Skip to Search



A Guide to the John Heney Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
March 2005


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Heney, John, 1902-1975
Title: John Heney Papers
Dates: 1927-1969
Abstract: Correspondence regarding band music in Florida by band director/drummer John Heney.
Extent: 4 Linear feet. 10 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 55
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Bandmaster and musician. Born in 1902 and graduated from Stetson University, he served as Bandmaster in the DeLand Public Schools for over thirty years. He was the last remaining head of the drum section of the famous Sousa Band. Before joining the Sousa Band he played with other bands and the Royal Scotch Highlanders. He retired as bandmaster in 1967 and died in 1975.


Scope and Content

Correspondence, band programs, and articles created or collected by John Heney between 1927 and 1969. The majority of the files pertain to DeLand High School Band.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

Literary rights remain with Mrs. John J. Heney.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], John Heney Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Band Material


Box
1 St. Augustine High School Contest Rating Sheet. 1927
1 St. Augustine High School Band Program. 1931
1 St. Augustine High School Band Association Minutes. 1932
1 DeLand High School Band. 1938
1 Lenoir High School Band. 1938
1 Stetson University Band. 1938
1 DeLand High School Band. 1939
1 DeLand High School Band. 1940
1 Stetson University Band. 1940
1 Stetson University Band. 1941
1 Stetson University Band. 1942
1 Miscellaneous Bands. 1942
1 Norfolk Navy Yard Band. 1943
1 Miscellaneous Band Programs. 1943
1 Norfolk Navy Yard Band. 1944
1 DeLand High School Band. 1945
1 DeLand High School Band. 1946
1 DeLand High School Band. 1947
1 DeLand High School Band. 1948
1 DeLand High School Band. 1949
1 Stetson University Band. 1949
1 DeLand High School Band. 1950
1 DeLand High School Band. 1951
1 DeLand High School Band. 1952
1 DeLand High School Band. 1953
1 DeLand High School Band. 1954
1 DeLand High School Band - Minutes. 1955
1 DeLand High School Band - Request for Appearance. 1955
1 DeLand High School Band - Treasurer's Report. 1955
2 DeLand High School Band - Contests. 1956
2 DeLand High School Band - Minutes. 1956
2 DeLand High School Band - Request for Appearance. 1956
2 DeLand High School Band - Treasurer's Report. 1956
2 DeLand High School Band - Contests. 1957
2 DeLand High School Band - Minutes. 1957
2 DeLand High School Band - Request for Appearance. 1957
2 DeLand High School Band - Contests. 1958
2 DeLand High School Band - Minutes. 1958
2 DeLand High School Band - Request for Appearance. 1958
2 DeLand High School Band - Treasurer's Report. 1958
2 DeLand High School Band - Contests. 1959
2 DeLand High School Band - Minutes. 1959
2 DeLand High School Band - Request for Appearance. 1959
2 DeLand High School Band - Treasurer's Report. 1959
2 DeLand High School Band - Minutes. 1960
2 DeLand High School Band - Request for Appearance. 1960
2 DeLand High School Band - Treasurer's Report. 1960


