Skip to Search



A Guide to the Records of the East African Professional Hunters Association

Finding aid created by Barbara Gundersen

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
May 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: East African Professional Hunters' Association
Title: Records of the East African Professional Hunters Association
Dates: 1934-1999
Bulk dates: 1934-1977
Abstract: The Records of the East African Professional Hunters Association (EAPHA) include the association's minutes, membership records, rules, reports, correspondence, collected press clippings, records of trophies awarded, disciplinary actions, member biographical sketches, and photographs.
Extent: 11.75 Linear feet. 32 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 283
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

The East African Professional Hunters Association (EAPHA) operated from 1934 to 1977, ending with the official abolishment of wild game hunting in Kenya. The association was founded in Nairobi in 1934 by a group of thirteen hunters in Kenya. In 1959 the EAPHA agreed to open membership to any nationality or race. By 1960 membership included 65 full members and over two hundred probationary and honorary associate members from around the world. Its members' clients were "a cross section of the world's captains of industry, royalty and celebrities," including well-known political figures such as Governor John Connelly of Texas and popular culture celebrities such as Bing Crosby. The EAPHA was governed by an Executive Committee, whose members were elected annually. The association held annual meetings, an Annual Dinner, and presented an annual Shaw and Hunter Trophy. The EAPHA was influential in the development of wildlife conservation practice, opposing poaching, aiding the evolution of wildlife tourism, and in the framing of Kenya's game laws.


Scope and Content

This collection is comprised of the EAPHA's official records, including minutes, membership records, rules, reports, as well as correspondence, collected press clippings, records of trophies awarded, member biographical sketches, photographs, etc. The records primarily span from 1934-1977, but some materials date through 1999. The collection includes personal and professional correspondence among its members, the press, a number of hunters and safari tour organizations, as well as press clippings (both positive and negative in tone) about the organization and various hunting methods and practices. Materials cover the organization from inception to its dissolution, and contain official records, rules and regulations, as well as ethical and disciplinary issues that arose throughout its existence. The papers include official meeting minutes, membership books, member biographies, applications, suspensions, hunting records, trophies and awards.

Although the collection is organized into several records series (Membership Files, Correspondence, Meeting Minutes, Press Clippings, Photographs, etc.), many of the materials found in these series also may be found interspersed throughout the collection. For example, membership issues and correspondence overlap in various boxes. Some correspondence signatures are missing, having been removed prior to transfer. Brief mention and substantial discussions of poaching-related issues and diseases such as sleeping sickness (Human African trypanosomiasis) can be found throughout the collection. An item of particular interest is the "Simba Book" (an album bound in lion skin with photographs of famous hunters of the early 20th century), donated to the association at its inception by Captain Archie Ritchie, the most famous of Kenya's Colonial Chief Game Wardens.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The University of Florida Smathers Libraries also holds the following related collections which currently are being processed and will be made available to researchers: the Ian Parker Collection of East African Wildlife Conservation, the Graham and Brian Child Collection, and the Larry Harris Collection.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Records of the East African Professional Hunters Association, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Ian Parker, former game warden in Kenya and owner of Wildlife Services Ltd., acted as the EAPHA’s agent in facilitating the collection’s donation and shipment to the University of Florida Smathers Libraries. EAPHA ex-president Anthony Dyer transferred ownership with the approval of the association’s former members at a meeting in Nairobi on Nov. 28, 2009.


Contents List

Membership Files

This series documents all EAPHA membership activities and includes information about individual members, membership lists, and actions made regarding membership applications. The series also includes membership records from the inaugural meeting and biographies of members, family and friends. The files are arranged chronologically, although there is a great deal of overlap between folders. Please note that membership information can be found in other series in the collection, including Correspondence, Minutes, etc.


