Skip to Search



A Guide to the Edward S. Deevey Papers

Finding aid created by Katie Walters

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
February 2008


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Deevey, Edward S.
Title: Edward S. Deevey Papers
Dates: 1924-1988
Abstract: Correspondence, field notes, publications, research proposals, and other papers of limnologist and educator, Edward S. Deevey.
Extent: 17 linear feet. (31 boxes)
Identification: MS Group 239


Biographical/Historical Note

Edward S. Deevey was born in Albany, New York on December 3, 1914. He earned his Bachelor's (1934) and Ph.D. (1938) at Yale University. Deevey taught biology at the Rice Institute in Houston, Texas from 1939 to 1943. He worked as a research associate at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution until 1946 when he began teaching at Yale University. In 1953-1954 Deevey worked on a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Fulbright Research Award in Denmark. He became a full professor at Yale in 1957 and worked there until 1968. In 1964-1965 Deevey traveled to New Zealand on a National Science Foundation and Fulbright Travel Grant. In 1968 Deevey moved to Canada and began teaching biology at Dalhousie University. During his time at Dalhousie he also was a member of the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. In 1971 Deevey left Canada for Gainesville, Florida as the Graduate Research Curator of the Florida State Museum. He continued to receive various research grants, mostly for work in Guatemala, Florida, and China. He remained with the Florida State Museum until his death in 1988.

Deevey made substantial contributions in pollen analysis, limnology, paleolimnology, marine ecology, population biology, radiocarbon dating, low-temperature geochemistry, biogeography, and paleoanthropology. He wrote his thesis on paleolimnology under G.E. Hutchinson and introduced concepts that helped develop the field into a quantitative science. He established the standard pollen stratigraphy for Eastern North America. He pollen research was extremely influential, but his largest research project was the Historical Ecology of the Maya, in which he attempted to interpret environmental consequences of human activity in a changing climate.


Scope and Content

The Deevey Papers include correspondence (business and personal), research field notes, projects, publications, research proposals, associations, photographs and miscellaneous materials. The correspondence (1924-1988) primarily concerns Deevey's research projects, various people asking for his assistance, and letters concerning his journal articles. He remained in contact with his graduate professor G.E. Hutchinson throughout his career. Other names of interest in the collection are: Don and Pru Rice, Daniel Livingstone, Margaret Davis, Mark Brenner, and Mike Binford.

The field notes, projects, publications, and research proposals document Deevey's research interests and his contributions to limnology, paleolimnology, and other scientific fields. The research is centered in New England, Guatemala, Florida, and Yunnan, China. The field notes concern more of Deevey's early work with lakes in New England. Deevey's largest research project, the Historical Ecology of the Maya, is well documented in these groups.

The materials pertaining to his professional associations consist of notes and papers from various conferences and symposiums, as well as minutes from various organizations. Deevey was on five editorial boards, including Radiocarbon, American Journal of Science, Bioscience, Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics, and Human Ecology. He participated in eleven professional societies, including the Ecological Society of America (with a lifetime member award), American Society of Naturalists, and the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography.

The miscellaneous papers include lecture notes, mostly from Yale University, and biographical information. The photographs are mainly from research projects, and include numerous presentation slides and graphs. There are also photos of Edward Deevey and Georgiana Deevey, and one of Mark Brenner.

The correspondence is arranged chronologically, and the rest of the collection primarily is arranged alphabetically by folder title.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Edward S. Deevey Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Processing History

The majority of the folders in this collection were originally numbered using one of four distinct numbering schemes. During processing of the collection, these numbering schemes were abandoned in favor of the current chronological or alphabetical arrangement. However, the numbers from the old schemes were retained on the folders.


