Skip to Search



A Guide to the Gwendolen M. Carter Collection

Finding aid created by Dan Reboussin and Danielle Altman

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
June 2006


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Carter, Gwendolen Margaret, 1906-
Title: Gwendolen M. Carter Collection
Dates: 1932-1991
Dates: 1970-1987
Abstract: The Carter Collection is comprised of the research and personal files of Gwendolen Carter. The papers are predominantly related to her research of southern Africa, particularly South Africa, during the 1970s and 1980s.
Extent: 5.5 linear feet. (14 Boxes)
Identification: MS Group 193


Biographical/Historical Note

Gwendolen Margaret Carter was born in Hamilton, Ontario in 1906. The daughter of a physician, she completed a B.A. in history at the University of Toronto in 1929. She received a second B.A. from Oxford in 1931 and returned to Hamilton, Ontario to teach at McMaster University until 1935.

Carter came to the United States to undertake graduate study at Radcliffe College, where she completed both her M.A. (1936) and Ph.D. (1938) in political science. Naturalized as a US citizen in 1948, she taught political science at Smith College from 1943 to 1964, holding the Sophia Smith chair there from 1961. She was then at Northwestern University from 1964-1974 as Melville J. Herskovits Professor of African Affairs. She taught at Indiana University 1974-1984 and was on faculty at the University of Florida from 1984 until her retirement in 1987.

While Carter’s early work focused on European governance, her scholarly attention shifted to Africa following an initial trip to South Africa in 1948. From then on, she specialized in the politics and economy of southern Africa over the course of a career that spanned more than forty years. Carter’s many research trips to South Africa culminated in numerous publications, several of which have become classic texts in both political science and African studies. These canonical works, which detail the dynamics of political change in Africa, include: The Politics of Inequality: South Africa Since 1948 (1958); Independence for Africa (1960); South Africa's Transkei: The Politics of Domestic Colonialism (1967); and Which Way is South Africa Going? (1980). She edited several works about Africa, including the four-volume From Protest to Challenge: A Documentary History of African Politics in South Africa 1882-1964 (1972-1977).

Professor Carter was one of the founders of African Studies in the US and was amongst the most widely known scholars of African affairs in the twentieth century. She was 84 years old when she died at her home in Orange City, Florida on February 20, 1991.


Scope and Content

The Gwendolen M. Carter Collection encompasses the research and personal files of Gwendolen Carter, dating primarily from 1970 to 1987. A small amount of material from the 1930s, 1960s and 1990s is included. The papers are predominantly related to her research into the political and economic dynamics of southern Africa, particularly South Africa, during the 1970s and 1980s.

The collection includes correspondence, press clippings, newsletters, political pamphlets, manuscripts, papers for presentation, writings, memorandum, research notes, speeches, interview transcripts and a small number of photographs, souvenir ephemera and postcards. Carter made a number of research trips to southern Africa during the years covered by the collection and the papers comprise excellent documentation of her activities while abroad.

A substantial amount of the collection relates to Carter’s work with the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), including transcripts of interviews, correspondence and research notes which emerged out of her contacts with well-known political activists and politicians based in southern Africa. Documents, speeches, and letters relating to Julius Nyerere, Seretse Khama, Gatsha Buthelezi, Steve Biko and Helen Joseph are particularly well-represented. The collection also includes a considerable number of materials pertaining to detention, the 1984 South African Constitution and the Transkei.

The papers also contain a wide-ranging collection of newsletters, memoranda and pamphlets of organizations involved in anti-apartheid activities such as the Black Sash; the South African Institute of Race Relations; the Wages Commission; and the Detainees Parents Support Commission. Also included are numerous press clippings from South Africa and North America, relating to a broad range of issues facing southern Africa. In addition, the papers include a wide array of writings (drafts of papers, book chapters and conference papers), correspondence from Carter’s academic colleagues and friends and early drafts of Carter’s published works. One notable inclusion is a copy of Carter’s substantial typescript autobiography (unpublished), which details her childhood and 40 years of personal and research experiences in southern Africa and North America. The papers are organized into two main sections: Personal Materials (1932-1991) and Research Materials (1932-1987).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Northwestern University Archives holds the Gwendolen M. Carter Papers, 1915-1991 (Series 35/10, Africana Manuscripts 10). This collection spans the years 1915-1991 and includes biographical materials, correspondence, teaching files, research and field notes, reprints and manuscript drafts, and several clippings scrapbooks. Carter was the Director of Northwestern's Program of African Studies, 1964-1974.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], [Title of Archival Collection], Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Personal Materials, 1932-1991

Personal materials consist of letters, photographs, postcards, souvenirs, the Carter autobiography, a small scrapbook and interviews of Carter. Personal materials are divided into two sections: Correspondence and Personal Files. The correspondence relates to a wide range of personal, academic, legal and professional matters. The folder containing correspondence between Helen Joseph and Carter also includes a wide array of press clippings about Helen Joseph and letters pertaining to the publication of her autobiography.


