Skip to Search



A Guide to the René Lemarchand Collection of African Political Papers

Finding aid created by Dan Reboussin and René Lemarchand

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Lemarchand, René
Title: René Lemarchand Collection of African Political Papers
Dates: 1874-1992
Bulk dates: 1950-1992
Abstract: The Lemarchand Collection includes copies of official reports and other documents assessing political situations and events, newspapers from several countries, and copies of unpublished studies and reports. Countries covered include Rwanda, Burundi, Zaire, Chad, and to a much lesser extent Gabon and Libya. Chad is the most extensively covered; the Zairian and Libyan materials are limited to newspapers.
Extent: 7.5 Linear feet. 15 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 106
Language(s): Most of the materials are in French, although some are in English and German. Several African languages are also represented.

Biographical/Historical Note

Dr. René Lemarchand is a retired professor of political science from the University of Florida. He came to UF in 1963, shortly after receiving his Ph.D. from the University of California at Los Angeles. He was active in the Center for African Studies. Since retirement, he has worked for US AID (Agency for International Development, Dept. of State) out of Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire) as a Regional Consultant for West Africa in Governance and Democracy. He is currently Democracy and Governance advisor to USAID / Ghana.

He is well known for academic contributions to the concept of clientelism, and for his work on the genocide in Burundi. Books authored, or edited by Lemarchand include African Kingships in Perspective (1977), African Policy in Southern Africa (1978), Burundi: Ethnic Conflict and Genocide (1996), Burundi: Ethnocide as Discourse and Practice (1994), Green and the Black: Qadhifi's Policies in Africa (1964), Political Awakening in the Belgian Congo (1963), Political Clientelism in Patronage and Development (1981), Rwanda and Burundi (1970), and Selective Genocide in Burundi (1974).


Scope and Content

The collection includes copies of official reports and other documents assessing political situations and events, newspapers from several countries, and copies of unpublished studies and reports. Countries covered include Rwanda, Burundi, Zaire, Chad, and to a much lesser extent Gabon and Libya. Chad is the most extensively covered. The Zairian and Libyan materials are limited to newspapers. Although some material dates to the late nineteenth century, the bulk dates from 1950 to 1992. The major periods of emphasis are the emergence of independence from the 1950s through the early 1960s and increasing democratization from the late 1980s through the early 1990s. Most of the materials are in French, although some are in English and German. Several African languages are also represented.

Of special interest are colonial officers' reports from Rwanda, Burundi, and Chad on the formation of independent political parties and their leadership, ethnic conflicts, elections, and governmental policies and politics. Some of these materials are photocopies of secret and otherwise classified intelligence reports. A significant portion of the collection consists of 35 newspaper titles primarilypublished in Kinshasa (Léopoldville) during the period of 1990-1992 with a few examples from the pre-independence period. Included also are several examples of Chadian and Libyan papers from the late 1980s, with the contents particularly focused on events in 1986 related to the dispute over the Aouzou Strip.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged in three series of files: (1) the various political documents described above and newspapers, (2) documents from Chad, and (3) approximately 90 unpublished papers and reports on Africa.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], René Lemarchand Collection of African Political Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was acquired by the George A. Smathers Libraries by purchase from Dr. Lemarchand.


Contents List

Series 1: Documents, Correspondence, and Newspapers 1930-1992 (bulk: 1950-1992)


Rwanda Documents 1930-1991 (bulk: 1950-1991)

Box Folder
1 1 Residence du Ruanda, Garde Territoriale, Bureau de la Surete. No. 1475... Secret/Tres secret. Exemplaire no. 20. "Abreviations des partis politiques du Ruanda." 18 pp. (Nov. 17, 1960?) (Includes lists of officials, notes on origins, summaries of some meetings, descriptions of individuals, etc.). 1960?
1 2 Institut de Recherche Scientifique et Technologique (I.R.S.T.) Centre d'Etudes Rwandaises. 198? IV. 4.1 Introduction. - 4.2.4 Programme de recherche. (Mission statement, research program, objectives, etc. proposed). pp. 12-24.
1 3 Les resolutions des congres du M.R.N.D. (Mouvement Revolutionnaire pour le Developpment) Premiere partie. pp.221-341. (Photocopy) (pub. date after 1984). Circa 1984-1990
1 4 Letter via fax to Dr. Lemarchand dated Feb. 11, 1991. Ambassador Aloys Uwimana. Ambassade de la Republique Rwandaise (Washington, DC).5. "As partially reshuffled by the President of the Republic of Rwanda on February 4, 1991, the new Government of the Rwandese Republic is as follows...." (Cabinet positions listed with ministers in charge dated February 6, 1991.). 1991
1 5 Reunion du Conseil du Gouvernement. Stamped: A.R.W. Feb. 16, '90. No. 071, 01-A2. (Minutes of a meeting chaired by President Habyarimana, Jan. 11, 1990). 1990
1 6 Dossier "Spoliation des Terres." Photocopy. 14 pp. (Handwritten attribution to "P. Lassard"). Goma. 1984 Oct. 25
1 7 Muli Prefegitura ya Kigali. Umubare w'abatoye: Uko Abakandida bakulikirana mu majwi: Amajwi ya buli Mukandida. (Handwritten translation. " En prefecture de Kigali, Nombre d'electeurs...votes obtenus"). pp. 4. (Voting results for 10 prefectures, pages numbered 3-7). n.d.
1 8 Tableau annexe a la loi no. ___/1983 du ___/1983 portant modification de la loi du 5 Juillet 1967 relative au regime electoral. Vu pour etre annexe a la loi no. 18/1983 du 27 aout 1983. p. 37. (one page) (Table headed: Circonscription electorale, Effectif de la population au Dec. 31, 1982-- Nombre de sieges). 1982-1983
1 9 Loi no. 18/1983 du 27 Aout/1983 portant modification de la loi du 5 Juillet 1967 relative au Regime Electoral. pp.36. (Modifications to the electoral code). 1983.
1 10 Actualites Nationales. Set of 6 photocopied press releases: ARP (Association Rwandaise de Presse?). Each is a single sheet unless noted otherwise. 1988.
1 10 a) Kigali, le 13 Dec. 1988. ARP. " Reunion a Kigali des prefets de prefecture." L.NK.
1 10 b) Kigali, le 20 Dec. 1988. ARP. "Les Rwandais on elu le president Habyarimana pour un troisime mandat."
1 11 Actualites Nationales continued. 1988-1989
1 11 c) Kigali, le 22 Dec. 1988. ARP. "Proclamation des resultats des elections presidentielles du 19/12/1988." (4 pp. + table of results)
1 11 d) Kigali, le 27 Dec. 1988. ARP. "Les elections legislatives se sont deroulees dans le calme."
1 11 e) Kigali, le 31 Dec. 1988. ARP. "Reunion des prefets/de prefecture." L.K.
1 11 f) Kigali, le 10 Jan. 1989. ARP. "Investiture du president de la republique pour un prochain mandat de 5 ans." C.G. (3 pp.)
1 12 Front Patriotique Rwandais. Questions d'Actualites: Multipartisme, Elections, Negociations. May 13, 1991. 7 pp. (Documenting violations of government/FPR cease-fire of March 29, 1991). 1991
1 13 "Discours du Chef de l'Etat, Suite aux Rencontres avec les fonctionnaires de l'Etat." 37 pp. June 16, 1989. Texte integral of speech by the Militant General -Major Habyarimana Juvenal. 1989
1 14 Delegation Hutu au Conseil Special Povisoire du Ruanada. Presente a la Mission de Visite de L'ONU par le Delegation Hutu au Conseil Special Provisioire du Ruanda. Memoire sur la Revolution Ruandaise de Novembre 1959 (sic) de l'ONU par la delegation Kigali, 1960. Photocopy. 65 pp. (Includes an 11 pp. supplement, signed Augustin Mutabaruka, for Union National Ruandaises, Section d'Usumbura. "Les causes veritables des evenements tragiques au Rwanda."). 1959-1960
1 15 Territoires du Ruanda-Urundi, Residence du Ruanda, Territoire de Shangugu. Rapport de sortie de charge. Etabli par Monsieur SERVRANCKX Andre, Administrateur Territorial de Iere Cl., delegue du Resident du Ruanda a Shangugu. 10 Mai 1930. (Contains information on political organization, demography and economic revenues of the territories.). 1930
1 16 Residence du Ruanda. Territoire de Shangugu. "Famines, disettes, epizooties et epidemies dans le territoire de Shangugu. Importance, epoque et regions ou les indigenes se ravitaillent." Andre SERVRANCKX, Administrateur Territorial. 2 pp.
1 17 "Quelques constatations sur la responsabilite des ressortissants Suisses dans les evenements du Rwanda." [n.d]. Jean Bosco; Michel Kayonga. 3 pp.
1 18 "L'administration tutrice, cause de la revolution du Ruanda." [n.d.] by Laurent Nkongori, Astrida, Ruanda. 9 pp.
1 19 Republique Rwandaise, Ministere de la Justice. Objet: Rapport de Mission de Burundi. Kigali, le 26/12/1961. B.P.160. 5 pp. 1961
1 20 M.D.R. PARMEHUTU, Secretariat National, B.P. 19, Gitarama- Rwanda. "3e Manifeste-Programme." 21 Juin, 1964. 14 pp. 1964
1 21 Ruanda-Urundi, Residence du Ruanda, Territoire d'Astrida. No. A1 19/07, Date: ATAP. Communication no. 19 a la population du Territoire d'Astrida. L'Administrateur de Territoire, ff. J. Naegels. 2 pp.
1 22 Independance (Ukwigenga). Umutwe W'Abashyirahamwe B'u Rwanda. (Tract de l'UNAF). n.d. 9 pp. (Includes translations in French.).
1 23 Declaration du M.D.R. PARMEHUTU sur l'infiltration Inyenziste et fomentation des querelles de personnes. n.d. 2 pp.
1 24 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. No. 2210//4.950.- Circulaire relative a l'adhesion et a la participation des chefs, des sous-chefs et du personnel judiciaire, aux partis politiques." Vice-Gouverneur General, Gouverneur du Ruanda-Urundi, Jean-Paul Harroy. Kighali, 13 Octobre, 1959. "Pour copie certifiee conforme a...". Le Secretaire de la Residence du Ruanda, R. Andre. 2 pp. 1959
1 25 Republique Rwandaise. Prefecture de Kigali. Compte-rendu de la reunion des bourgmestres en date du 13 Mars 1964. Le Prefet, N. Mbonabaryi. 10 pp. 1964
1 26 B.K./ Republique Rwandaise. Prefecture Kigali. Compte-rendu de la reunion des techniciens tenue le 18 Fevrier 1963. Pour le Prefet Ch. Kalinijabo, le S/Prefet Buregeya, Noel. 4 pp. 1963
1 27 Instruction no. 04/01/639 a Monsieur le Ministre de l'Interieur et des Affaires Sociales a Kigali... Objet: Orientation nouvelle de la Prefecture. Kigali, le 19 septembre 1963. Le President de la Republique Rwandaise, Gr. Kayibanda. 5 pp. (Includes Organigramme de la Prefecture.).
1 28 Republique Rwandaise, Prefecture de Kigali. Compte-rendu de la reunion du cadre tenue le 21 Fevrier 1966. Le Prefet de Prefecture, A. Sebatware. 4 pp. 1966
1 29 ??? du Ruanda, territoire d'Astrida. II. Breve relation des evenements qui se deroulerent en territoire d'Astrida entre le 1e/11/59 et le 5/11/1959. Astrida, le 8 janvier 1960. L'Administrateur de Territoire, ff. Levy, H. 1959-1960
1 30 Chefferie Mulera, S/chefferie Cyuve. La Commune de Ruhengeri dans la Democratie. (Letter signed by) Nous les contribuables de la s/chefferie Cyuve, Commune de Ruhengeri. (Discours au CEC par Hasani Ndangari, Commercant a Ruhengeri.). 1 p.
1 31 Premier Manifeste du Parti Parmehutu. Cite Indigene-Ruhengeri. May 1, 1960. Signed, Beziyake, Alexis. 1960
1 32 Copie tract UNAR lance au Ruanda fin Janvier et debut Fevrier 1960. Traduit du Kenyarwanda en Francais par un Banyarwanda. L'independance, l'unite...le courage. (Annexe no. 3). 2 pp. 1960
1 33 Petition. Memorandum de "l'Union Nationale Ruandaise" a la mission d'enquete des Nations Unies. Demande de levee de la Tutelle Belge. Dar-es-Salaam, le 20 Janvier 1960. Pour le Comite, le Vice-President Kayihura, M., Le Secretaire General Rwagasana, M. 20 pp. 1960
1 34 I.M.V.A.H.O. Bulletin d'infomation bi-mensuel. No. 14 du 15 Juillet 1960. Kigali, Le Resident Special du Ruanda, Col. B.E.M., G. Logiest. 5 pp. 1960
1 35 "Rapport sur les incidents que se sont deroules en terrritoire de Gitarama, le 13 mars 1960." Gitarama, le 14 Mars 1960. L'Administrateur de Territoire ff, (s) P.H. Pattyn. 3 pp. 1960
1 36 I.M.V.A.H.O. Bulletin d'infomation bi-mensuel. No. 15 du 24 Juillet 1960. " Les Elections du Ruanda". Kigali, Le Resident Special du Ruanda, Col. B.E.M., G. Logiest. 5 pp. 1960
1 37 Church Missionary Society; As at C.M.S. Shyogwe; B.P. 27, Gitarama (Ruanda). 14 March, 1960. Transcribed letter to Mr. Sears by P. D. Guillebaud regarding ethnicity/race and politics. 1960
1 38 "L'Organisation politique du Ruanda au debut de L'Occupation Belge (1916)." Notes redigees par le R.P. Classe, des Peres Blancs, Mission de Kabgayi, a la demande de l'administration Belge. 28 Aout, 1916. (Typed copy) 11 pp. 1916
1 39 Reunion des premiers occupants (Abakonde) et les usufruitiers (Abagererwa) a Kisenyi le 17 aout 1962. 12 pp. (Meeting transcripts). 1962
1 40 M. Th. Ruanda-Urundi, Residence du Ruanda, Territoire d'Astrida. A1.19/07. Communication no. 16 a la population du Territoire d'Astrida. L'Administrateur de Territoire ff., J. Naegels. 3 pp.
1 41 Ruanda-Urundi, Residence du Ruanda, Territoire d'Astrida. Circulaire no. 17 a la population du Territoire d'Astrida. L'Administrateur de Territoire ff., J. Naegels. 3 pp.
1 42 Rapport d'inspection de la sous-chefferie Ruhangari, sous-chef Sekanyambo, effectuee les 23, 27, et 28 Avril, 1959. Murambi, le 28 avril 1959. L'administrateur Territorial Assistant, Lehnen, P. 5 pp. 1959
1 43 G/R. Residence du Ruanda, Territoire de Ruhengeri. Proces-verbal administratif. Gaupin, R. J. Administrateur de Territoire. (An Interview questioning Gaetan Rwabukumbe, le Sous-Chef Stagaire, January 26, 1953.) 4 pp. 1953
1 44 Note sur les causes des troubles du mois de novembre 1959 au Rwanda. Kigali, le 15 mars 1960. Le Commissaire de District Assistant, F Ackerman. 7 pp. 1960
1 45 Residence du Ruanda, Territoire de Kigali. " Rapport de sortie de charge de monsieur l'Administrateur Territorial Schmidt, R. J." (1930-1932). 30.V1.1932. Plan du Developpement. 47 pp. 1932
1 46 P.V. (Proces Verbal) de la reunion conjointe des 6 et 7 Avril 1961. Confidentiel. A. T. Ruhengeri. Kigali, le 15-04-61. Aerts, P. 31 pp. 1961
1 47 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. Residence du Ruanda. Secret. Confidentiel. Proces verbal de la reunion des administrateurs de territoire, tenue a Kigali le 2 Septembre 60. Sous la Presidence du Colonel B.E.M. Logiest, Resident Special du Ruanda. 15 pp. 1960
1 48 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. Residence du Ruanda. Secret. Compte rendu le la reunion tenue le 27 Octobre a Kigali. Kigali, le 4 novembre 1960. Le Rapporteur. 19 pp. 1960
1 49 Territoire du Kabaya (Bushiru). Notes extraites des rapports annuels de l'Administrateur Territorial. "Rapports 1922". 3 pp. 1922
1 50 Gishoma, Thadee. communique par Mr. Servrancx. " La chute de Musinga". 7 pp. 1934
1 51 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. Residence du Ruanda. Territoire de Shangugu. NYL. Shangugu, le 5 octobre, 1959. No. 7066/Pers. Copie pour information et execution a Messieurs les Membres du Personnel sous statut (Tous). L'Administrateur de Territoire, Ch. Lees. Circulaire No. 13/43 du 16 Septembre 1959. 3 pp. 1959
1 52 Niy, L. Republique Rwandaise, Prefecture de Ruhengeri. Rapport de la reunion de cadre du 2/12/1963. Ruhengeri, le 2 Decembre 1963. Le Prefet de la Prefecture, Nkiko, P. Le Sous-Prefet, Kanyangoga, Th. Le rapporteur, Sous-Prefet Hitimana, C. 8 pp. 1963
1 53 B.K. Republique Rwandaise, Prefecture Kigali. Reunion du 12/2/1964, presidee par son excellence le Ministre de l'Interieur et du Travail, B. Bicamumpaka. 13 pp. 1964
1 54 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. Residence du Ruanda. Confidentiel. Proces verbal de la reunion conjointe du 15 Mars, 1961. 12 pp. 1961
1 55 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. Residence du Ruanda. Secret. Confidentiel. Proces verbal de la reunion des administrateurs de territoire a Kigali les 10 et 11 Aout 1960. A.T. Ruhengeri. Kigali, le X Aout 1960. L'Administrateur Territorial Assistant Principal: H. Rheinhard. 17 pp. 1960
1 56 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. Residence du Ruanda. Reunion des administrateurs de territoire a Kigali le 11 janvier 1959 (corrected by hand to 1960). L'Administrateur Territorial Assistant, se J. C. Castermans. 15 pp. 1959-1960
1 57 Territoire du Ruanda-Urundi. Residence du Ruanda. Secret. Confidentiel. Reunion des administrateurs de territoire a Kigali le 19 mai 1960. L'Administrateur Territorial Assistant, H Rheinhard. Pour copie certifiee conforme. Kigali de 19/5/60 Le Secretaire de la Residence, A. T. K(?) P. Canon. 11 pp. 1960