Contents List

Business and Professional Correspondence


Box 1

Symposium on Early Man (includes news clippings). 1937
Miscellaneous. 1937-1940
Texas Academy of Science, ESD as Fellow. 1939-1942
Sediments of Lake Patzcuaro, Michoacan, Mexico. 1940, 1955-56
Responses to Researchers. 1941-1942
Rice College, Pattie,A. 1943-1944
Jos S. Wade, Thoreau. 1943-1944
Kenneth Mcleod Jr., Pollen Analysis. 1943-1944
Paul Sears, Yale Conservation Program. 1943-44. 1948-49, 1956
Wesley R. Coe, Scripps Institute of Oceanography. 1944
Dr. Fernando de Buen, Ignacio Mariscal. 1944
Francois E. Matthes. 1944
George A. Baitsell, Society of the Sigma XI. 1944
Irving Rouse, Yale University. 1944
Osorio Tafall, Guanos y Fertilizantes de Mexico. 1944
Frans Verdoorn, Chronica Botanica. 1944-1945
W. Armstrong Price, Geology. 1944-1945
Concerning Chironomids. 1944-1945. 1957
Henrich Meyer, Organic Gardening. 1944-1946
Dr. A. C. Chandler, The Rice Institute. 1944-1948
Concerning Oceanography Research. 1944-1948, 1958
Concerning Pollen Research. 1944-1948, 1958-1959
Louis Hutchins, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. 1944-1949
Miscellaneous. 1944-1949
Stanley W. Bromley, Bartlett Tree Research Laboratories. 1944-1949
Frederick Johnson, Robert S. Peabody Foundation (radiocarbon dating). 1944-1949, 1956-1958
University of California, Joel Hedgpeth. 1944-1950
Arthur Hasler, University of Wisconsin. 1944-1957
ES Barghoorn, Harvard University. 1944, 1951-1953
AD Henderson, Antioch College. 1945
Dr. de Terra, Coring Lakes in Mexico. 1945
C. Mclean Fraser, University of British Columbia. 1945
Miscellaneous. 1945-1946
Concerning Hydroids. 1945-1946, 1950-1958
Biological Abstracts. 1945-1949
McGraw Hill Book Company, Book on Animal Ecology. 1945-1949, 1958
Carl Hubbs, The American Naturalist. 1946
Cloroben Corporation, Aquatic Weed Control. 1946
Istituto Italiano di Idrobiologia, concerning Italian Publications. 1946
LR Wilson, Coe College. 1946
Robert T. Hatt, Cranbrook Institute of Science. 1946
Wilhelm Rodhe, Uppsala Universitets Institute. 1946
American Geographical Society (award for ES Deevey). 1946-1947
Fred Phleger, Amherst College. 1946-1947, 1931
ARV Arellano, Universidad Nacional de Mexico (carbon dating). 1946-1948
Charles M Weiss, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. 1946-1948
Thomas Park, University of Chicago. 1946-1948, 1957
Ruth Patrick, Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia. 1946-1948, 1957
WT Edmondson, Harvard University. 1946-1948, 1958-1959, 1985-188
Frank E. Eggleton, University of Michigan. 1946-1949
Donald Zinn, Woods Hole, University of Rhode Island. 1946-1958
Concerning Limnology. 1946-1948
Ira T. Wilson, Heidelberg College. 1947
Lyle M. Thorpe, State Board of Fisheries and Game. 1947
Dr. AJ Lotka, Metropolitan Life Insurance Company. 1947
Elmer Higgins, US Department of Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service. 1947
A. Shulov, Hebrew University, Palestine. 1947-1948
Thomas S. Austin, Division of Oceanography, US Navy. 1947-1948
American Society of Zoologists. 1947-1948
Miscellaneous. 1947-1948, 1957, 1968, 1985
University College of Wales, TA Stephenson. 1947-1949
Ernst Mayr, American Museum of Natural History. 1947-1949
International Review of Hydrobiology and Hydrography, Folder 1 of 2. 1947-1950

Box 2

International Review of Hydrobiology and Hydrography, Folder 2 of 2. 1947-1950
Dr. AJ Huntsman, University of Toronto. 1948
David Lock, Department of Zoological Field Studies. 1948
Lorenz G. Straub, American Geophysical Union. 1948
Concerning Yale Zoology Deprtment. 1948-1949
RC Murphy, American Museum of Natural History. 1948-1949
Pleistocene Biogeography. 1948-1949
Society of Systematic Zoology. 1948-1949, 1955
Douglas Byers, Robert S Peabody Foundation (archaeology). 1948-1950, 1958-1959
Raymond Paynter (from and concerning). 1948, 1956, 1959
Dennis Flanagan, Gerard Piel, CL Strong, Scientific American. 1948-1958
Miscellaneous, from one school year, Folder 1 of 2. 1949-1950
Miscellaneous, from one school year, Folder 2 of 2. 1949-1950
Fulbright Award for '52-'53. 1949-1953
Miscellaneous, Reprints, Research, and Support Requests. 1949-1984
Miscellaneous. c. 1950s
Jo Babcock, Department of State, German Affairs. 1950
Shirley A Macmillan, Applying for job at Osborn Lab. 1950
Dr. Adolfo Meyer-Abich, Instituto Tropical de Investigaciones Cientificas. 1950-1951
Henry K Svenson, American Museum of Natural History. 1950-1951
Miscellaneous. 1950-1951
American Institute of Biological Sciences. 1951
Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1951-1952
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1951-1952
Society for the Study of Evolution. 1951-1955
Various Official Memos, Yale University. 1951-1957
Symposium of Climatic Change, Academy of Arts and Sciences. 1952
Miscellaneous. 1952-1953
Guggenheim Grant, Research in North Italy. 1953
European Trip. 1953-1954
Miscellaneous, ES Deevey in Denmark, Sweden, Italy. 1953-1954

