Skip to Search



A Guide to the Edmond Mangonès Collection

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
February 2008


Descriptive Summary

Title: Edmond Mangonès Collection
Dates: 1655-1843
Bulk dates: 1790-1843
Abstract: A selection of documents (on microfilm) from the private library of Edmond Mangonès, a Haitian collector and historian of the early 20th Century. Most of the documents date from before and after the Haitian revolution and the period of U.S. occupation.
Extent: 17 Microfilm Reels
Identification: Microfilm Mangonès


Biographical/Historical Note

Edmond Mangonès (1884-1967) was a Haitian public servant and a collector of historical materials pertaining to the history of Haiti and the Caribbean.


Scope and Content

The collection is comprised of a selection of historical Haitian documents from the private collection of Edmond Mangonès. The documents are on 17 reels of microfilm that were filmed in Petionville, Haiti. The documents include letters, reports, speeches, and miscellaneous manuscripts and writings. Although the collection spans from 1655 to 1843, the bulk of the documents are dated between 1790 and 1843, covering the revolution and the subsequent occupation of Haiti by the United States. Included are several letters and ledgers of Henri Christophe (1767-1820; Haitian general, president and king), documents pertaining to the Ministry of Finance during the 1830s, a few issues of Nouvelles de St. Domingue, and a number of registres de pariosses.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The UF Latin American Collections holds resources related to Mangonès, including the Catalogue de la collection Mangonès, Petionville, Haiti by Ira P. Lowenthal and Drexel G. Woodson (New Haven: Yale University Antilles Research Program, 1974).


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Edmond Mangonès Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Mangonès Collection


Reel 68

Ministère des Finances
Paroisse no. 4 - no. 52
Tableau récapitulatif; Liste alphabétique des anciens propiétaires et ayant droit reclaman avec renvoi aux affaires qui les concernent.
Ministère des Finances. Etat detaillé des liquidations à la epoque du premier
Janvier 1830
Paroisse no. 1 - 52
Tableau récapitulatif; liste alphabétique.
Ministère des Finances
Paroisse no. 1 - no. 22

Reel 69

Ministère des Finances
Etat detaillé des liquidations operées pendant l'annee 1832 et les six months de 1833
Paroisses no. 21 - no. 52. List alphabetic
Rapport par le Ministre des Finances pour lui presenter le compte final de la liquidation de l'indemnite de 150.000.000, atribué par loi du 30 avril 1826 aux anciens colons de Saint Domingo.
Section I. Paroisses no. 1 - no.11
Régistre. Lettres du Général Borgella sur l'Etat du Sur, 1836-11 Fév. 1843.
Plan de la plaine du Cul du Sac. (maps)

Reel 70

Ministère des Finances
Section II. Paroisse no. 28 - no. 34; Jurisdiction de St. Marc; first six months of 1833.
Section III. Paroisse no. 35 - no. 54; no. 52 Paroisse de Jacmel; tableau de récapitulation.
Nouvelles de St. Domingue; Lettre de la Paroisse de Ouanaminthe à l'assamblée du Cap par Bacon de la Chevalerie
Nouvelle de St. Domingue, no. 2; no. 28 (1791); no. 29 (March 1791) no. 30 (March 3, 1791); no. 31 (March 23, 1791); no. 32 (March 23, 1791); no. 34.
Supplement aux Affiches Américaines; Pot-au-Prince; no. 1, no. 10; no. 14, 1781
Feuille du Port-au-Prince, no. 54.
Affiches Américaines, Dec. 1786; no. 28, avril 1787; no. 1, Janvier 1788; no. 20, 8 mars, 1788
Maps of the Rochambeau Collection, nos. 98, 88, 90 and 92 of Sothebay Catalogue.
Copie des lettres aux deuxième and troisième ans de l'Independence.

Reel 71

Collection des lettres d'Henri Cristophe: 25 sep. 1805-26 oct. 1806.
Various acts, land purchases, concessions, surveys, etc., 1743-1792.
Ministre de la Marine et des colonies, Secrétariat géneral. Bureau des Archives, Juillet, 1791.
Purchase and sales of slaves and various civil acts by freed negros and mulatoes.
Jeremie papers, 1781-1798 (53 items)
Ministre des Finances. Etat détaillé des liquidations opereés a l'époque du premier janvier 1828:
Paroisse no. 1: Ouanaminthe
Paroisse no. 2: Fort Dauphin
Paroissee no. 3: Terrier Rouge
Paroissee no. 4: Le Trou
Paroissee no. 5: Valière
Paroissee no. 6: Limonade
Paroissee no. 7: Quartier Morin
Paroissee no. 8: Grand Rivière
Paroissee no. 9: Dondon
Paroissee no. 10: Marmelade
Paroissee no. 11: Petite-Anse
Paroissee no. 12: Cap Français
Paroissee no. 13: Plaine du Nord
Paroissee no. 14: Acul
Paroissee no. 15: Le Limbe
Paroissee no. 16: Port Margot
Paroissee no. 17: LeBorgne
Paroissee no. 18: Plaisance et Pilate
Paroissee no. 19: Saint Louis
Paroissee no. 20: Port de Paix
Paroissee no. 21: Gros Morne
Paroissee no. 22: Jean Rabel
Paroissee no. 23: Mole Saint Nicolas
Paroissee no. 24: Bombarde
Paroissee no. 25: Port à Piment
Paroissee no. 26: Les Gonaives
Paroissee no. 27: Saint Marc
Paroissee no. 28: La Petite Riviere
Paroissee no. 29: Les Verrettes
Paroissee no. 30: Mirebalais
Paroissee no. 31: Arcahaye
Paroissee no. 32: La Croix des Bouquets
Paroissee no. 33: Port-au-Prince
Paroissee no. 34: Léogane
Paroissee no. 35: Grand Goave
Paroissee no. 36: Petit Goave
Paroissee no. 37: Fond des nègres
Paroissee no. 38: Anse-à-veau
Paroissee no. 39: Petit Trou
Paroissee no. 40: Jéremie
Paroissee no. 41: Cape Dame Marie
Paroissee no. 42: Cap Tiburon
Paroissee no. 43: Les Coteaux
Paroissee no. 44: Port Salut
Paroissee no. 45: Torbeck
Paroissee no. 46: Les Cayes
Paroissee no. 47: Cavaillon
Paroissee no. 48: Saint Louis
Paroissee no. 49: Aquin
Paroissee no. 50: Baynet
Paroissee no. 51: Jacmel
Paroissee no. 52: Cayes de Jacmel
List alphabétique des anciens propiétaires.
Etat detaillé des liquidations operées a l'époque du premier du Janvier 1829
Paroissee no. 1 - no. 5

