Skip to Search



A Guide to the John Howey's Sarasota School of Architecture Collection

Finding aid created by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
June 2010


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Howey, John
Title: John Howey's Sarasota School of Architecture Collection
Dates: 1926-2001
Abstract: Photographs, drawings, models and research materials collected or created by John Howey during the creation of the book and exhibition entitled, The Sarasota School of Architecture, 1941-1966. The materials pertain to the numerous modern architects working in Sarasota, Florida, during that period.
Extent: 19.5 Linear feet. 9 boxes and 124 items.
Identification: MS Group 274
Language(s): English
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

John Howey, a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, has practiced architecture in the Tampa Bay region in Florida since 1965. His interest in Sarasota's modern architecture began in college and grew as he met Sarasota architects while serving as an intern in the area in the early 1960s. In the 1990s, he began writing and lecturing about Sarasota architecture, culminating in the 1995 publication of his book, The Sarasota School of Architecture, 1941-1966 (M.I.T. Press). In 1996, John Howey created an exhibition with the same name that featured photographs, renderings and architectural models.


Scope and Content

The John Howey Collection includes photographs, drawings, models and research materials collected or created by Howey during the creation of his book and exhibition about the Sarasota architects who practiced from the 1940s through the 1960s. Alternatively known as the "Sarasota School of Architecture" or "Sarasota Modern," the style was popularized by a group of architects that included Carl Abbott, Bert Brosmith, Joseph Farrell, Mark Hampton, Philip Hiss, Gene Leedy, Victor Lundy, Paul Rudolph, William Rupp, Tim Seibert, Frank Folsom Smith, Ralph Twitchell, Jack West and Ralph and William Zimmerman, among others. The Howey collection, which spans from 1926 to 2001, includes a variety of materials on these Sarasota architects and their works. Although the focus is on Sarasota and Florida, the collection also includes photos and documents pertaining to buildings around the world.

The collection is divided into multiple groups. The "Research About Architects" group includes biographical summaries, correspondence, news clippings, journal articles and other documents collected or written by Howey during his research for the book and exhibition. The folders are arranged alphabetically according to the name of the architects. The "Book and Exhibition Materials" group consists of notes, drafts and galley proofs for the book, as well as materials pertaining to the creation and display of the exhibition. There are also a few theses, papers, and articles pertaining to the Sarasota Modern architects and their style.

The "Photographs" group primarily consists of photos of buildings constructed by the architects, as well as photo reproductions of architectural drawings and renderings. The folders are arranged alphabetically according to architect. The group also includes photos of many of the architects (as indicated in the folder titles). The "Exhibition Photographs" group consists of large-format laminated photos used in the exhibition. The photo descriptions include numbers that correspond to descriptions used in the exhibition catalog (see box 4 for the catalog). Many of the descriptions include the names of photographers in parentheses.

The "Models" group consists of seven wooden models created for the exhibition. The models represent the works of architects Paul Rudolph, Ralph Twitchell, Victor Lundy, and Mark Hampton. The models were created in 1996 by UF School of Architecture students Carlos Molnar, Bill Lorenzo, Brian Pinnock, Richard Emerson, David Munoz, Pat Rhodes, Brad Tomecek, Clayton Francis, Bill Bleich, and Lee Wells. In 2009-2010, the models were repaired and restored by students Phat Tran and Kimberly Olandia.

The final "Drawings" group is comprised of six sets of rolled reproductions of plans and renderings created by Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph. Howey used these reproductions for reference, but did not include them in his book or exhibition.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of selected items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], John Howey's Sarasota School of Architecture Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

John Howey donated the collection to the University of Florida in 2009, with the assistance of Martha Kohen.


Contents List

Research About Architects

Includes biographical summaries, correspondence, news clippings, journal articles and other documents collected or written by Howey during his research for the book and exhibition. The folders are arranged alphabetically according to the name of the architects.


