Skip to Search



A Guide to the Collection of Photographs of Dakar in 1939

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2013


Descriptive Summary

Title: Collection of Photographs of Dakar in 1939
Dates: 1939
Abstract: Collection of 23 photos of Dakar in 1939 showing residential areas, architecture, commerce, Dakar residents, street scenes, and various views of the city.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 112 3/6
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Collection of 23 photos of Dakar in 1939. The images show residential areas, architecture, commerce, Dakar residents, street scenes, and various views of the city. The photos have handwritten captions, but it is not evident who wrote the captions. Descriptions include: "Modern French Development", "Race Course", "French Residency", "Catholic Cathedral", "Station", "Native Village Outside Dakar", "On the Quay", "Native Diving Boys", "Kraal Huts", "Police Parading", "Native Quarters", and "Post Office."


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Collection of Photographs of Dakar in 1939, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased in 2012.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Dakar (Senegal) -- History
Dakar (Senegal) -- Pictorial works



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page