Burundi Documents 1961-1992

Box Folder
2 1 Bureau International d'Informations sur le Burundi (B.I.I.B) c/o Offerlunden 53 F; D.K. 9230 Svenstrup; Danemark. Nouvelles violations des droits de l'homme au Burundi. Bujumbura, 18 Juillet 1990. 2 pp. 1990
2 2 Republique du Burundi; Commission Nationale Chargee du Retour, de l'Accueil et de la Reinsertion des Refugies Burundais. "La politique de rapatriement volontaire des refugies Burundais: Realisations et perspectives d'Avenir." Bujumbura, Juin 1992. 24 p. 1992
2 3 United Methodist Church; Burundi Area; P.O. Box 97 Gitega; Republic of Burundi. "A pastoral address of Bishop Ndoricimpa J. Alfred on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the United Methodist Church in Burundi under the national's leadership and his 10th anniversary of Episcopacy at Gitega, Nyuabugogo, August 16, 1990. 25 pp. 1990
2 4 Agreement on the establishment of a technical working group for the promotion of durable solutions for Burundi refugees between the government of the Republic of Burundi, the government of the United Republic of Tanzania and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. Signed A. M. Mrema (MP) Minister for Home Affairs 27:8: 91, Libere Bararunyeretse, Ministre de l' Interieur et du Developpement des Collectivites Locales. signed William C. E. Young, Representative in Tazmania. August 27, 1991. 7 pp. 1991
2 5 Republique du Burundi; Commission Nationale Chargee du Retour, de l'Accueil et de la Reinsertion des Refugies Burundais. Rapport de mission effectuee au Burundi du 1er au 8 Juin 1992 par un groupe de refugies Burundais vivant en Republique Unie de Tanzanie, accompagne d'Officiels Tanzaniens. 26 pp. 1992
2 6 Banque Mondiale. "Liste des credits de l'IDA completement debourses au Burundi." n.d. 9 pp. (Includes Tabable of credit ID nos., dates, amounts of credit, and project descriptions). 9 pp.
2 7 Recommendations of the first national conference of the officials of the state. Held in Bujumbura April 12-15, 1982. I. Economic evolution of the country and investment policy. 18 pp. 1982
2 8 Republique du Burundi. Ministre de l'Information. Ndayahoze, Martin. Confidential.Rapport Politique.Transmis copie a Monsieur le President de la Republique du Burundi. A.BUJUMBURA "Rapport sur la situation politique." 23 aout 1967. 093/226/CAB/67. 2 pp. 1967
2 9 Republique du Burundi; Ministre de l'Information. Ndayahoze, Martin; Cabinet du Ministre; B.P. 1080; Bujumbura. 18 Avril, 1968. Rapport politique. 093/100/CAB/68. 3 pp. 1968
2 10 Republique du Burundi; Ministre de l'Information. Ndayahoze, Martin. ; Cabinet du Ministre; B.P. 1080. Bujumbara le 24 juin 1969.Rapport Politique a Monsieur le President de la Republique du Burundi a 093/146/CAB/68.- 3 pp. 1969
2 11 Republique du Burundi; Ministre de l'Information. Ndayahoze, Martin; Cabinet du Ministre; B.P. 1080; Bujumbura. 24 Juin, 1969. Rapport politique a son Excellence le President de la Republique du Burundi a Bujumbara. No. 093/CAB/110. 4 pp. 1969
2 12 Republique du Burundi. Le ministre de l'Economie et Secretaire General pres la Maison du Parti. Ndayahoze, Martin. Letter. A son Excellence le President de la Republique du Burundi a Bujumbura. 27 Juillet, 1970. "Rapport politique." 061/500/C.M.E./17. 9 pp. 1970
2 13 Rushatsi, Jean Bosco. Bruxelles, le 10 decembre 1991. "A propos des massacres du 23 Novembre au Decembre 1991." "Au Professeur Filip Reyntjens." 3 pp. 1991
2 14 Erler, Brigitte et Filip Reyntjens. 17 fevrier, 1992. "Les Evenements de Novembre-Decembre 1991 au Burundi. Rapport d'une mission d'enquete." (Sent with cover letter by Leo Goovaerts and Blanche Boost; Burundi Workshop; Nationaal Centrum voor Ontwikkelingssamenwerking (NCOS); Vlasfabriekstraat 11; 1060 Brussel). 54 pp. 1991-1992
2 15 Republique du Burundi, PALIPEHUTU (Parti pour la liberation du peuple Hutu du Burundi), Service de l'Information. 18 octobre, 1988. "Problematique de la reconciliation nationale au Burundi." Includes 1 p. bibliography. 26 pp. 1988
2 16 Assemblee Legislative du Burundi. (Document no. 1-6, 8, 10). "Condense des travaux de la seance inaugurale du fevrier, 1961". Pr. le President de l'Assemble le Secretaire J. Birihanyuma. 1961
2 17 Notes et etudes documentaires. No. 3364. 17 Fevrier, 1967. "Le Burundi." Par Jean-Pierre Chretien avec la collaboration de Jean-Luc Coifard. La Documentation Francaise. 44 pp. 1967
2 18 Burundi. Embassy of the Republic of Burundi, Washington DC. 19 Octobre, 1988. (List of government offices and officials, with membership of the Commission Nationale Consultative Chargee d'Etudier la Question de l'Unite Nationale). 3 pp. 1988
2 19 B.I.I.B. Bureau International d'Informations sur le Burundi; c/o Offerlunden 53 F; D.K. 9320 Svenstrup, Danemark. "Recrudescence des massacres des Bahutu au nord du Burundi." 30 Septembre 1989. 9 pp. 1989
2 20 Peace Corps, Burundi. Feb. Country data, historical profile, program overview and direction, current projects. Political Economic Climate. 4 pp. 1985
2 21 U.S. 100th Congress, 2d Session. 9/22/88, 2 PM. "In the House of Representatives, Mr. Weiss submitted the following concurrent resolution...concerning the United States response to the atrocities reportedly carried out in Burundi in August." 7 pp. 1988
2 22 Reyntjens, Filip. (Review of?) "Du bon usage de la science: l'ecole historique Burundo-Francaise." 9 pp. n.d.
2 23 International Alert. Vol. 1, No. 1. Spring 1989. "Burundi conflict escalates." Newsletter of the Student Committee against Genocide and Mass Killing; P.O. Box 463; 308 Westwood Plaza; Los Angeles, CA. 1989
2 24 Chretien, J. P. and G. le Jeune. "Developpement rural et democratie paysanne, un dilemme? L'exemple du Burundi." pp. 45-76. (Photocopy of an unattributed journal article). [n.d.].
2 25 Stephan, Michael. "Burundi--ein Tagebuch." Pp. 48-52 in Pogrom: Zeitschrift fur Bedrohte Volker. No. 147, 6/89. 1989
2 26 Royaume du Burundi, Assemblee Nationale. Seance du xx janvier 1964: 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 27, 28, 30; Seance du xx Fevrie, 1964: 14, 17, 18. (Transcripts of parliamentary proceedings). 1964