Box Folder
11 Carl Abbott: Biographical and miscellaneous: Copied drawings and clippings. 1989-1990
12 Bert Brosmith: Biographical and miscellaneous: Correspondence, notes, and drawings. 1993-1994
13 Joseph Farrell: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Copied Drawings, Photographs and Correspondence. 1990-1994
14 Joseph Farrell: Correspondence with Paul Rudolph and Howey. 1958-1990
15 Mark Hampton: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Copied Drawings and Pamphlets. 1992-1994
16 Philip H. Hiss: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Correspondence and Copied Drawings and Photos. 1968-1994
9128 Phillip H. Hiss: Copies of Articles and Photographs. 1949-1964
17 Gene Leedy: Biographical, Miscellaneous: and Correspondence. 1960-1994
18 Victor Lundy Artist/Architect Proposal. undated
19 Victor Lundy: Biographical and Miscellaneous. 1960, 1994, 1996, 2002, undated
110 Victor Lundy: Book Chapters, Journals, and Periodicals. 1961-1977, undated
211 Victor Lundy: Boyd Blackner: 1959-1964/1959-1963 with Lundy, 1964 to date Salt Lake City [Biographical and Blackner Associates information]. 1994, undated
212 Victor Lundy: Photograph copies. undated
213 Victor Lundy: Correspondence. 1966-2002
214 Victor Lundy: Interview with Lundy 701 Mulberry Lane, Bellaire, Notes and copy of a photo of the Tax Court Building. 1993, undated
215 Victor Lundy: Miscellaneous Copies of Lundy's Work to "Use in Exhibit," Copies of Photographs and Design Figure. undated
216 Victor Lundy: Miscellaneous Interviews with Lundy, copies of photographs, periodicals and design figures. undated
217 Victor Lundy: Newsletters. 2002
218 Victor Lundy: Pamphlets, Building Design and Construction, Blackner Associates, and GTE Headquarters. undated
219 Victor Lundy: Postcard. undated
220 Victor Lundy: Selected Works from the Sketchbook of Victor Lundy, letters. 1944, 1995-1996
221 Victor Lundy: St Mark's Lutheran Church, Orlando Florida, copies of designs and articles. 1964, undated
222 Victor Lundy: Utah Architect, Sketches of Utah. undated
223 Victor Lundy: Who's Who in the World, 12th Edition. 1994
224 Victor Lundy: World War II Drawings. 1944
9131 Victor Lundy: Miscellaneous Magazines, Clippings, and Copies of Photographs and Articles. 1964, undated
225 Paul Rudolph: biographical and miscellaneous, commissions and correspondence: CV, notes, photograph. 1941, 1990-1997, undated
226 Paul Rudolph: Book Chapters, Journals, and Periodicals: Copied Designs and Images. 1956-1958
227 Paul Rudolph: exhibitions, pamphlets. 1989, 1992
229 Paul Rudolph: Latin American Participation in Interama, General Information and Copies of Original Model. undated
229 Paul Rudolph: Miscellaneous Folder 1: Writings, Copies of Blueprints, Biographical, Copies of Periodicals, Leedy, Rupp, Brosmith, at Yale. 1951, 1953-1960, undated
330 Paul Rudolph: Miscellaneous Folder 2: Notes, periodicals, blueprints, designs, photographs, correspondence. 1953-1956
331 Paul Rudolph: Miscellaneous Folder 3: Articles, periodicals, correspondence, photographs, blueprints. 1953-1994
8127 Paul Rudolph: Miscellaneous Folder 4 : Articles, Periodicals, Magazine Pages, Newspaper Clippings. 1954-1964
332 Paul Rudolph: Nomination for Yale Art and Architecture Building, New Haven Connecticut, periodicals, drawings, photographs. 1991
333 Paul Rudolph: Retrospective Exhibit, photograph and design of multiple projects in handout. 1967
334 Paul Rudolph: Tuskegee Chapel Alabama, photographs, descriptions, correspondence. 1994-1998
335 Paul Rudolph: 25 Year Award and Gold Medal: Memorandum, nomination statement, photographs, periodicals. 1964-1999
336 Paul Rudolph: 25 Year Award and Gold Medal Documents: Biographical, notes, articles, photographs, clippings, periodicals. 1971-1991
337 Paul Rudolph: 25 Year Award and Gold Medal Journals: Architectural Record. 1989
338 Paul Rudolph: University of South Dartmouth: Photographs, information and designs. 1976
339 Paul Rudolph: William R. Cannon Chapel, Emory University: photographs and description in journal. 1983
9130 Paul Rudolph: Arts and Architecture, Variations on a Basic House. 1954
9134 Paul Rudolph: Miscellaneous Drawings and Clippings. undated
9132 Rudolph and Twitchell: Miscellaneous Blueprints, and Articles. undated
340 William Rupp: Biographical and Miscellaneous: CV's, Correspondence and Copy of Blueprint of Uhr Studio Home. 1962-1994
341 Edward "Tim" Seibert: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Photographs of Designs and Buildings in Journals, Notes, Copies of Clippings, Periodicals. 1963-1993
9135 Edward "Tim" Seibert: Articles about Seibert's Work. 1958, 1961, 1967
342 Frank Folsom Smith: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Blueprint, Nominations, and Newspaper. undated
343 Ralph Twitchell: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Notes, Correspondence with Twitchell's Family, and Designs. 1991-1993
344 Early Ralph Twitchell: Biographical, Articles, Clippings, Copies of Photographs,. 1991-1992, 1994, undated
445 Ralph Twitchell: Lido Beach Casino in "St. Petersburg and Southwest Florida Architecture". 1941
446 Ralph Twitchell: Lido Beach in the Sarasota Herald. 1938
447 Ralph Twitchell: "Interpreting Moods in Sticks, Stones, and Sunshine: The Life and Architecture of Ralph Spencer Twitchell" by Patty Jo S. Rice. 1992
448 Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph: Correspondence and Miscellaneous Notes and Contact Information. 1991-1992, undated
449 Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph: Miscellaneous 1936-1951, Twitchell 1936-1941, Rudolph 1941-1951, Thomas Reed Martin 1920s, Dwight James Baum Undated: Copies of Drawings and Blueprints, Copies of Articles, Copies of Photographs. 1936-1951, undated
450 Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph: Stoller Photographs, Paper Copies. undated
451 Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph: Correspondence, Contract, Architectural Statement. 1952-1992
452 Jack West: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Copies of Photographs, and Notes. 1994, undated
453 Zimmerman, Ralph and Williams: Biographical and Miscellaneous: Copied and Cutout Photographic and Professional Information. 1930-1961, undated