Correspondence


Box
3 Correspondence. 1932
3 Correspondence. 1933
3 Correspondence. 1935
3 Correspondence. 1936
3 Correspondence. 1937
3 Correspondence - A-L. 1938
3 Correspondence - M-Z. 1938
3 Correspondence - A-E. 1939
3 Correspondence - F-L. 1939
3 Correspondence - M-S. 1939
3 Correspondence - T-Z. 1939
3 Correspondence - A-B. 1940
3 Correspondence - C-D. 1940
3 Correspondence - E-F. 1940
3 Correspondence - G-H. 1940
3 Correspondence - I-K. 1940
3 Correspondence - L-M. 1940
3 Correspondence - N-P. 1940
4 Correspondence - R-S. 1940
4 Correspondence - T-Z. 1940
4 Correspondence - Postcards. 1940
4 Correspondence - A-B. 1941
4 Correspondence - C. 1941
4 Correspondence - D. 1941
4 Correspondence - E-F. 1941
4 Correspondence - G. 1941
4 Correspondence - H-I. 1941
4 Correspondence - J-L. 1941
4 Correspondence - M-N. 1941
5 Correspondence - O-P. 1941
5 Correspondence - Q-R. 1941
5 Correspondence - S. 1941
5 Correspondence - T-V. 1941
5 Correspondence - W-Z. 1941
5 Correspondence - Postcards. 1941
5 Correspondence - A. 1942
5 Correspondence - B. 1942
5 Correspondence - C. 1942
5 Correspondence - D-E. 1942
5 Correspondence - F-G. 1942
5 Correspondence - H. 1942
6 Correspondence - I-K. 1942
6 Correspondence - L. 1942
6 Correspondence - M. 1942
6 Correspondence - N-O. 1942
6 Correspondence - P-R. 1942
6 Correspondence - S. 1942
6 Correspondence - S. 1942
6 Correspondence - T. 1942
6 Correspondence - U-Z. 1942
6 Correspondence - Postcards. 1942
6 Correspondence - Unidentified. 1942
7 Correspondence - A-D. 1944
7 Correspondence - E-H. 1944
7 Correspondence - I-L. 1944
7 Correspondence - M-R. 1944
7 Correspondence - S. 1944
7 Correspondence - T-Z. 1944
7 Correspondence. 1945
7 Correspondence. 1946
7 Correspondence. 1947
7 Correspondence. 1948
7 Correspondence. 1949
7 Correspondence. 1950
7 Correspondence. 1951
7 Correspondence. 1952
7 Correspondence. 1953
7 Correspondence. 1954
7 Correspondence. 1955
8 Correspondence. 1956
8 Correspondence. 1957
8 Correspondence. 1958
8 Correspondence. 1959
8 Correspondence. 1960
8 Correspondence - A-L. 1961
8 Correspondence - M-Z. 1961
8 Correspondence - A-L. 1962
8 Correspondence - M-Z. 1962
8 Correspondence - A-F. 1963
8 Correspondence - G-L. 1963
8 Correspondence - M-Z. 1963
8 Correspondence - A-L. 1964
8 Correspondence - M-Q. 1964
8 Correspondence - R-Z. 1964
8 Correspondence - A-H. 1965
8 Correspondence - I-R. 1965
8 Correspondence - S-Z. 1965
9 Correspondence. 1966
9 Correspondence - A-E. 1967
9 Correspondence - F-L. 1967
9 Correspondence - M-O. 1967
9 Correspondence - P-Z. 1967
9 Correspondence - A-E. 1968
9 Correspondence - F-L. 1968
9 Correspondence - M-S. 1968
9 Correspondence - T-Z. 1968
9 Correspondence - A-C. 1969
9 Correspondence - Cudahay. 1969
9 Correspondence - D-H. 1969
9 Correspondence - I-L. 1969
9 Correspondence - M-R. 1969
9 Correspondence - S-T. 1969
9 Correspondence - U-Z. 1969


Miscellaneous


Box
10 Masonic Notice of Election to Receive Degree. 1927
10 Rolling Songs. 1927
10 Stetson transcript (John Heney). 1939
10 American National Red Cross Card (Jesse Heney). 1943
10 Application for Permanent Commission in U.S. Naval Reserve. 1943
10 Application for Texas State Certificate. 1943
10 Graduate Record Examination Results (John Heney). 1948
10 "All-American Directors Orchestra Opens Mid-West Clinic in Chicago Dec. 12," The School Musician, XXXIX,2, p. 79. 1967
10 Heney, John. "What's the Matter - Can't You Play Dixie?" The School Musician, XXXIX,4, p. 64-65. 1967
10 Heney, John. "FBA Builds Archeion," The Music Director, Sept., 1968, p. 12. 1968
10 Heney, John. "Through Babyhood, Youth and Maturity of NBA," The Music Director, Oct., 1968, p. 16. 1968
10 "Some SM Candid Shots of the 34th Annual ABA Convention" The School Musician, XXXIV,9, p. 77. 1968
10 Heney, John. "The Mallet Played Instruments are - 'Not for Driving a Chisel.'" The School Musician, XL,5, p. 62-63. 1969
10 Huron Valley Advisor, X, 37. 1969
10 Huron Valley Advisor, X, 43. 1969
10 Sousa Band Society News, October. 1969


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Band musicians.
Marching bands.
Music -- Instruction and study -- Florida.
Sousa, John Philip, 1854-1932.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page