Skip to Search



A Guide to the Historia de Cuba Photograph Albums

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
December 2011


Descriptive Summary

Title: Historia de Cuba Photograph Albums
Dates: 1935
Abstract: Two copies of an album of photographs depicting people, historical sites and landmarks, events, buildings, ships, and documents spanning the history of Cuba.
Extent: 1 Linear feet. 2 albums.
Identification: MS Group 173
Language(s): Spanish

Scope and Content

Two copies of a photograph album entitled, Historia de Cuba. Each album includes 600 photographs depicting people, historical sites and landmarks, events, buildings, ships, and documents spanning the history of Cuba. Several photographs are reproductions of works of art, such as painted portraits of individuals. In addition to the photos, the album includes several pages of printed text, including a prologue written by Tabacalera Cubana, makers of La Corona y Susini cigars. The photos mounted in the album were made available in the company's cigar boxes. All of the photos are numbered and include printed captions. The photos and text are organized according to dates and events, such as the Spanish American War, the Republic, and the administrations of various governments. One of the albums also includes handwritten annotations adjacent to most of the photos. The annotations, which were written in Spanish by an unknown individual, provide additional information about the subjects of the photographs.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Historia de Cuba Photograph Albums, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

One of the albums was purchased in 2007. The second album, which has handwritten annotations, was donated by Prof. Lillian Guerra.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cuba -- History -- Pictorial works.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page