Box
1 Application for Membership. 1934-1936
1 Membership. 1934-1963
1 Membership - P-Z (Mixed Years). 1936-1975
1 Membership - Associate Members. 1937-1952
1 Membership - Miscellaneous Folder 1 of 2. 1947-1974
1 Membership - Miscellaneous Folder 2 of 2. 1947-1974
1 Membership - Includes Subscriptions/Donations. 1949-1954
1 Membership - Resignation, Suspension, Deceased. 1950-1963
2 Membership - Discipline. 1955-1958
2 Membership - Blacklist. 1956-1959
2 Membership - Associate Members. Circa 1957-1963
2 Membership - Miscellaneous Folder 1 of 2. 1957-1963
2 Membership - Miscellaneous Folder 2 of 2. 1957-1963
2 Membership - Corrected Lists. 1961, 1965
2 Membership - Includes complete membership list. 1973-1975
2 Membership - Current List To Date, Folder 1 of 3. 1975
3 Membership - Current List To Date, Folder 2 of 3. 1975
3 Membership - Current List To Date, Folder 3 of 3. 1975
3 Membership - Biographies (updated) (original). 1999
3 Membership - Addresses including family, friends - Folder 1 of 2.
3 Membership - Addresses including family, friends - Folder 2 of 2.
3 Membership - A-K (Folder 1 of 2).
3 Membership - A-K (Folder 2 of 2).
3 Membership - P-Z.
3 Membership - War Records.
4 Membership Cards.
5 Membership Cards.
6 Membership Ledger.
7 Membership Ledger: Executive Committee Applications for Membership. 1965-1974


Correspondence

This series is arranged chronologically. The letters document all activities of the EAPHA, as well as the constitution, rules and regulations of the association. Other subjects of interest include discussion of hunting methods used by American troops during World War II, various hunting incidents, pay for safari workers, and press clippings regarding professional hunting pros and cons. Please note that correspondence can be found in other series in the collection, particularly in the Minutes and Correspondence series.


Box
8 Correspondence with Press and Authors - includes clippings.
8 General Correspondence. 1935-1936
8 General Correspondence - Folder 1 of 2. 1935-1936
8 General Correspondence - Folder 2 of 2. 1935-1936
8 General Correspondence - Folder 1 of 2. 1936-1938
9 General Correspondence - Folder 2 of 2. 1936-1938
9 General Correspondence - Folder 1 of 2. 1936-1943
9 General Correspondence - Folder 2 of 2. 1936-1943
9 Miscellaneous "Unnamed" Correspondence Part 1. 1937-1946
9 Miscellaneous "Unnamed" Correspondence Part 2. 1937-1946
9 General Correspondence. 1937-1951
9 General Correspondence. 1939-1943
10 General Correspondence - Folder 1 of 2. 1941-1948
10 General Correspondence - Folder 2 of 2. 1941-1948
10 General Correspondence. 1943-1947
10 General Correspondence. 1944-1946
10 General Correspondence. 1944-1948
10 General Correspondence (includes press clippings). 1949-1973
11 General Correspondence. 1956-1959
11 General Correspondence. 1955-1965
11 Pending Correspondence - Folder 1 of 2. 1955
11 Pending Correspondence - Folder 2 of 2. 1955
12 General Correspondence. 1965-1976
12 General Correspondence (includes reunion preparation) Folder 1 of 2. 1985-1998
12 General Correspondence (includes reunion preparation) Folder 2 of 2. 1985-1998


General Files

This series is arranged alphabetically according to the subjects of the files. The series includes information about the history and dissolution of EAPHA, the personal correspondence of A.J. Dyer, filming rules and regulations, rules and handbooks, interviews, annual dinner materials, information about disciplinary actions, and various publications.


