Skip to Search



A Guide to David Fairchild's Typescript, "Southern Trip"

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
December 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Fairchild, David, 1869-1954
Title: David Fairchild's Typescript, "Southern Trip"
Dates: 1917
Abstract: David Fairchild's typescript account of his 1917 trip from Washington, D.C. to Florida to observe cultivation of imported bamboo plants.
Extent: 0.25 Linear feet. 1 volume.
Identification: MS Group 141
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

David Grandison Fairchild was an American botanist. He was born in Michigan in 1869. For most of his career he worked in the U.S. Department of Agriculture, managing the Department of Plant Introduction. He was a frequent visitor to Florida, and in 1898 he established a garden for introducing tropical plants in Miami. In 1926, he built a family home in Miami and filled the property with a large collection of rare tropical plants. The home is now the site of the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden. Fairchild died in 1954.


Scope and Content

Typescript volume with hand corrections and notes, as well as photographs. Report of a trip from Washington, D.C. to Florida January to April, 1917, to survey the disappointing progress of some bamboo plants which were showing signs of insect damage when introduced to Florida. While there, a fierce winter storm came in, and Fairchild describes the effects of the freeze, February 3, 1917. Many of the photographs show icicles on various plants. During the course of the trip he does some research on cross pollination. Many personal comments, as well as comments hand-written into the volume up to 30 years later by the author, give wonderful insights to this botanist.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], David Fairchild's Typescript, "Southern Trip", Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Bamboo -- Diseases and pests -- Florida
Botanists -- United States
Plant introduction -- Florida
Tropical plants -- Florida
Winter storms -- Florida
Winter storms -- Florida -- Photographs



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page