Skip to Search



A Guide to the Jefferson M. Hamilton Architectural Drawings and Photographs

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2005


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Hamilton, Jefferson M.
Title: Jefferson M. Hamilton Architectural Drawings and Photographs
Dates: 1926-1947
Abstract: Plans, renderings, and photographs related to the architecture of Jefferson M. Hamilton in Tampa, Florida.
Extent: 2 linear feet. (1 Box)
Identification: Ms Group 185


Biographical/Historical Note

Jefferson Merritt Hamilton was born in Marianna, Florida, on December 8, 1891. He studied design and architecture at Auburn University, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of Minnesota. For the majority of his career he lived and worked in Florida, particularly in Tampa and Gainesville. He partnered with Franklin O. Adams for several years before creating his own practice. He served as consulting architect for various building projects at the University of Florida, including the Medical Center building in the 1950s. He also designed buildings for college campuses across the southern United States.


Scope and Content

The collection is comprised of plans, renderings, and photographs related to the architectural work of Jefferson M. Hamilton, primarily dating from the 1920s through the 1940s. The majority of the drawings and photos are of structures in Tampa, Florida, including several residences, an office building, a social club, and the Henry B. Plant High School. There are also drawings and photos of an apartment building in St. Petersburg, skyscrapers and buildings in New York, the Washington Monument, and residential elements such as a pergola and a patio fountain. In addition, the collection includes Hamilton's 1947 certificate authorizing him to practice architecture in Florida.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Jefferson M. Hamilton Architectural Drawings and Photographs, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Hamilton Collection


Box 1

Apartment building for Mr. and Mrs. Roy H. Halquist, St. Petersburg. Photoduplicate of drawing. March 1947
Barbour-Ward Building, Tampa. Photograph. Not dated
Certificate to practice architecture in Florida - Jefferson M. Hamilton. March 25, 1947
Copy of "West Elevation of Tea Room" for unidentified building. Photoduplicate of drawing. September 10, 1929
Design for a barrel-shaped seat or planter. Drawing. Not dated
Entrance to a building, possibly a library building on a university/college campus. Duplicate of drawing. 1952
Fountain in patio for Jefferson Hamilton residence, Tampa. Photograph. Not dated
Henry B. Plant High School, Tampa. Drawing and photograph. 1926 and Not dated
Howard Philbrook residence, Tampa. Photograph. Not dated
Jefferson M. Hamilton residence, Florida (possibly Gainesville). Drawings, renderings, and correspondence. 1947
Merry-Maker's Club, Davis Island. Drawing. Not dated
S.E. Thomason residence, Tampa. Drawing. May 10, 1927
S.E. Thomason residence, Tampa. Photograph. Not dated
S.E. Thomason residence, Tampa. Photograph. Not dated
Suggestion for Pergola, estate of Robert S. Brown, Clearwater. Drawing. June 29, 1929
Trail-Inn (Mobile luncheon stand). Design drawing and written description of design. June 1946
Two unidentified residences (floor plans and renderings). Drawings. Not dated
Unidentified building (skyscraper). Original drawings and photoduplicates. 1930-1931
Unidentified drawings of buildings and street scenes in a large city (probably New York). One drawing includes a street sign reading "E 58 St". 1929
Washington Monument, Washington, D.C. Original drawing. Not dated
W.K. Bayless residence, Tampa. Photograph. Not dated



Selected Subjects and Access Points

The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog:
Subject Terms:
Architecture -- Florida -- Tampa.
Tampa (Fla.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page