Skip to Search



A Guide to the Marianne Hauser Papers

Finding aid created by Katherine Walters

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2007


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Hauser, Marianne.
Title: Marianne Hauser Papers
Dates: 1929-2005
Abstract: Edits, drafts, and manuscripts of Hauser’s novels, short stories, and journal articles. Also includes related correspondence and research, as well as personal correspondence and photos from several trips.
Extent: 8.25 linear feet. (14 boxes)
Identification: MS Group 230


Biographical/Historical Note

Marianne Hauser was born in Strasbourg, Alsace, on December 11, 1910. She graduated from the University of Berlin in 1931 and from Sorbonne in 1934. In 1937 Hauser moved to New York City, and she became a U.S. citizen in 1944. She was fluent in French, German, and English. She worked as a literary critic for the Saturday Review of Literature, the New Republic, the New York Times, the New York Herald Tribune, and the Sewanee Review. She also was a columnist for Swiss and French periodicals and newspapers, which allowed her to travel throughout North Africa, India, China, Japan, and Hawaii from 1931-1939. She taught at Queens College in New York City from 1966-1978 and at New York University in 1979.

She wrote several short stories that were published in various magazines, and put together a collection of her short stories titled A Lesson in Music (1964). Hauser also wrote several novels: Monique (1934), Shadow Play in India (1934), Dark Dominion (1947), The Choir Invisible (1958), Prince Ishmael (1963), The Talking Room (1976), The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley (1986), Me and My Mom (1993), and Shootout with Father (1998). Her last book was a children’s book dedicated to her granddaughter Nell Charley titled Little Buttercup, the Happiest Bear in the World (2003). The main themes in her fiction concerned shifting realities and turning the familiar strange.

She was married to orchestra conductor Frederic Kirchberger and lived with him in Kirksville, Missouri. They had a son named Michael. The two divorced and Hauser returned to New York City. Affectionately known to her friends as "bear," Hauser kept close relationships even while she traveled throughout the world. She died at age 93, in June 2006.


Scope and Content

The collection spans from 1933 to 2005, but many of the manuscripts and drafts are undated. Edited typescripts of her short stories and novels make up the majority of the collection. Reviews and correspondence are grouped with the relative works. In addition, there are published copies of The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley, Little Buttercup and her published short stories that appeared in Harper's Bazaar and Mademoiselle. Among the unpublished works are three plays in their entirety and several short stories.

Her personal correspondence mostly includes letters from other writers and is separated from her business correspondence. Hauser’s unfinished works, fragments, notes, and news clippings are grouped together. Most are basic outlines of story ideas and are untitled. There are also some character sketches. The news clippings appear to be mostly for story ideas, but some were saved because they were of general interest to Hauser.

An interesting aspect of the collection is Hauser’s travel photos. In the late 1930s she traveled as a journalist to North Africa, India, China, Japan, and Hawaii. Her photos and negatives, along with the articles she wrote (in German) are organized by location as much as possible. In the late 1960s she traveled to Mexico and the Yucatan, and those photos are also included.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Marianne Hauser Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Novels, Short Fiction, Drama, and Other Writings


Box 1

Autobiography- Rough Draft and "Discarded Pages of Last Draft" Sent from New York. 1987
Essay- Old Enough to Know Better, old version. 2002
Old Enough to Know Better. Circa 2002
Old Enough to Know Better - Notes on Being Old. Circa 2002
Prose- In Praise of Dlo Ega (old age).
Big Fish (Prince Ishmael) Complete Manuscript.
Big Fish (Prince Ishmael) Fragments/Corrections.
Prince Ishmael Book Jacket - Stein and Day Publishers.
Prince Ishmael- Correspondence about Renewing Copyright (Curtis Brown, Ltd.). 1991
Prince Ishmael Correspondence. 1964-1965, 1989
Darling of the Spirit World (Prince Ishmael) in Bazaar. December, 1952
Prince Ishmael- Foreign Interest. 1964-1965
Prince Ishmael- Fragments.
My Feathered Love (Prince Ishmael) in Bazaar. August, 1963
Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 1-100/ Prince Ishmael.
Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 101-200/ Prince Ishmael.
Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 201-300/ Prince Ishmael.
Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 301-400/ Prince Ishmael.
Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 401-430/ Prince Ishmael.
Prince Ishmael (The Foundling)- Preliminary Notes.
Prince Ishmael- Notes (in book Kalpar Haufer) German and English. 1957-1985
Prince Ishmael- Publishing Agreement (Sun and Moon Press). 1984
Reviews of Prince Ishmael (Previously Titled Big Fish). 1963-1964
Prince Ishmael- Transcript.
The Wounded Rose (Prince Ishmael) in Bazaar. March, 1960