Box 3

Miscellaneous, Opper Thesis, Hydrology in Florida. 1953-1954
American Statistical Association (includes reports). 1953-1955
Fulbright Grant in Denmark. 1953-1957
Miscellaneous, ES Deevey working at Osborn Zoology Lab, Yale University. 1954
Yale, Saybrook College Counsels. 1954-1955
LIFE, includes review and research. 1954-1955, 1970
Estella Leopold, US Geological Survey. 1954-1959, 1973-1975
EF Dietz, Core Samples in Wisconsin. 1955
Miscellaneous and Recommendations. 1955
US Department of the Interior, Geological Survey. 1955
Clifford A. Kaye, concerning Block Island. 1955-1957
Miscellaneous, requests to ES Deevey. 1955-1957
Visiting Scientists and ES Deevey's Visits. 1955-1958
Davis Frey, Indiana University. 1955-1958, 1960, 1980, 1987
Various Publishers. 1955-1959, 1970-1971
Allison R. Palmer (Pete), US Geological Survey. 1956
Graham Dushane, editor, Science. 1956
Paul Martin (mostly)_. 1956-1957, 1970, 1986-1987
Harry Godwin, Botany School, Cambridge University. 1956-1958
Miscellaneous. 1956-1958
Symposium on Population Problems and book, The Population Ahead. 1956-1958
Bill Niering, Connecticut College, Red Maple Swamp. 1956-1960

Box 4

Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2 (includes requests for Hare and the Haruspex). 1956-1960
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2 (includes requests for Hare and the Haruspex). 1956-1960
Conference on Archaeological Identification. 1957
Ecological Society of America, Animal Behavior. 1957
Geological Society of America (Deevay as Fellow). 1957
George Sprugel Jr., National Science Foundation (Deevey's research in Spain). 1957
Horton H. Hobbs Jr., Mountain Lake Biological Station, VA. 1957
Jane Teramsmae, Geological Survey of Canada. 1957
Kabi, concerning Pollen Samples. 1957
Laura Fermi, Physical Science Study Committee, Monograph Project - The Age of Things. 1957
National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council Division of Biology and Agriculture. 1957
Research Trip to France. 1957
AL Washburn, Dartmouth College. 1957-1958
Frederick Turner, Life Tables. 1957-1958
Ida Langman, concerning Mexican Ethnobotany. 1957-1958
Norman Newell, American Museum of Natural History. 1957-1958
Ecological Society of America Editors. 1957-1960
Margaret Davis. 1957-1960
Radiocarbon Dating Punch Card System. 1957-1961
Jack Bresler, Boston University, Brown University. 1957-1967
Miscellaneous, some unpublished papers. 1957-1971
Gerald Richmond, US Geological Survey. 1958
Hal Turner, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute. 1958
University of New Mexico Publications, concerning Dr. JC Russell's Manuscript Introduction to Medieval Climate. 1958
William Niering, Connecticut College. 1958
Bethany Bog. 1958-1959
Borers, other laboratories. 1958-1959
George and Ursula Cowgill, Harvard University. 1958-1959
John King, Jackson Memorial Laboratories. 1958-1959
Miscellaneous. 1958-1959
"Crackpots". 1958-1959, 1963, 1968
Miscellaneous. 1958-1959, 1966-1967
National Science Foundation, Miscellaneous. 1958-1959
Peter Klopfer, concerning Clethrionomys/Research. 1958-1959
Concerning Populations and Geochemistry. 1958-1959
Shoji Horie, Kyoto University. 1958-1960, 1972
Jane Sewall, Goucher College. 1958-1965
Alan Graham, University of Michigan. 1959

Box 5

Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1959-1961
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1959-1961
JG Ogden, Dalhousie University and Ohio Wesleyan University. 1959-1988
Herb Wright (from and concerning), Limnological Research Center. 1959,1969, 1972, 1988
Roger Anderson (from and concerning work of). 1960-1961
Sierra Club, concerning Deevey's Review of This is the American Earth. 1960-1961
Various Requests for the Hare and the Haruspex. 1960-1961
Miscellaneous, C14 dating, Core Samples, Folder 1 of 3. 1960-62
Miscellaneous, C14 dating, Core Samples, Folder 2 of 3. 1960-62
Miscellaneous, C14 dating, Core Samples, Folder 3 of 3. 1960-62
Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1960-1963
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1960-1963
Matsuo Tsukada, University of Washington. 1980-1983

