Skip to Search



A Guide to Flagler College's Hotel Ponce de Leon Architecture Collection

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

Digitization funded with the generous support of a Save America's Treasures grant.

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2012


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Carrère & Hastings
Title: Flagler College's Hotel Ponce de Leon Architecture Collection
Dates: 1886-1963
Bulk dates: 1886-1924
Abstract: Architectural drawings, blueprints and related material for the Hotel Ponce de Leon (now Ponce de Leon Hall at Flagler College) in St. Augustine, Florida. The hotel was designed by the Carrère & Hastings firm. The collection also includes items related to other buildings constructed and operated by Henry M. Flagler and the East Coast Hotel Company.
Extent: 28.25 Linear feet. 217 items (460 pages).
Identification: MS Group 311
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

In 1885 multi-millionaire industrialist Henry Morrison Flagler (1830-1913) initiated a grand scheme to turn Florida's east coast into the "American Riviera" and the city of St. Augustine into the "Winter Newport." The Hotel Ponce de Leon, which was constructed in 1885-1887, was intended as the flagship of Flagler's resort empire. This palatial Spanish Renaissance Revival hotel, with Italian, French and Moorish influences, was the first major commission for the Carrère & Hastings architecture firm.

John M. Carrère (1858-1911) and Thomas Hastings (1860-1929) were American architects of the late-19th and early-20th centuries who specialized in Beaux Arts architecture. The Carrère & Hastings firm designed more than 600 buildings, including the New York Public Library (1902-11) and the U.S. House and Senate Office Buildings in Washington, D.C. (1908-09). They were partners from 1885 until Carrère died in 1911. Hastings continued to practice, managing the firm until he died in 1929.

The Hotel Ponce de Leon opened in 1888 and was operated by Henry Flagler's Florida East Coast Hotel Company. Nationally significant for both its architecture and engineering, the building is the first large cast-in-place concrete building in the U.S. The hotel was constructed using poured concrete mixed with local coquina. The design reflected the wealth and extravagance of the upper-class during the Gilded Age. Members of the design team included Louis Comfort Tiffany, Thomas Edison, Bernard Maybeck, George Willoughby Maynard, and Pottier & Stymus. The firm of McGuire & McDonald was hired to supervise construction of the Hotel.

The Hotel was operation for almost 80 years. During World War II the building was used as a Coast Guard Training Center. Hotel operations ceased in 1967, and in 1968 the hotel became part of the campus for the newly established Flagler College as Ponce de Leon Hall. The building was added to the National Register in 1975 and was designated a National Historic Landmark in 2006.

In addition to the Hotel Ponce de Leon, Flagler commissioned the Carrère & Hastings firm to design several other projects in St. Augustine. The Grace Methodist Church was constructed in 1886-1887 (National Register 1979). The Hotel Alcazar, now known as the Lightner Building was constructed in 1888-1889 (National Register 1971). The Flagler Memorial Presbyterian Church was constructed in 1889-1890 (National Register 1983). Flagler's private residence, Kirkside, was constructed in 1893.

Sources: Leslee Keys, Flagler College, "Historical Background on the Hotel Ponce de Leon", 2011. Susan R. Braden, The Architecture of Leisure: The Florida Resort Hotels of Henry Flagler and Henry Plant, 2002.


Scope and Content

The collection consists of over 200 architectural drawings, blueprints and related material for the Hotel Ponce de Leon dating from about 1886 to 1963. In addition to original pencil drawings and blueprints, there are ink on linen drawings and other types of prints such as Vandyke prints, diazotype prints, and miscellaneous printed materials. Many of the blueprints are working copies that contain notes, corrections and changes in pencil, pen, and red and blue grease pencil. A number of the drawings have hand applied color. Sizes range from 8x8 inches to over 4x8 feet.

There are 217 drawings or related items in the collection. Many drawings have multiple copies and some of the drawings are in multiple pieces (e.g., a large drawing that had been cut into three sections). There are over 460 individual sheets in the collection. Most of the drawings include formal titles, and some include handwritten notations describing the content or purpose of the drawing. Whenever a drawing includes a formal title, the title is included with quotation marks in the description of the drawing.

The drawings are organized in several groups: 1) Architectural Drawings of Hotel Ponce de Leon; 2) Plans for Sewers on the Property of Henry Flagler; 3) Plans for Hotel Ponce de Leon as converted for Coast Guard use (United States Coast Guard Training Station); 4) Architectural Drawings of the Hotel Alcazar; and 5) Miscellaneous Drawings and Maps Related to the Properties of Henry Flagler and the Florida East Coast Hotel Company (including the Hotel Ponce de Leon).

The large majority of the drawings are in the first group: Architectural Drawings of Hotel Ponce de Leon. These drawings include original floor plans from the 1880s and 1890s, as designed by Carrère & Hastings. Other floor plans document renovations completed by McGuire & McDonald in the early decades of the 20th Century, particularly in 1909 and 1924. The drawings are primarily floor plans; there are a small number of sections, elevations and detail drawings. There are numerous drawings relating to the dining room and the dining room windows. Several drawings from the 1930s document the installation of sprinklers, and a series of drawings from 1947 document work related to elevators in the hotel. This group also includes property maps and a drawing of a proposed cascade that was intended for the property.

The second group, Plans for Sewers on the Property of Henry Flagler, includes drawings of sewer lines and proposed sewer lines on and around the Flagler's property. In addition to the Hotel Ponce de Leon, the Hotel Cordova and the Hotel Alcazar are also referenced in the drawings. The third group include drawings that date from 1943-1944 and document how the Hotel Ponce de Leon was converted for use by the U.S. Coast Guard as a training station. The fourth group includes four drawings for the Hotel Alcazar. The fifth and final group includes drawings and maps relating to Flagler's properties in Florida. In addition to the Hotel Ponce de Leon, this group also includes a drawing relating to the Grace Methodist Episcopal Church and a map of Florida East Coast Hotel Property in Palm Beach, Florida.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is available for research. However, due to the extremely fragile nature of the drawings, researchers are asked to use digital reproductions available online at http://ufdc.ufl.edu/caha.


Related or Separated Material

The University of Florida also holds Carrère & Hastings drawings for the Memorial Presbyterian Church in St. Augustine. Flagler College holds materials pertaining to the history of the Hotel Ponce de Leon, Henry Flagler, and the East Coast Hotel Company.


