Skip to Search



A Guide to the Letters to Bartolome Guzman of Bolivia

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
July 2007


Descriptive Summary

Title: Letters to Bartolome Guzman of Bolivia
Dates: 1816
Abstract: Two letters written by anonymous author to Bartolome Guzman in Bolivia, pertaining to political developments, the South American Wars of Independence, Peru and the Rio de la Plata.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 2 Letters.
Identification: MS Group 112 2/14
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Two letters dated 1816 written by an anonymous author in Tucuman, Argentina, to Bartolome Guzman, a leader in the Bolivian War of Independence. The letters are reports of current news events, particularly regarding political developments, the South American Wars of Independence, Peru and the Rio de la Plata. The first letter is addressed to Citizen Guzmán, and dated 3 March 1816. The second letter is addressed to Citizens Guzmán and Padilla, and dated 11 January 1816. Portions of both documents are written in an indigenous language, probably either Aymara or Quechua, which was being used perhaps as code to protect confidential information.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Letters to Bartolome Guzman of Bolivia, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Latin America -- History -- Wars of Independence, 1806-1830 -- Sources.
South America -- History -- Wars of Independence, 1806-1830 -- Sources.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page