Box 2

The Talking Room- Book Jacket (Fiction Collective, New York).
The Talking Room- Corrections.
The Talking Room- Correspondence. 1972-1976
The Crazy Flick (Princess)- Relates to The Talking Room.
The Talking Room- Cuts and Notes (Folder 1 of 2).
The Talking Room- Cuts and Notes (Folder 2 of 2).
The Talking Room- Draft.
The Talking Room- Excerpts.
The Talking Room- First Draft.
The Talking Room- Galleys.
The Talking Room- Galleys.
The Talking Room- Galleys.
The Talking Room- Notes/Ideas and Typescript.
The Talking Room- Reviews. 1974-1979

Box 3

Dark Dominion (Novel)- Reviews. 1946-1947
Dark Dominion (Novel)- Correspondence. 1946-1948
Dark Dominion (Novel)- Book Jacket.
Ashes: A Fragment from a Novel in the Making- Edited Manuscript (Folder 1 of 3), Published Title: The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley.
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley (Ashes)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 2 of 3).
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley (Ashes)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 3 of 3).
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Beginning Draft.
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Class Papers. 1989
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Correspondence. 1986
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Correspondence Concerning German Translation. 1989-1992
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- "First Attempt at Ashley".
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- German Reviews. 1992-1993
Manuscripts: Book Inserts (The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley).
Manuscripts: Correspondence (The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley). 1980-1981
The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Reviews. 1986-1987
Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 1 of 4).
Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 2 of 4).
Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 3 of 4).
Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 4 of 4).
Shootout with Father- Corrected Manuscript.
Shootout with Father- Correspondence. 2005
Shootout with Father- Edited Draft (Illinois State University). 2002
Shootout with Father- Reviews. 2002-2003

Box 4

Little Buttercup (Children's book) Published as: Little Buttercup, the Happiest Bear in the World.
Little Buttercup- Early Draft, not complete.
Little Buttercup- Early Version in Progress.
Little Buttercup- Old Version.
Little Buttercup- Original Version.
Little Buttercup- Original Version.
Little Buttercup- Revised Pages.
Little Buttercup- Proofs. Circa 2003
Little Buttercup- Photos for Book. Circa 2003
Little Buttercup, Two Published Copies. 2003
Me and My Mom- Correspondence.
Me and My Mom- Correspondence. 1993-1995
Me and My Mom- First Draft.
Me and My Mom- Manuscript. 1992
Me and My Mom- Notes and Research (Newsclippings). 1991
Me and My Mom- Reviews. 1993-1994
Me and My Mom- Rough Draft.
Me and My Mom- Rough Draft.
Me and My Mom- Rough Draft.
Me and My Mom- Rough Draft. 1995
Me and My Mom- Sociology Class Papers (Richard Voorhees). 1994