Gabon Documents 1961-1992

Box Folder
2 27 "Instructions concernant la passation de service entre prefets et entre sous-prefets." Libreville, le 22 Mai 1971. 10 pp. 1971
2 28 Republique Gabonaise, Presidence de la Republique, Ministere de l'Interieur. No. 00153/PR-MI-TC. Libreville, le 18 Novembre 1961. Objet: Attributions des Prefets en matiere de Tutelle des CR. Pages numbered 23-26. Circulaire No. 27/PR-MI-TC of Feb. 19, 1962 "concernant la centrilization des commandes de materiel et l'assurance flotte des vehicules automobiles." p. 26 is Decret no. 122/PR-MI-TC of May 11, 1962. ("Portant revision des plafonds au-dela desquels les marches municipalites et Collectivites Rurales ne peuvent etre passes ni sur simple factures, ni de gre a gre.") 5 pp. 1961-1962
2 29 Republique Gabonaise, Presidence de la Republique, Service des Conseillers Charges de Mission. No. 0038/CCM. Libreville, le 31 Janvier 1968. Le Conseiller Technique Charge de Mission a Monsier le Prefet de l'Ogooue-Ivindo a Makokou. C. Cabrol. 9 pp. 1968
2 30 Republique Gabonaise, Presidence de la Republique, Service des Conseillers Charges de Mission. No. 0070/CCM. Libreville, le 17 Mai 1968. Le Conseiller Technique Charge de Mission a Monsier le Prefet du Woleu-N'Tem. C. Cabrol. 13 pp. 1968
2 31 CC/MPA. Republique Gabonaise, Presidence de la Republique. C. Cabrol, Conseiller Technique. Libreville, le 2 Mai 1966. Le Conseiller Technique Charge de Mission a Monsier le Prefet de l'Ogooue-Ivindo a Makokou. 10 pp. 1966
2 32 Republique Gabonaise, Presidence de la Republique. Le Conseiller Technique C. Cabrol. Libreville, le 10 Janvier 1965. Le Conseiller Technique Charge de Mission a Monsier le Prefet du Haut-Ogooue Franceville. 9 pp. 1965
2 33 Republique Gabonaise, Presidence de la Republique, Service des Conseillers Charges de Mission. No. 0049/CCM. Libreville, le 5 Mars 1968. Le Conseiller Charge de Mission a Monsier le Prefet de l'Ogooue-Lolo a Koula-Moutou. Objet: Mission effectuee du 8 au 17 Fevrier 1968. C. Cabrol. 8 pp. 1968
2 34 Republique Gabonaise, Presidence de la Republique, Service des Conseillers Charges de Mission. No. 0086/CCM. Libreville, le 16 Juillet. 1968. Le Conseiller Charge de Mission a Monsieur le Prefet de l'Ogooue-Maritime a Port-Gentil. C. Cabrol. 9 pp. 1968
2 35 Republique Gabonaise. Lois, ordonnances, decrets, arretes et circulaire concernant les collectivites rurales. Avril 1971. 50 pp. 1971

Correspondence to Lemarchand 1969-1991

Box Folder
2 36 From Karen Fung, Deputy Curator, Hoover Institution Africa Collection. Aug. 19, 1987. Re: Collecting Chad materials, his collection listed on p. 279 in Jean Gosebrink's 1986 African Studies Information Resources Directory. (Includes xerox copy of page 279 of Directory and listing of collection responsibilities by country and institution.). 1987
2 37 From Karen Fung, Hoover Institution. Sept. 24, 1987. Re: Collecting library material for Stanford while he is in Chad. With 2 NYT article clippings on the Chad-Libya war. 1987
2 38 From Tony Hodges, Africa editor for the Economist Intelligence Unit. July 28, 1987. Re: Lemarchand will write Country Report for 4th quarter and the Country Profile for Chad at stated fees. Handwritten notes attached. 1987
2 39 From Mme. Edouard Cortadellas, widow of General de Division Edouard Cortadellas. Jan. 6, 1991. Re: the death of her husband, who was a military delegate (advisor?) of the French government to the President of Chad, 1969-1972. She writes that Lemarchand's book, The Green and the Black was on his bedside table when he died. Obituary is included, outlining his military service. 1991
2 40 From Javier Nart (Lawyer). March 3, 1988. A short business card from Barcelona regarding his reaction to vol. 2 of Buitenhuijs' book on Chadian history. 1988
2 41 From Mtemere Tharcisse(?). Jan. 9, 1989. A handwritten letter explaining the origins of a document he had inquired about; states that it was the work of Tutsi professors at the Univ. of Bujumbura, written at the request of Buyoya. The response of the PALIPEHUTU Service de l'Information was entitled "Problematique de la reconciliation nationale au Burundi" and, he writes, was included with the letter. 1989
2 42 From Dr. Etienne Karatasi. Dec. 6, 1989. Typed letter on PALIPEHUTU letterhead, with return address in Denmark. "I received a copy of your opinion on the report of the 24 and agreed with you. The Commission was superficial on the Hutu-Tutsi ethnic conflict, particularly regarding the real causes. The recommendations given in the report were to satisfy the men in power that pressure from outside authorities is necessary to prevent a new massacre in Burundi." 2 pp. 1989
2 43 From Gene Dauch. Undated (after 1983). Typed letter on CREDU letterhead, Nairobi. Responds to some questions on GEMA (political party?), interethnic clientelism, and Moi's "politique de nivellement", referring him to Joel Barkan, and to the Weekly Review. Includes an article published in 1983. 3 pp. Circa 1983-1991
2 44 From Bob Charlick. Dec. 20, 1971. Typed letter on letterhead of Cleveland State University, College of Arts and Sciences. Responds to some questions on history of pre-cooperative organizations in Niger. 1971
2 45 From Pierre Verger. Nov. 23, 1969. Typed letter. Responds to questions on dependence of various groups to the King of Abomey (Dahomey/Benin). 1969
2 46 From Rhoda Howard. Nov. 11, 1988. Typed letter on letterhead of Canadian Journal of African Studies. Sending an article for his review, entitled "Development Administration in Chad." (Article attached.). 1988
2 47 From Michael Banton.29 Oct. 89. Handwritten note thanking him for help with a report to CERD on Burundi, and sending him the report along with part of another on the General Assembly. 1989
2 48 "Phone numbers of the Ministry of National Education." Single page with "Minister" and the names of three officials with their office phone numbers. (Chad?).
2 49 From Dr. Gunnar Hasselblatt. Jan. 8, 1991. Typed letter on letterhead of Berliner Missionwerk. Reaction to an article on the Horn of Africa by Lemarchand published in Die Tageszeitung on Dec. 24, 1990. He lists and encloses five pieces of material relating to the Oromo of Ethiopia. 1991

Newspapers - Benin and Ghana 1964-1990

Box Folder
3 1 L'Opinion. (Cotonou, Benin). no. 1/1st yr. Fev. 15, 1990; no. 2/1st yr. Mars 15, 1990; no. 3/1st yr. Avr. 2, 1990; no. 4/1st yr. Avr. 26-Mai 7, 1990; no. 5/1st yr. Mai 8-23, 1990; no. 6/1st yr. Juin 8-21, 1990. 1990
3 2 L'Etincelle, Organe de la Revolution Africaine (Accra, Ghana). no. 18/19, 15 Aout-Sept. 1, 1964; no. 20, 15 Sept.-1 Oct., 1964. 1964

