Skip to Search



A Guide to Mary Sue Koeppel's Papers Relating to Kalliope: A Journal of Women's Literature & Art

Finding aid created by Jennifer Kinser

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2009


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Koeppel, Mary Sue, 1939-
Title: Mary Sue Koeppel's Papers Relating to Kalliope: A Journal of Women's Literature & Art
Dates: 1978-2007
Abstract: This collection contains materials relating to the publication of Kalliope: A Journal of Women's Literature & Art, as well as personal files of Mary Sue Koeppel.
Extent: 2.75 Linear feet. 5 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 260
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Kalliope: A Journal of Women's Literature & Art was first published in 1978 under the direction of Elizabeth (Peggy) Friedman and was a publication of Florida Community College at Jacksonville (FCCJ), now Florida State College at Jacksonville (FSCJ). After 10 years of service, Friedman stepped down and Mary Sue Koeppel became editor and served from 1988 through 2005. While in publication, Kalliope received international acclaim, and along with Calyx was one of the most important women's literary journals of the latter part of the 20th century.

Mary Sue Koeppel was a full-time faculty member at FCCJ from 1980 until 2005. She taught English courses as well as Creative Writing. Koeppel's poetry, short stories, book reviews, and articles have appeared in over fifty journals, magazines, and newspapers. She has published writing guides, including Writing Strategies-Plus Collaboration, a text for college students, and Write Your Life, The Memory Catcher. Her poetry books include In the Library of Silences: Poems of Loss, and Between the Bones. Koeppel also interviewed writers for the television programs "Writer-to-Writer" and "Worth Quoting."


Scope and Content

This collection is organized into two major groups. The first part of the collection comprises the Kalliope files, which include correspondence to and from contributors, information about awards, histories of the publication, reviews, documentation from specific issues, event information, and sponsored projects. The bulk of material related to publication of the journal runs from volume 17 no. 2 through volume 26 no. 2. Earlier material is limited. The correspondence files contain letters from well-known authors including E.L. Konigsburg, Marge Piercy, and Elisavietta Ritchie.

Many files pertain to the publicity and publication of the journal as well as special projects, such as the Sponsored Reading Series, and ventures into the creation of children's books. The Sponsored Reading Series brought in a major female writer each year to give a reading and run a workshop. Kalliope published two children's books, New Lit on the Block and Lollipops, Lizards, and Literature. Both publications include poetry, stories, and artwork by children as well as Kalliope authors. Lollipops, Lizards and Literature includes the only publication of Gwendolyn Brooks "I Smile When I See People Coming." There are copies of both works in the collection.

The second group in the collection consists of Mary Sue Koeppel's files. The files include biographical information, correspondence (mainly recognition), manuscripts and other writings, photographs, community involvement, and information on other editorial positions. There are multiple copies of her manuscripts for In the Library of Silences and Between the Bones edited by other authors, including Enid Shomer and Lola Haskins.

In addition to the two major groups of files, the collection also contains video and audio recordings. There are video recordings of the two writers' series "Worth Quoting" and "Writer-to-Writer," and videos of an interview and a poetry reading with Mary Sue Koeppel. The audio recordings include cassette tapes of the program "Kalliope-on-the-Air," which aired on WJCT in Jacksonville. There is a cassette tape of poems published in volume 19 no. 1, "Secrets," recorded for the 25th Anniversary. Other cassette tapes consist of an interview with Koeppel, and an interview with Enid Shomer (microcassette).


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into three series: "Kalliope Files," "Mary Sue Koeppel Files," and "Audio and Video Recordings." "Kalliope Files" and "Mary Sue Koeppel Files" are arranged alphabetically, while "Audio and Video Recordings" are arranged by format.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

Copyright for many of the writings and other materials in this collection is retained by the journal Kalliope or by the creators. Please consult with Department staff if you wish to publish items from the collection.


Related or Separated Material

A full run of Kalliope is available at the main UF library. Several other libraries also have full or partial sets of the journal, including the University of North Florida, the University of Miami, and Florida State University.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Mary Sue Koeppel's Papers Relating to Kalliope: A Journal of Women's Literature & Art, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated by Mary Sue Koeppel in 2008.