Reel 85

1. Journal of Cronwell expedition dated 1655
2. Broadside on African slave concession 1667
3. Series of Crown edicts covering the period 1707-1789
Relation trés détaillée des malheurs arrivés aux Isles de Saint Domingue par le tremblement de terre arrivé le 3 juin 1770

Reel 86

Series of the Crown edicts covering the period 1707-1789 (cont)
4. Constitution de la Colonie Française de Toussaint Louverture. Observations du general du Génie, General Vincent

Reel 94

Series of laws, decrees etc. covering the period 1790-93

Reel 95

Series of laws, decrees etc., covering the period 1790-93 (cont)
Extraits, letters directed to the Etats Générals
Aprovissionnements de St. Domingue (Letters, rapports, speeches)
Refutation du Project des Amis des Noirs; Réflexion sur le Code Noir
Rapports, Observations, Comtes rendus sur le commerce et les finances
"Nouvelles de St. Domingue," nos. 9 to 14 March 1790
Déclaration de Monsieur le Gouverneur Général sur l'interprétation de Décrets du 8 et du 28 Mars, 1790
Troupes licensiés; Extrait des registres des les deliberations des habitants citoyens de l'Arcahaye. Exposé de la conduite de M. Santo Domingo comandant de le vaisseau Léopard.
Propositions des citoyens de la Colonie
Lettre des membres de l'Assemblee provinciale à l'Assemblée nationale.
Nouvelles officielles, 24 Juillet, 1790
Lettres aux philantropes
Obervations d'un habitant de la Colonie en faveur des gens de couleur.
Extrait des Archives de l'Assamblée. Procès verbal; extrait des registres de la Garde nationale. Reflexions sur l'admission aux Etaux Généraux.
Affair de Tabago; Reponse a Monsieur l'abbé Grégoire; Lists des ouvrages sur le traité et esclavage; Lettre de un colon. . . Sur les interests de cette colonie; essais sur la population des colonies à Sucre, 1781; Aux colons (1789)
Détail véridique et circonstance des événements depuis le 28 Aout jusqu'a 8 Octobre
Addresse du commerce de Marseille à la Assamblée Nationale: Lettres de J. Raimond
Duportail; Concordat, 1791; sur les troubles de St. Domingue. Lettres des diverses societés des Amis de la Constitution; Lamotte- Aigron lettre, 19 octob, 1791; Sur les troubles in St. Domingue; Un mot de verité sur les troubles de St. Domingue (Baillio, 1791); Observations importants sur les troubles in St. Domingue; Rapport sur les troubles (Tarbe)
Discours, petition, etc.

Reel 96 and 98

Discours, aux Amis de l'Humanité pour la Societé des Amis des Noirs; Résponses du Citoyen d'Esparbes; Addresse de la Garde Nationale; Memoirs; Le bout d'oreille des colons; Pétition; Grand Judgement du Tribunal extraordinaire révolutionaire, 1798; Belley a ses collègues; Attentat contre la liberté de presse; Sonthonax; Réflexions addressé aux Jacobins; Mémoire de la Societé des Amis de la Constitution; Memoire de Morin; Opinions et reflexions; considerations, rapports, obervations, extrait du régistre, avis, opinions.
Recueil des poesies; Lettres et Aperçus.
Ordenances et reglaments.

Reel 132

Henri Christophe's Ledgers, Jan. 1807-March 1809; 1812; 1813; 1815 (esporadic)
Lettres du Sécrétaire Général du Ministre des Finances et interieur

Reel 133

Henri Cristophe's Ledgers (cont)
Registre des titres des concessions des terres, 1819; de controle financier 1817; titres des concessions des habitations aux militaires, 1819, 1814, 1816, 1819
En Epoque coloniale: Naissances, marriages, deces, 1793

Reel 134

Registres des marriages, naissances et décés, 1793-95; 1798-99

Reel 135

Tables des décédés, des naissances, 1802-1804; décédés, 1823, marriages, 1824; naissances 1824-1825

Reel 136

Registres: décés, naissances 1802; naissances, 1803-1804; décés 1823-25

Reel 137

Registres: décés, 1825-1826; naissances, marriages, 1826-27; naissances, marriages, décés, 1827, 1828, 1839 (esporadic)

Reel 138

Registres; naissances, marriages, décés, 1835

Reel 139

Registres: naissances, marriages, décés, 1835-36




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page