Box 5

The Cruel Brother in Mademoiselle. October, 1945
Allegro Moderato (A Lesson in Music), Published as A Lesson in Music in an Anthology of the Same Name.
A Lesson in Music- The Abduction- several drafts (also titled The Rescue and The Flight).
A Lesson in Music- "Allons Enfants"- Corrected Manuscript.
Allons Enfants in Bazaar. August, 1962
A Lesson in Music- "Allons Enfants"- Original Typescript.
A Lesson in Music- Book Jacket (University of Texas Press).
A Lesson in Music (Short Story Collection)- Correspondence. 1964
A Lesson in Music- Correspondence with Publishers. 1963-1964
A Lesson in Music- Correspondence with Publishers (Curtis and Texas). 1964
A Lesson in Music- Correspondence with University of Texas Press. 1963-1967
A Lesson in Music- Dreaming Poseidon- Edited Manuscript (Also Titled: Heaven 2, Pictures in an Exhibition).
A Lesson in Music- Dreaming Poseidon- Edited Manuscript (Also Titled: Heaven 2, Pictures in an Exhibition) Final Title: Dreaming Poseidon.
The Dreaming Poseidon in Bazaar. September, 1961
A Lesson in Music- Dreaming Poseidon, Outline/Notes.
A Lesson in Music- Drowning Poseidon- Fragments.
A Lesson in Music in Bazaar. May, 1946
A Lesson in Music- "The Island" (Kingdom Island).
My Friend the Greek (Play Based on "Sheep" a Short Story in a Lesson in Music- Edited Manuscript) (Folder 1 of 3).
My Friend the Greek (Play Based on "Sheep" a Short Story in a Lesson in Music- Edited Manuscript) (Folder 2 of 3).
My Friend the Greek (Play Based on "Sheep" a Short Story in a Lesson in Music- Edited Manuscript) (Folder 3 of 3).
A Lesson in Music- "One Last Drop for Poor Abu" Manuscript.
A Lesson in Music- One Last Drop for Poor Abu (Final Title) First Drafts- The Night the World Came to an End, Again.
A Lesson in Music (Short Story Collection)- Reviews. 1964
A Lesson in Music- "The Sheep" Manuscript.
The Sheep in Bazaar. May, 1945
A Lesson in Music- Synopses, Jacket Blurb, Analysis. 1963, 1975

Box 6

Alien but not Alienated- Typescript.
Anais Nin: Myth and Reality. 1968
Art Adventure in Yugoslavia in Clipper. July-August, 1965
Attachment in Greece- Notes and Manuscript. 1953
Birthday Party for a Dog- Edited Typescript.
Book Reviews by Hauser (New York Times, Tribune, New Republic). 1940-1944
Book Review in Sewanne Review, Spring 1946. 1946
A Commencement Speech Which Was Never Finished.
Clippings of Hauser's Work in German Newspapers (originally organized in scrapbooks). 1933-1939
Clippings of Hauser's Work in German Newspapers (originally organized in scrapbooks). 1934-1936
Clippings of Hauser's Work in German Newspapers (originally organized in scrapbooks). 1936-1937
Dad and His Dog- Notes and Typescript.
Dancing Through the Abstract.
Das Glück des Schauspielers Lin Yuan-Ning- Story/Article in Fortsetzung (in German).
The Doctor is Out- One Act Play- First Draft.
Draft of Stories with Miss Violet Character- eventually titled Conflict of Legalities.
Dream of the Dead- Short Story Fragments.
The Dry Lake- Short Story Typescript.
Early Stories about the Late 1930's (and Hauser's travels). Circa 1940s
The Feathered Wing- Play Typescript.
German Manuscripts- Aegeisches Wunder and Ein Kind aus Brindisi.
German Manuscript- Hauser's Article or Short Story in Magazine.
German Manuscripts- Several Shorts Stories or Articles Grouped Together.
German Manuscript- Untitled Novel, Published by Curtis Brown Ltd.
Here Mirabeau Stammered- Edited Manuscript/Notes.
The Indomitable Spirit of Alsace- Magazine Article, Travel Section.
Jack in the Clouds- Short Story Typescript.
Laurel Speer Poems- Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series.
The Lion- Play Typescript.
Literary Reflections- "New Charity" and Cruise ships.
"Literary Snapshots".
Lizelle- Short Story Typescript.
Magnum Opus- Short Story/Snapshot Typescript.
Man and Dog- Fragments.
Medieval Frescoes from Yugoslavia Take to the Road- Original Version.
A Successful Small Home that Suits its Environment- Magazine Article in Arts and Decoration.