Administrative Information

Custodial History

The majority of these drawings had been presumed lost for decades. The drawings had been stored, wrapped in unmarked rolls, in a basement boiler room in the building. Unfortunately, their significance was not realized by the few people of knew of their existence. In 2004, the drawings were rediscovered by staff members of Flagler College.

Alternate Form of Material

The items in this collection have been digitized and are available via the Carrère & Hastings Digital Collection page in the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). The items were digitized with the generous support of a Save America's Treasures grant administered by the National Endowment for the Humanities. In addition to the links that are provided throughout this guide to the collection, all materials can be searched or browsed at the Carrère & Hastings Digital Collection page.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Flagler College's Hotel Ponce de Leon Architecture Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

In 2005 Flagler College placed the collection on deposit at the University of Florida.

Processing Notes

All arrangement and description activities, conservation treatments, and digital imaging were completed in 2011-12 with generous support of a Save America's Treasures grant. Many of the drawings include original numbers (e.g., "Plan No. 4") and it is possible that the drawings may have been arranged in order within discrete sets. However, the severe deterioration of multiple drawings resulted in the loss of identifying numbers and it was impossible to accurately discern the original order of the drawings. The order that currently exists is an artificial order imposed by archivists at the University of Florida. Similar drawings were grouped together based on subject, format, or date. Similarly, the numbers assigned to the drawings are not original numbers used by the creators of the drawings. These numbers were assigned during processing of the collection.


Contents List

Architectural Drawings of Hotel Ponce de Leon


1. "Part Plan of Main Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added pencil notations and color. Labeled "Plan No. 1." Has extensive rodent, insect, and water damage. 81.5 x 43.75 inches. In three pieces. Not dated

2. "Part Plan of First Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added color and pencil notations. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Labeled "Plan No. 2." Includes four notes. Note No. 1 states: "In East Wing (as shown on Plan No. 1) rooms on court are 14' 0". Outside rooms also 14' 0". Hallway reminds 8'1." Otherwise exactly same as in West Wing, excepting arrangement of Toilet and Dressing Room for which special plans will be given." Note No. 2 states: "For framing plan See Basement." Note No. 3 states: "Floor beams of 1st floor hallways to be dropped one inch below top of other beams for marble floor. See section." Note No. 4 states: "Construction of floors of Portico not to be decided upon until experiments have been made with wards System." 51.5 x 34 inches. Not dated

3A-C. "Part Plan of Second Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Drawing on paper. Architect: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added color and pen and pencil notations. Numbered 37 in lower center. Excessive water and rodent damage. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. 83 x 40 inches. In three pieces. Not dated

4A-C. "Part Plan of Third Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added color and pencil notations. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Excessive water and rodent damage. 89 x 42 inches. In three pieces. Not dated

5. "Part Plan of Fourth Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes Carrère & Hastings stamp. Labeled "Plan No. 6." Has "39" marked in the center of the plan. Includes added pencil notations. 89 x 36.5 inches. Not dated

6. "Part Plan of Basement, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added color, pencil and red pencil notations, and the Carrère & Hastings stamp (in 3 locations). Labeled "Plan no. 5." Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. 85 x 41.5 inches. Not dated

7A-C. "Part Plan of Basement, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Drawing on paper. Architect: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added color. Labeled "Plan no. 5." Includes notes: "No. 1. Brown lines show system of framing for floors of different stories," "No. 2 All floor ___ to have cross bridging ever 8'0"," "No. 3 All extra ___ work to start at least 12 inches below finish line of grade." 86.5 x 43.5 inches. In three pieces. Not dated

8A-C. Plan of Hotel Ponce de Leon showing bed rooms and tower room. Diazotype. Includes added pencil notations and color. Has extensive rodent, insect, and water damage. 83 x 34 inches. In three pieces. Not dated

9. "Part Plan of Main Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added red pencil notations. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. 82.25 x 42 inches. Not dated

10. "Part Plan of Second Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations. Labeled "Plan No. 4". 85.25 x 42.5 inches. Not dated

11. "Part Plan of Third Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added red pencil notations. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. 82.25 x 33.5 inches. Not dated

12. "Part Plan of Fourth Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations. 96 x 40 inches. Not dated

13. "Part of Fifth Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added red pencil notations. "Flagler College" handwritten on reverse side with red pencil. 81.5 x 34 inches. Not dated

14. "Part Plan of First Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes Carrère & Hastings stamp. 54 x 35 inches. Not dated

15. "Part Plan of Second Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations. 52 x 35 inches. Not dated

16. "Part Plan of Third Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations. 50 x 41.75 inches. Not dated

17. "Part Plan of Third Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. 50 x 41.5 inches. Not dated

18. "Part Plan of Basement, Hotel Ponce de Leon St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red and purple pencil notations. Hand written on reverse: "Part plan kitchen and basement." 56.25 x 35 inches. Not dated

19. "Part Plan of 1st and 2nd Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations. 51 x 39.5 inches. Not dated

20. "Part Plan of Third and Fourth Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Includes added red pencil notations. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. 58.5 x 41 inches. Not dated

21. "Part Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Third Floor". Blueprint. Includes pencil notations: "see special plan for part of west wing, ___ ____this plan is ____ for east wing." Scale is 1/4 inch = ?. 34 x 41 inches. Not dated

22. "Fourth Floor," Hotel Ponce de Leon. Blueprint. 46 x 36 inches. Not dated

23. "Hotel Ponce de Leon 100 Floor". Blueprint. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 46 x 36 inches. 1900 February 14

24. "Hotel Ponce de Leon 200 Floor". Blueprint. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 46 x 35 inches. 1900 February 14

25. "Hotel Ponce de Leon 300 Floor". Blueprint. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 46 x 36 inches. 1900 February 14

26. "Office Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 46.5 x 35.5 inches. 1900 February 14

27A-B. "Ground Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 27.5 x 20.5 inches. Two copies. 1924

28. "Ground Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations showing where fire extinguishers are located. 16.25 x 19.5 inches. 1924

29. "First Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red and green pencil notations. 26 x 19 inches. 1924

30. "First Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations showing where fire extinguishers are located. 25.25 x 19.25 inches. 1924

31. "First Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 26 x 18.75 inches. 1924

32A-B. "Second Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 25.5 x 20.5 inches. Two copies. 1924

33. Second Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations showing where fire extinguishers are located. 25 x 20 inches. 1924

34A-B. "Third Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 25 x 20 inches. Two copies. 1924

35. "Third Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations showing where fire extinguishers are located. 24.5 x 20.5 inches. 1924

36A-B. "Fourth Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 12 x 7.75 inches. Two copies. 1924