Book and Exhibition Materials

Consists of notes, drafts and galley proofs for the book, as well as materials pertaining to the creation and display of the exhibition. There are also a few theses, papers, and articles pertaining to the Sarasota Modern architects and their style.


Box Folder
454 An American Legacy: Sarasota School of Architecture Tour and Symposium with John Howey and Tim Seibert. 2001
455 Sarasota School of Architecture Exhibition Materials: Selby Gallery, Proposals, Financing, Costs, Models, Photographs, Venues, Pamphlets. 1996-1999
456 Sarasota School of Architecture: Copies of Documents Used to Create Models. undated
457 "The Sarasota School of Architecture, 1941-1966, an Exhibition of Photographs, Renderings and Architectural Models from the MIT Press Book with John Howey". 1996
458 Sarasota Book Documents: Copy of Book chapter from "Florida a Guide to the Southernmost State," Copies of Photographs, Magazine Pages, Figures and Diagrams. 1939, 1962, undated
459 Sarasota Book Documents: Correspondence, Notes, Programs, Clippings, General Information. 1995-2003
460 Sarasota School of Architecture Exhibition: Text Panels, Negatives, and Printed Photographs. undated
461 Sarasota Book: Miscellaneous Photographs Used in Sarasota Book: Negatives and Photographs of Blueprints. undated
562 The Sarasota School of Architecture Book Galley: Personal Note to Howey. undated
563 Materials from the Graham Foundation Concerning The Sarasota School of Architecture by Howey: Correspondence, Notes, Proposals. 1991-1995
564 The Sarasota School of Architecture Book Proposal to the AIA Press: Applications, Correspondence, Grant Information. 1992-1993
565 The Sarasota School of Architecture, notes for book. 1941-1966, 1997
566 The Sarasota School of Architecture, 1941-1966: Draft (Folder 1). undated
567 The Sarasota School of Architecture, 1941-1966: Draft (Folder 2), and Edits from Richard Guy Wilson. 1994 July
568 The Sarasota School of Architecture, 1941-1966: Draft (Folder 3). 1994
569 The Sarasota School of Architecture, 1941-1966: Draft (Folder 4). undated
670 Ronald G. Trebbi: Thesis: Gulf Coast Regionalist Architecture: Draft (Folder 1 of 3). 1988
671 Ronald G. Trebbi: Thesis: Gulf Coast Regionalist Architecture: Draft (Folder 2 of 3). 1988
672 Ronald G. Trebbi: Thesis: Gulf Coast Regionalist Architecture: Draft (Folder 3 of 3). 1988
673 Michael McDonough: Thesis: The Beach House in Rudolph's Early Work, 1986: Draft. 1986
674 William Rupp: Term Paper: Paul Rudolph the Early Years. 1978
675 Architectural Record Centennial Issue. 1991
676 AIA Journal Highlights of American Architecture 1776-1976. 1976 August
677 Lee William Moffitt: The Sarasota School of Architecture A Resource Survey. 1997
678 The Florida Architect: Convention Issue with Sarasota Retrospect: Journal. 1976
679 Phillip H. Hiss: The Architectural Forum: "What Ever Happened to Sarasota?". 1967
680 An American Legacy: The Sarasota School of architecture Documentary (2 VHS ans 1 DVD). 2001


Photographs