Box 6

Miscellaneous (requests). 1961
Maya Area Trip Information. 1961-1977
concerning Dr. Minze Stuiver's Appointment. 1962
New Haven Water Company, Lidia Hill Pond (land to Yale University). 1962-1963
Paul Colinvaux, reference letters, work and students. 1962-1988
Miscellaneous, April - December. 1963
Miscellaneous, mostly requests and research questions, Folder 1 of 2. 1963
Miscellaneous, mostly requests and research questions, Folder 2 of 2. 1963
Nobuyuki Nakai, Nagoya University, Japan, sulfur isotopes. 1963
University of Washington, concerning Linsley Pond. 1963
Miscellaneous. 1963-1965
Matsuo Tsukada, NSF Research Associate. 1963-1966
Woods Hole/ Oyster Pond, Massachusetts. 1963-1966
Dr. Harry Everhardt's criticisms of Brooks and Deevey's contributions to book Limnology in North America. 1964
Margaret Davis and Science, concerning joint article on Pollen. 1964
Miscellaneous, January-September, Folder 1 of 2. 1964
Miscellaneous, January-September, Folder 2 of 2. 1964
Columbia University Seminar, Ecological Systems and Cultural Evolution. 1964-1965
Miscellaneous, May '64- August '65. 1964-1965
Miscellaneous, from New Zealand (ES Deevey on sabbatical). 1964-1965
Miscellaneous. 1964-1965

Box 7

W. Waldren, concerning Myotragus Balearicus excavation site in Baleares, Spain. 1964-1965
Department of Navy, Office of Naval Research. 1964-1966
Concerning Green Lakes, New York. 1964-1966
Activites in Australia. 1965
G. Evelyn Hutchinson, Yale University. 1965
Received while in New Zealand. 1965
Vida Stout, University of Canterbury. 1965
concerning Volumes on Quaternary Palynology and Paleoecology. 1965
Charles Taylor, provost, Yale University. 1965-1966
Edward Callender, University of North Dakota (C14 carbon dating). 1965-1966
Miscellaneous, Yale, various committees, requests, Folder 1 of 2. 1965-1966
Miscellaneous, Yale, various committees, requests, Folder 2 of 2. 1965-1966
Ronald Davis, University of Maine. 1965-1967, 1980
Renee Kra (mostly), Radiocarbon, American Journal of Science. 1965-1971
Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1966
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1966
Peter Tyler, University of Tasmania. 1966
Roy Rappaport, concerning carrying capacity figures. 1966
concerning a Volume on Pleistocene Extinction. 1966
John Bradbury, University of New Mexico. 1966-1969
Donald Walker, Australian National University, Pollen Research. 1966-1988
Dr. RC Lewontin, The American Naturalist (Journal of American Society of Naturalists). 1967
concerning Green Lakes Conference. 1967
Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1967
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1967
Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1967

Box 8

Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1967
Monica Evans, Nature Center Incorporated. 1967
Yale University Press, New York Review concerning Pleistocene Extinctions. 1967
Central American Program Discussions. 1968
Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1968
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1968
Miscellaneous, September-December. 1968
Ohio State University, Midwest Wildlife Conference. 1968
JG Mordue, Logos Press. 1968, 1970
Limnology and Oceanography Incorporated. 1968-1970
American Institute of Biological Sciences, Bioscience. 1968-1971
concerning move from Canada - Washington DC - and UF. 1968-1973
AAAS Climate and Man, Boston. 1969
Canadian Society of Wildlife and Fishery Biologists Symposium. 1969
GE Hutchinson's Festschrift, planning. 1969
Miscellaneous, January-June, Folder 1 of 2. 1969
Miscellaneous, January-June, Folder 2 of 2. 1969
Miscellaneous, July-December, Folder 1 of 2. 1969
Miscellaneous, July-December, Folder 2 of 2. 1969
Organization for Tropical Studies, course in Tropical Limnology. 1969
Philip S. Thayer, PhD, Arthur D Little Incorporated. 1969
Harper and Row Publishers. 1969-1970
International Biological Programme Symposium, Poland. 1969-1970
John Cooley, University of Toronto. 1969-1970

Box 9

Science Council of Canada, Fisheries and Wildlife Research. 1969-1970
Miscellaneous (ES Deevey at Dalhousie University). 1969-1971
Ecological Society of America. 1969-1972
Quaternary Research, an Interdisciplinary Journal. 1969-1973
Miscellaneous. c. 1970s
The American Species of Eubosmina Seligo. 1970
Canadian Public Health Association Conference, Kentville. 1970
Dalhousie University, concerning Cameron Killam Package. 1970
Donald Wohlschlag, University of Texas. 1970
Dennis Flanagan, Scientific American. 1970
Haven H. Spencer, Houghton Mifflin Company. 1970
John Stahl, Southern Illinois University. 1970
Journal of Human Ecology. 1970-1972
Juan Enrique Vinatea, Universidad Nacional Agraria. 1970
Miscellaneous, January-June. 1970
Miscellaneous. 1970
M. Winpe, Research Assistant at Dalhousie University. 1970
National Geographic. 1970
Smithsonian Institution, David Challinor. 1970
Symposium on Ecology of Cladocera, Indiana University. 1970
Yale Scientific. 1970
GE Hutchinson's Festschrift. 1970-1971
Job Nomination Requests. 1970-1971
Reprint Requests, Information/Interview Requests. 1970-1971
Salmonoid Communities Symposium. 1970-1971
Symposia, meetings (Not Dalhousie University). 1970-1971
Visiting Staff and Graduate Students. 1970-1971
Concerning Deevey's Move to Gainesville, Florida (UF). 1970-1972
University of Washington, Quaternary Seminar. 1970-1974
Alan Covich, recommendations. 1970-1975
concerning Florida State Museum Activites, Personnel, and Tenure. 1970-1976
Habib Yezdani, State College of Victoria at Melbourne. 1970-1986