37. "Fourth Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Thermofax. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes added red pencil notations showing where fire extinguishers are located. 12 x 7.75 inches. 1924

38. "Ground Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Part of the Flagler System, Florida East Coast Hotel Company, St. Augustine, Fla. Includes legend. 66 x 46.5 inches. 1924

39A-C. "Ground Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes legend. 67 x 45.5 inches. Three copies. 1924

40. Partial blueprint of Ground Floor Plan with dining room, lounge, loggia, grand parlor; Ponce de Leon Hotel. Blueprint. 46 x 24 inches. Not dated

41. "First Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Part of the Flagler System, Florida East Coast Hotel Company, St. Augustine, Fla. Includes legend. 61.5 x 46.5 inches. 1924

42A-D. "First Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes legend. 58.5 x 46 inches. Four copies. 1924

43. "Second Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Part of the Flagler System, Florida East Coast Hotel Company, St. Augustine, Fla. 61 x 46.5 inches. 1924

44A-C. "Second Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes legend. 58.5 x 47.5 inches. Three copies. 1924

45. Partial blueprint of Second Floor Plan with porch, storeroom, and roof; Ponce de Leon Hotel. Blueprint. 44 x 24 inches. Not dated

46. "Third Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Part of the Flagler System, Florida East Coast Hotel Company, St. Augustine, Fla. Includes legend. 61 x 46.5 inches. 1924

47A-C. "Third Floor Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes legend. 58.5 x 47.5 inches. Three copies. 1924

48. Partial blueprint of Third Floor Plan, Ponce de Leon Hotel. Blueprint. 44 x 24 inches. Not dated

49. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Roof Plans, Roof over 400 Floor". Ink drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Labeled "Sheet A." Scale is 1/8 inch. 27 x 22 inches. 1909 December

50. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Roof Plans Over 300 Floor". Ink drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Labeled "Sheet B." Marked on back "Ponce de Leon Roof." Includes pencil notations. Scale is 1/8 inch. 45.25 x 33.75 inches. 1909 December

51. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Roof Plans Over 200 Floor". Ink drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Labeled "Sheet C." Scale is 1/8 inch. 46.25 x 36 inches. 1909 December

52. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Roof Plans Over 100 Floor". Ink drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Labeled "Sheet D." Scale is 1/8 inch. 46.25 x 36 inches. 1909 December

53. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Roof Plans, Over Kitchen". Ink drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Labeled "Sheet E." Scale is 1/8 inch. 33.5 x 24 inches. 1909 December

54. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Roof Plans, Roof over Dining Room". Ink drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Labeled "Sheet F." Scale is 1/8 inch. 27 x 25.5 inches. 1909 December

55. "Hotel Ponce de Leon Longitudinal Section through Dining Room, Detail Drawing". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Labeled "Plan No. 73." Includes pencil notations. 26.5 x 21.5 inches. Not dated

56. "Hotel Ponce de Leon. Longitudinal Section of Dining Room". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/2 inch = 1 foot. Labeled as "Plan No. 68." 34 x 25.5 inches. Not dated

57. Dining Room, Hotel Ponce de Leon. Pencil drawing on paper. Rough sketch of floor plan with notations that say "East, West." 17.75 x 22.5 inches. Not dated

58. "Ponce de Leon Dining Room". Pencil drawing on paper. Rough sketch of floor plan with notations that say "East, West." Inscribed "Dimensions shown is width or distance between stops. All windows same height 9'-10' between sill and stop." 22.5 x 17 inches. Not dated

59. "Ponce de Leon Dining Room". Blueprint. Rough sketch of floor plan with notations that say "East, West." Inscribed "Dimensions shown is width or distance between stops. All windows same height 9'-10' between sill and stop." 24.5 x 19 inches. Not dated

60. "Ponce de Leon Dining Room". Pencil drawing on paper. Rough sketch of floor plan with measurements for windows. 28.25 x 14 inches. Not dated

61. "Ponce de Leon Dining Room Windows". Pencil drawing on paper. 34 x 31 inches. Not dated

62. "Ponce de Leon Dining Room Windows". Blueprint. Includes elevation of windows. 36.5 x 33.25 inches. Not dated

63. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Dining Room Windows". Pencil drawing on paper. Inscribed "Top view showing soffit where it connects with wall of arch." 31.75 x 20 inches. Not dated

64. "Ponce de Leon Hotel Dining Room Windows". Blueprint. Inscribed "Top view showing soffit where it connects with wall of arch." 34 x 24.25 inches. Not dated

65A-B. "Dining Room Windows Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Includes Robertson, Werring and Barto stamp. 24.5 x 21.75 inches. Two copies. Not dated

66. Floor plan of dining room, kitchen, and lobby. Pencil drawing on paper. Drawing is in two pieces that are attached by a smaller piece of paper with a Hotel Alcazar advertisement on the reverse side. 40.5 x 39.5 inches. Not dated

67. "Kitchen-Dining Room Doors, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Pencil drawing on paper. Notations: "Doors are 4'-0" x 8'-0" x 1 1/4 thick, solid and covered with leather on both sides-2 single acting hinges on each door." Florida East Coast Hotel Co. 17.25 x 18.5 inches. 1940 August 37

68. "Plan of Ponce de Leon Helps Kitchen". Pencil drawing on paper. Scale is 3/8 inch=1 foot. 11.75 x 14.5 inches. Not dated

69. "Plan of Ponce de Leon Kitchen, Second Floor". Pencil drawing on paper. Includes added red color. Scale is 1/8 inch= 1 foot. 26 x 15.5 inches. 1921 March 23

70. "Rotunda: First Floor Furniture Layout" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Blueprint. Includes yellow pencil marks, "W. and J. Sloane N.Y. Decorator". Scale is 1/4" = 1foot. 17 x 22.5 inches. Not dated

71. "Rotunda: First Floor Furniture Layout" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Blueprint. Includes, "W. and J. Sloane N.Y. Decorator." 17 x 22.5 inches. Not dated

72. "Rotunda: First Floor Furniture Layout" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Blueprint. Includes yellow pencil marks, Includes, "W. and J. Sloane N.Y. Decorator." 17 x 22.5. Not dated

73. "Ponce de Leon Boiler Room". Blueprint. Floor plan, missing upper right corner. On reverse: "To McAloon". Scale is 1/4" = 1foot. 14 x 22 inches. Not dated

