Skip to Search



A Guide to the Companhia de Diamantes de Angola Photographs

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2006


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Companhia de Diamantes de Angola
Title: Companhia de Diamantes de Angola Photographs
Dates: 1962
Abstract: Photographs of the Companhia de Diamantes de Angola' operations in 1962.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder; 22 photos.
Identification: MS Group 112 2/5
Language(s): Portuguese
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Companhia de Diamantes de Angola or "Diamang" was established in Portuguese Angola in 1917, and at its peek was one of the top diamond producers in the world. However, after Angola gained independence from Portugal the company experienced a difficult period and later was nationalized by the Angolan government.


Scope and Content

A collection of 22 photographs of the Companhia de Diamantes de Angola printed on card stock and dated 1962. Each photograph represents various aspects of the company's operations, and each has a descriptive caption, in Portuguese, printed on the verso.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Companhia de Diamantes de Angola Photographs, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Acquired from Donald Abraham as part of the Donald Abraham Collection.


Contents List

Folder
1 Trabalhos Mineiros- tractors used to dig ditches
1 Serviços de Saúde- lessons in the school for nursing
1 Serviços de Saúde- workers in the pharmaceutics lab in Dundo
1 Serviços de Saúde- staff in hospital in Dundo
1 Assistência ao Pessoal Nativo- native workers using "vapor" machines
1 Assistência ao Pessoal Nativo- attendees at the Grand Festival
1 Comemorações Patrióticas e do Trabalho- delivery of the national flags during the Grand Festival
1 Assistência ao Pessoal Nativo- parade of children for "festa Desportiva de Andrada"
1 Assistência ao Pessoal Branco- swimming pool for white staff
1 Assistência Religiosa- first communion mass
1 Assistência Religiosa- bride and groom (Anastácio Augusto) posing in front of chapel during marriage, Dundo.
1 Actividade Agrícolo-Pecuária- new buildings used as part of agriculture and cattle breeding operations
1 Actividade Agrícolo-Pecuária- herd of cattle
1 Assistência ao Pessoal Nativo- houses for native workers in the area of Xatuca
1 Actividade Agrícolo-Pecuária- crops in a field
1 Vias de Comunicação- bridge constructed for the company on the river Luembe close to Andrada
1 Serviços de Saúde- Hospital center of Lucapa. New infirmaries.
1 Tratamento Mecânico dos Concentrados- Exterior of facility.
1 Trabalhos Mineiros- aerial view of the mine (eastern edge of the Luana river)
1 Trabalhos de Prospecção - prospecting work near the river Luachimo.
1 Tratamento Mecânico do Cascalho- Gravel works at Lunda mine
1 Trabalhos Mineiros- Equipment in the region of Luxilo.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Companhia de Diamantes de Angola.
Diamond industry and trade -- Angola.
Diamond mines and mining -- Angola -- Pictorial works.
Diamond mines and mining -- Angola.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page