Box 10

Dalhousie University. 1971
Donald Strong, University of Oregon. 1971
Miscellaneous, ES Deevey leaving Dalhousie University. 1971
Miscellaneous, insurance, move to Florida. 1971
Miscellaneous, January-June. 1971
Robert H Stavn, Hunter College, New York. 1971
Russell E Train, Council on Environmental Quality. 1971
GM Woodwell, Brookhaven Symposium, Carbon and the Biosphere. 1971-1972
Miscellaneous. 1971-1972
Copies of Miscellaneous Letters sent by ES Deevey. 1971-1973
Miscellaneous, Bosmina Samples. 1971-1974
Dian Hitchcock, Arthur D. Little, Incorporated. 1971-1975
Ecology/Biology Department at Yale. 1971-1975
"From Desk," Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1971-1978
"From Desk," Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1971-1978
Benchmark Series books, Ecology. 1972
Bruce Manny, NSF, Atmospheric Nitrogen. 1972
concerning Chairman, Department of Natural Science Position Search. 1972. 1974
Dick Dickinson (from and concerning), Navy. 1972
Margaret Davis, University of Minnesota, reference. 1972, 1982
Letter to Science. 1972
University of Wisconsin, Northern Lakes Data. 1972, 1986
GB 32150, Grant for Guatemala Research. 1972-1973
Little Salt Spring Symposium. 1972-1973
Nicholas Hellmuth, Foundation for Latin America Anthropological Research, director of Yaxha Project. 1972-1973
Guatemala Trip (mostly logistics). 1972-1974
Miscellaneous. 1972-1974

Box 11

William Hart, Dalhousie University. 1972-1975
Robert C. Dorion, Guatemala. 1972-1976
Jack Vallentyne, Fisheries Research Board of Canada. 1973
Leigh Van Valen, Evolutionary Theory Journal. 1973
(Pete) Ogden, Dalhousie University, concerning pollution in Nova Scotia. 1973
Recommendations for John Cooley. 1973
Science Applications, Incorporated, concerning Holography. 1973
Societas Internationalis Limnologiae. 1973-1974, 1987-1988
Suzi (Secretary) also some forwarded memos, summer. 1973
Journal of Human Ecology. 1973-1978
Miscellaneous, Summer. 1974
Activity Reports (Includes wife, Georgiana). 1974-1975, 1986-1987
ASLO Conference. 1974-1975
Don and Pru Rice, Guatemala Research. 1974-1975
Educational Expeditions International, TV Program, Peopleing the New World. 1974-1975
Guatemala Trip, mostly Nicholas Hellmuth. 1974-1975
Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1974-1975
Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1974-1975
Miscellaneous, requests for reprints, information. 1974-1975
Robert C. Dorion, Guatemala. 1974-1975
William M Hamner, University of California at Davis. 1974-1976
Annual Review, Ecology and Syst. 1974-1977
Florida State Museum Memos, Folder 1 of 2. 1974-1980

Box 12

Florida State Museum Memos, Folder 2 of 2. 1974-1980
Various Universities on programs in Tropical Studies. 1974, 1985, 1988
William Watts, University of Dublin. 1974-1984
Dian Hitchcock, Reference Letter. 1975
Florida Green Plan Inventory Form. 1975
Miscellaneous, Summer. 1975
Miscellaneous, Summer. 1975
Senator Lawton Chiles, HR 4723. 1975
Wolff, job recommendations. 1975
Miscellaneous, mostly Summer 1976. 1975-1976
John Painter, WH Freeman and Company. 1975-1977
Gregory J Marlowe, concerning Radiocarbon Dating. 1976
concerning Research done in Mexico and Guatemala. 1976
concerning Guatemala/ Maya Research. 1976-1977
Lake Yaxha and Related Papers. 1976-1977
Mark Brenner, Reference Letters. 1976, 1983, 1986-1987
Miscellaneous, requests for references. 1976-1977
Miscellaneous, "From Desk". 1976-1977
Florida State Museum Support from Bobby Dorian (Guatemala). 1976--1980
Arthur Bloom, Cornell University. 1976-1985
concerning Florida State Museum Reports, activities. 1976-1986
Miscellaneous, Summer. 1977
NSF Maya Proposal, Don Rice. 1977
Postdoctoral Research Asst. for Florida State Museum. 1977
Society for American Archaeology, Maya Ecology Symposium. 1977-1978
concerning Guatemala Work. 1977-1979
James Coleman, Deevey's Graduate Student. 1977-1979