74. "Boiler Breeching" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Blueprint. Labeled, "Drawing No. (numbers are blurred) 10-20-1". Includes address: "Florida East Coast Hotel Co. Construction and Maintenance Dept. Palm Beach, Fla. Drawn by Chalker, Approved by Chief Eng." Includes, "Plan of Boiler Room." Scale is 1/4" = 1 foot. 26.25 x 29.5 inches. 1920 October

75. "Boiler Breeching, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Includes side and front elevations and plan of boiler room. Florida East Coast Hotel Co., Construction and Maintenance Department. Drawn by Chalker and approved by Eng. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes pen notations on reverse that say "old boilers." 33 x 29 inches. 1920 October

76. "Boiler Breeching, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Includes side elevation, front elevation, and plan of the boiler room. Labeled as "Drawing No. P.L. 10-20-1." Florida East Coast Hotel Co. Construction and Maintenance Department. Drawn by Chalker and approved by Chief Eng. Scale is 1/4 inch = 1 foot. 30 x 26.5 inches. 1920 October

77. Elevator door installation by Dahlstrom Metallic Door Company, Jamb Unit. Blueprint. Labeled contract number 84436. Stamped "Erection Department." 32.25 x 25.5 inches. 1947-02-14 (Drawn on), 1947-05-09 (Completed on). 1947

78. "Ponce de Leon Hotel" Elevator Door Replacement. Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Notes indicate material to be used is steel. Sheet number 2. Stamped "Erection Department." 1947-04-19 (drawn on), 1947-05-12 (finished on). 33 x 24.5 inches. 1947

79. "Elevator Plans" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Blueprint. Includes: "Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co., Jamestown N.Y." "Type of Elevator: Simplex Collective Control." Includes "Erection Dept." stamp. Includes "Sullivan-McKeegan Co. Inc. Buffalo No. 109 Tracing Paper 9-46-1M." 25.25 x 33 inches. 1947 May 10

80. Elevator No.1, Ponce de Leon Hotel" Door Replacement. Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Notes indicate type of elevator is Simplex Collective Control. Sheet number 4. Stamped "Erection Department." 1947-04-24 (drawn on), 1947-05-10 (finished on). 33 x 25.5. 1947

81. "Section AA for Feralun Sill and Section AA for Bronzalun Sill, Ponce de Leon Hotel" Door Replacement. Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Sheet number 201. Stamped "Erection Department." 21.5 x 17 inches. 1947 June 13

82. "Section AA for Feralun Sill and Section AA for Bronzalun Sill, Ponce de Leon Hotel" Door Replacement. Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Sheet number 202. Stamped "Erection Department." 21.5 x 17 inches. 1947 June 13

83. "Ponce de Leon Hotel" Elevator Door Replacement. Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Notes material to be used is feralun. Sheet number 204. Stamped "Erection Department." 32.5 x 16.75 inches. 1947 June 1

84. "Ponce de Leon Hotel, View of Shaft Side, Hanger Data". Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Noted "for units detailed on sht 1." Sheet number HD1. Stamped "Erection Department." 8.5 x 11 inches. 1947 May 13

85. "Ponce de Leon Hotel, View of Shaft Side, Hanger Data". Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Noted "for units detailed on sht 2." Sheet number HD2. Stamped "Erection Department." 8.5 x 11 inches. 1947 May 13

86. "Ponce de Leon Hotel, View of Shaft Side, Hanger Data". Blueprint. Dahlstrom Metallic Door Co. Noted "for units detailed on sht 3." Sheet number HD3. Stamped "Erection Department." 8.5 x 11 inches. 1947 May 13

87. "Additions and Repairs to Billiards Room and Gay Nineties Bar" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Diazotype. Includes: "E.B. Meade and Sons Building Contractors." Also includes pencil and colored pencil (yellow and red) notations. 18.25 x 36.5 inches. Circa 1955

88. "Additions and Repairs to Billiards Room and Gay Nineties Bar, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Diazotype on paper. Includes pencil notations. E.B. Meade and Sons Building Contractors. 36.5 x 19 inches. Circa 1955

89. "Receipt from E.B. Meade and Sons Building Contractors for Additions and Alteration to Billiard Room and Gay Nineties Bar, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Receipt is itemized. 8.5 x 14 inches. 1955 May 25

90. "South End of East Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon" - Elevation of Fire Escapes #1 and #4 (reversed). Blueprint. Drawn by E.A. Ehmann. 20 x 24 inches. 1915 October 4

91. "North End of East Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine" - Elevation of Fire Escape #2 and #3 (reversed). Blueprint. Drawn by E.A. Ehmann. 20 x 24 inches. 1915 October 5

92. First Floor Plan Showing Fire Escapes (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). 10 x 14 inches. Not dated

93. Second Floor Plan Showing Fire Escapes (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). 10 x 14 inches. Not dated

94. "Ponce de Leon Bath Renovation 1940". Blueprint. Includes: Red pencil notation, black ink notation. "No Building Permit Required From State Hotel Commission" stamp, with date: 7/26/1940 in the stamp. Labeled: "Revised July 1940." 18 x 29.75 inches. 1940 July

95. "Ponce de Leon Bath Renovation 1940". Blueprint. Includes: Red pencil notation, black ink notation. "No Building Permit Required From State Hotel Commission" stamp, with date: 7/26/1940 in the stamp. Labeled: "Revised July 1940." 18 x 29.75 inches. 1940 July

96. "Ponce de Leon Bath Renovation 1940". Blueprint. Architect: Jefferson D. Powell (supervising). Includes red pencil notations. Includes a "no building permit required from state hotel commission" stamp signed by Jefferson D. Powell, supervising architect, Northeast District on 7/26/1940. The following items are checked: general repairs, plumbing installation and fixtures, electrical installation and fixtures, interior remodeling, and painting-decorating. Revised on July 9, 1940. 18 x 31 inches. 1940 July

97. "Ponce de Leon Bath Renovation 1941". Blueprint. 24 x 26.5 inches. 1941

98. "Plot Plan and Plan Connections Above Alarm Valve, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes job number 20-324 and pencil notations on reverse that say "Ponce Hotel sprinkler system". Scale for plot plan is 1 inch=50 feet. Scale for plan connections above alarm valve is 1/4 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 9-22-1934 and drawn by J.T.F. on 9-29-1934. Noted as sheet number 1. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 September

99. "Basement Plan, West Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark pipe green." Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (198). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by W.E.P. on 8-31-1934. Noted as sheet number 2. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 August

100. "West Wing, First Story, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions "no paint." Includes piping schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (153). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by G.B.T. on 8-30-1934. Noted as sheet number 3. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 August