Consists of photos of buildings constructed by the architects, as well as photo reproductions of architectural drawings and renderings. The folders are arranged alphabetically according to architect. The group also includes photos of many of the architects (as indicated in the folder titles).


Box Folder
781 Carl Abbott, President's house competition color photo of model, sketch, negative, Gregg beach house color slide. undated
782 Carl Abbott: Color photographs (2) of Abbott. undated
783 Boyd Blackner: photograph of Blackner. undated
784 Bert Brosmith: Plate 4 negative, Hart Island F7.1, Sarasota Jr. High School F7.2,.3, drawings [11 items]. undated
785 Bert Brosmith and Frank Folsom Smith: negative, photograph, Juvenile Detention, 7.20. undated
786 Joseph Farrell: photograph of studio home. undated
787 Joseph Farrell: Photos of Joseph Farrell. undated
788 Mark Hampton. 1951-1957
789 Mark Garrison Hampton: Photos of Hampton. undated
790 Phillip Hiss. undated
791 Phillip Hiss: Photos of Hiss. undated
9129 Phillip H. Hiss: Residence. undated
792 John Howey: Photos of Howey. undated
793 Gene Leedy. undated
794 Gene Leedy: Carter Residence, Leedy Office. 1952, 1955
795 Gene Leedy: Dormon Residence, negatives. undated
796 Gene Leedy: Photos of Leedy. undated
797 Victory Lundy. undated
798 Victor Lundy: World War II sketches, slides. undated
999a-b Paul Rudolph: Miscellaneous work. 1954-1969
9133 Victor Lundy: Copies of Photographs of Buildings. undated
8100 Paul Rudolph. 1989
8101 Paul Rudolph: Tuskegee Chapel, Alabama, slides. 1994-1998
8102 Paul Rudolph: Tuskegee Chapel, Alabama, photographs. 1944-1998
8103 Paul Rudolph: 25 Year Award and gold Medal, photographs and slides. 1977
8104 Paul Rudolph: Photographs of Rudolph. 1941, undated
8105 Paul Rudolph and Bert Brosmith, photograph. undated
8106 William Rupp, permission requests, negatives, slides. undated
8107 William Rupp: photographs of Rupp. 1992
8108 William Rupp and Joseph Farrell: photographs of blueprints and structures. 1962, undated
8109 Sarasota School of Design Conference: photograph of Rudolph, Brosmith, Seibert, Rupp, Leedy, Lundy. 1982
8110 Edward "Tim" Seibert: building photographs. undated
8111 Edward "Tim" Seibert: photograph of Seibert. undated
8113 Frank Folsom Smith and Louis Schneider: photos of buildings. undated
8114 Frank Folsom Smith: photograph of Smith. 1993
8115 Ralph Twitchell: photographs of buildings (1 of 2 folders). undated
8116 Ralph Twitchell: photographs of buildings (2 of 2 folders). undated
8117 Ralph Twitchell: postcards. undated
8118 Ralph Twitchell: photographs of Twitchell. undated
8119 Twitchell and Tolyn: photographs of buildings. undated
8120 Twitchell and Rudolph: Sarasota book photographs (1 of 2 folders). undated
8121 Twitchell and Rudolph: Sarasota book photographs (2 of 2 folders). undated
8122 Twitchell and Rudolph: slides of buildings. 1964
8123 Twitchell and Rudolph: Stoller photographs. undated
8124 Jack West: photos of buildings, various partnerships. 1950-1952
8125 Jack West: photograph of West. undated
8126 Zimmerman, Ralph and Williams: photographs of house and blueprint. undated