Box 7

Lin Yhan Ning- Story/Article in Schweizer (in German) (nr. 47).
Literary Cross Dressing in AWP Chronicle (volume 22, number 5). March/April, 1990
The Long and the Short- A Fable- Completed Typescript.
Marrakesh: Descent into Spring in Bazaar. May, 1966
Mentioned in The Nation - Heaven 2. 1987
Mimoun of the Mellah in Bazaar. December, 1966
Nicola- A Novel, Typescript and Notes on Plot and Characters.
Poetry by Hauser.
The Province Between- Novel- Notes and Typescript for Part II.
Recollections of Dreams (Journal Pages). 1970
Recollections of Dreams, Some Short Pieces about Dreams. 1967-1985
Reise- Nachdenklichkeiten- Article for Sie Und Er (in German). 1936
Reisende ohne Gepück by Barbara Basting (German Article with Picture of Marianne Hauser) in du. April, 1944
The Rubber Doll in Mademoiselle. June, 1951
The Seersucker Suite- Short Story Typescript.
The Separatist in German Magazine du with English Translation. December, 1996
The Separatist- Edited Manuscript.
Story Outlines/Notes. Circa 1981
Street Scenes- Short Snapshots.
Swan Song of the Middle Ages- Magazine Article in Jones Farley.
Swiss Afternoon- Poem- Several Drafts.
Taxi Drivers in New York are Often Kind- Short Story Typescript.
The Title- Several Beginning Drafts.
The Top of the Heap and Interview with Myself (Personal Musings).
The Traveling Yew- Short Story Typescript, also unnamed manuscript that may be related.
Two Wives- Short Story Typescript.
Unnamed Piece about Travels, Journal-Style.
Unnamed Short Story. 1968
My Uncle's Magic Tube (machine) (Short Story).
My Uncle's Magic Machine (Short Story).
Vanishing Lake Typescript.
Vanishing Lake- Short Story Typescript- also Clippings and Notes.
View of a French Villa- Short Snapshot.
Waxen Apples- Beginning, First Drafts.
Weeds- Short Story Typescript.
"Why Did They Shoot Daddy?"- Typescript.
Widower- Short Story Typescript.
The Windows of St. Vulgis- Notes and Materials. 1953
Wisdom's House (The Living Shall Praise Thee, Choir Invisible) in Bazaar.
"With Apologies to Andrea Dworkin"- Poem.
Work Project in Creative Writing.
The Writer in America Today- Short Piece (Possible Speech).

Box 8

The Living Shall Praise Thee (Choir Invisible) in Bazaar. February, 1955
The Choir Invisible (McDowell/Obolensky)/ The Living Shall Praise Thee (Gollancz) Book Jackets.
The Choir Invisible- Copyright Materials. 1984
The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Correspondence. 1957
The Choir Invisible (and Dark Dominion)- Correspondence About Swedish Interest. 1964
The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Reviews. 1957-1958
Gertrude Recycled- Attempts and Notes (Face in the Mirror).
Gertrude Recycled- First Attempts (I Paint My Life Across the Mirror, Portrait of An Ageless Lady).
Manuscripts: Related to "I Paint My Life Across the Mirror"/ Gertrude Recycled.
Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts and Corrections.
Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts and Corrections.
Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts (I Paint My Face Across a Mirror).
Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts and Corrections (I Paint My Face Across a Mirror).
Dog and Governor (Birthday Party to a Dog)- Notes and First Attempts (Written same time as Gertrude Recycled).
It Isn't So Bad that it Couldn't Be Worse (Short, Galley) (Written same time as Gertrude Recycled).
Heartlands- Final Copies.
Heartlands- First Drafts.
A Multiple View of Toledo (Heartlands).
The Missing Page- Draft/Ideas.
The Missing Page- Folder 1 (Drafts).
The Missing Page, Folder 2 (Typescript).
The Missing Page, Folder 3 (Typescript).
Nanine- Fragments/ Excerpts (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).
Nanine- Pages 1-100, Folder 1, (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).
Nanine- Pages 101-102, Folder 2, (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).
Nanine- "Reflections on a Story and Why I Should Get it Done" (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief- Alternate Title).
Nanine- Various Manuscript/ Edits (also called The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).