Contents List

Kalliope Files 1978-2005, undated


Box
1 Awards 1990-1999
1 Calls for Manuscripts: Kalliope, Poet's Market, Writer's Market 1989-1993, 2003-2003
1 Children's Book - Lollipops, Lizards and Literature 1992-1999
1 Children's Book - New Lit on the Block 1990
1 Contributors - A 1995-2004
1 Contributors - B 1994-2003
1 Contributors - C 1994-2004
1 Contributors - D 1994-2004
1 Contributors - E 1996-2002
1 Contributors - F 1993-2002
1 Contributors - G 1993-2002
1 Contributors - H 1995-2004
1 Contributors - I 1990-1997
1 Contributors - J 1995-2000
1 Contributors - K 1995-2002
1 Contributors - L 1988-2002
1 Contributors - M 1994-2004
1 Contributors - N 1994-2004
1 Contributors - O 1994-2004
1 Contributors - P 1990-2004
1 Contributors - Q 2004
1 Contributors - R 1988-2004
2 Contributors - S 1987-2004
2 Contributors - T 1987-2003
2 Contributors - U 1995-1997
2 Contributors - V 1994-2003
2 Contributors - W 1989-2004
2 Contributors - Y 1995, 2000
2 Contributors - Z 1994
2 Editor - Elizabeth "Peggy" Friedman 1978-1988
2 Editor Resignation - Mary Sue Koeppel 2005-2006
2 Editor Job Description (per Koeppel) 1988-2007
2 Explorations in Women's Art - Programs 1987-1992
2 Grants and Support 1988-2005
2 History 1978-2005
2 Inclusion in Best American Poetry 1999
2 Index to Kalliope volumes 1-9, 10-25 2003
2 Interns 1990-2002
2 Interview Transcripts - Writer to Writer and Worth Quoting (Published in Kalliope) 1994-2004
2 Kalliope-on-the-Air (WJCT) 2001
2 News clippings 1994-1996
2 Poetry contests 1999, 2001
2 Photographs - African American Poetry Reading (includes Koeppel, Sam Jackson) undated
2 Photographs - Fiction Writing Workshop (includes Koeppel, Robert B. Gentry, Leslie Schwartz) 2005
2 Photographs - Kalliope Collective 1998, 2001, 2004-2005
2 Photographs - Koeppel with Elizabeth Fioriti (Women of Vision founder) at Award Ceremony 2003
2 Position paper regarding Kalliope 2003
2 Programs and Postcards 1998-2005
2 Reviews 1987-2004
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Arnold, Elizabeth 2003
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Bialosky, Jill 1999
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Brooks, Gwendolyn 1999
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Cross, Donna Woolfolk 1996
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Folktellers 1991
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Forche, Carolyn 1990
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Fowler, Connie May 1996
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Gilchrist, Ellen 1988
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Harjo, Joy 1992
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Haskins, Lola 2004
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Honeycutt, Irene Blair 1993
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Konigsburg, E. L. (Elaine) 1997
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Lund, Elizabeth 1998
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Martz, Sandra Haldeman 1993
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Morgan, Elizabeth Seydel 1989
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Ritchie, Elisavietta 2000
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Schwartz, Leslie 2004
2 Sponsored Reading Series - Starkman, Elaine Marcus 1994
2 Sue Saniel Elkind Poetry Prize 1993-2004
2 Textbook adoption form for Kalliope - Kent State University 2000
2 Volume 10 No. 3 - 10th Anniversary Issue 1988
3 Volume 17 No. 2 1995
3 Volume 17 No. 3 1995
3 Volume 18 No. 2 1996
3 Volume 19 No. 1 - 20th Anniversary Issue 1997-1998
3 Volume 19 No. 1 - 20th Anniversary Issue 1997-1998
3 Volume 19 No. 2 1997
3 Volume 19 No. 3 1997
3 Volume 20 No. 1 circa 1998
3 Volume 20 No. 2 1998
3 Volume 20 No. 3 circa 1998
3 Volume 21 No. 2 1998
3 Volume 22 No. 3 circa 1999
3 Volume 23 No. 1 2000
3 Volume 23 No. 2 2000-2001
3 Volume 24 No. 1 2001
3 Volume 25 No. 1 - 25th Anniversary Issue 2004
3 Volume 25 No. 2 - 25th Anniversary Issue 2004
3 Volume 26 No. 2 (Author List) circa 2005
3 Volume 27 No. 2 2005
3 Website, includes manuscript essay "A Brief History of Kalliope at 20, published in 20:3 1990s-2005
3 "Write Stuff for $100 Bucks" - Student Contest 1998-1999
3 Writers Collective, includes guidelines for reading Kalliope manuscripts, and peer reviewers lists 1988-2005
3 Writers Collective Readings 1983-2002