Box 13

Miscellaneous. 1977-1979
Paleomagnetism. 1977-1979
Samuel Garrett Jones, post doc. 1977-1981
Alan Covich, University of Oklahoma. 1978
Miscellaneous, Summer. 1978
Hague Vaughan, Pollen. 1978-1979
Miscellaneous, January-June. 1979
Remote Sensing Analysts Project (early man). 1979
concerning Visiting Fellowship at Australian National University 1980. 1979
Mary Pohl, Florida State University. 1979-1980, 1984
Miscellaneous. 1979-1980
Paper: Lakes Yaxha and Sacnab. 1979-1980
International Botanical Congress Symposium, Australia. 1979-1981
Mike Binford, Deevey's PhD Student. 1979-1986
Miscellaneous. c. 1980s
Dr. Virginia Steen-McIntyre (mostly), Volcanic ash and Datign. 1980
M Gordon Wolman, John Hopkins University. 1980
Miscellaneous, Summer. 1980
Personnel of US Geological Survey. 1980, 1987
Rice/Turner, concerning a paper published in Science. 1980
Coba/Orono Research Trip. 1980-1981
Gordon Riley, on volume honoring Riley's work. 1980-1981
Simon and Schuster, Publishing. 1980-1981
concerning Paper for Winifred Pennington. 1980-1982
Miscellaneous Inquiries. 1980-1984
Dr. Barbara Leyden, reference. 1980-1986
BL Turner II, Clark University. 1980-1988
Mass Spectrometer. 1981

Box 14

Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics. 1981-1982
Mary Conway, Life Sciences Editor. 1981-1982
Third International Symposium on Paleolimnology. 1981-1982
Salary Information. 1981-1987
Karl Butzer- University of Chicago. 1982
National Academy of Sciences. 1982
UF Botany Department. 1982, 1987-1988
Faculty Sabatical Program. 1982-1983
Matsuo Tsukada, Paper on Pollen. 1982-1983
Ordway Preserve. 1983
Sydney T Brinson, Florida Natural Areas Inventory. 1983
Barbara Leyden, University of South Florida. 1983-1984
Peter Rich, University of Connecticut. 1983-1986
Miscellaneous "70s and 80s". 1983-1988, 1973
concerning Barbara Leyden. 1984
Bernard Dussart, Institut Universitaire de biologie marine. 1984
Canadian Government Publishing Centre. 1984
Carl S. Swisher Endowed Chair (UF). 1984
Emily Hahn, The New Yorker, GE Hutchinson. 1984
Frank Oldfield, University of Liverpool. 1984
HT Odum (to and concerning). 1984
Institute of Ecology. 1984
Invertebrate Paleontology Chair Search. 1984
Michael Gannon, National Endowment for the humanities conference at UF. 1984
National Academy of Sciences, Deevey as review monitor. 1984
Symposium for ES Deevey's 70th Birthday. 1984
World Population. 1984
Peter Rich, Lindeman Symposium. 1984-1986
Shoji Horie, Lake Biwa. 1984-1986
Trip to Yunnan (China). 1984-1985
Assistant at Florida State Museum. 1984-1987
Georgie B Deevey's Materials. 1984-1988
Jim Coleman, Cape Canaveral. 1984-1988
Prospective Graduate Students under Deevey. 1984-1988
Charles B Reif, Wilkes College. 1985
DA Livingstone, Sigmoid Growth Paper. 1985
Jo Doherty, ESA Archives at University of Georgia. 1985
Dr. Kerry Kelts, London Conference on Lacustrine Source Sediments. 1985
Raymond G. Stross, SUNY/Albany. 1985
Vera Markgraf. 1985
Research Development Award. 1985-1986
Special Collections, University of Georgia, ESA Archives. 1985-1986
Deevey as visiting scholar in China. 1985-1987
Barbara Leyden, MS on Guatemala. 1986
Charles Hall. 1986
Leonard Duhl, University of California, Berkeley. 1986
Mariusz Rybak, Brock University. 1986
UF Zoology, Marshall Endowed Chair. 1986
Yunnan Research Trip. 1986
Bosmina, Koronek, Karnaugh. 1986-1987
International Conference, Association of Theoretical and Applied Limnology. 1986-1987
Lecture and Study in China. 1986-1987
Division of Sponsored Research (UF). 1986-1988

Box 15

Song Xueliang, Yunnan Geological Institute. 1986-1988
Florida State Museum, July. 1988
Journal of Paliolimnology. 1988



Personal Correspondence


Box 15

Family Correspondence, Folder 1 of 6. 1924-1934
Family Correspondence, Folder 2 of 6. 1934-1936
Family Correspondence, Folder 3 of 6. 1937-1939
Family Correspondence, Folder 4 of 6. 1939-1942
Family Correspondence, Folder 5 of 6. 1942-1945
Family Correspondence, Folder 6 of 6. 1950-1954
Dan Livingstone- includes some business. 1952-1955