Box
12 Annual Dinners (includes photographs) Folder 1 of 2. 1937-1952
12 Annual Dinners Folder 2 of 2. 1960-1961, 1966, 1971
12 Badges. 1935-1951
13 Dissolution of EAPHA - including history. 1973
13 Donations and Requests Folder 1 of 2. 1937-1940; 1956-1957
13 Donations and Requests Folder 2 of 2. 1937-1940; 1956-1957
13 A. Dyer, President EAPHA - Personal Correspondence. 1961-1976
13 Elephant Hunting Ban Materials (includes press clippings). 1973-1975
13 Ethiopia - Safari Operations. 1960-1961
13 Filming - Rules for Filming. 1956-1957
13 Game Departments. 1954-1955
14 Handbook. 1935
14 Insurance Policies/Documents. 1973-1977
14 Interviews. 1935-1938
14 Kenya - Formation of Professional Hunter's Association and Ministry of Tourism and Wildlife - includes Transvaals Constitution. 1960-1961, 1974-1975
14 Manuscript - W. Robert Foran - "Things Seen." 1959
14 Medical Research. 1961
14 Ministry of Defense and Firearms Bureau. 1955-1958
15 Miscellaneous Pamphlets and Journals.
15 Newsletters. 1954-1961
15 Poaching. 1959
15 Presentations. 1957
15 President's Reports. 1934-1953
15 President's Reports. 1958-1969
15 Publicity Correspondence. 1950-1954
15 Tanganyika - Miscellaneous Hunting Matters. 1955-1963
15 Tanzania Profession Hunters Assn. - membership and other hunting matters. 1966-1972
16 Tsetse Fly and Game Slaughter - Clippings and Correspondence. 1935-1955
16 Typescript - Harry Tennison. 1977
16 Uganda - Hunting, Miscellaneous Matters. 1956-1973
16 Wounded Game Correspondence and Discipline. 1939-1952


Minutes and Correspondence

This series is arranged chronologically, and includes the official meeting minutes of the association. The series also includes minutes and correspondence of the Game, Tourism, National Parks, and Wildlife Society. Please note that correspondence can be found in other series in the collection, primarily in the Correspondence series.


Box
16 Minutes and Correspondence Folder 1 of 2. 1934-1937
16 Minutes and Correspondence Folder 2 of 2. 1934-1937
16 Minutes and Correspondence Folder 1 of 3. 1934-1960
16 Minutes and Correspondence Folder 2 of 3. 1934-1960
17 Minutes and Correspondence Folder 3 of 3. 1934-1960
17 East African Tourist Travel Association - Minutes and Correspondence. 1947-1949
17 Minutes and Correspondence Folder 1 of 2. 1948-1949
17 Minutes and Correspondence Folder 2 of 2. 1948-1949
17 Game, Tourism, National Parks and Wildlife Society - Conference minutes and correspondence. 1955-1958
17 Minutes and Correspondence. 1956-1964
18 Minutes book (annotations by Christine Parker). 1972-1977
19 Minutes book 2 (annotations by Christine Parker). 1938-1957
20 Minutes book 3 (annotations by Christine Parker). 1958-1971


Press Clippings

This series is arranged chronologically. The series includes Press clippings from various newspapers including the East African Standard, the Daily Nation and the Sunday Post. Please note that clippings can be found in other series in the collection.


Box
21 Press Clippings Folder 1 of 2. 1934-1942
21 Press Clippings Folder 2 of 2. 1934-1942
21 Press Clippings. 1943-1948
21 Press Clippings. 1948-1963
21 Press Clippings. 1966-1967
21 Press Clippings. 1967-1971
22 Press Clippings - East African Standard. 1972
22 Press Clippings - Folder 1 of 3. 1973
22 Press Clippings - Folder 2 of 3. 1973
22 Press Clippings - Folder 3 of 3. 1973
22 Press Clippings - Folder 1 of 2. 1973-1974
22 Press Clippings - Folder 2of 2. 1973-1974
22 Press Clippings. 1968-1977


Conservation Files

This series is arranged chronologically. The series includes correspondence and other materials regarding wildlife conservation, game ordinances, and license cancellations. Please note that conservation issues are addressed in other series in the collection, including Correspondence and General Files.