Newspapers - Congo/Zaire 1953-1992

Box Folder
3 3 L'Abeille. (Luluabourg=Kananga). no. 3. Juin 1. 1959
3 4 Conscience Africaine. (Léopoldville=Kinshasa). no. 1. Janvier. 1958
3 5 Solidarite Africaine. (Léopoldville=Kinshasa). no. 7. Avril 30. 1960
3 6 Mbandaka. (Coquilhatville=Mbandaka). no. 46/13th yr. Nov. 14, 1959; no. 24/14th yr. Juin 11, 1960. 1959-1960
3 7 La Gauche. (Bussels). n. 38/2nd yr. Sept. 27. 1958
3 8 L'Essor du Katanga. (Elisabethville=Lumumbashi). no. 1102/4th yr. Oct. 26. 1964
3 9 Images (?). no. 13/1st yr. Nov. 25. 1991
3 10 L'Evenement. (Kinshasa). no. 35/1st yr. Dec. 14-20. 1991
3 11 Nzadi. (Kinshasa). no. 1/1st yr. Aug. 28 - Sept 3. 1990
3 12-13 Presence Congolaise. (Léopoldville=Kinshasa). nos. 4 - 6, 8 - 12, (13 or 14), 15/7th yr. 1964
3 14 Congo Pratique. (Léopoldville=Kinshasa). nos. 2 - 7, 9/1st yr. (1953); no. 14 (1955); Fev. (1957). 1953-1957
3 15-16 La Voix du Peuple. (Léopoldville=Kinshasa). no. 12 (Mars 30); no. 23 (Juin 15); no. 24 (Juin 22); no. 23 (Juillet 27); no. 24 (Aout 4); no. 25 (Aout 11); no. 26 (Aout 19); no. 27 (Oct. 8); no. 28 (Nov. 28). 1960
3 17 La Semaine. (Brazzaville). no. 1079/22nd yr. (Aout 5, 1973); no. 1080/22nd yr. (Aout 15, 1973); no. 44/2nd yr. (Aout 6, 1990); no. 81/2nd yr. (Juillet 25, 1991); no. 82/2nd yr. (Juillet 31, 1991). 1973, 1990-1991
3 18 La Renaissance. (Kinshasa). no. 451/28th yr. Feb. 15 - 22, 1992; no. 458/28th yr. Apr. 11-18, 1992; no. 476/28th yr. Aug. 15 - 22, 1992. 1992
3 19 Mambenga. (Kinshasa). no. 231. Dec. 13. 1991
3 20 La Nation en Chantier. (Kinshasa). no. 8/1st yr. Juillet 24, 1992; no. 9/1st yr. Juillet 25, 1992; no. 12/1st yr. Juillet 29, 1992; no. 13/1st yr. Juillet 30, 1992. 1992
3 21 L'Essor Africain. (Kinshasa). no. 31/3rd yr. Mars 21, 1992; no. 34/4th yr. Avril 8, 1992. 1992
3 22 Salongo. (Kinshasa). no. 141/27th yr. Avril 26, 1991; no. 184/27th yr. Juil. 2, 1991; no. 276 Dec. 13, 1991; no. 345/27th yr. Avril 22, 1992; no. 350/27th yr. Mai 4, 1992; no. 353 Mai 7, 1992; no. 361 Mai 20, 1992; no. 363 Mai 22, 1992; no. 6/28th yr. Juin 8, 1992. 1991-1992
3 23 La Tempete des Tropiques. (Kinshasa). no. 6 Mars 5-11, 1992; no. 7 Mars 12-18, 1992; no. 20 Juin 11-17, 1992; no. 23 Juillet 2-8, 1992. 1992
3 24 Jua. (Bukavu). no. 412 Juillet 13-20. 1991
3 25 La Releve. (Kinshasa). no. 9/12th yr. Mars 3, 1956 (incomplete); no. 75 Mai 1989; no. 77 Juillet 1989; no. 3 Juillet 24 - 31 1991. 1956, 1989-1991
3 26 Le Fureteur. (Kinshasa). no. 5 Fevrier 7-13, 1992; no. 6 Fevrier 21-27, 1992. 1992
3 27 L'Analyste. (Kinshasa). no. 1940/8th yr. Avril 8-9, 1992; no. 1964/9th yr. Juin 22-23, 1992; no. 1965 Juin 26-28, 1992; no. 1972/9th yr. Juillet 13-14, 1992. 1992
3 28 Le Manager Grognon. (Kinshasa). no. 11 Juillet 24, 1991; no. 34 Mars 13, 1992; no. 36 Mars 30, 1992. 1991-1992
3 29 Nsemo. (Kinshasa). no. 4/1st yr. Dec. 13, 1991; no. 5/1st yr. Jan. 2, 1992; no. 10/1st yr. Fev. 21-26, 1992. 1991-1992
4 1 Le Palmares. (Kinshasa). no. 13 Fev. 14-21. 1992
4 2-4 Le Potentiel. (Kinshasa). no. 90/6th yr. Juillet 12, 1991; no. 126/7th yr. Jan. 8, 1992; no. 134/7th yr. Fev. 10, 1992; no. 135/7th yr. Fev. 12, 1992; no. 137/7th yr. Fev. 19, 1992; no. 138/7th yr. Fev. 24, 1992; no. 139/7th yr. Fev. 26, 1992; no. 140/7th yr. Mars 2, 1992; no. 141/7th yr. Mars 4, 1992; no. 143/7th yr. Mars 11, 1992; no. 147/7th yr. Mars 24, 1992; no. 148/7th yr. Mars 28, 1992; no. 149/7th yr. Mars 31, 1992; no. 150/7th yr. Avr. 4, 1992; no. 153/7th yr. Avr. 13, 1992; no. 154/7th yr. Avr 14, 1992; no. 157/7th yr. Avr 22, 1992; no. 166/7th yr. Mai 14, 1992; no. 167/7th yr. Mai 16, 1992; no. 168/7th yr. Mai 19, 1992; no. 169/7th yr. Mai 21, 1992; no. 171/7th yr. Mai 26, 1992; no. 192/7th yr. Juillet 15, 1992. 1991-1992
4 5-6 Forum des As (Kinshasa). no. 25/1st yr. Juillet 29, 1991; no. 47/1st yr. Nov. 28, 1991; no. 58/2nd yr. Fev. 12, 1992; no. 59/2nd yr. Fev. 20, 1992; no. 60/2nd yr. Fev. 26, 1992; no. 61/2nd yr. Fev. 29, 1992; no. 67/2nd yr. Avr. 8, 1992; no. 68/2nd yr. Avr. 15, 1992; no. 69/2nd yr. Avr. 22, 1992; no. 71/2nd yr. Mai 6, 1992; no. 79/2nd yr. Juin 6, 1992; no. 80/2nd yr. Juin 10, 1992; no. 86/2nd yr. Juillet 8, 1992. 1991-1992
4 7-9 La Conscience (includes La Conscience Selection and La Conscience Week End) (Kinshasa). no. 30 Avr. 29-May 6, 1991; no. 58 Nov. 20-27, 1991; no. 60 Dec 3-10, 1991; Week End no. 5 Nov. 28- Dec 5, 1991; Week End no. 7 Dec 13-20, 1991; no. 64/2nd yr. Jan 6, 1992; no. 65/2nd yr. Jan 8-13, 1992; Week End no. 10 Jan 10-17, 1992; no. 73/2nd yr. Fev 10, 1992; Week End no. 14 Fev ? (before Feb. 16th march); no. 75/2nd yr. Fev x, 1992; Week End no. 16 Fev 28-Mars 1, 1992; no. 80/2nd yr. 4 Mars, 1992; no. 82/2nd yr. 11-12 Mars, 1992; no. 83/2nd yr. 16-17 Mars, 1992; no. 84/2nd yr. 19-20 Mars, 1992; Spec. no. Mars 23-24, 1992; no. 85/2nd yr. Mars 25-26, 1992; Week End no. 19 Mars 27-29, 1992; no. 89/2nd yr. Avril 7, 1992; no. 92/2nd yr. Avril 27-28, 1992; Week End no. 20 Avr?; Selection du Week-End no. 21 (Avr?); Selection no. 22 Mai 19, 1992; Selection no. 27 Juillet 9-10, 1992. 1991-1992
4 10 Le Soft de Finance (Kinshasa). no. 36/2nd yr. Juil. 24, 1991; no. 37/2nd yr. Juil. 30, 1991; no. 46/2nd yr. Nov. 26, 1991; no. 50/2nd yr. Dec. 30, 1991; no. 51-52/3rd yr. Jan. 11, 1992; no. 70/3rd yr. Juin 10, 1992; no. 71/3rd yr. Juin 12, 1992; no. 77/3rd yr. Juil 15, 1992. 1991-1992
4 11-13 Umoja (Kinshasa). no. 393/2nd yr. Juillet 24, 1991; no. 401/27th yr. Mars 2-9, 1991 (weekly edition); no. 526/3rd yr. Fevrier 13, 1992; no. 528/3rd yr. Fevrier 17, 1992; no. 529/3rd yr. Fevrier 18, 1992; no. 530/3rd yr. Fevrier 19, 1992; (partial issue, no. 536?) Fevrier 25, 1992; no. 563/3rd yr. Avril 6, 1992; (partial issue, no. 564?) Avril 7, 1992; no. 565/3rd yr. Avril 8, 1992; no. 566/3rd yr. Avril 9, 1992; no. 567?/3rd yr. Avril 10-11, 1992; no. 568/3rd yr. Avril 13, 1992; no. 569/3rd yr. Avril 14, 1992; no. 580/3rd yr. Avril 29, 1992; no. 582/3rd yr. Mai 4, 1992; no. 584/3rd yr. Mai 6, 1992; no. 585/3rd yr. Mai 7, 1992; no. 625/3rd yr. Juillet 7, 1992; ; no. 626/3rd yr. Juillet 8, 1992; ; no. 626/3rd yr. Juillet 9, 1992; no. 628/3rd yr. Juillet 10-11, 1992; no. 629/3rd yr. Juillet 13, 1992; no. 630/3rd yr. Juillet 15, 1992; no. 635/3rd yr. Juillet 22, 1992; no. 659/3rd yr. Aout 25, 1992. 1991-1992
4 14-18 La Reference Plus (Kinshasa). no. 25/1st yr. Janvier 6, 1992; no. 26/1st yr. Janvier 9, 1992; no. 34/1st yr. Fevrier 10, 1992; no. 35/1st yr. Fevrier 13, 1992; no. 36/1st yr. Fevrier 17-18, 1992; no. 38/1st yr. Fevier 24, 1992; no. 39/1st yr. Fevrier 28, 1992; no. 40/1st yr. Mars 2, 1992; no. 41/1st yr. Mars 5, 1992; no. 43/1st yr. Mars 12, 1992; no. 44/1st yr. Mars 16, 1992; no. 47/1st yr. Mars 26, 1992; no. 48/1st yr. Mars 30, 1992; no. 50/1st yr. Avril 6, 1992; no. 52/1st yr. Avril 9, 1992; no. 56/1st yr. Avril 27, 1992; no. 57/1st yr. Avril 30, 1992; no. 61/1st yr. Mai 14, 1992; no. 62/1st yr. Mai 18, 1992; no. 63/1st yr. Mai 21, 1992; no. 64/1st yr. Mai 25, 1992; no. 68/1st yr. Juin 8, 1992; no. 69/1st yr. Juin 11, 1992; no. 74/1st yr. Juin 29, 1992; no. 77/1st yr. Juillet 9, 1992; no. 78/1st yr. Juillet 13, 1992; no. 85/1st yr. Aout 6, 1992; no. 87/1st yr. Aout 13, 1992; no. 90/1st yr. Aout 24, 1992. 1992
5 1-5 Elima (Kinshasa).no. 306/16th yr. Avril 15, 1991; no. 348/16th yr. Juillet 30-31, 1991; no. 26 Mars 6-7, 1992; no. 45 Avril 10, 1992; no. (49?/17th yr.) Avril 14, 1992; no. 52/17th yr. Avril 22, 1992; no. 53/17th yr. Avril 24-26; no. 54/17th yr. Avril 27, 1992; no. 55/17th yr. Avril 29, 1992; no. 56/17th yr. Avril 30-Mai 1 1992; no. 60/17th yr. Mai 7, 1992; no. 64/17th yr. Mai 14, 1992; no. 65/17th yr. Mai 15-17, 1992; no. 66/17th yr. Mai 18, 1992; no. 67/17th yr. Mai 19, 1992; no. 69/17th yr. Mai 21-24, 1992; no. 70/17th yr. Mai 25, 1992; no. 71/17th yr. Mai 26, 1992; no. 72/17th yr. Mai 27, 1992; no. 85/17th yr. Juin 17, 1992; no. 94/17th yr. Juin 25, 1992; no. 95/17th yr. Juillet 8-9, 1992; no. 101/17th yr. Juillet 29, 1992; no. 102/17th yr. Aout 1-2, 1992; no. 104/17th yr. Aout 6, 1992; no. 105/17th yr. Aout 7-9, 1992; no. 109(x2)/17th yr. Aout 21-24, 1992; no. 110/17th yr. Aout 25-26, 1992. 1991-1992
5 6-11 Le Phare (1st yr. Coquilhatville=Mbandaka), (others, "nouvelle serie" Kinshasa). no. 3/1st yr. Avril 30, 1960; no. 7/1st yr. Juin 30, 1960; no. 92/9th yr. Nov. 22, 1991; no. 98/9th yr. Dec. 30, 1991; no. 100/9th yr. Jan. 1, 1992; no. 101/9th yr. Jan. 10, 1992; no. 109/9th yr. Fev. 12, 1992; no. 111/9th yr. Fev. 19, 1992(x2); no. 112/9th yr. Fev. 22, 1992(x2); no. 113/9th yr. Fev. 25, 1992; no. 114/9th yr. Fev. 28, 1992; no. 115/9th yr. Mars 3, 1992; no. 116/9th yr. Mars 6, 1992; no. 117/9th yr. Mars 10, 1992; no. 118/9th yr. Mars 13, 1992; no. 120/9th yr. Mars 20, 1992; no. 125/9th yr. Avr. 7, 1992; no. 126/9th yr. Avr. 10, 1992; no. 127/9th yr. Avr. 14, 1992; no. 131/9th yr. Avr. 28, 1992; no. 132/9th yr. Mai 2, 1992; no. 133/9th yr. Mai 5, 1992; no. 137/9th yr. Mai 19, 1992; no. 138/9th yr. Mai 22, 1992; no. 139/9th yr. Mai 26, 1992; no. 147/9th yr. Juin 23, 1992; no. 148/9th yr. Juin 27, 1992; no. 149/9th yr. Juillet 1, 1992; no. 151/9th yr. Juillet 7, 1992; no. 152/9th yr. Juillet 10, 1992; no. 153/9th yr. Juillet 15, 1992; no. 156/9th yr. Juillet 28, 1992; no. 158/9th yr. Aout 4, 1992; ; no. 164/9th yr. Aout 25, 1992. 1960, 1991-1992
5 12-14 Info Zaire (Brussels). no. 31/1 Fev. 1981; no. 32/1 Juillet 1981; no. 33 Oct.-Dec. 1981; no. 35 Mars 1982; no. 36 Oct. 1982; no. 36/1 Dec. 1982; no. 38/1 Juin 1983; no. 47 Mars 1986. 1981-1986

Newspapers - Chad 1973-1991

Box Folder
6 1-6 Al-Watan (N'Djamena?). 1986, 6th yr: no. 347 (Mai 10); 1987, 7th yr: no. 378 (Mars 16-21); no. 387 (Mai 23-Juin 6); no. 388 (Juin 27-4 Juillet); no. 393 (Aout 1-8); no. 394 (Aout 8-15); no. 395 (Aout 15-23); no. 396 (Aout 22-29); no. 397 (Aout 29-Sept. 5); no. 398 (Sept. 5-12); no. 399 (Sept. 12-19); no. 400 (Sept. 19-26); no. 401 (Sept 26-Oct. 3); no. 402 (Oct. 3-10); no. 403 (Oct. 10-17); no. 404 (Oct. 17-24); no. 405 (Oct. 24-31); no. 406 (Nov. 6-14); no. 407 (Nov. 14-21); 1988: no. 411 (Jan. 9-16); no. 413 (n.d.); no. 414 (Fev. 14-21); no. 416 (Fev. 29-Mars 6). 1986-1988
6 7 Le Heros (N'Djamena). no. 3, Avril-Mai 1984; no. 4, Juin-Juillet, 1984; no. 9, Sept.-Oct. 1987. 1984-1987
6 6-14 Info Tchad (N'Djamena). 1987: no. 1878-1885, sp. ed. of Oct. 24-30, no. 1886-1888, 1897-1905, 1910-1914; 1988: 1916-1920, 1923-1946, 1948-1953, 1955, 1957-1960, 1962-1966, 1968. 1987-1988
7 1-8 Info Tchad (N'Djamena. 1987. 1994-1995, 1999-2003, 2006-2009, 2013-2018, 2031-2032, 2034-2046, 2048-2050, 2052-2056, 2059-2063. 1987
7 9 N'Djamena Hebdo (N'Djamena). nos. 22, 34, 43.
7 10-12 Canard Dechaine (N'Djamena). no. 2/1st yr., Aug. 25, 1973; no. 17/2nd yr., Jan. 8, 1974; no. 19/2nd yr., Jan. 24, 1974; no. 20/2nd yr., Fev. 4, 1974; no. 23/2nd yr., Mars 5, 1974; no. 24/2nd yr., Mars 15, 1974; no. 25/2nd yr., Mars 28, 1974; no. 26/2nd yr., Avr. 9, 1974; no. 27/2nd yr., Avr. 18, 1974; no. 28/2nd yr., Avr. 30, 1974; no. 29/2nd yr., Mai 11, 1974; no. 30/2nd yr., Mai 22, 1974; no. 31/2nd yr., Juin 1, 1974. 1973-1974
7 13 Contact (N'Djamena?). no. 4, Juin 1. 1991
7 14 Debats (N'Djamena?). no. 1, Avril-mai. 1991
8 1-2 FROLINAT (Front de Liberation Nationale du Tchad) (N'Djamena?). "Bilan des quatre annees du lutte."; "La reconciliation nationale, une mystification" Juin 1, 1971; "Echos de l'interieur: A propos des deux declarations." Juin 1971; "La lutte continue" Juin 1971; "La lutte continue 2" Sept. 1973. 1971-1973
8 3 FROLINAT (Front de Liberation Nationale du Tchad) (N'Djamena?) Bulletin d'Informations. C.M. 25-26 C. P. 43. "Comuniques militaires des forces populaires de liberation." Bureau d'Informations du FLORINAT le 18-09 72. 4 pp. 1972
8 4 "La Bataille de Fada: Les preuves de la Folie Libyena. "Janvier, 1987. Edite par la Direction Filmee du Secretariat d'Etat a la Presidence de la Republique Chargee de l'Information et de l'Orientation. 32 pp. 1987
8 5 FROLINAT (Front de Liberation Nationale du Tchad) (N'Djamena?) Projet de programme du Front de Liberation National du Tchad. Not dated
8 6 Tchad Temps Nouveaux (N'Djamena?). Post-June 1984
8 7 Missi (Lyon, France). no. 487, Jan. 1987 "Tchad.". 1987
8 8 Le Verdict (N'Djamena). no. 000. 1991