Exhibition Photographs

Large-format laminated photos used in the exhibition. The photo descriptions include numbers that correspond to descriptions used in the exhibition catalog (see box 4 for the catalog). Many of the descriptions include the names of photographers in parentheses.

2.2 - View of a Sarasota Bayou (Joseph Steinmetz). 1950
3.3 - Fireplace bas reliefs Auburn, Alabama, Paul Rudolph designer. 1940
3.5 - Glorieux Residence, Sarasota, Ralph Twitchell, Architect (John Howey). 1941
3.6a - Twitchell residence (interior) Big Pass, Siesta Key, FL, Ralph Twitchell, architect (Joseph Steinmetz). 1941-1942
3.6b - Twitchell residence (exterior) Big Pass, Siesta Key, FL, Ralph Twitchell, architect (Joseph Steinmetz). 1941-1942
3.7 - Twitchell residence entry, door panels designed by Paul Rudolph (Joseph Steinmetz). 1941-1942
4.1 - Twitchell Studio-residence, Big Pass, Siesta Key, Ralph Twitchell architect (Max Strang). 1945
4.5 - Denman residence, Siesta Key, Ralph Twitchell, architect, Paul Rudolph, associate. 1946
4.6 - Steinmetz studio, Sarasota, Ralph Twitchell, architect, Paul Rudolph, associate. 1947-1948
4.8a - Finney Residence and guest house, Siesta Key, Ralph Twitchell, architect, Paul Rudolph designer. 1947
4.8b - Finney Residence and guest house, Siesta Key, Ralph Twitchell, architect, Paul Rudolph designer. 1947
4.8c - Finney Residence and guest house, Siesta Key, Ralph Twitchell, architect, Paul Rudolph designer. 1947
5.5a - Healy "Cocoon House" Siesta Key, Twitchell and Rudolph, architects. 1950
5.5b - Healy "Cocoon House" Siesta Key, Twitchell and Rudolph, architects. 1950
5.5c - Healy "Cocoon House" Siesta Key, Twitchell and Rudolph, architects. 1950
5.5d - Healy "Cocoon House" Siesta Key, Twitchell and Rudolph, architects. 1950
5.6 - Healy "Cocoon House" Siesta Key (Renderings by Paul Rudolph). 1948-1950
5.7a - Healy "Cocoon House" exterior, Siesta Key (Ezra Stoller). 1950
5.7b - Healy "Cocoon House" interior, Siesta Key (Ezra Stoller). 1950
6.2 - Leavengood residence, St. Petersburg, FL, Twitchell and Rudolph architects (rendering by Paul Rudolph). 1951
6.3 - Leavengood residence, St. Petersburg, FL (Ezra Stoller). 1951
6.4 - Residence built for speculation, Ralph and William Zimmerman, architects (Rendering by Gene Leedy). 1950
6.5 - Hiss Residence, Lido Shores, Florida, Philip Hiss, designer (Joseph Steinmetz). 1950
6.6 - Myrtle West Residence, Siesta Key, Jack West, architect (Robert H. Ford). 1951
6.7 - Seibert Residence, Siesta Key, Tim Seibert, architect (Joseph Steinmetz). 1951-1952
6.8 - Knott residence 1 (unbuilt) Yankeetown, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect. 1951-1952
6.10a - Sanderling Beach Club (exterior) Siesta Key, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect (National Historical Register,1994). 1952
6.10b - Sanderling Beach Club (exterior) Siesta Key, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect (National Historical Register,1994). 1952
6.11 - Walker guest house, Sanibel Island, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect (Ezra Stoller). 1954
6.12a - Residence built for speculation (exterior), Sarasota, FL, Gene Leedy, architect (Joseph Steinmetz). 1954
6.12b - Residence built for speculation (interior), Sarasota, FL, Gene Leedy, architect (Joseph Steinmetz). 1954
6.14 - Mark Hampton Architectural office, Tampa, Mark Hampton architect (Alexandre Georges). 1953
6.17a - Hiss "Umbrella" House, Lido Shores, Florida, Paul Rudolph architect (Ezra Stoller). 1953
6.17b - Hiss "Umbrella" House, Lido Shores, Florida, Paul Rudolph architect (Ezra Stoller). 1953
6.17c - Hiss "Umbrella" House, Lido Shores, Florida, Paul Rudolph architect (Ezra Stoller). 1953
6.20 - Cohen residence, Siesta Key (unbuilt), Paul Rudolph, architect. 1954
6.24 - Chamber of Commerce building, Sarasota, Victor Lundy, architect. (Sarasota Historical Society). 1956