Box
23 Conservation Matters. 1937-1948
23 Conservation Matters - Folder 1 of 2. 1937-1948
23 Conservation Matters - Folder 1 of 2. 1949-1954
23 Conservation Matters - Folder 2 of 2. 1949-1954
23 Conservation Matters. 1955-1957
23 Conservation Matters - Ngorongoro Unit (includes annual report). 1962-1964


Safaris

This series is arranged alphabetically, and includes various safari brochures, lists, and diaries regarding hunting trips and safaris.


Box
23 Safaris - Brochures - Folder 1 of 2.
24 Safaris - Brochures - Folder 2 of 2.
24 Safaris - Firms and membership lists - Folder 1 of 2. 1959-1968
24 Safaris - Firms and membership lists - Folder 2 of 2. 1959-1968
24 Safaris - Folsom and Kolb Diaries.
24 Safaris - Hunting Trips and Safari Enquiries. 1945-1947
24 Safaris - Hunting Trips and Safari Enquiries. 1946-1948
25 Safaris - Hunting trips and Enquiries. 1949-1953
25 Safaris - Hunting trips and Safari Enquiries. 1956-1958
25 Safaris - Lawrence and Whitted Diaries. 1964
25 Safaris - Macmillian and Newmann Diaries.
25 Safaris - Outram Diary.
25 Safaris - Hunting trips and Safari Enquiries. 1949


Trophies

This series is arranged alphabetically, and includes information about the Buxhoexeden Photography Trophy, the Iain MacDonald Trophy and the Shaw and Hunter Trophy. Includes photographs and measurements of animals. Additional photos and information related to these trophies can be found in the Photographs and Albums series.


Box
25 Trophies - Air France. 1960-1962
25 Trophies - Buxhoeveden (Photographic). 1966-1975
26 Trophies - Iain MacDonald. 1971-1976
26 Trophies - Shaw and Hunter. 1955-1963
26 Trophies - Shaw and Hunter 1 of 2 - includes photographs. 1955-1976
26 Trophies - Shaw and Hunter 2 of 2 - includes photographs. 1955-1976
26 Trophies - Shaw and Hunter - incl. rules, conditions, photos. 1971-1975
27 Trophies - Shaw and Hunter. 1975-1976
27 Trophies - Kenya, Tanzania. 1967-1969
27 Trophies - Measurements. 1938-1940
27 Trophies - Measurements. 1939 - 1957


Financial Records

This series includes receipts, cash vouchers, cheques and a cash book for the association.


Box
27 Cheque book. 1976-1977
27 Receipt book. 1974-1976
27 Receipt book - Game Conservation International. 1972-1976
27 Cash Book. 1941-1953
27 Petty Cash Vouchers. 1963


Photographs and Albums

This series includes miscellaneous photographs of hunters, wildlife and safaris. The albums document meetings, hunting trips and trophies. Of particular interest is the Lion Book ("Simba Book"), an album bound in lion skin containing photos of hunters which was presented by Capt. A.T. Ritchie, Game Warden, Kenya Colony. Additional photos and information related to trophies can be found in the Trophies series.


Box
27 Miscellaneous Photos.
27 Mounted Photograph. 1956
27 Mounted Photograph - F. Vivian Percival and Philip H. Percival (First President) - Northern Guaso [?]. 1951
28 Lion Book ("Simba Book") - album bound in lion skin containing photos of hunters - presented by Capt. A.T. Ritchie, Game Warden, Kenya Colony. 1934
29 Photo Album - meeting attendees, photos of members, hunting, etc.
30 Photo Album - Iain MacDonald Memorial Trophy.
31 Photo Album - Shaw and Hunter Trophy. 1955-1973
32 Photo Album - Shaw and Hunter Trophy. 1974-1976


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Big game hunting -- Africa
Big game hunting -- Kenya -- History
Hunters -- Africa -- Biography
Hunting -- Africa, East -- History
Wildlife conservation -- Africa



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page