Newspapers - Libya, Burundi, and Portugal 1967-1991

Box Folder
8 9-11 Al-Zahaf Al Akhdar, English edition (Tripoli). v. 3, no. 52 (Apr. 8, 1983); v. 4, no. 2 (Apr. 23, 1983); v. 4, no. 6 (May 28, 1983); v. 4, no. 7 (June 4, 1983); v. 3(4?), no. 49 (Aug. 13, 1983); v. 4, no. 29 (Nov. 11, 1983); v. 4, no. 31 (Nov. 26, 1983); v. 4, no. 32 (Dec. 3, 1983); v. 4, no. 33 (Dec. 10, 1983); v. 4, no. 34 (Dec. 17, 1983); v. 4, no. 35 (Dec. 24, 1983); v. 4, no. 37 (Jan. 14, 1984); v. 4, no. 38 (Jan. 21, 1984); v. 4, no. 39 (Jan. 28, 1984); v. 4, no. 40 (Feb. 4, 1984); v. 4, no. 41 (Feb. 11, 1984); v. 4, no. 42 (Feb. 18, 1984); v. 4, no. 44 (Mar. 3, 1984); v. 4, no. 45 (Mar. 10, 1984). 1983-1984
8 12-13 Jamahiriya International Report (Tripoli). v. 2, no. 20 (Feb. 4, 1983); v. 2, no. 21 (Feb. 18, 1983); v. 2, no. 6 (July 22, 1983); v. 2, no. 8 (Aug. 19, 1983); v. 2, no. 9 (Sept. 2, 1983); unnumbered issue (Oct. 28, 1983); v. 2, no. 14 (Nov. 11, 1983); v. 2, no. 14 (Nov. 26, 1983); v. 2, no. 16 (Dec. 9, 1983); v. 2, no. 17 (Dec. 24, 1983); v. 2, no. 19 (Jan. 20, 1984); v. 2, no. 22 (Mar. 3, 1984); v. 2, no. 22 (Mar. 17, 1984). 1983-1984
8 14 Jamahiriya Review (London). 1983 August
8 15 Trafipro (Kabgayi/Kigali). no. 11, Mayi 1966; no. 96, Juin 1973; no. 97, Juin 1973; no. 98, Aout 1973. 1966-1973
8 16-17 Unite and Revolution (Bujumbura, Burundi). no. 3/1st yr., Juillet 14, 1967; no. 4/1st yr., Juillet 21, 1967; no. 8/1st yr., Sept. 15, 1967; no. 9/1st yr., Sept. 22, 1967; no. 11/1st yr., Oct. 6, 1967; no. 12/1st yr., Oct. 13, 1967; no. 13/1st yr., Oct. 20, 1967; no. 14/1st yr., Oct. 27, 1967; no. 15/1st yr., Nov. 3, 1967; no. 16/1st yr., Nov. 10, 1967; no. 18/1st yr., Nov. 24, 1967; no. 23/1st yr., Fev. 15, 1968; no. 24/1st yr., Mars. 1, 1968; no. 25/1st yr., Avril 15, 1968; no. 26/1st yr., Mai 15, 1968; no. 30/2nd yr., Juillet 29, 1968; no. 31/2nd yr., Aout 15, 1968; no. 32/2nd yr., Sept. 23, 1968. 1967-1968
8 18-19 Le Renouveau du Burundi (Bujumbura). no. 3212, Juin 10-11, 1990; 3213, Juin 12, 1990; 3214, Juin 13, 1990; 3215, Juin 14, 1990; 3216, Juin 15, 1990; 3217, Juin 16, 1990; 3218, Juin 17-18, 1990; 3219, Juin 19, 1990; 3220, Juin 20, 1990; 3221, Juin 21, 1990; 3808, Juin 5, 1992. 1990-1992
8 20 Ndarangavye (Bujumbura). no. 26, Juin 22. 1990
8 21 La Chronique (Usumbura=Bujumbura). no. 7/13th yr., Aout 20, 1960; no. 11/13th yr., Sept. 17. 1960
8 22 Depeche du Ruanda -Urundi (Usumbura=Bujumbura). no 468/9th yr., Sept. 9. 1960
8 23 A Voz do Trabalhador (Lisbon, Portugal). n. 3/1st yr., Junho 20, 1974; n. 4/1st yr. Junho 27. 1974


