Skip to Search



A Guide to the Propaganda Post Cards Depicting the Second Italo-Ethiopian War

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2013


Descriptive Summary

Title: Propaganda Post Cards Depicting the Second Italo-Ethiopian War
Dates: Circa 1936
Abstract: Eight post cards used by Italy as propaganda during or following the Second Italo-Ethiopian War.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 112 3/4
Language(s): Italian
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Eight post cards from the 'Gli Avvenimenti Illustrati' series which depict events during the Second Italo-Ethiopian War (also known as the Second Italo-Abyssinian War) in 1935-1936. The post cards were used as Italian propaganda with the intention of showing the superiority of the Italian military over the Ethiopian forces. Each card is numbered, and this set includes numbers 1-6 and numbers 8-9. Each post card includes an illustration with captions in Italian on both the front and back.

N. 1: captions include: "...Padre Giuliani... Dal Comunicato N. 106... il grosso abissino, spostandosi verso Usrieu... Seconda Divisione Camicie Nere..." [Depicts Padre Giuliani holding a wounded Italian soldier.]. N. 2: captions include: "...Il tricolor d'Italia sulla vette dell' Amba Aradam 15 Febbraio 1936... Dal Comunicato N. 129..." [Depicts the raising of the Italian flag during the battle of Amba Aradam.]. N. 3: captions include: "...Amba Alagi 28-2-1936... Dal Comunicato N. 139... Corpo d' Armata" [Depicts Italian soldiers killing Ethiopian soldiers.]. N. 4: captions include: "...La prodigiosa scalata notturna dell' Amba Uork che ha date inizio all'azione nel Tembien... Dal Comunicato N. 143... Corpo d' Armata Eritreo" [Depicts Italian soldiers scaling the mountain Amba Work at night during the battle of Tembien.]. N. 5: captions include: "...Dal Comunicato N. 148... Corpo d' Armata... Tembien" [Depicts an Italian soldier fighting off an Ethiopian wielding a sword.]. N. 6: captions include: "... Distruzione nella piana di Ciolle Amadir... Dal Comunicato N. 158" [Depicts the destruction of Ethiopian aircraft.]. N. 8: captions include: "... battaglia del Lago Ascianghi... Dal Comunicato N. 176." [Depicts the battle of Lake Ascianghi.]. N. 9: captions include: "... L' intero eserclto comandato dal Negus e In fuga... Dal Comunicato N. 178" [Depicts Ethiopian soldiers fleeing from the Italians.]


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Propaganda Post Cards Depicting the Second Italo-Ethiopian War, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased in 2012.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Ethiopia -- History
Ethiopia -- Pictorial works
Fascist propaganda
Italo Ethiopian War, 1935-1936
Italy -- Colonies -- Africa



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page