Box 9

Green Apples for Hermes (Play)- Complete Typescript.
Green Apples for Hermes (Play)- Scenes 1 and 2.
Green Apples for Hermes (Play)- Scenes 3 and 4.
Untitled/Unidentified Play, Act 1.
Untitled/Unidentified Play, Act 2.
Untitled/Unidentified Play, Act 3.
The Waiting Room- Drafts.
The Waiting Room- Drafts.
The Waiting Room- Drafts.
The Waiting Room- Final.
The Waiting Room- Manuscript.
The Waiting Room- Typescript.
Enclosed Book- Green Apples for Hermes- A Comedy by Marianne Hauser.

Box 10

The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley - 2 copies. 1986
The Living Shall Praise Thee - Uncorrected. 1956
Kalpar Haufer by Herman Bies, in German- 2 copies. Circa 1929
Indisches Gaufelspiel, in German. 1937
Studies in the Twentieth Century, a Scholarly and Critical Journal - edited by Stephen Goode. 1969
Writers Introduce Writers- edited by E. Daniel Richie and F.B. Claire. 1980
Journal of the Otto Rank Association- edited by Virginia P. Robinson, Anita J. Faatz, Jacob Hechler. 1970
The Sewanee Review. 1967
City 9, International Writers Anthology- edited by Sparrow. 1984
Michael Joseph Books- 64. 1964
The Texas Quarterly- edited by Harry H. Ransom. 1959
The American Scholar- edited by Hiram Haydn. 1970
The Tiger's Eye, vol. 3. 1948
The Tiger's Eye, vol. 4. 1948
The Tiger's Eye, vol. 5. 1948
Dreamworks, an Interdisciplinary Quarterly- edited by Kenneth Atchity and Marsha Kinder. 1982



Correspondence


Box 11

Correspondence-Business- Curtis Brown, Ltd. 1963-1967, 1996
Correspondence-Business- Ed Cardoni-Hallwalls. 1985-1986
Correspondence-Business- Federman Casebook. 1996
Correspondence-Business- Gorelink-City Magazine.
Correspondence-Business- Invitations/Pamphlets. 1994-1995
Correspondence-Business- National Endowment for the Arts. 1977
Correspondence-Business- Requested Interviews. 1992, 2004
Correspondence-Business- The Harvard Advocate. 1972
Correspondence-Business- Works/Reprints. 1993
German Correspondence- Zinnen Berlag, February 1937. 1937
The Fiction Collective- Reviews, Information, Correspondence. 1983-2002
Writers Conferences- Writers Upheaval and Writing Festival. 1976-1978
Correspondence-Personal. Not dated
Correspondence-Personal. 1958-1986
Correspondence-Personal. 1993-1999
Correspondence-Personal, Folder 1 of 2. 2000-2004
Correspondence-Personal, Folder 2 of 2. 2000-2004
Correspondence-Personal- Medical. 1966, 1994-2005
Correspondence-Personal- Frederic Kirchberger (husband). 1953
Correspondence-Personal- Rachel (close friend).
Correspondence-Personal- Raymond Federman (friend, fellow writer). Circa 1996-1997
Personal- Poetry- Lee Vassel/Leo Tallawah (students at Queens College). Circa 1973