Mary Sue Koeppel Files 1982-2008


Box
3 Awards and Honors 1998-2002
3 "Between the Bones" - Manuscript 2004-2005
3 "Between the Bones" - Manuscript (edited by Bonny Sanders) 2004-2005
3 "Between the Bones" - Manuscript (edited by Peg Lauber) 2004-2005
3 "Between the Bones" - Manuscript (edited by Lola Haskins) 2004-2005
3 Biographical Materials, Resumes, and Writings 1983-2005
4 "Christmas Gift" - Manuscript 1982
4 Correspondence - Miscellaneous 1983-2003
4 Hospice 25th Anniversary 2004
4 "In the Library of Silences" - Manuscripts 2000
4 "In the Library of Silences" - Revisions and Reviews 2000-2005
4 International Teaching and Learning Conference 1998-2001
4 Interviews 1991-2005
4 Master Teacher Seminar - Island Experience 1987-1991
4 News Articles and Miscellaneous 1988-2005
4 Nominee for Outstanding Faculty Award Dossier (Folder 1) 1998-2000
4 Nominee for Outstanding Faculty Award Dossier (Folder 2) 1998-2000
4 Nominee for Outstanding Faculty Award Dossier (Folder 3) 1998-2000
4 Nominee for Outstanding Faculty Award Dossier (Folder 4) 1998-2000
4 Nominee for Outstanding Faculty Award Dossier (Folder 5) 1998-2000
4 Outreach activities 1985-2001
4 Teaching and Learning Center - Florida Community College at Jacksonville 2000
4 Women of Vision Project 2001-2005
4 Workshop related Brochures and Correspondence 1983-2004
4 Writecorner Press - Co-editor 2003-2008
4 "Writing Strategies Plus Collaboration" by Koeppel (2nd edition of publication) 1996


Audio and Video Recordings 1995-1998, undated


Box
4 Video: Interview with Koeppel, Positively Jacksonville TV-JAX (3/4" tape)
5 Video: "Worth Quoting" with Martha Vertreace (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Worth Quoting" with Elaine Marcus Starkman (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Worth Quoting" with Carolyn Forche (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Writer to Writer" with Susan Vreeland (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Writer to Writer" with Ruth Moon Kempher (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Writer to Writer" with Shelley Mickle, Writing with Humor (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Writer to Writer" with Elaine Konigsberg (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Writer to Writer" with Leslie Schwartz, Developing and Creating Character (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: "Writer to Writer" with Yvonne Sapia, Writing Poetry and Fiction (interviewed by Koeppel) (VHS)
5 Video: Mary Sue Koeppel Poetry Reading at Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens, Jacksonville (VHS)
5 Audio: Kalliope - Dubbing master (Cassette tape)
5 Audio: Kalliope - Men Speak to Women, WJCT (Cassette tape) 1998
5 Audio: Kalliope (Microcassette)
5 Audio: Kalliope - Secrets volume 19:1 (Cassette tape - 2 copies)
5 Audio: Koeppel Interview "While the Wolf…" (2 cassette tapes) 1998
5 Audio: WOKV Jacksonville - Kalliope Editor Koeppel and Guest Martz (2 cassette tapes) 1995
5 Audio: Women of Vision, Kalliope on the Air, "A Daughter's Christmas Memory" by Koeppel


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

American literature--20th century--Periodicals
Art and literature.
Arts, American--20th century--Periodicals
Florida Community College at Jacksonville
Florida State College at Jacksonville
Jacksonville (Fla.)
Kalliope Poetry and Fiction Collectives
Koeppel, Mary Sue, 1939-
Women authors, American



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page