6.26 - Venice Presbyterian Church Meeting Hall, Venice, Florida, Victor Lundy, architect. (Wayne Andrews/Esto). 1956
6.29 - Leedy Residence, Winter Haven, FL, Gene Leedy, architect. 1956
6.30 - Leedy Residence, as later modified.
6.32 - Brookside Junior High School, Sarasota, Ralph and William Zimmerman, architects (Alexandre Georges). 1956
6.35 - Brentwood elementary school, Sarasota, Gene Leedy and William Rupp, associated architects. 1958
6.36 - Riverview Senior High School, Sarasota, Paul Rudolph, Architect. 1958-1959
6.37 - Alta Vista Elementary School addition, Sarasota, Victor Lundy, architect (Wayne Andrews/Esto). 1958
6.38 - Sarasota Senior High School addition, Paul Rudolph, architect (Ezra Stoller). 1959-1960
6.39 - Sarasota Senior High School addition, Paul Rudolph, architect, rendering showing sunscreen panels. 1959-1960
6.40a - Jordan residence (interior) Lake Wales, Mark Hampton architect (Ezra Stoller). 1956
6.40b - Jordan residence (interior) Lake Wales, Mark Hampton architect (Ezra Stoller). 1956
6.41a - Galloways Furniture Showroom (interior), Tampa, Mark Hampton, architect (Alexandre Georges). 1958-1959
6.41b - Galloways Furniture Showroom (interior), Tampa, Mark Hampton, architect (Alexandre Georges). 1958-1959
6.42a - Galloways Furniture Showroom, Sarasota, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1959
6.42b - Galloways Furniture Showroom, Sarasota, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1959
6.44a - St Paul's Lutheran Church, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1958
6.44b - St Paul's Lutheran Church, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1958
6.45 - MacIntosh Middle School, Sarasota, Mark Hampton, architect. (Black-Baker Photographs). 1959-1962
7.1a - Hart Island cottage, Naples Florida, Bert Brosmith, architect. 1960
7.1b - Hart Island cottage, Naples Florida, Bert Brosmith, architect. 1960
7.2 - Sarasota Junior High School Addition, Bert Brosmith, architect (2 items: includes floor plan with no number). 1961
7.5 - Wallace Residence, Athens, Alabama, Paul Rudolph, Architect (Ezra Stoller) (2 items: includes floor plan with no number). 1961-1966
7.6 - Milam residence, Jacksonville, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect. 1960
7.7 - Callahan residence (unbuilt) Birmingham, AL, Paul Rudolph, architect. 1965
7.8 - Bostwick residence, Palm Beach, Florida (unbuilt), Paul Rudolph, architect. 1954
7.10 - Weaver Residence, Longboat Key, Ralph and William Zimmerman, architects. 1961
7.11a - McDonald residence (interior) Siesta Key, FL, Tim Seibert, architect (G. Wade Swicord). 1965
7.11b - McDonald residence (exterior) Siesta Key, FL, Tim Seibert, architect (Von Guttenburg Photographic Studio). 1965
7.13 - Field Club, Sarasota, Tim Seibert, architect (Von Guttenberg Photographic Studio). 1961
7.14 - First Unitarian Church of Fairfield County, Westport, Connecticut, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cardoso). 1961-1962
7.17a - Deering Residence (exterior), Casey Key, Paul Rudolph, architect (Ezra Stoller). 1959-1960
7.17b - Deering Residence (interior), Casey Key, Paul Rudolph, architect (Ezra Stoller). 1959-1960
7.18 - Plymouth Harbor adult living high-rise facility, St. Armand's Key, Frank Folsom Smith and Louis Schneider, associated architects. 1962-1966
7.20 - Sarasota Juvenile Detention Facility, Bert Brosmith and Frank Folsom Smith, associated architects. 1963
7.22a - Uhr studio-residence, Sarasota, William Rupp and Joseph Farrell, associated architects. 1961
7.22b - Uhr studio-residence, Sarasota, William Rupp and Joseph Farrell, associated architects. 1961
7.23 - Weld beach house Boca Grande, FL, Carl Abbott, architect. 1966
7.24a - Gene Leedy architectural office, Winter Haven, Florida, Gene Leedy, architect. 1961
7.24b - Gene Leedy architectural office, Winter Haven, Florida, Gene Leedy, architect. 1961
