|
|
Library Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Remote Logon | Search |
| Library > Special & Area Studies Collections > General Manuscripts > Finding Aids | |
Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers
University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004
Descriptive Summary |
||
| Title: | Anonymous Copybook | |
| Dates: | 1774-1775 | |
| Abstract: | Copies of letters addressed to the Printer, to Lord North, to the King, etc., signed "An Englishman," "A Friend to the Government," "One Million of Loyal Faithful Englishmen," etc., on topics regarding the church, unrest in America, and other affairs of the day. | |
| Extent: | 0.03 Linear feet. 1 volume (34 leaves). | |
| Identification: | MS Group 112 1/7 | |
| Language(s): | English | |
|
Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below. | |
Copies of letters addressed to the Printer, to Lord North, to the King, etc., signed "An Englishman," "A Friend to the Government," "One Million of Loyal Faithful Englishmen," etc., on topics regarding the church, unrest in America, and other affairs of the day. The letters in this copybook are dated September 28, 1774 to July 31, 1775. Inserted in the copybook is a letter signed W. Carpenter (no location or date) which appears to be from a later date. A note with the copybook indicates there is a second book with entries from Apr. 1772 to Sept. 1774 to the "Printer of the Gazetteer". The current location of the second copybook was unknown at the time of purchase.
The collection is open for research.
A digital reproduction of this item is available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.
[Identification of item], Anonymous Copybook, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
Great Britain -- Politics and government -- 1760-1789.
Political letter writing -- Great Britain -- 18th century -- Sources.
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.