Skip to Search



A Guide to the Ralph S. Johns Collection of Accountant Certificates

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Johns, Ralph S. (Collector)
Title: Ralph S. Johns Collection of Accountant Certificates
Dates: 1876-1968
Bulk dates: 1930-1948
Abstract: Accountants certificates issued by Haskins and Sells and other companies, and also correspondence, notes and outlines for a projected book on accountants certificates.
Extent: 0.75 Linear feet. 2 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 110-2
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Ralph S. Johns was a partner of Haskins and Sells, international CPA firm, and the author of four books on auditing and accounting.


Scope and Content

A collection of accountants certificates of various firms, among them: Arthur Anderson and Co.; Haskins and Sell; Lybrand, Ross Brothers and Montgomery; Peat, Marwick, Mitchell and Co, and Price Waterhouse and Co. Includes correspondence of Haskins and Sells; Hurdman and Cranston; La Frentz; Laventhol; Loomis; Lybrand; Ross Bros. and Montgomery; Peat, Marwick, Mitchell and Co, Price, Waterhouse and Co.; etc. and Ralph S. Johns; memoranda and notes by Ralph Johns.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Accounting Collection, which was established in 1971 through gifts made and solicited by Dr. Williard E. Stone, Professor of Accounting, and Chair of the Department of Accounting.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ralph S. Johns Collection of Accountant Certificates, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Ralph S. Johns after his retirement as a partner of Haskins and Sells, international CPA firm, in 1968.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 1-6 Accountants certificates (an index is available in Box 1).
1 7 Correspondence, Haskins and Sells. 1953-1968
1 8 Correspondence, Ralph S. Johns. 1947-1955
1 9 Memoranda, Haskins and Sells. 1947-1966
2 10 Notes. Ralph S. Johns.
2 11 Notes. Ralph S. Johns.
2 12 Notes. Ralph S. Johns.
2 13 Notes. Ralph S. Johns.
2 14 Reports. Haskins and Sells. 1956-1968
2 15 Speech, "Fifty Years of Accountants Reports," by Ralph S. Johns - Outline. 1948
2 16 "Fifty Years of Accountants Reports" Continued - Outline and notes. 1948
2 17 "Fifty Years of Accountants Reports" Concluded. 1948
2 18 Miscellaneous. 1948-1967
2 19 Printed material. 1942-1967

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Accounting
Auditing
Haskins and Sells



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page