101. "Second Floor, West Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark piping with red paint." Includes piping schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (157). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by B.F.Y. on 8-30-1934. Noted as sheet number 4. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 August

102. "Third Floor, West Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark piping with white paint." Includes piping schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (155). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by B.F.Y. on 8-30-1934. Noted as sheet number 5. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 August

103. "West Wing, Fourth Story Plan and Attic, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark pipe yellow" on fourth story and "mark pipe blue" in attic. Includes piping schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (271). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by G.B.T. on 8-30-1934. Noted as sheet number 6. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 August

104. "Basement Plan, East Wing Basement, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark pipe green." Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (195). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by W.E.P. on 9-7-1934. Noted as sheet number 7. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 September

105. "First Story Plan, East Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions not to mark pipe with paint. Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, number of sprinklers on sheet (154), and red pencil notations. Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by B.F.Y. on 9-7-1934. Noted as sheet number 8. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 September

106. "Second Floor Plan, East Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark pipe red." Includes piping schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (161). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by B.F.Y. on 9-10-1934. Noted as sheet number 9. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 September

107. "Third Floor, East Wing, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark piping with white paint."Includes piping schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (149). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 8-7-1934 and drawn by B.F.Y. on 9-15-1934. Noted as sheet number 10. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 September

108. "East Wing - Fourth Story and Attic, Florida East Coast Hotel Co., Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine". Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes pencil notation "sprinklers" on reverse. Includes "B-B" cross section - east wing. Noted as sheet number 11. 26 x 23.75 inches. 1934

109. "Basement Center Section, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark pipe green." Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, number of sprinklers on sheet (300), and pencil notations on reverse that say "Ponce Sprinkler System." Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. and drawn by R.L.M. Noted as sheet number 12. 41.75 x 29.75 inches. 1934

110. "First Story Center Section No Pipe Marks, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes pipe installation schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (150). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed and drawn by J.T.F. Noted as sheet number 13. 41.75 x 30 inches. 1934 October

111. "Second Floor Center Section, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes elevation of second floor. Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (246). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed and drawn by J.T.F. Noted as sheet number 14. 41.75 x 30 inches. 1934 September

112. "Third Floor, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes elevation showing corrections of riser. Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (300). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. on 9-22-1934 and drawn by B.F.Y. on 10-10-1934. Noted as sheet number 15. 41.75 x 30.5 inches. 1934 October

113. "Fourth Story and Attic Center Section Ponce de Leon Hotel" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark piping with yellow paint" on fourth story and "mark pipe with red and blue paint" in dead space between fourth and fifth story. Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, number of sprinklers on sheet (443), and pen notations on reverse that say "sprinkler." Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed by J.T.F. and drawn by R.L.M. Noted as sheet number 16. 41.75 x 30 inches. 1934

114. "Fifth Story and Fifth Story Dome and Attic, Center Section, Ponce de Leon Hotel" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes instructions to "mark pipe blue" on the fifth story and "mark pipe red and white" on the fifth story dome and attic. Includes piping schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet (166). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed and drawn by J.T.F. Noted as sheet number 17. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 October

115. "Attic Over Dining Room, Hotel Ponce de Leon" Sprinkler Installation. Blueprint. "Automatic" Sprinkler Corp. of America Engineering Department. Includes pipe schedule, job number 20-324, and number of sprinklers on sheet 9209). Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. Surveyed and drawn by J.T.F. Noted as sheet number 19. 36 x 24 inches. 1934 October

116. "Full Size Detail of Terracotta Baluster for Ponce de Leon Hotel". Pencil drawing on paper. Initialed by C. and H. 22 x 43 inches. Not dated

117A-C. "Full Size Detail of Terracotta Baluster for Ponce de Leon Hotel". Blueprint. Initialed by C. and H. 21.5 x 42.5 inches. Three copies. Not dated

118A-B. "Balusters for Ponce de Leon Hotel, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Labeled "Order EP-5227, Atlanta Terra Cotta Company, East Point, GA." Two copies. 1949 October 28

119A-B. "Plan and Elevation of 6"x9" Ammonia Compressor With Oil Separator and 9"x8" Engine". Blueprint. Includes black ink notations and pencil notations on the back. Includes, "Remington Machine Co, Wilmington Delaware, USA." Scale is 1.5 inch=1 foot. 24x23 inches. Two copies. 1908 June 24

120A-B. "Double Pipe Ammonia Condenser, Elevation Plan" Ponce de Leon Hotel?. Blueprint. Remington Machine Co. Includes black pen notations. Scale is 1.5 inch=1 foot. 29.5 x 13 inches. Two copies. 1914 April 13

121A-B. "Brine Tank and Coils, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Remington Machine Co. Scale is 1 inch=1 foot. 22.5 x 20.5 inches. Two copies. 1922 August 3

122A-B. "Ammonia Receiver and Valves" Ponce de Leon Hotel?. Blueprint. Remington Machine Co. Scale is 1.5 inch=1 foot. 23.5 x 8 inches. Two copies. 1922 August 16

123. "Brine Piping and Ref Boxes, Elevation, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Florida East Coast Hotel Co., Construction and Maintenance Department. Scale is 1/8 inch=1 foot. 30.5 x 20.25 inches. 1922 May

124. "Coils for Refrigerators in Basement of Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Florida East Coast Hotel Co., Construction and Maintenance Department. Includes pencil notations on reverse that say "Ponce Refrigeration 1922." Noted on front that size of supplies and returns changed---destroy all previous prints." Scale is 1/4 inch=1 foot. Noted as Drawing No. PL-4-22-2. 30.25 x 24 inches. 1922 April

125. "Coils for Refrigerators in Basement of Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Florida East Coast Hotel Co., Construction and Maintenance Department. Scale is 1/4 inch=1 foot. Noted as Drawing No. PL-4-22-2. 30.25 x 24 inches. 1922 April

126. "Plan of Kitchen Second Floor Showing New Locations of Refrigerators, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. 16 x 25 inches. 1922 June 24

127. "Plan of Kitchen First Floor Showing New Location of Refrigerators, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Scale is 1/3 inch = 1 foot. 27.5 x 15.5 inches. 1922 June

128. "Ponce de Leon Fuel Oil Installation. Pumps - Tank and Piping Layout". Blueprint. Includes "Florida East Coast Hotel Co. Construction and Maintenance Dept. Palm Beach FLA" stamp. Labeled drawing no. "PL.8-30-1" Includes red pencil notation and pressure sensitive tape on reverse. Scale is 1/4" =1 foot. 17 x 40 inches. 1930 August 27