Correspondence, 1932-1991

General correspondence includes letters from politicians, academics and friends in the US and Africa. The Buthelezi correspondence predominantly relates to political issues in KwaZulu Natal and South Africa. The Helen Joseph correspondence includes both personal and professional correspondence relating to Carter’s facilitation of the publication of Joseph’s autobiography Side By Side. The folder also contains extensive newspaper clippings about Joseph. Noteworthy photographs include those of Buthelezi and Julius Nyerere.

Box 1

Correspondence, general. 1973-1980
Correspondence, general. 1981
Correspondence, general. 1982
Correspondence, general. 1983
Correspondence, general. 1984
Correspondence, general. 1985
Correspondence, general. 1986

Box 2

Correspondence, general. 1987
Correspondence, Gatsha Buthelezi-Carter. 1964-1977
Correspondence, Helen Joseph-Carter. 1981-1986
Carter Christmas letters. 1965-1983
Photographs, postcards, souvenirs. 1932-1974, n.d.


Personal Files, 1932-1991

Carter's sizeable autobiography details her childhood and career. The scrapbook includes photographs and speeches from an African Studies Association special tribute to Carter held at the annual meeting in 1991. The interviews of Carter, conducted by colleagues Tom Karis and Patrick O'Meara, feature Carter's reflections on her career.

Box 3

Carter autobiography. n.d.
Carter autobiography (continued). n.d.
Carter autobiography (continued). n.d.
Carter autobiography (duplicate chapters). n.d.
Scrapbook of ASA special tribute to Carter. 1991
Transcripts of interviews of Carter (conducted by Tom Karis). n.d.
Videotape recording (VHS cassette) of interview of Carter (conducted by Patrick O’Meara). n.d.



Research Materials, 1932-1987

Research materials consist of papers relating to Carter’s research into the politics and economy of southern Africa, primarily South Africa. It is divided into four sections: Subject Files, Miscellaneous Papers, Speeches and Interviews, and Writings. Items are arranged in alphabetical order (except for Miscellaneous Papers) and filed chronologically within this schema.


Subject Files, 1932-1987

The subject files contain extensive materials relating to the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), including meeting minutes, paper drafts, research notes and memoranda. A noteworthy feature includes Carter’s narrative of her 1982 trip through southern Africa as part of her research concerning the SADCC. This includes transcripts of interviews she conducted at the time and notes about her meetings with various African politicians.
Other well-represented subjects include: Gatsha Buthelezi; the Black Sash (including numerous memoranda and newsletters written by Sheena Duncan); the 1984 South African Constitution (covering apartheid state officials' writings and reports); the South African Institute of Race Relations (encompassing numerous meeting minutes); and the Transkei (particularly materials relating to economic investment in the Transkei and the independence of the Transkei).

Box 4

African National Congress. 1943-1983, n.d.
Black Allied Worker’s Union. 1973-1977, n.d.
Black Consciousness. 1977-1979, n.d.
Black Sash and Sheena Duncan. 1979-1982
Biko, Steve. 1976-1977, n.d.
Buthelezi, Gatsha and the Buthelezi Commission. 1972-1982, n.d.
CAMP/SARAP. 1978-1979, n.d.
Center for African Studies, University of Florida. 1987
Conferences, political. 1974-1975
Country-specific materials (Southern Africa). 1932-1982, n.d.

Box 5

Detention and the Detainees Parent’s Support Commission. 1976-1985, n.d.
DPSC memoranda. 1983
Disinvestment. 1980
Government Directed Community Councils. 1979-1984, n.d.
Progressive Federal Party. 1978
South Africa—Apartheid. 1953-1986, n.d.
South Africa—Constitution (1984). 1978-1984, n.d.
South Africa—Labor and Trade Unions. 1975-1980, n.d.
South African Institute of Race Relations. 1973-1986, n.d.

Box 6

SADCC. 1976-1978
SADCC. 1981
SADCC. 1981
SADCC. 1981
SADCC. 1982

Box 7

SADCC, Carter trip narrative. 1982
SADCC. 1983
SADCC. 1984-1986
SADCC. n.d.
Sports (Southern Africa). 1973-1981, n.d
Transkei. 1936-1978
Terror Act Trials (Index to the Indictment). 1978
The Wages Commission. 1973-1984, n.d.