Series 2: Chad Political Documents 1911-1990


Journals and Documents 1968-1990

Box Folder
9 1 Journee d'Etude sur l'lslam au Tchad. Conference held at the Centre d'Etude d'Afrique Noire. 1990 June 5
9 1 1. Mahamat Saleh Yacoub. L'lslam et l'Etat en Republique du Tchad. pp. 6.
9 1 2. Robert Buijtenhuijs. Le Frolinat: Mouvement Islamique ou mouvement de Musulman? pp. 18.
9 1 3. Jean-Louis Triaud. Une experience missionnaire: Les Sanusi au Borkou. pp. 15.
9 1 4. Bernard Lanne. La politique francaise a l'egard de l'lslam au Tchad (1900-1958). pp. 45.
9 1 5. Mahamat Adoum Doutoum. L'Islam, au Ouaddai avant et pendant la colonisation. pp. 46.
9 2 Frolinat Documents. 1967-1985
9 2 1. Frolinat-FAP. Congres extraordinaire, Bardai. Feb. 1-27, 1983. pp. 52.
9 2 2. Frolinat. Lettre aux combattants d'Ennedi a Ngoura. Signed "les combattants du Borkou, Ennedi, Tibesti." May 8, 1973. pp. 5.
9 2 3. Frolinat. Lettre des combattants de la 2eme armee a Mahamat Idriss de la 1ere armee. March 10, 1972. (Includes 3 copies of first page of the 2 page letter.)
9 2 4. Frolinat: Situation militaire. Chronique des evenements. 1968-69. pp. 12.
9 2 5. Frolinat: Comunique du commandement militaire..., du 5 mars, 1968 au 30 aout, 1968. pp 3.
9 2 6. Rapport sur le deroulement des evenements survenus du 13 au 16 Avril, 1969 sur la piste Zouar-Largeau. pp. 4.
9 2 7. Frolinat: Declaration. November 15, 1971. pp. 2.
9 2 8. Frolinat: Lettre aux camarades membres de la delegation du Frolinat a la conference de Kano. 14 Mars, 1979. pp. 9.
9 2 9. Frolinat: CDR. Decision No. 094 portant nomination des presidents des membres des commissions specialisees. Aug. 25, 1983. pp. 2.
9 2 10. Frolinat: CDR. Decision No. 91 portant composition du secretariat general. Aug. 22, 1983. pp. 2.
9 2 11. CDR: Communique du Secretaire General du CDR. Gouro. 10 Aout, 1985. With photocopy of letter of Acheikh Ib Oumar, May 8, 1985. pp. 5.
9 2 12. Frolinat: Communique No. 2/77/CMIAP. July 10, 1977. pp. 1.
9 2 13. Frolinat: Les grandes operations militaires apres la venue au pouvoir de l'actuel regime. No date (1977?). pp. 2.
9 2 14. Frolinat: Mise au point du Frolinat-FAP a l'adresse de toutes les tendances coalisees au sein du GUNT et du CNL. Yebbi Bou. 12 Fevrier, 1984. pp. 12.
9 2 15. Frolinat: Les relations entre le Frolinat et le gouvernement Soudanais. Rapport du secteur 1 du Frolinat. Khartoum. 25 Avril, 1972. pp 3.
9 2 16. Frolinat: Conference extraordinaire de Faya. Proces-verbal. 16 Mars, 1978. pp. 6.
9 2 17. Frolinat: Pour comprendre la situation politique au Tchad. n.d. pp. 20.
9 2 18. Frolinat. Conseil Democratique Revolutionnaire. Introduction generale aux travaux de l'assemblee generale extraordinaire des delegues de sections CDR tenue a Paris du 12 au 20, Mai 1985. (Title page missing). pp. 18.
9 3 Documents CAC-CDR (Comite d'Action et de Coordination-Conseil Democratique Revolutionnaire). 1983-1989
9 3 1. CAC-CDR: Documents et texte de base. August 22, 1983. pp. 80.
9 3 2. Declaration du CAC-CDR sur les dernieres mano euvres de la Libye en direction du Tchad, by Mahamat Senussi Khatir, President du CAC-CDR, 28 Sept., 1985. pp. 6
9 3 3. CDR. Le Tournant. 19 Novembre, 1989. pp. 27. (Organ of a pro-Libyan and anti-Iraqi faction of CDR, led by Moktar Moussa).
9 3 4. CDR: Note d'lnformation...relative aux accords de Bagdad sur la reconciliation nationale. Dec. 1, 1988. pp. 5.
9 3 5. CDR. Textes de base. October 23, 1987. pp. 32.
9 3 6. Accord de reconciliation nationale entre le gouvernement du Tchad et le Front Patriotique Tchadien. Bagdad. 19 Novembre, 1988.
9 4 Documents FDT (Front Democratique du Tchad). 1985
9 4 1. Rencontre de Brazzaville: Synthese des concertations entre le GUNT, l'ACTUS - le F.D.T. 23 Juillet, 1985. pp. 4.
9 4 2. Compte-rendu de la rencontre du 18 Juillet 1985 entre Goukouni et le FDT. pp. 5.
9 4 3. Reunion du 23 Juillet 1985: Compte-rendu de la rencontre du President Denis Sassou Nguesso, Goukouni, Mahamat Abba, Fidel, Djarma, Adoum Yacoub et le General Djogo. pp. 4.
9 5 Miscellaneous/Correspondence. 1970-1984
9 5 1. Letter of Suleyman Djonouma, prefet du BET, to Goukouni Oueddei. Oct. 14, 1970. (Concerning return of Derde to Fort-Lamy). pp. 2
9 5 2. Letter of Colonel Claude Dumurgier, medecin chef des services chirurgicaux, Hopital Central de Ndjamena. Feb. 20, 1980. (Concerning the casualties resulting from the events of 1980). pp. 8.
9 5 3. Letter of General Louis Forest to Mahamat Saleh, chef delegation FAN. March 20, 1979.
9 5 4. Letter from Imam Ibrahim Moussa to General Forest. March 22, 1979.
9 5 5. Fiche sur les discussions internes du GUNT, Avril 1983-Avril 1984. Brazzaville. July 18, 1985. pp. 5.
9 5 6. COR/UNHCR Report on mission to Darfur region, 21-29 November, 1984. pp. 13, plus annexes.
9 5 7. Communique de presse, rencontre Goukouni-Kamougue, Douguia. Sept. 25, 1979. pp. 2.
9 5 8. Conference de presse du Premier Ministre. 20 Fevrier 1979. pp. 18.
9 5 9. Mise au point des groupements commandos du Front-Sud. n.d. pp. 1.
9 5 10. Comite d'Action pour la Paix et l'Unite (CAPU). Manifeste pour l'Unite et la Paix au Tchad. 25 Janvier, 1982. pp. 79.
9 6 Periodicals, Ephemera. 1975-1987
9 6 1. L'Etincelle (N'Djamena?). 2 copies of Nos. 7 (6 Juillet '85); no. 5 (11 Mai 1985).
9 6 2. Askar. 2 copies No. 1 (1980).
9 6 3. Joseph Bessiere. Direction des Imports et Taxes, N'Djamena. Rapport d'Activite (1986-87). pp. 5.
9 6 4. Joseph Bessiere. Direction des Impots et Taxes, N'Djamena. Rapport d'Activite. 8 Mars, 1986. pp. 7.
9 6 5. Noujalbaye Ngaryanan. "L'Eglise Baptiste dans la tempete au Tchad (1973-1975)." pp. 14.
9 6 6. Mission Ministerielle d'Evaluation au Sud du Tchad: UNICEF, PAM, CARE, USAID. Evaluation de la situation alimentaire, socio-sanitaire et educationnelle dans les 5 prefectures du Sud. Avril, 1984. Approx. 90 pp. (Incomplete document ?)
9 7 Unpublished manuscripts. 1979-1987
9 7 1. Jean-Louis Triaud. "Le processus de decomposition de l'opposition Tchadienne." Sept. 3, 1984. pp. 5. (2 copies)
9 7 2. Mustapha Benchenane. "La politique Africaine de la Libye." 1987. pp. 31.
9 7 3. Ade Adefuye. "Reflections on the partition of the Kanuri: The effects on Nigeria and Chad." n.d. pp. 31.
9 7 4. Ambassador Donald Norland. "Chad: A case study in covert action." n.d. pp. 17.
9 7 5. Oye Ogunbadejo. "Libya's policies towards Egypt and the Sudan." 1987. pp. 37.
9 7 6. Richard Miller. "International dimensions of the conflict in Chad." Oct. 29, 1979. pp. 23.
9 7 7. Robert Buijtenhuijs. "Le Frolinat, la Libye et la France..." n.d. pp. 23.
9 7 8. René Lemarchand. "The Historical Roots of Libyan Expansionism: The Case of Northern Chad." n.d. pp. 8.
9 7 9. Jean-Pierre Magnant. La Republique du Tchad. n.d. pp. 30.
9 7 10. John Works. "Whither Chad? Scenarios and prospects." A paper prepared for the Department of State. October 29, 1979. pp. 18.
9 7 11. Michel de Miras. (At one time director of the College Franco-Arabe of Abeche, 1946). "Precis de l'Histoire du Ouaddai." n.d. pp. 67.
9 7 12. "Temoignage d'un dirigeant de l'elite politique Musulmane Tchadienne des annees 50 et debut 60: Ahmed Koulamallah." Annexe de la these de troisieme cycle de Yacoub Mahamat Saleh: "Les populations Musulmanes du Tchad et le pouvoir politique (1946-47): Contribution a l'etude des problemes de la construction de l'etat au Tchad." Paris, 1983. pp. 17.
10 1 Archival Materials. 1920-1959
10 1 1. Gouvernement General de l'Algerie. Territoire du Sud. Territoire du Fezzan. No. 167/AS/24/5. Secret a Chef de bataillon Sarazac a Monsieur le General Cdt. Sup. des Troupes de l'AEF-Cameroun. "Objet: Conflit Hassoune-Oulad Slimane; Attitude de Saadi ben Mosbah" 17 Mars, 1949. pp. 6.
10 1 2. AEF. (Afrique Equatoriale Frncaise) Territoire du Tchad. Region du Ouaddai, District de Biltine. Annexe au rapport No. 21... : Le probleme des nomades. No. 98. 11 Octobre, 1958. (2 copies)???
10 1 3. Monographie du Ouadai. Occupation du Ouaddai; son developpement; personnel Europeen et effectifs; leur repartition; organisation administrative (1910-1920). n.d. pp. 21.
10 1 4. AEF. (Afrique Equatoriale Francaise) Colonie du Tchad. Circonscription du Borkou-Ennedi. Rapport du chef de bataillon Aubert...sur le reconnaissance effectuee au Tibesti par le groupe nomade de la 7eme compagnie. Faya. 10 Avril, 1929. pp. 12.
10 1 5. AEF. (Afrique Equatoriale Francaise) Territoire Oubangui Chari-Tchad. Secret. L'administrateur en chef Charles Dagain a Monsieur le Gouverneur General de l'AEF. "Objet: Accord Franco-Italien." Fort Lamy. 16 Avril, 1935. pp. 2.
10 1 6. AEF. (Afrique Equatoriale Francaise) Tchad. Administration Generale. Note au sujet de l'article paru dans "Foreign Affairs"... Confidentiel8 Novembre, 1944. pp. 4.
10 1 7. Extract from Mission Tibesti 1929. Rapport de mission du Cdt. Rottier, 1929. pp. 13.
10 1 8. Monsieur le chef du Departement du Moyen Chari. 7 Septembre, 1937. (Anon. letter concerning the designation of native chiefs). pp. 4.
10 1 9. Note 1: "Action Turque au Borkou". Note 2: "Action Turque au Tibesti." Fonds Dalmais. pp. 6.
10 1 10. Ministere des Colonies. Service des Affaires Musulmanes. No. 50. Libye en 1927. Paris. 2 Fevrier, 1928. pp. 6.
10 1 11. Territoire du Tchad. Region du Batha. District Nomade de Ouadi-Rime. Rapport de l'adjudant chef Nicolai...au sujet des incidents qui se sont produits du 27 Aout au 6 Septembre, 1947 entre Missiries et Ratanies dans le nord du district d'Oum Hadjet. pp. 4. (2 copies)
10 1 12. AEF. (Afrique Equatoriale Francaise) Territoire du Tchad. Region du BET. Confidentiel a Chef de bataillon Ladurelli, chef de region du BET au chef de territoire du Tchad. Latrgeau 20 Avril, 1954. (Historique succint de l'occupation Turque dans le BET). pp. 6.
10 1 13. AEF. (Afrique Equatoriale Francaise) Territoire du Tchad. Region du Batha. District d'Oum Hadjer. Proces verbal de reunion de l'assemblee des chefs de canton pour le reglement coutumier des razzias commises par les Arabes. 1947. (Text in French and Arabic). pp. 3.
10 1 14. Colonie du Tchad. Etude du chef de bataillon Serret sur les avantages et les inconvenients que presenterait la restauration d'un Sultan au Ouaddai. Abeche. 7 Mai, 1932. pp. 22.
10 1 15. AEF. Oubangui Chari-Tchad. Territoire militaire du Tchad. No. 638. "Objet: A propos du Borkou." Le Colonel Largeau a Monsieur le Lt. Gouverneur. Fort Lamy. 8 Mai, 1911. pp. 5.
10 1 16. Colonie du Tchad. Circonscription du Borkou Ennedi. 5 mai 1930. Le chef debailion Ogier... a Monsieur le Lt. Gouverneur de la Colonie du Tchad. (Re: Italian presence in Tripolitania and Libya). Pp. 4.
10 2 Archival Materials. 1920-1959
10 2 17. GG AEF. (Gouvernement General de l'Afrique Equatoriale Francaise) Territoire du Tchad. Inspection des affaires administratives. Rapport de l'administrateur en chef des colonies, Rogneau, Lucien. Inspecteur des affaires administratives...(concernant enquete sur la reclamation deposee par les colistiers du Bloc Africain Democratique). 19 Mars, 1947. 29 annexes. pp. 65.
10 2 18. Compte-rendu des incidents du 2 Novembre, 1947. Duplicata/Tombalbaye. (Tombalbaye's version of same events?). Anon. pp. 5. (2 copies).
10 2 19. Inspection des affaires administratives. Secret. No. I/IAAS. "Objet: Incidents de Fort Archambault, 2 et 5 Novembre, 1947." Administrateur en chef Francois Casamatta a M. Le Gouverneur des Colonies. 10 Novembre, 1947. pp. 6.
10 2 20. Gouverneur Rogue. Secret. "Note sur les incidents du Tchad." Octobre, 1947. pp. 7.
10 2 21. La Communaute Sara. "A Monsieur le Gouverneur, chef de Territoire du Tchad." Fort-Lamy. 29 Septembre, 1946. pp. 3.
10 2 22. Gouverneur Rogue. Tres secret. No. 13/5. "a M. le Gouverneur General de l'AEF a Brazzaville." Fort-Lamy. 27 Juin, 1947. pp. 2.
10 2 23. Justice de Paix. Fort Archambault. "a M. le Procureur General pres de la Cour d'Appel de l'AEF a Brazzaville." (re: events of November 2 and 5, 1947 in Ft. Archambault). pp. 2. (Contains Appendix, i.e. lettre Pochon, chef de district de Ft. Archambault).
10 2 24. Situation RDA en AEF. Confidentiel. Decembre, 1950. (Letter to Ministre de la France d'Outre Mer). Rue Oudinot, Paris. pp. 6.
10 2 25. AEF. Tchad. Subdivision de 1ere. Tres confidentiel. (Letter of chef de subdivision Carlander, concerning Lisette's visit to Lere). Bongor. November 12, 1946.
10 2 26. Inspection des Colonies. AEF. 1946-1947. "Objet: De quelques pratiques administratives anormales au Tchad." Inspecteur de 1ere classe Monguillot au Ministre de la France d'Outre Mer. Brazzaville. 4 Aout, 1947. pp. 4.
10 2 27. Letter of Francois Tombalbaye to High Commissioner, complaining about Governor Rogue's decision to send him to Abeche. Aug. 3, 1948. pp. 1.
10 2 28. Letter of Markinzaye to President of Chad's Consultative Assembly. "Objet: Plainte pour tentative de correction des operations electorales." 20 Octobre, 1947. pp. 1.
10 2 29. Troupes du Groupe AEF. RTST. Groupe 1. Confidentiel 147/PAC. Bulletin de Renseignements. Ft. Archambault. 13 Novembre, 1946. pp. 3.
10 2 30. Direction des affaires politiques et sociales. Secret. "Situation politique Tchad." December 30, 1947. Rapport Soucadeaux (Haut Commissaire de la Republique) au Ministre de la France d'Outre Mer. pp. 5.
10 2 31. "Etat numerique des autochtones dans les cadres generaux, superieurs et locaux (AEF) au 1er Janvier, 1955." pp. 3.
10 2 32. Communaute. Republique du Tchad. Region du Ouaddai. District de Biltine. Confidentiel. Rapport Mensuel. Juin-Juillet, 1959. 19 Juillet, 1959. No. 48/C.F. pp. 17. (2 copies)
10 3 CHEAM Papers. (Centre de Hautes Etudes d'Administration Musulmane). 1938-1959
10 3 1. M. Maillard. "Les redevances coutumieres au Tchad." Dec., 1951. pp. 18.
10 3 2. H. Berre. "Les Sultanats du Tchad." 10 Novembre, 1951. pp. 9.
10 3 3. Lt. Laboubee. "Mise en valeur de la palmeraie du Borkou." November, 1951. pp. 5.
10 3 4. Lt. Laboubee. "Les Tedas au Tibesti et au Borkou." November, 1951. pp. 19.
10 3 5. Jean Silvy. "Tibesti et Toubous." 1945-46. Appendix. pp. 36.
10 3 6. Marice Adoum. "L'empereur Rabah et son temps." Avril, 1959. pp. 51.
10 3 7. M. Boujol. "Les Arabes du Tchad." Mai, 1939. pp. 11.
10 3 8. M. Boujol. "La Senoussiya au Tchad." Juin, 1939. pp. 9.
10 3 9. M. Masson. "La Senoussiya au Tchad." 1er Juin, 1938. pp. 11. (2 copies)
10 4 MRA (Mission de Reforme Administrative). Documents (Lami Papers). 1969
10 4 1. MRA. No. 144. Rapport a Monsieur le President de la Republique. Ft. Lamy. 25 Mai, 1969. pp. 6.
10 4 2. MRA. No. 406. Rapport a M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Creation de la nation Tchadienne; decolonisation et revolution culturelle; un cas concret: les Kado de Pala." Ft. Lamy. 12 Juillet, 1969. pp. 7.
10 4 3. MRA. No. 568. Rapport au President de la Republique. "Objet: la voie Bengazi-Tchad." Ft. Lamy. 25 Fevrier, 1969. pp. 22.
10 4 4. MRA. No. 666. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 22 Aout, 1969. pp.3.
10 4 5. MRA. No. 678. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 23 Aout, 1969. pp 5.
10 4 6. MRA. No. 680. Fiche relative au royaume de Kanem. Ft. Lamy. 23 Aout, 1969. pp. 16.
10 4 7. MRA. No. 681. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. Ft. Lamy. 23 Aout, 1969. pp. 5.
10 4 8. MRA. No. 685. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique...: " Objet: Conference annualle des Prefets." Ft. Lamy. n.d. pp. 3.
10 4 9. MRA. No. 686. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 23 Aout, 1969. pp. 3.
10 4 10. MRA. No. 687. Rapport a M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 25 Aout, 1969. pp. 4.
10 4 11. MRA. No. 688. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 24 Aout, 1969. pp. 3.
10 4 12. MRA. No. 691. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 23 Aout, 1969. pp. 5
10 4 13. MRA. No. 692. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 25 Aout, 1969. pp. 7.
10 4 14. MRA. No. 696. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 25 Aout, 1969. pp. 2.
10 4 15. MRA. No. 697. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 23 Aout, 1969.
10 4 16. MRA. No. 698. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." n.d.
10 4 17. MRA. No.700. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 25 Aout, 1969. pp. 3.
10 4 18. MRA. No. 701. Fiche a l'attention de M. le President de la Republique. "Objet: Conference annuelle des prefets." Ft. Lamy. 26 Aout, 1969. pp. 2
10 4 19. MRA. No. 1081. Rapport au President de la Republique. "Objet: La confrerie Senoussiste." Ft. Lamy. 27 Avril, 1970. pp. 13.
10 4 20. Delegation Militraire au Tchad. No. 576/IMT. Ft. Lamy. 26 Aout, 1969. "Responsabilite du commandement administratif territorial en matiere de pacification." pp. 3.
10 4 21. Delegation Militaire au Tchad. Note. (Date excised. Part of title deleted). "Le recrutement et le role des milices villageoises." pp. 4.
10 4 22. MRA. No. 324. Rapport au President de la Republique. "Objet: Quadrillage administratif--centralisation." Ft. Lamy. 28 Janvier, 1970.