129. "Full Size Section, Oak Grill-Office for Hotel Ponce de Leon". Pencil drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. 60 x 41 inches. 1909 July

130. "Oak Wainscoting, Office, Ponce de Leon Hotel". Pencil drawing on paper. Architect: McGuire & McDonald. 42.5 x 49 inches. 1909 July

131A-B. Plan for Grill, Hotel Ponce de Leon. Pencil drawing on paper. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Includes elevation. In two pieces. 1909 July

132. "Full size elevation and section, oak grill, for office, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. 49 x 61 inches. 1909 July

133. "Full Size Section of Oak Grill to the Office, Ponce de Leon Hotel, St Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. This plan is a fragment of a larger blueprint. 56 x 18 inches. 1909 July

134. "Oak Wainscoting for Office, Ponce de Leon Hotel". Blueprint. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Includes stamp that says, "Return to John W. Ingle, Architect, 5th Ave, New York." Full size detail of Section A-B and Section C-D. 47.5 x 36 inches. 1909 July

135. Pencil drawing on paper of Doors. Scale is 3/4 inch = 1 foot. 17.5 x 16 inches. Not dated

136. Pencil drawing on paper of Doors. Scale is 3/4 inch = 1 foot. Includes added color. 18.5 x 17.75 inches. Not dated

137. Pencil drawing on paper of windows for rooms 234 and 236. 26 x 19.75 inches. Not dated

138. "300 Floor Window, Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Scale 1.5 inches = 1 foot. 29 x 19 inches. Not dated

139. "Windows in N.E. Card Room and S.E. Café Lounge, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Includes yellow pencil notations. 14.75 x 17.75 inches. Not dated

140. "100 Floor Rotunda, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Pencil drawing on trace paper. Includes applied color. Scale is 1/4"=1 foot. 25 x 25 inches. Not dated

141A-H. "100 Floor Rotunda, Hotel Ponce de Leon". Blueprint. Scale is 1/4 inch=1 foot. 27 x 25.5 inches. Eight copies. Not dated

142A-B. "Plan of '100' Floor Rotunda, Ponce de Leon Hotel". Blueprint. 1934-08-31. 39 x 36.5 inches. Two copies. Not dated

143. "Diagrame of 300 Rotunda," Hotel Ponce de Leon. Ink drawing on silk. 15.5 x 17 inches. Circa 1919

144A-C. "Diagrame of 300 Rotunda" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Blueprint. 15 x 16 inches. Three copies. 1919 April 23

145. "Hotel Ponce de Leon Cascade". Diazotype. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes side elevation and section and front elevation. Includes added color and pencil notations. Labeled as "No. 622." Includes Carrère & Hastings stamp. 57 x 27.5 inches. Not dated

146. "Property Map Hotel Ponce de Leon and Surroundings, St. Augustine, Fla". Ink drawing on silk. Surveyor: A.L. Knowlton, County Surveyor. Includes key that explains what each type of line in the drawing means. Includes added color. Scale is 1 inch = 100 feet. 45 x 36.5 inches. 1889 June 18

147. "Property Map, Hotel Ponce de Leon and Surroundings, St. Augustine, Fla". Blueprint. Includes added red pencil lines. Scale is 100 feet = 1 inch. 47 x 35 inches. 1889

148. Pencil drawing of Hotel Ponce de Leon with surrounding streets. Pencil drawing on paper. 31 x 21.5 inches. Not dated

149. "Sketch Showing Proposed Parking Areas A and B", Hotel Ponce de Leon. Pencil drawing on paper. Sketch shows Valencia Street, Cordova Street and dining room. Drawing by Fox. Scale: 1 inch=20 feet. 24 x 41 inches. 1953 June

150. "Studio Bldg, Boiler Room, Kitchen Bldg, Dining Room, Center Section, East and West Wing" Ponce de Leon Hotel. Pencil drawing on paper. 12 x 18 inches. Not dated

151. Pencil drawing on paper of the Ponce de Leon Hotel, Fourth Floor?. Pencil drawing on paper. 26 x 16.5 inches. Not dated

152A-B. "Plan of Cover for Slathouse, Florida East Coast Hotel Co." (for Ponce de Leon Hotel). Blueprint. Includes: "Plan," "Section," "West Elevation." Scale is 1/4" = 1 foot. 17.5 x 33 inches. Two copies. 1952 March 1

153. "Barber Shop," Hotel Ponce de Leon. Ink drawing on cloth. Fragment of floor plan showing barber shop. 12.75 x 7.75 inches. Not dated

154. "Reading Room, Ponce de Leon Hotel". Pencil drawing on paper. Includes added blue color. Scale is 1/2 inch=1 foot. 18.75 x 13.5 inches. Not dated

155. "Proposed Swimming Pool for Hotel Ponce De Leon, St. Augustine, Fla, General Layout and Gen. Details". Diazotype. Sheet 1 of 4. Norman C. Schmid and Assoc. Engineers. 28 x 42 inches. 1952

156. "Proposed Swimming Pool for Hotel Ponce De Leon, St. Augustine, Fla, Mechanical and Plumbing Details". Diazotype. Sheet 2 of 4. Norman C. Schmid and Assoc. Engineers. 28 x 42 inches. 1952

157. "Proposed Swimming Pool for Hotel Ponce De Leon, St. Augustine, Fla, Concrete and Reinforcing Details". Diazotype. Sheet 3 of 4. Norman C. Schmid and Assoc. Engineers. 28 x 42 inches. 1952

158. "Proposed Swimming Pool for Hotel Ponce De Leon, St. Augustine, Fla, Details of Locker Rooms... and Water Heater". Diazotype. Sheet 4 of 4. Norman C. Schmid and Assoc. Engineers. 28 x 42 inches. 1952

159A-B. Booklet: "Technical Specifications for Construction of a Swimming Pool for the Ponce De Leon Hotel". 6 pages, stapled. Norman C. Schmid and Associates, Engineers, Palm Beach. 8.5 x 11 inches. Two copies. Circa 1952

160. "Top view showing soffit where it connects with wall of arch" (for Ponce de Leon Hotel?). Pencil drawing on paper. 33 x 19.25 inches. Not dated

161. "Full size detail of cap and soffit through section AA". Blueprint. Labeled "Top view." 36.5 x 35.25 inches. Not dated

162. "Full size detail of cap and soffit through section AA". Pencil drawing on paper. Labeled "Top view." 31.5 x 33.75 inches. Not dated

