson's New Hellzapoppin" View Page
"Olsen and Johnson's New Hellzapoppin" brochure. View Item
Transcribed letter that Manis wrote after arriving in Monrovia. View Page
Transcribed letter that Manis wrote to his mother, Elsa Magni, and his sister, Beth, soon after arriving in Monrovia (22 pages, dated January 1940). View Item



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page