Chad: Miscellaneous Materials 1949-1987

Box Folder
10 5 Afrique Equatoriale Francaise, Territoire du Tchad, Region du Kanem. "Projet d'un texte de protocole reglementant les droits de l'Alifa de Mao et organisant le Canton de Mao." Mao, le 2 Decembre 1949. 3 pp. 1949
10 6 Chapter I. Introduction. 1. The Region (The Central Sudan). 179 pp. (Thesis? begins with p. 4, without any title, table of contents, or attribution of authorship).
10 7 "Wild Grasses Invade: Migration, Reproduction, and Opportunity Structure in the Early 20th century Chadian Savanna." (author and date information excised, apparently for purposes of review). 48 pp.
10 8 "Document of International Monetary Fund and not for public use." For agenda. SM/87/122. "Contains confidential information." May 28, 1987. To: Members of the Executive Board; From: the Acting Secretary; Subject: Chad - Recent Economic Developments. "Prepared by a staff mission consisting of Messrs. T. P. McLoughlin (head), J. Harnack, I. Ndoye (all AFR) and H. Snoek (CBD). Approved by the African Department." 91 pp. 1987
10 9 A. Les Forces Francaises au Tchad. B. Les Forces Armees "Tchadiennes." (Noted in pencil: "Extrait de Frolinat"; pages numbered I2-I7) 6 pp.
10 10 Afrique Centrale. Tchad. 12/8/1987. "La composition du nouveau gouvernement (2)." (Apparently a press release, paperclipped with an AFP wireservice(?) report and a government decree (with handwritten notes) on same. 5 pp. 1987
10 11 Rapport Beyries sur l'Islam au l'Afrique Occidentale Francais. 2e Rapport. (Report on Islam by an ex-Governor of Chad, provided to Prof. Lemarchand at his home in Bordeaux). 127 pp. 1952


Series 3: Miscellaneous Papers 1874-1992 (bulk: 1960-1992)

The folders in Series 3 are arranged alphabetically. In addition, there is a Country Index and a Topic Index listing which countries and topics appear in each folder.