163. "Full Size Detail of Terra Cotta Cop______, Hotel Ponce de Leon, St. Augustine, Fla". Pencil drawing on paper. 36 x 18 inches. Not dated

164. Drawing of column, Top view (for Ponce de Leon Hotel?). Pencil drawing on paper. 28 x 34.5 inches. Not dated

165. Drawing of columns (for Ponce de Leon Hotel?). Pencil drawing on paper. 27 x 31 inches. Not dated

166. Flyer for the "Hotel Ponce de Leon-South and East Fronts" with floor plans on reverse. Printed ink on paper. Includes floor plans for the office floor, 1st floor, 2nd floor, and 3rd floor on reverse. 20 x 15.75 inches. 26 copies. Not dated

167. "Plans of Hotel Ponce de Leon, Cascade and M E Church, St. Augustine, Fla". Black and white ink wash on paper. Architects: Carrère & Hastings. Scale is 1/16 inch = 1 foot. 19 x 24 inches. 1885-1887

168. Sign: "West Wing Annex, Ponce de Leon Hotel, St. Augustine, Fla 1942-43". Printed on card stock. Five fragments. 21.5 x 27 inches. Not dated


Plans for Sewers on the Property of Henry Flagler


169. "Index to Sewer Plans, Property of H.M. Flagler, St. Augustine, Fla". Ink drawing on silk. 22 x 24 inches. 1897 November

170. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No.1" and "Sheet No. 2." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains what specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24 inches. Not dated

171. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled 'Sheet No. 4." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains what specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24 inches. Not dated

172. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No. 5." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains that specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24.5 inches. Not dated

173A-B. "Storm Sewers and Basins, Soil Sewers, Hydrants, Fresh Water Mains". Positive Blueprint. Labeled "Sheet No. 5." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Flagler Memorial Presbyterian Church visible in upper right corner. 25.5 x 24 inches. Two copies. Not dated

174. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No. 6." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains that specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24.5 inches. Not dated

175. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No. 7." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains that specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24.5 inches. Not dated

176. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No. 8." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains that specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24.5 inches. Not dated

177. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No. 9." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains that specific types of lines mean. 22.5 x 24.5 inches. Not dated

178. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No. 10." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains that specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24.5 inches. Not dated

179. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet No. 11." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains that specific types of lines mean. 24.25 x 43.25 inches. Not dated

180. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet A." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Includes key that explains what specific types of lines mean. 21.75 x 24 inches. Not dated

181. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. Labeled "Sheet B." Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. Ink notations say, "From the flush tank at Cordova Hotel the Sewer on King Street has a fall of 6 inches per one hundred feet." Includes key that explains what specific types of lines mean. 21.5 x 24 inches. Not dated

182. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. 12.75 x 16.75 inches. Not dated

183. Drawing of sewer plans. Ink drawing on silk. 5.25 x 12 inches. Not dated

184. "Drawing of Block 'G' Showing Pipes". Ink drawing on silk. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Scale is 1 inch = 40 feet. Includes key that explains what each type of line means. 26 x 20.5 inches. 1913 May 7

185. "Drawing of Block 'G' Showing Pipes". Blueprint. Scale is 1 inch = 40 feet. Model Land Co.'s Subdivision. 24 x 22 inches. 1913 May 7

186. "Property Plans Showing Sewer Lines 1913". Pencil drawing on paper. 27 x 22.5 inches. 1913

187. "Drawing Showing proposed King Street Sewer, 8"+6'". Ink drawing on paper. Scale is 1 inch = 100 feet. 24 x 14.25 inches. 1912 July 4

188. "Location of Sewer Pipes and Connections on Cathedral and Cordova Streets, St. Augustine, Fla". Ink drawing on silk. Scale is 1 inch = 25 feet. 26.5 x 13 inches. 1909 February 18

189. "Proposed Sewer Line". Pencil drawing on paper. Scale is 1 inch = 100 feet. Total length of sewer line is 1980 feet. 25.5 x 10 inches. 1914 February 13

190. "Proposed sewer connection for hospital". Pencil drawing on paper. Scale is 1 inch = 50 feet. 13.5 x 7.5 inches. Not dated

191. "Sewer Plan of [Valve?] Block, St. Augustine". Ink drawing on silk. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Insect damage. 1/8 inch scale. 24 x 27 inches. 1908 April

192. Sewer Plan of Cordova Hotel. Ink on silk. Architects: McGuire & McDonald. Stained, and left side insect damaged. Dated on verso. Scale 1 inch = 10 feet. 30 x 27 inches. 1908 April


Plans for Hotel Ponce de Leon as converted for Coast Guard use (United States Coast Guard Training Station)


193. "Boatswain and paint Locker Annex, Ponce de Leon Hotel, St. Augustine, Fla," Part of United States Coast Guard Training Station. Ink drawing on paper. Architect: K.D. Kramb. Includes red pen notations. Includes individual plans of Pier No. 1, Pier No. 2, Pier No. 3, and Pier No. 4. Scale varies by individual plan. The scale of Pier No. 1 is ½ inch = 1 foot. The scale of Pier No. 2 is 3/8 inch = 1 foot. The scale of Pier No. 3 is 3/8 inch = 1 foot. The scale of Pier No. 4 is ½ inch = 1 foot. Has hole punches on left side of drawing. 26 x 20 inches. 1943 March 12

194. "Commissary Store Room, Ponce de Leon Hotel, St. Augustine, Fla," Part of United States Coast Guard Training Station. Ink drawing on paper. Architect: K.D. Kramb. Scale is 1/2 inch = 1 foot. Includes red pen lines that denote new Coast Guard construction. Has hole punches on the left side of drawing. 22.75 x 12 inches. 1943 March 8

195. "Commissary Store Room, U.S.C.G. Training Station, Ponce de Leon Hotel, St. Augustine, Fla". Ink drawing on paper. Architect: K.D. Kramb. Scale is 3/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes red pen notations. Has hole punches on the left side of drawing. 22.5 x 15.5 inches. 1943 March 15

196. "Stantion - Engine Room, Ponce de Leon Hotel, St. Augustine, Fla," Part of United States Coast Guard Training Station. Ink drawing on paper. Architect: K.D. Kramb. Scale is 1 inch = 1 foot. Has hole punches on the left side of drawing. 13.5 x 12.5 inches. 1943 March 8