Box 16

Statement concerning ES Deevey's Mugging in LA Hotel. 1976-1977
Travel Plans and Sabbatical. 1981, 1983, 1988



Projects


Box 16

Archeology Studies, Rice, Yaxha/Sacnab. 1979-1985
Australia Trip- Lecture Notes. 1965
Biological Sciences, Specific Diversity, Research and Correspondence. 1965-1967
Biostratonomy of Arctic Lakes, Progress report. 1951
China- Kunming Trip. 1987
China- Lecture and Research Tour Report. 1987
China Research, some proposal notes, correspondence (Deevey died partway through research grant from NSF). 1987-1988
China-US Cooperative Research, Japan-China Cooperation, Lake Tai and Biwa. 1986-1988
Conservation of Peatlands in Northern Regions- Project TELMA. 1967
CT State Board of Fisheries and Game- Biological Survey, Deevey and Bishop. 1938-1939
Continuing Education Course- Water Resources Engineering Educational Series on Freshwater Lakes and their Management. 1970
Dorion- Shark Project- Florida State Museum. 1972-1973
Economics and Ecology, news clippings, correspondence, Folder 1 of 2. 1971-1973
Economics and Ecology, news clippings, correspondence, Folder 2 of 2. 1971-1973
Ecological Principles of Natural History. 1949
Environment- Conservation Foundation. 1963-1966
Environment- Ad Hoc Committee on Environmental Quality. 1968-1969
Energy Exhibit, Florida State Museum. 1971

Box 17

European Trip. 1953-1954
Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project. 1972-1973
Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project, Grant. 1972-1973
Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project. 1973
Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project, invoices, certifications. 1973-1976
Festschrift for GE Hutchinson. 1971-1973
Festschrift for GE Hutchinson, Miscellaneous. 1970-1971
Florida State Museum Annual Activity Report. 1987-1988
Florida State Museum Exhibit Plans. 1973
Florida Museum Films, Conclusion Theater (scripts). 1976
Florida Museum Films, Conclusion Theater (story boards). 1976
Foundation for the Study of Cycles, awards. 1944
Glacier Bay Fossils. 1953-1956
Guatemala trip, Predeparture. 1949-1950
Guatemala, Salvador, data on plankton and bottom fauna. 1950
Guatemala, Travel Information. 1950-1951
Guatemala, correspondence, research data. 1950-1970
Guatemala Correlations, Yale Computer Center. 1965
Guatemala, Miscellaneous. 1971-1972
Guatemala, Receipts/ Reimbursements. 1972
Guatemala Research, National Science Foundation Grants. 1972-1974

Box 18

Guatemala- Equipment Lists/Shipping Bills. 1973
Guatemala, Insurance. 1973
Guatemala, Receipts/Travel Information. 1973
Guatemala, Proposed Workshop. 1976
Guatemala, Receipts, Invoices. 1980
Guatemala, Research Notes, Correspondence. 1980
KPFA (FM) Broadcast on Animal Populations. 1961
Peten Limnology Information- Brenner, Binford. 1980
Lake Peten District, Guatemala, Final Report to NSF. 1982-1985
Lake Peten, Pinelo, Raul. not dated
Lindeman's work on Pollen, ES Deevy's contribution. not dated
Limnology in France. 1957
Maya Lords, DS Rice. 1983
Mexican History- Notes, Bibliography. 1956
Mexico Research, Correspondence, some data. 1975-1977
Mineralogy- analyzed and plotted data (Burford and Brenner). 19,781,980
National Academy of Sciences- Climatic Impact Assessment Program. 1974
National Research Council Committee on Interrelations of Pleistocene Research. 1947
National Science Foundation, Postdoctoral Grant- Australia. 1963-1965
NSF Grant, Budgeting. 1972-1974
New Zealand, Core Samples. 1948-1952
Organization for Tropical Studies. 1966-1972

Box 19

Organization for Tropical Studies, Folder 1 of 2. 1968-1971
Organization for Tropical Studies, Folder 2 of 2. 1968-1971
Paleolimnalogical Record of the Maya Occupation. 1978
Plankton and Fishes in Lake Yaxha- correspondence, notes, unpublished paper. 1975-1978
Pollen Analysis Table, New Technique. not dated
Pollen Methods. 1956-1963
Productivity and Mineral Cycling. not dated
Pyramid Valley, Moas. 1965
Quirigua Reports. 1977-1979
Problems of Radiocarbon Dating. c. 1951
Radiocarbon Dating- Miscellaneous Note and Lectures. 1957-1958
Radiocarbon (Journal) Carbon Dating notes and correspondence, Folder 1 of 2. 1959-1965
Radiocarbon (Journal) Carbon Dating notes and correspondence, Folder 2 of 2. 1959-1965
Report on Research in Alaska, Yale University and Office of Naval Research. 1955-1956
Report on Field Trip to China- CSCPRC. 1987-1988
Report on Mosquito Control Work in Pine Orchard, CT. 1942
Report to National Science Foundation on work in Peten, Guatemala. 1976-1977
Report- Proyecto Lacustre, Funded by NSF. 1979-1981
Report on Radiocarbon Dating- Office of Naval Research. 1958
Research Award- US Educational Foundation in Denmark. 1953
Results of National Science Foundation Grants. c. 1972-1986
Sampling/Testing Methods in Limnology. c. 1955
Sedimentary Records of accelerated nutrient loading in Florida Lakes. not dated
The Sediments- Preliminary Report- research on Lakes in France. c. 1959