Notes, News Clippings and Writing Fragments


Box 12

Art of Petlorie- Unfinished.
Essays/Articles not written by Hauser.
Fragments and Notes for a piece based in Alsace.
Fragments and Notes on story about bag ladies.
Fragments and Notes on Character Development, Plots.
Fragments and Notes on a piece, possibly titled Milova.
Fragments and Notes on Stories. Circa 1989-1990
Fragments and Snapshots, Various Topics.
"Fragment from a bombed novel while in Kirksville, MO".
Hauser's Resume, List of Publications.
Homan Boman- Unfinished.
Interview with Hauser for Dreamworks, November 4, 1982. 1982
Invitations and Pamphlets. 1994-1995
Memoirs - In envelope from Theodore Harris, Attorney (not written by Hauser). 1979
Newsclippings- the Caribbean. 1973, 1976
Newsclippings- Dogs. 1973
Newsclippings- mostly feminism, civil rights, worker's rights. 1982-1995
Newsclippings- Genetics and Science. Circa 1971
Newsclippings- various, grouped together by Hauser. 1977-1980
Newsclippings, various, possible story ideas. 1938-1996
"Notes and Dreams" grouped together by Hauset. 1974-1976
Notes, Ideas, some fragments (German and English).
Notes, possible story ideas.
Notes/Snapshots, Various Topics.
Outline for Untitled Film Script.
Review- The Two-Fold Vibration. 2000
Untitled, pieces about being old. Circa 2003
Unfinished Stories about Eight Journalists.



Photographs and Travel Memorabilia


Box 13

Photos- Chapelle Saint Vulgis A Mosloy.
Photos- From Art Exhibit (labeled in German). Circa late 1930s
Photos- Grouped Together (captions in German).
Photos- Headshot of Hindi, Punjab Male Student in United States.
Photos- Honolulu, Hawaii. Circa 1936
Photos- Labeled by Hauser- Hangtochou. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Labeled by Hauser- Tai-sham. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Labeled by Hauser- Various (separated by city/country). Circa late 1930s
Photos- Park Hotel- Shanghai. 1936
Photos- People (South America and Southwestern United States).
Photos- Tarolsu. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- China, Folder 1 of 3. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- China, Folder 2 of 3. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- China, Folder 3 of 3. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Egypt. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- India. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- India, also postcards. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- "Insel Elephanta". Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Japan. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- People (headshots, Middle East and Asia). Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Various Unidentified Scenes (Middle East and Asia) Folder 1 of 2. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Various Unidentified Scenes (Middle East and Asia) Folder 2 of 2. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Unlabeled, Various Eastern Countries. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Trip Memorabilia - Japan. Circa late 1930s
Travel Memorabilia- Postcards. Circa late 1930s
Travel Article for Sie Und Er- America (Hawaii) (in German). 1936
Travel Article for Sie Und Er- America (Native Americans) (in German). 1936
Travel Article- China (in German).
Travel Article for Sie Und Er- China (in German). 1936
Travel Article for Sie Und Er Egypt (in German). 1936
Travel Article- Hinterindien (in German). 1936
Travel Article- India (in German). 1936
Travel Article for Sie Und Er- Japan (in German). 1936
Travel Article- Formosa (in German).
Travel Article- "Schneizer Gaftlichkeit in Aller Welt" (in German).
Travel- Notes on Yucatan. Circa 1968

Box 14

Photos- Negatives- America (possibly from late 1930s trip).
Photos- Negatives- Paris.
Photos- Negatives- Trip, late 1930s, Folder 1 of 2. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Negatives- Trip, late 1930s, Folder 2 of 2. Circa late 1930s
Photos- Negatives- Unlabeled (possibly from late 1930s trip).
Travel Correspondence- Holiday Cards. 1961-1962
Travel Correspondence- Pan American Airways. 1964
Travel Memorabilia- Mexico, Zagreb, Yugoslavia, Texas, Elsass. Circa 1960-1964
Travel Memorabilia- Prints- London, Paris, Egypt, Venezia.
Travel Memorabilia- Playbills (New York). Circa 1961
Photos- Hauser for Aina Balgavis (headshots).
Photos- Hauser for Writers Upheaval at College of William and Mary. Circa 1978
Photos- Nell Charley (Hauser's Granddaughter).



Selected Subjects and Access Points

Women authors, American -- 20th century -- Correspondence.
Women authors, American -- 20th century -- Fiction.


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page