Skip to Search



A Guide to the Arthur L. Funk Papers

Finding aid created by Joshua D. Holtzman

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2010


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Funk, Arthur Layton, 1914-2007
Title: Arthur L. Funk Papers
Dates: 1934-1988
Abstract: Small collection of papers from the files of former University of Florida history professor Arthur Funk. Features World War II artwork by Funk.
Extent: 0.5 Linear feet. 1 box.
Identification: MS Group 271
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Arthur Layton Funk (1914 in Brooklyn, NY - June 17, 2007 in Gainesville, FL) was a historian of World War II at the University of Florida. He received his B.A. in History from Dartmouth College and his M.A. and Ph.D. in Medieval History from the University of Chicago. During World War II he served as a Naval officer on the U.S.S. Farquhar, an American destroyer. After the war, Funk joined the University of Florida faculty as a humanities professor, where his research interests shifted from medieval history to French resistance during World War II. He spent 1954-55 in France as a Guggenheim Fellow. He then left UF for six years to work for the U.S. Information Service, holding posts in Syria, Lebanon, and Madagascar. Funk returned to UF's faculty in 1962, chairing the History Department from 1973-78. His major works include Hidden Ally: The French Resistance, Special Operations, and The Landings in Southern France, 1944 (1992); The Politics of Torch: The Allied Landings and the Algiers Putsch, 1942 (1974); and De Gaulle: The Crucial Years, 1943-1944 (1959).

Source: "Dr. Arthur L. Funk." University of Florida Oral History Project. University of Florida, n.d. Web. http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00006165/.


Scope and Content

This small collection from Prof. Funk's private library includes early works from his college and graduate school years, original artwork, and correspondence with historians, generals and politicians related to his research on World War II. The primary research interest in this collection may be Funk's artwork, which provides first-hand images of life aboard a U.S. Destroyer during World War II. Funk was born into a family of artists (his brother was a commercial illustrator) and was fond of sketching. The collection contains scenes from his tour of duty aboard the U.S.S. Farquhar done in pencil, ink, and pastel [See list of "Artwork" below]. One of his college essays is also extensively illustrated with drawings of medieval armor.

The correspondence addresses Vichy France during World War II. The Allied Forces decided, in 1942, to open a second front on the Western coast of Africa. In order to do so, however, they needed to choose a French leader who could rally French support for the Americans without alienating the local population or the Vichy government. Funk's research deals with the politics of this decision, which caused tension between the three candidates for the position, Francois Darlan, Charles de Gaulle, and Henri Giraud.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

A brief history of the U.S.S. Farquhar, on which Funk served, is at Navsource Online: http://www.navsource.org/archives/06/139.htm


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Arthur L. Funk Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Elaine Funk.


Contents List

Papers


Box
1 Essay with Illustrations on Medieval Armor (College). 1934-1935
1 Term Paper on Medieval History (College). 1935
1 Essay on Art - Won Award (College). 1935
1 Essay on Medieval History (Graduate School). 1936
1 Essay on the Crusades (Graduate School). 1938
1 Short Story Written While at Sea with Navy. 1944
1 Essay on 1900s Cultural Revolution (Unpublished-2 copies). Mid-1960s
1 Article on WWII Consequences. 1985
1 Paper Prepared for Soviet-American Conference. 1988
1 Autograph Correspondence (Arranged alphabetically)
1 Stephen E. Ambrose correspondence
1 David Bruce correspondence
1 William B. Casey correspondence
1 General Mark W. Clark correspondence
1 Charles De Gaulle correspondence
1 John S. Guthrie correspondence
1 Henry Cabot Lodge correspondence
1 Douglas MacArthur II correspondence
1 Robert Murphy correspondence


Artwork (All from U.S.S. Farquhar)


Box
1 The Bridge
1 Near the Azores - "Eberle" and "Paterson". Dec. 17, 1943
1 Convoy - View from the flying bridge
1 Ward Room - DE 139 - Casucci and Norris
1 Untitled - Sketch of the Bridge, Art Funk. 1943
1 Casucci - Norris - Bernshaw [Untitiled -Crew Members]
1 Benson
1 Plane guard with aircraft carrier "Core"
1 Gibraltar. Feb. 19, 1944
1 Casablanca. May 4, 1944
1 Casablanca - Liberty. Feb. 1944
1 Untitled - Coastline with Church on a Windy Day



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page