7.24c - Gene Leedy architectural office, Winter Haven, Florida, Gene Leedy, architect. 1961
7.25 - Sarasota County beach facility, Siesta Key, Tim Seibert, architect (Joseph Molitor). 1962
7.26 - Carlisle "Circus" residence, Big Pass, Siesta Key, Ralph Twitchell and Tolyn Twitchell, architects (Paula Twitchell). 1964
7.31 - Sarasota City Hall, Jack West, architect (Joseph Steinmetz). 1965-1966
7.32 - Brosmith office-residence, Pound Ridge, NY, Bert Brosmith, architect. 1966
7.33 - Dormon residence, Winter Haven, FL, Gene Leedy, architect (Gene Leedy). 1963
7.36 - Strang residence, Winter Haven, FL, Gene Leedy, architect (Max Strang). 1966
7.40 - Syd Solomon studio-residence, Siesta Key, Gene Leedy, architect. 1966-1970
7.41a - Weis residence (exterior), Savannah, Georgia, Mark Hampton, architect, (Alexandre Georges). 1960
7.41b - Weis residence (interior), Savannah, Georgia, Mark Hampton, architect, (Alexandre Georges). 1960
7.42 - Physics Building, University of South Florida, Mark Hampton, architect. 1960
7.43 - Life Science Building, University of South Florida, Mark Hampton, architect (Alexandre Georges). 1961
8.3 - 1953 high-rise sketch by Paul Rudolph. 1953
8.4 - Dharmala Sakti Building, Jakarta, Paul Rudolph, design architect, associated with Johannes H. Gernawan, IAI, Jakarta. (Peter Aaron / Esto). 1982-1988
8.5 - 1954 tower sketch by Paul Rudolph. 1954
8.7 - Colonnade Condominiums, Singapore, Paul Rudolph, Design Architect, associated with Archiplan Team, Singapore. (Peter Aaron/ Esto). 1980-1987
8.9 - Bond Centre, Hong Kong, Paul Rudolph, design architect, associated with Wong and Ouyang (HK) Ltd. (P. Aaron/Esto). 1984-1988
8.10 - Rendering of 90-story Sino Tower office building, hotel and commercial facilities, Hong Kong (unbuilt), Paul Rudolph, architect. 1989
8.11a - IBM Complex (interior), Cranford, New Jersey, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1962
8.11b - IBM Complex (exterior), Cranford, New Jersey, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1962
8.13a - Smithsonian Sunshade Shelters, Washington, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1967
8.13b - Smithsonian Sunshade Shelters, Washington, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1967
8.15a - Air Structure Pavilions, New York World's Fair, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1964-1965
8.15b - Air Structure Pavilions, New York World's Fair, Victor Lundy, architect (George Cserna). 1964-1965
8.18 - GTE Operations World Headquarters, Irving, TX, Victor Lundy, design principal with HKS Inc., Dallas. 1987-1991
8.21 - Tower proposal (unbuilt), Victor Lundy, design principal with HKS Inc., Dallas. 1993
8.23a - Brabson residence (interior) Tampa, Mark Hampton, architect (George Cott). 1988
8.23b - Brabson residence (exterior) Tampa, Mark Hampton, architect (George Cott). 1988
8.24a - President's Mansion, University of South Florida (interior), Tampa, Gene Leedy, architect. 1990-1994
8.24b - President's Mansion, University of South Florida (exterior), Tampa, Gene Leedy, architect. 1990-1994
8.26 - President's Mansion submittal, University of South Florida (exterior), Tampa, Carl Abbott, architect. 1990
8.27 - Lannan Museum, Lake Worth, Florida, Mark Hampton, architect (Steven Brooke). 1980
8.28a - Wolfe residence (exterior), Miami, Florida, Mark Hampton, architect (Steven Brooke). 1981
8.28b - Wolfe residence (interior), Miami, Florida, Mark Hampton, architect (Steven Brooke). 1981
9.1a - Seco de Lucena residence, Shell Point, Florida (unbuilt); John Howey, architect. 1989
9.1b - Seco de Lucena residence, Shell Point, Florida (unbuilt); John Howey, architect. 1989
9.1c - Seco de Lucena residence, Shell Point, Florida (unbuilt); John Howey, architect. 1989
9.3a - Kennedy Mountain Residence, Wesser, N.C., John Howey, architect. 1980
9.3c - Kennedy Mountain Residence, Wesser, N.C., John Howey, architect. 1980