Box Folder
11 1 Adam, Heribert. Possibilities and Limits of Ethnic Conflict Resolution: South Africa in Comparative Perspective. Unpublished.
11 2 Adefuye, Ade. O.A.U. and Chad: A Mission Impossible. : Unpublished. 1980
11 3 [Adriaenssens, J]. Le Droit Foncier au Rwanda. Unpublished. 1962
11 4 Afrique Nouvelle. "Les Massacres de Habre (Tchad)." Paris: Afrique Nouvelle, hebdomadaire de L'afrique fracophone, No 1851 26 Dec. 1984 au 1er Janvier 1985. 1984-1985
11 5 Arhin, Kwame. Asante Militarism: A Preliminary Note. Legon: Unpublished; 1975. Note: Presented to the Conference on African States and the Military: Past and Present Legon. 1975 August 18-22
11 6 Alpers, Edward A. War and Culture in Pre-Colonial Mozambique. Legon: Unpublished; 1975. Note: Presented to the Conference on African States and the Military: Past and Present, Legon. 1975 August 18-22
11 7 American Embassy, Bujumbura. Messages Concerning Burundi Massacres to and from American Embassy, Bujumbura 4/29-8/29, 1972. Unpublished; Note: Includes Index. 1972
11 8 Amnesty International. Detentions and Arbitrary Killings in the Republic of Chad, 1982/83. Unpublished.: Amnesty International. Background Notes. 1983 September.
11 9 Amnesty International. Republic of Chad Disapperances, Extrajudicial Executions and Secret Detention. London: Amnesty International. Note: External Amnesty International Report. 1987
11 10 Association Africaine De Sciences Politiques. 3e Congres. Rabat: Unpublished. Note: Collection of Unpublished Papers Presented at the third AASP Congress, Rabat 1977 23-26 September. 1977
11 11 Assorted Authors. 3 Newspaper Clippings on Burundi's Democratization, June 1992. Bujumbura: Le Quotidien Burundais D'informations.; 1992: (1) "Le Parti UPRONA: En Avant... Pour La Victoire De L'unite Dans La Democratie"; (2) "Mbonompa et les Mutins: Que Veut Ce Tract?"; (3) "Chacun Doit Repondre Personnellement De Ses Actes.". 1992
11 12 Assorted Letters and Documents on the Creation of L'office National de Cooperation et D'assistance pour le Developpement de Senegal. Dakar: Oncad. 1974
12 13 Assorted Letters and Papers in Reference to the Rassemblement Democratique Africain. Cameroun. Unpublished. 1957-1959
12 14 Assorted Letters in Reference to the Publication of "Relationships between the State and Society in African and Eastern Europe." Unpublished. 1990
12 15 Assorted Notes, Letters, and Drafts on Zaire and the Congo. Unpublished. 1920-1990
12 15 (1) "Note Au Sujet De La 'commission Pour L'unificaction Du Kikongo' (1935-1936)." Par J. Van Wing, S.J.
12 15 (2) "Unification Des Langues Dans Le Territoire Des Mongo." Par G. Hulstaert, M.S.C.
12 15 (3) "The Sisters Of Notre Dame De Naumur In Lower Zaire, A Scoial and Historical Study." By Joan F. Burke. (D. Phil. Abstract with letter to Lemarchand).
12 15 (4) Letter From Elonga Nkanda (French)
12 15 (5) The Congo: Ethnic and Political Map.
12 15 (6) The Congo 1960: Map Of Party Localization (Based On Provincial Elections)
12 15 (7) "The Present Position Of Elite Studies." By J.E. Goldthorpe
12 15 (8) "Commercialization Of Land (In The Congo)"
12 15 (9) "Zaire" By Thomas Callaghy (Abstract and Outline Of Manuscript, 1982).
12 15 (10) "History Of Developing Society." By J.F. Ade Ajayi, 1968.
12 15 (11) "L'apparition D'une Nouvelle 'classe' a L'interieur Du Champ Politique Dans La Republique Du Congo-Brazzaville." By Pierre Bonnafe. With Hand Corrections (By Lemarchand?). Includes a Letter from Bonnafe (CNRS) Addressed To Lemarchand Re: Dr. Bonnafe's Manuscript. 1967.
12 15 (12) Lemarchand's Notes On The Belgian Congo. Part Typed, Part Handwritten.
12 15 (13) "Union Republicaine Pour Le Developpement Du Zaire: Statuts"
12 15 (14) "Rapport Au Citoyens." Par Le Mouvement Populaire De La Revoulation. President De La Republique Du Zaire, 1990.
12 15 (15) "Rapport Au Pdg De L'azap A Kinshasa (Zaire). " Par Kombo M'fuma, 1990.
12 15 (16) "Le Programme D'action Propose Par Les Membres Fondateurs." Par Urpddz, Zaire.
12 15 (17) "Le Massacre Des Etudiants A Lubambashi Du 11 Au 12 Mai 1990." Par Urpddz, Zaire.
12 16 Assorted Unpublished Chapters on Education in Niger. Unpublished. 1972
12 17 Barabwiliza, Runyinya. Gestion Du Patrimoine Foncier National. Kigali: Commision Nationale D'agriculture. Note: Working Paper. 1980
12 18 Barghoorn, Frederick C. Soviet Dissenters on Soviet Nationality Policy. San Juan, P.R.: Unpublished. Note: Prepared for the Annual Meeting of the International Studies Association, Hotel Borinquen, San Juan, P.R., 1971 March 17-20. 1971.
12 19 Braukamper, Ulrich. Medieval Muslim Survivals As a Stumulating Factor in the Re-Islamicization of Southwestern Ethiopia. Unpublished. 1980
12 20 Brenner, Louis. Three Fulbe Scholars in Borno. Paris: Unpublished. Note: Paper Presented to the Table Ronde: "Les Agents Religieux Islamiques En Afrique Tropicale." Maison des Sciences de L'homme, Paris, 1983 15-17 Decembre. 1983
12 21 Burundi. Constitution de la Republique du Burundi. Bujumbura: Republique du Burundi. Note: In Kirundi and French. 1992
12 22 Buyoya, Pierre. Decision UPRONA Du 11 Decembre 1987 Portant Nomination Du Secretaire General Et Du Secretaire General-Adjoint De L'union de la Jeunesse Revolutionaire Burundaise, Ujrb. Bujumbura: Unpublished; 1987. Note: Unpublished Declaration. 3 Copies. No 12-15/87. 1987
12 23 Cart, Henri-Philippe. Etudiants et Construction Nationale au Burundi. Bujumbura. Unpublished. 1969
12 24 Centre D'etudes Michel Kayoya. Umusurusuru W'ukubarira Uburundi Uzova Hehe? Italy: Centre D'etudes Michel Kayoya; 1988. Note: 15 Juin 1988 Issue of "Trait D'union," A Trimestriel Bilingual Publication By Burundi Refugees. In Kirundi and French. 1988
12 25 Charlton, Roger and Roy May. Chadian Politics: A Warlord Perspective. Denver: Unpublished. Note: Paper Presented at the 30th Annual African Studies Association Meeting, Denver Colorado, November 19-23. 1987
12 26 Choua, Lol Mahamat. La Premiere Guerre Tchadienne: 1965-1979. Paris: Ileri. Note: D.E.S. Thesis. 1982
12 27 Commission du Bassin du Lac Tchad. Documents de Base / Basic Documents. Fort-Lamy, Tcad.: Commission du Bassin du Lac Tchad. 1973
12 28 Cordell, Dennis D. La fonction d'une economie precapitaliste: La migration en Afrique equatoriale francaise entre la conquete et la crise. Unpublished. Note: 12th Annual Congress of the Canadian Association of African Studies, University of Toronto, 1982 11-14 May. 1982
12 29 Darbon, Dominique and Philippe L'hoiry. Pouvoir Et Integration Politique: Les Cas Du Burundi Et Du Malawi. Bordeaux: Centre D'etude D'afrique Noire. Note: Unpublished Paper; Preface by Jean-Francois Medard. 1982
12 30 Diverse Authors. Lettres Addressee a Certaines Missions Diplomatiques Dans le Coeur de La Souffrance a Brazzaville. (Letters Addressed to Particular Diplomatic Missions at the Height of Suffering in Brazzaville; In French). Unpublished. Note: Some letters are addressed to Lemarchand on the same topic.). 1980
12 31 Donner, Fred M. Some Reflections on the Role of Nomadic Groups in the Fertile Crescent and Arabian Peninsula. New Haven, Conn.: Unpublished. 1980
12 32 Doornbos, Martin R. Protest Movements in Western Uganda: Some Parallels and Contrasts. Kampala: UEA. Note: Paper Prepared for the UEA Social Science Conference. 1966 December
12 33 Doornbos, Martin R. Social Cleavages and Political Conflict in Western Uganda. Kampala: Unpublished;. Note: Working Paper. 1966
13 34 East African Institute of Social Research. Proceedings of the EAISR Conference, January 1964. Kampala: Makerere College. Note: Unpublished Conference Proceedings; Part A, Part B. 1964
13 35 Eco Magazine. Eco Magazine: Mensuel Africain D'information Economique Et Politique. Paris. No. 92. 1986 November
13 36 Eritreans for Liberation in North America. General Report: EFLNA Delegates to the Fourth General Congress of EFLE. Unpublished Meeting Report. 1973
13 37 Foltz, Anne-Marie. Planning without Resources: Health Information in Tchad. Cambridge: Harvard Institute for International Development, 1986. Note: Prepared for the African Studies Association Meeting, November 1986, Madison, WI. 1986
13 38 Front de Liberation Nationale du Tchad. Communiques de Presse (Letters). Unpublished. Note: 10 Letters Re: The Role of the Chadian Government and the CDR in the Fighting in Chad's Interior. 1989
13 39 German East Africa. Urundi. Map. Scale 1:300,000. 1916
13 40 Gervais, Raymond. La Plus Riche des Colonies Pauvres: La Politique Monetaire et Fiscale dela France au Tchad 1900-1920. Unpublished.
13 41 Ghai, D. P. Reflections on Tanganyika's Five Year Development Plan. Tanganyika: Unpublished. 1964
13 42 Hebrew University. International Conference on Civil Society In Africa. Jerusalem: Unpublished; 1992. Note: Collection of Papers Presented at the ICCSA. Authors Include: Program, Robert Fatton Jr, Crawford Young, Irving Leonard Markovitz, Catharine Newbury, Frank W. Holmquist, Sheldon Gellar, E. Gyimah-Boadi. Select papers were published in Harbeson, Civil Society and the State in Africa. Boulder: Lynne Rienner, 1994. 1992.
13 43 International Political Science Association. Political Opposition. Munich: IPSA. Note: Prepared For The International Political Science Association VIII World Congress, August 31-Sept. 5, 1970. 1970
13 43 1) Graham, George J.Consensus and Opposition: A Typology Of Legitimate and Illegitimate Oppositions;
13 43 2) Michelat, Guy and Annick Percheron, Relations A L'autorite Et Types De Contestation;
13 43 3) Lavau, George, Political Opposition;
13 43 4) Lavau, Georges, La Contestation Politique;
13 43 5) Singh, L.P, Political Development or Political Decay? Towards Instability and De-Institutionalization In India;
13 43 6) Apter, David E. and S.S. Mushi, Social Sciences and Development : The Role Of Political Science;
13 43 7) Van Putten, Jan, Political Contestation and Political Protest.
13 44 Kaba-Kashala, Katuala. Les Idees Maitresses De L'acogenoki Pour La Protection Des Terres De Petits Exceveurs. Zaire: Unpublished.
13 45 Kaba-Kashala, Katuala. Le Phenomene Spoliation: Le Terme Et Le Fait Dans La Sous-Region Du Nord/Kivu. Goma: Unpublished. 1984
13 46 Kagame, Padri Al Egisi. Inganji Laringa. 2nd ed. Kabgayi. Note: Kinyarwanda? 2 Vols. 1959
13 47 Kanamugire, Philippe. Le Colonialisme au Rwanda: Coup D'oeil Sur Un Nouveau Coup. Buja: Unpublished. Letter and Fax to Lemarchand Inserted. 1986
13 48 King, Jack. Chad: Economy and Rural Development. Washington D.C.: Department Of State. Note: Prepared for the Colloquium on Chad, October 29, 1979, Department Of State. 1979
13 49 Kingdom of Burundi. Proces-Verbaux de la Session Parlementaire Du 20 Septembre Au 19 Octobre 1962. Bujumbura: Assemblee Nationale de la Royaume Du Burundi. 1962
13 50 Knowles, J. M. Excerpts from Telephone Conversation: Mr. J.M. Knowles, Graudate Student, Geography, University of Florida, Gainesville Florida to Mr. C.C. Notebaert, President, African Metals Corporation, April 18, 1967, 11:15 A.M. to 12:15 A.M. Unpublished.; 1967. Note: A Discussion About The Agreement Reached Between The Mining Company and the Congolese Government. 1967
13 51 Knowles, J. M. The Ordeal of UMHK in the Former Congo Belge: Some Insights Into Nationalist Values at the Bargaining Table: 1965-1967. Unpublished. 1967
13 52 Knowles, J. M. Selected References to Seven Decades of White Enterprise in Zambia. Unpublished. Bibliography. 1967
13 53 Lange, Dierk. Royaumes Et Peuples Du Tchad. Unpublished: Organisation Des Nations Unies Pour L'education, La Science Et La Culture. Note: Volume IV Chapter 10 of a Report to UNESCO. 1976
13 54 [Lemarchand, René]. Bibliography of Documents Pertaining to Burundi, Rwanda, Congo, and Chad. Unpublished.
13 55 Lemarchand, René. [Working Papers and Notes on the Congo People's Republic and Patterns of Dependency]: Gabon. Unpublished.
13 56 Lloyd, P. C. Kings In Crisis: A Crisis of he Changing Roles of the Yoruba Oba. Unpublished. 1968
14 57 Makerere Political Review, v.1, no.2, 1965. Kampala: Makerere Political Society, Makerere University College. 1965
14 58 Martin, Denis. La Barbade: Du Patronalisme de Plantation au Patronalisme de Parti. Paris: CNRS. Note: Prepared For the Tableau des Forces Politiques En Amerique Centrale Et Dans La Caraibe. 1984
14 59 Martin, Denis. Trinidad Et Tobago: Le Reve De L'unite. Paris: CNRS. Note: Unpublished Paper. 1984
14 60 Mazrui, Ali A. Political Superannuation and The Trans-Class Man. Kampala: Makerere University College. Note: Unpublished Paper. 1960
14 61 Mbaeyi, P. M. Arms and Ammunition and Their Embargo in British West African History, 1823-1874. Unpublished.
14 62 Miller, Richard P. International Dimensions of The Conflict In Chad. Unpublished. Note: Outline and Brief. 1979
14 63 Ministere de L'education Nationale, Rwanda. Loi Du 27 Aout 1966 Sur L'education Nationale De La Republique Rwandaise. Kigali, Rwanda. 1966
14 64 Moose, Richard M. Memorandum and Assorted Letters on U.S. Relations with the Central African Empire. Unpublished. Confidential Memo to U.S. Deputy Secretary of State for Africa. 1977
14 65 Mouvement des Etudiants Progressistes Burundi. Burundi: Des Contours Et Detours De Parti "Tabara.". Bujumbura: Unpublished. Note: Unpublished Proclamation. 1979
14 66 [Musoke, Mr., Administrative Secretary]. East African Institute of Social Research, Kampala. EAISR Makerere University College. Note: Program Summary. 1964
14 67 Ngatha, Gali. Memorandum Sur La Situation Interieure Du Tchad. Unpublished. 1989
14 68 Ngulinzira, Boniface and Bizimungu, Pasteur. Joint Communique Issued at the End of the Negotiations on the Ceasefire between the Rwandese Government and the Rwandese Patriotic Front. Arusha: Unpublished. Note: Unpublished Ceasefire Agreement. 1992
14 69 Republique Rwandaise. Kigali: Ministere des Affaires Etrangeres et du Plan National. Actualities, bulletin d'information. no. 5, 1962, 1 Sept. 1962 - no. 23, 1 Juin 1963. Rwanda, carrefour d'afrique, no. 25 - 46, 1963. 1962-1963
14 70 Republique Rwandaise. ORTPN. Carte Touristique et Routiere. Kigali: Inr. Note: Map; Scale 1:300 000. 1985
14 71 Ryan, Selwyn. Military Rule and Political Instability in Uganda. Trinidad: Unpublished. Note: Presented At The Conference on African States and the Military: Past and Present, Legon, 1975 18-22 August. 1975
14 72 Sekou Toure, Ahmed. Message du President Ahmed Sekou Toure aux Intellectuals Et Artistes Africains. Unpublished Proclamation.
14 73 Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur. Assorted Studies on the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur in Zaire and the Congo. Unpublished. 1990
14 74 Societe D'etudes Juridiques du Rwanda et du Burundi. Revue Juridique de Droit Ecrit et Coutumier du Rwanda et du Burundi. Usumbura: Societe D'etudes Juridiques du Rwanda et du Burundi. Note: Serial. Included Are: May-June 1962, Third Trimester 1964, Fourth Trimester, Fourth Trimester 1965. 1962-1965
14 75 Stenmans, A. Les Premiers Mois de la Republique du Congo: Relation Coordonnees des Evenements et Reflexions d'ordre General. Paris: Unpublished. Note: Galleys of the manuscript. 1960
14 76 Thomas, Barbara. Rural Development through Local Initiatives: an Assessment of Kenya's Experience with Harambee Projects in Selected Rural Communities. Nairobi: Institute for Development Studies; 1979. Note: Working Paper No. 354. 1979
14 77 Turner, Thomas. Le Mouvement Nationaliste au Sankuru, 1959-1962: Premiere Partie. Unpublished. Note: Unpublished paper. 2 Copies. 1971
15 78 United Nations. UNDP Council. Programme Planning: Country and Intercountry Programmes and Projects: Fourth Country Program for Chad. Unpublished. Note: Program Planning Report. 1987
15 79 [Unknown]. Colonel Kotiga: Le Mot d'ordre est Suivi. Chad. Note: A Photocopy of a Chadian Article on the Mouvement Revoultionnaire du Peuple Tchadien. 1982
15 80 [Unknown]. L'uprona en Campagne: Cessez le Jeu Malhonnete. Burundi: Frodebu. Note: Statement By Front Pour La Democratie au Burundi. 1991
15 81 [Unknown]. The Radiance of the State: Politics and the State in Chad Since about 1975. : Unpublished.
15 82 Unknown. Rwanda and Burundi: Government and Politics. Unpublished. Note: Unpublished Paper on Political Institutions, Participation, Regionalism and Ethnicity, and International Relations in Rwanda and Burundi. 1990
15 83 Unknown. Sheikh Al-Amin Bin Ali Al-Mazrui: His Career and Impact on East African Islam. Unpublished.
15 84 Unknown. Un Theoricien de L'anti-Jihad: Le Senegalais Cheikh Kamara (1865-1945). Unpublished.
15 85 Van Den Berghe, Pierre L. Class, Race and Ethnicity in Africa. : Unpublished.
15 86 Vengroff, Richard. Development Administration in Chad. Denver: Unpublished. Note: Paper Presented at the 30th Annual African Studies Association Meeting, Denver Colorado, 1987 November 19-23. 1987
15 87 Yost, David. French Policy in Chad and the Libyan Challenge. Unpublished. 2 drafts. 1982
15 88 Zimbabwe, Board of Censors. Catalogue of Banned Books, Periodicals, Records, etc. Salisbury: Government Printer of Zimbabwe. 1981


Country Index to Series 3 Folders

Burundi - 7, 11, 21, 22, 23, 24, 28, 29, 39, 49, 65, 74, 80, 82
Cameroon - 12
Central African Republic - 64
Chad - 2, 4, 8, 9, 25, 26, 27, 37, 38, 40, 48, 53, 62, 67, 78, 79, 81, 86, 87
Congo - 15, 30, 50, 51, 55, 73, 75
Eritrea - 36
Ethiopia - 19
Gabon - 55
Ghana - 5
Guinea - 72
Kenya - 76, 83
Latin America - 58, 59
Libya - 87
Malawi - 29
Middle East - 31
Morocco - 10
Mozambique - 6
Niger - 16
Nigeria - 20, 56
Rwanda - 3, 17, 29, 46, 47, 63, 66, 69, 70, 74, 82
Senegal - 13
South Africa - 1
Tanzania - 41
Uganda - 32, 33, 34, 57, 60, 66, 71
USSR - 18
West Africa - 61
Zaire - 15, 29, 44, 45, 73, 77
Zambia - 52
Zimbabwe - 88

Topic Index to Series 3 Folders

civil society - 42
colonialism - 47
democracy - 11, 12, 22, 42
development - 48, 76, 86
diplomatic papers - 7, 30, 48, 64, 68
economics - 29
education - 16, 23
ethnic conflict - 1, 4, 7, 29, 33
ethnicity - 31
government documents - 13, 17, 21, 27, 28, 49, 88
international organizations - 2, 8, 9, 10, 35, 53, 78
Islam - 19, 20, 83, 84
law - 3, 62, 74
letters - 13, 14, 15, 31, 39, 63
military - 5, 6, 25, 26, 60, 63, 71, 79
notes - 15, 50, 55
UPRONA - 22, 80

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Africa -- Ethnic relations
Africa -- History -- Autonomy and independence movements
Burundi -- Politics and government
Chad -- Newspapers
Chad -- Politics and government -- 1960-
Congo (Democratic Republic) -- Newspapers
Democracy -- Africa
Rwanda -- Politics and government



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page