 |
Library Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Remote Logon | Search |
| Library > Special & Area Studies Collections > General Manuscripts > Finding Aids | |
George Fortune Collection - Audio Recordings Inventory
Created by Dan Reboussin (2007)
Return to the main finding guide for the Fortune Collection.
Three audio cassette tapes are held in the George Fortune Collection as they appear to be original field recordings of the folktales collected by Mr. Mufuka for vol. 2 of Ngano, edited by Fortune. Each tape appears to be in good physical condition and in the original Philips C-90 audio cassette cartridge, though none have been reviewed for audio quality or condition. The stories and songs are identified by numbers and titles handwritten in faded, barely legible pencil on each of the three index card inserts. Apparently matching titles for Ngano volume 2 are indicated below by corresponding page numbers from the Table of Contents in square brackets. Since the writing is difficult to read and I’m not familiar with Shona, I’ve certainly made some transcription errors and have chosen to use any titles appearing in the Table of Contents as printed there.
–DR
The University of Florida Smathers Libraries holds two volumes of Ngano [edited by G. Fortune]. Salisbury, Zimbabwe: Mercury Press, 1980-1982. First published by the Department of African Languages, University of Rhodesia, 1974. In Shona. (Library West - General Collection v.1 GR358.62.M3 N47 1980; v.2 GR358.62.M3 N47 1980)
From the 1974 Forward to Ngano by George Fortune: "The folktales in Ngano, vol. 2 were transcribed in the field by R. Mufuka, a student in Department of African Languages, University of Rhodesia during interviews with both Korekore and Zezuru people at his home in the Chesa area in the Mt. Darwin District."
Tape 1 (B1), side 1
1. Njiva nchanga nemu
2. Kamba na Tsuro
3. [1] Mukadzi nemurume
4. Murume waiuraya vana
5. Mambo nemwana
6. [5] Shungu dzinokunda ronda
Tape 1, side 2
Shunzudzi moku ndaranda
Tape 2 (B2), side 1
Shungu dzinokunda ronda (con’t?)
1. [24] Ushamwari hwaTsuro naBveni, Njiva naKarukodzi
2. [26] Zvirehwi nengwena
3. [29] Chishiri chainzi chinyamungune
4. [33] Chirombe naHauzizi
5. [36] Mungaiti Kudii
Tape 2, side 2
1. [37] Kamutarari
2. Rungano rwe musikana nengwenu
3. [43] Chinyamapezi
4. [46] Vakomana vaisanduka kuita shumba
Tape 3 (B3), side 1
Vakomana Vaisanduka shumpa (con’t?)
1. [53] Mukadzin’ina akaba hamba
2. [55] Shiri yaimutsa miti
3. [57] Vasikana vakaroorwa nemadzvinyu
4. [59] Musikana wevhu
5. [61] Vasikana vaviri
6. [65] Mukuwasha aive nenungo
Tape 3, side 2
Mukuwasha awe nenu nong (con’t?)
1. [68] Bere nemudzimai
2. [70] Amai nedzvinyu
3. [72] Mukuwasha naatezvara
4. [74] Murume waivhima
5. [76] Vakadzinyina
6. Zivume
Ngano vol. 2 lists a total of 21 titles on the Contents page, while 28 items are numbered on the three audio cassette tape indexes.
George Fortune’s 1975 forward to Ngano vol. 1 indicates a plan for publishing 3 total volumes (“Two further volumes of Ngano are in preparation…and are accompanied by the original tape recordings”), though I only see bibliographic records for volumes 1 & 2 and do not see evidence that vol. 2 was published or distributed with accompanying audio tapes. It also notes that the stories in vol. 1 were written tales representing well-known oral stories but not actually transcribed, while the stories in vol. 2 were collected orally and transcribed.
The collection also includes five audio recordings (four Philips C-90 cassettes and one C-60), which are labeled as follows (these are more legible and in a clearer hand):
Tape 1, side 1
1. Mhambwe nashumba mapfumo
2. Tsuro naNzau
3. Tsuro naGudo
4. Rungano rwemwana (“not”)
5. Maminimini
6. Tsuro Nabveni (munda wenyimo)
7. Huku dzetsvuura
8. _____
9. Murume amya kamba
10. Mukfozi akange asina vana (“con’t on B”)
Tape 1, side 2
1. (“con’t from 1”)
2. Gore renzara
3. Tsudo masudo (“no”)
4. Matumai
5. Mukodzi aisadya mbizi
6. Bofu naShumba
7. Vakomana Vaifudza mbudzi
8. Musoro svadingwa
9. _____
Tape 2, side 1
1. Mukadzi ainge asinsadyi nvama yemombe
2. Nhunsira madende
3. Majaira kudya zivekukwata (“song”)
4. Chinhimba
5. Paringa
6. Bveni tsuro nemhuka
7. Vakomana shumba
8. (“no”)
9. Tsuro nabveni
10. Kachembere (“obedience”)
11. Mukoma ada kuuvaya munin’ina wake
Tape 2, side 2
1. Dhumbu nemanyere
2. Gore renzara
3. Mwana ainge asina amai
4. Hombihororo (“song”)
5. Murume aita nyaka
6. Buire nachikwati
7. Ambuya bere
8. Musikana neshato
Tape 3, side 1
1. Sawara narwavhi
2. Nematariro
3. Garavaza
4. Tsuro nakamba (“con’t B”)
Tape 3, side 2
1. Tsuro nakamba (“con’t”)
2. Tsuro nakamba
3. Mukadzi ainge asina mwana
4. Madzinga chemhezi
5. Riro-riro mukaringa
6. Muto wembizi
Tape 4, side 1
1. Murume shumba
2. Bveni natsuro
3. Nherera
4. Kuvaka mukosi
5. Mazai enyoka
6. Musikana aisadya nyama yemombe
7. Gore renzara
Tape 4, side 2
1. Gore renzara (“con’t”)
2. Tsuro nabveni
3. Chamapezi
4. Tsuro nabveni
5. China-mapezi
6. Vasikana vaitihwina
Tape 5, side 1
1. Gungno nakamba
2. Tsuro nashumba
3. Kuudza mwana—hupedzisira
4. Chitsiga nehombiro yegndo
Tape 5, side 2
(blank: no titles on index)
To date my review of manuscript materials in the Fortune Collection hasn’t provided any evidence of written drafts for the proposed vol. 3 of Ngano.
-DR
Return to the main finding guide for the Fortune Collection.
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.