Models

Seven wooden models created for the exhibition. The models represent the works of architects Paul Rudolph, Ralph Twitchell, Victor Lundy, and Mark Hampton. The models were created in 1996 by UF School of Architecture students Carlos Molnar, Bill Lorenzo, Brian Pinnock, Richard Emerson, David Munoz, Pat Rhodes, Brad Tomecek, Clayton Francis, Bill Bleich, and Lee Wells. In 2009-2010, the models were repaired and restored by students Phat Tran and Kimberly Olandia.

The model for the Walker guest house has been imaged and is available online.

Finney residence, Siesta Key, FL, Ralph Twitchell, architect, Paul Rudolph, designer. 1947
Healy "Cocoon House" Siesta Key, FL, Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph, architects. 1948-1950
Walker guest house, Sanibel Island, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect. 1954
Cohen residence 1, Siesta Key, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect. 1954
Walker residence, Sanibel Island, FL, Paul Rudolph, architect. 1954
Galloway's Furniture Showroom, Sarasota, FL, Victor Lundy, architect. 1959
Weis residence, Savannah, GA, Mark Hampton, architect. 1960


Drawings

Six sets of rolled reproductions of plans and renderings created by Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph. Howey used these reproductions for reference, but did not include them in his book or exhibition.

Twitchell and Rudolph - House for the Revere Quality House Institute. 1948
Twitchell and Rudolph - Walker residence, Sanibel. 1951
Twitchell - Steinmetz Studio. 1947
Twitchell - Lido Beach Casino (two sets; one includes renderings by Wilkinson). 1938
Rudolph - St. Boniface Episcopal Church (unbuilt). 1956


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Architecture
Architecture, Modern
Florida--Sarasota Region
Lundy, Victor Alfred, 1923-
Rudolph, Paul 1918-1997



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page