197. "United States Coast Guard Training Station, St. Augustine, Fla, First Deck Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon as Converted for Coast Guard Use". Blueprint. Approximate scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Labeled "Drawing No. 2 of 5." Notated that this drawing is from the Florida East Coast Hotel Co. Drawing of 1924. Includes legend that tells what abbreviations mean. 30 x 22 inches. 1944 July 31

198. "United States Coast Guard Training Station, St. Augustine, Fla, Second Deck Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon as Converted for Coast Guard Use". Blueprint. Approximate scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Labeled "Drawing No. 3 of 5." Notated that this drawing is from the Florida East Coast Hotel Co. Drawing of 1924. Includes legend that tells what abbreviations mean. 30 x 22 inches. 1944 August 7

199. "United States Coast Guard Training Station, St. Augustine, Fla, Third Deck Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon as Converted for Coast Guard Use". Blueprint. Approximate scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Labeled "Drawing No. 4 of 5." Notated that this drawing is from the Florida East Coast Hotel Co. Drawing of 1924. Includes legend that tells what abbreviations mean. 30 x 22 inches. 1944 August 14

200. "United States Coast Guard Training Station, St. Augustine, Fla, Fourth Deck Plan, Hotel Ponce de Leon as Converted for Coast Guard Use". Blueprint. Approximate scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Labeled "Drawing No. 5 of 5." Notated that this drawing is from the Florida East Coast Hotel Co. Drawing of 1924. Includes legend that tells what abbreviations mean. 30 x 22 inches. 1944 August 16


Architectural Drawings of the Hotel Alcazar, St. Augustine


201. "First Floor Plan, Hotel Alcazar, Florida East Coast Hotel Company, St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes legend that tells what abbreviations stand for. 64 x 34 inches. 1924

202. "Second Floor Plan, Hotel Alcazar, Florida East Coast Hotel Company, St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes legend that tells what abbreviations stand for. 61 x 32.5 inches. 1924

203. "Third Floor Plan, Hotel Alcazar, Florida East Coast Hotel Company, St. Augustine, Fla, Flagler System". Blueprint. Scale is 1/8 inch = 1 foot. Includes legend that tells what abbreviations stand for. 59 x 32 inches. 1924

204. "South Wall of SE Corner, Hotel Alcazar, St. Augustine, Fla - Fire Escape #2". Blueprint. Elevation of Fire escape #2. Drawn by E.A. Ehmann. 20 x 24 inches. 1915 October 7


Miscellaneous Drawings and Maps Related to the Properties of Henry Flagler and the Florida East Coast Hotel Company (including the Hotel Ponce de Leon)


205. "General Map of F.E.C. [Florida East Coast] Hotel Property, Palm Beach, FL". Blueprint. Includes scale bar. Has a legend that tells what each line on the map means. Map traced by H.C. Fugate Eng Co. Map has two layers in some parts. The top layer has the newest plans and shows the Royal Poinciana, Whitehall, Golf Course, Baseball Park, Casino, Hotel Breakers, and Ocean. The bottom layer is marked "VOID" in yellow pencil and shows the old plans for the Casino and the Breakers. 108 x 49.5 inches (rolled). Not dated

206. Map "Copied from Map of Official Survey of 1834-1835 by Benj and J.B. Clements". Blueprint. EB Thomson, C.E. Scale is 1 inch = 160 feet. 75 x 29.5 inches. Not dated

207. "Plat of Portion of Joseph S. Sanchez Grant, Townships 6 and 7 South, Ranges 29 and 30 East, St. Johns County, Florida, Lands Purchased by F.E.C. [Florida East Coast] Hotel Co." Diazotype. Scale is 1 inch = 200 feet. Includes red pen notations. 30.5 x 23.25 inches. 1915 July

208. "Map to Show Location of Proposed Bulkhead Lines in North River". Diazotype. Robert M. Angas and Associates Consulting Civil Engineers and Surveyors. Scale is 1 inch = 400 feet. Map of "unsurveyed sections 30, 31, and 32, Township 6 South, Range 30 East, St. Johns County, Florida." "File No. 718-6." 25.5 x 35.25 inches. 1963 June 21

209. "Additional Offices for Medical Clinic in Cordova Bldg". Blueprint. Includes, "Detail of New Partitions," "Detail of Fan Duct." Includes yellow pencil notations. Includes notation on blueprint for "C.G. Henninger, Architect." 17.5 x 28 inches. Not dated

210. "Situation in Block J, Official Map of St. Augustine, Fla." Diazotype. Includes pen notations that surround lots 11, 10 and 4. Original dated Jan 14, 1905. Tracing by A.A. Dooley on Nov. 5, 1909. Scale is 1 inch=50 feet. 16.75 x 12.5 inches. 1905 January 14

211. "Entrance Gates for M.E. Church" (Methodist Episcopal Church). Diazotype. Labeled: "Plan No. 265." Includes, "Elevation of Gates," "Side Elevation of Gates," "Plan of Roof" Includes black ink notations that state: "Stop work above this point-until Mr. Carrère come down-as Mr. Flagler is not yet decided about roof." Scale is 1/2 inch = 1 foot. 19 x 30 inches. Not dated

212. Detail drawing of crown molding. Pencil on paper. 9.5 x 19.5 inches. Not dated

213. Erection Wiring Instructions and Material for Hoistway, Ponce de Leon Hotel. Yonkers Works: Form 2444B. 17.5 x 11 inches. 1947

214. Movable walls on wheels. Pencil drawing on paper. Scale is 1.5 = 1 foot. 16 x 30.5 inches. Not dated

215. Paper Pounce Pattern for Wall Design. Pencil drawing on paper. Has holes in shape of a pattern. 69 x 16.5 inches. Not dated

216. Result of Pouncing (Wall Design). Pencil drawing on paper. Includes notation that says "Out Side." 70 x 16 inches. Not dated

217. Unidentified drawing showing floor plan of Hotel Ponce de Leon with notations regarding lead cables and risers. Pencil drawing on tissue. Includes several notations and calculations, including wages for an electrician and helper. Note in center; "Total 900 ft. 5 pc lead encased. #18." 27 x 34 inches. Not dated


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Alcazar Hotel (Saint Augustine, Fla.)
Architecture -- Florida -- History -- 19th century
Architecture -- Florida -- History -- 20th century
Flagler, Henry Morrison, 1830-1913
Hotel Cordova (Saint Augustine, Fla.)
Hotel Ponce de Leon (Saint Augustine, Fla.)
Hotels -- Florida
McGuire & McDonald, architects
Resort architecture -- Florida



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page