Box 20

Speeches- Chemistry of Wealth and Specific Diversity in Fossil Assemblages. 19,691,971
Statement Before the House Committee on Science and Astronautics. 1968
"Totoket, etc"- Pollen Stratigraphy, Folder 1 of 2. not dated
"Totoket, etc"- Pollen Stratigraphy, Folder 2 of 2. not dated
Yale University Committee on Biometeorology- Interdisciplinary Environmental Program. 1965-1966
Water Resources Research at Dalhousie University. 1969



Field Notes


Box 20

Barnacle Populations- Hatton. c. 1943-1946
Bottom Fauna- Linsley Pond, Canada Lake, and others. 1937-38
Bottom Fauna- Various Lakes. 1937-39
Brookhaven National Laboratory. 1973
Clones- Doran Bosmina, Folder 1 of 2. 1969-1970
Clones- Doran Bosmina, Folder 2 of 2. 1969-1970

Box 21

Core Samples- Treatment and Results, various locations. c. 1954
Core Chemistry- Various Locations. 1978
Daphnia Rosea- Clone I. 1969-1970
Daphnia Rosea- Clone I. 1969-1970
Daphnia Clones 2-6, 20-25; Bosmina Clones 7-19, 29. not dated
European Limnology- Spain and Italy. not dated
Field Op. Funding- Accounts and Worksheets. 1974
Florida Paleolimnology. 1980-1988
Florida Precipitation/Evaporation Measurements. c.1942-1984
Florida Sediment Data- Brenner and Binford. 1983-1985
Florida Surface Sediments. 1984-1985
Fossil Data from Core Samples (source unknown). 1940-1942
Geochemistry- Linsley Pond and others. 1961-1963
Guatemalan, Mexican Samples. 1961
Honey-soaked Limnological Chem. Data. 1977-1979
Hydrology including Meteorology and Peten Limnology. 1975-1977
Isotopes- Linsley Pond and others. 1963-1964
Limnology- J. King. 1960-1961
Linsley Pond Data. 1961-1962
Regional Limnology- Linsley and connected lakes. 1935-1937

Box 22

Linsley Pond- Pollen Research (possible graduate work, PhD research by ESD). not dated, early work
Magnolia and Santa Rosa Lakes. 1973
Marivan Vanzeist Information. c. 1960
Maya Project Equipment Lists. 1973
Mexico Expedition. 1951
Field Data- New Zealand Lakes, Pollen. 1965
Oana and Deevey c13, c14 (lakes). 1958-1959
Oyster pond- Microfossils. 1947
Peten- Meteorology Data. 1967-1973
Peten Meteorology. 1973-74
Peten Morphometry, Limnology. 1978
Peten Temperature, Oxygen, Productivity (some correspondence). 1977-1978
(Research Sample Information Sheets) Peten Water, Soil, Mud. 1977-1978
"Photostats"- graphs, Walden Pond, copies of drawings. not dated
Pollen and C14 Dating Research. not dated
Modern Pollen Lists. not dated
Pollen, Mexico. not dated
Pyramid Valley Swamp. c. 1949-1950
Queechy Lake, Folder 1 of 4. 1960-1963

Box 23

Queechy Lake, Folder 2 of 4. 1960-1963
Queechy Lake, Folder 3 of 4. 1960-1963
Queechy Lake, Folder 4 of 4. 1960-1963
Quexil and Macanche- Core Samples. 1978
Rogers Lake Bosmina - lists of SA and J. da Costa's samples. 1964-1968
Rogers Lake, Folder 1 of 2. c. 1960s
Rogers Lake, Folder 2 of 2. c. 1960s
Rogers Lake, Counts, Folder 1 of 3. 1960-1964
Rogers Lake, Counts, Folder 2 of 3. 1960-1964
Rogers Lake, Counts, Folder 3 of 3. 1960-1964
Rogers Lake. 1962-1966
Rogers Lake. 1967
Rogers Lake. 1983
Sacnab and Yaxha- Peten Data. 1973

Box 24

Sacnab and Yaxha- Core Samples. 1977
Surface Palynology. 1975-1977
Urbanism Model. 1978
Yaxha- Hydrology and Limnology. 1979-1980
Yunnan Lakes- China. 1987