Speeches and Interviews, 1932-1987

Speeches include an extensive selection of speeches Buthelezi delivered at social and political events during the years 1970-1986. Also included is a broad collection of speeches delivered by Khama during the years 1966-1973. Miscellaneous speeches include addresses delivered by apartheid state officials; liberation movement activists, political leaders and academics. The interview transcripts encompass those Carter collected on her many research trips to southern Africa. Interview subjects include a range of African politicians, apartheid state officials and academics.

Box 8

Speeches, Gatsha Buthelezi. 1970-1975
Speeches, Gatsha Buthelezi. 1976-1977
Speeches, Gatsha Buthelezi. 1980
Speeches, Gatsha Buthelezi. 1981-1982
Speeches, Gatsha Buthelezi. 1982-1986

Box 9

Speeches, Seretse Khama. 1966-1969
Speeches, Seretse Khama. 1969
Speeches, Seretse Khama. 1970-1971
Speeches, Seretse Khama. 1971-1973
Speeches, Julius Nyerere. 1969-1982

Box 10

Speeches, miscellaneous. 1971-1976
Speeches, miscellaneous. 1979-1981
Speeches, miscellaneous. 1983-1987, n.d.
Transcripts of interviews (conducted by Carter). 1972-1976
Transcripts of interviews (conducted by Carter). 1979-1981
Transcripts of interviews (conducted by Carter). 1982
Transcripts of interviews (conducted by Carter). 1985, n.d.


Writings, 1932-1987

Writings encompass conference papers, book chapters, manuscripts, drafts, articles and papers for presentation.

Box 11

Adams, John. 1973
African Collection, Yale University Library. 1977
Alverson, Hoyt S. 1971
Barker, Anthony. 1974
Brown, Ed. 1983
Cheru, Fantu. 1986
Coplan, David. 1980
de Klerk, Michael. 1978
Duminy, J.P. 1979
du Toit, Andre. 1981
Fourie, Clarissa. 1986
Gann, Lewis H. 1972
Giliomee, Herman. 1980, 1984
Green, Rosario. 1983
Grundy, Ken. 1987
Hachten, William A. 1984
Hallet, Robin. 1978
Hallowes, F.N. 1974
Hawkins, Anthony M. 1986
Herman, Pam. 1982
Houser, George. n.d.
Johns, Sheridan. 1973
Karis, Tom. 1986, n.d.
Kentridge, Sydney. 1986
Kimambo, Isaria N. n.d.
Kuhne, H. 1984
Lewis, Stephen R. Jr. 1986
Lipton, Merle. 1986
Lipton, Michael. 1986
Massdorp, Gavin. 1972, 1974
Maluleke, George. n.d.
Mandy, Nigel S. 1979
McGowan. 1974
McHenry, Donald. 1984
van der Merwe, H.W. 1985
Mkandawire, Thandika. n.d.
Mokoatle, B.N. 1979
Mondlane, Janet Rae. n.d.

Box 12

Ndlovu, Scotch, M. 1981
Nziramasanga, Mudziviri. 1986
Ould, C.R. n.d.
Patricios, Nicholas N. 1980
Plimpton, Ruth. 1964
Roelofse, Eugene. 1979
Rosberg, Carl G. 1984
Sands, Laura. 1973
Scarrit, James R. 1983
Simpson, J.D. n.d.
Southall, Roger. 1982
Starke, Helen. 1979
Suzman, Helen. 1974
Vieceli, Jackie. 1987, n.d.
Webster, E.C. n.d.
Wright, John. 1978
No Author. n.d.
Carter, Gwendolen, “Conflicting Aims in Southern Africa.”. n.d.
Carter, Gwendolen, “Politics of Inequality.”. n.d.
Carter, Gwendolen, Miscellaneous. 1953-1983, n.d.


Miscellaneous Papers, 1932-1987

Miscellaneous papers include miscellaneous, handwritten and typewritten research notes that Carter made; a substantial amount of press clippings; miscellaneous newsletters, memorandum, and political pamphlets generated by political organizations and research institutions not represented in the subject files. Course materials relate solely to Carter’s 1981 seminar concerning South Africa and Zimbabwe, including syllabi, one student paper, and Carter’s notes.

Box 13

Research notes. 1974-1987
Press clippings. 1972-1988
Newsletters, memoranda and political pamphlets. 1964-1987

Box 14

Journals, reports and occasional Papers. 1967-1990
Legal documents. 1934-85
Academic conference packets. 1958-1984
Academic conference packets. 1987
Course materials. 1981
Gwendolen Carter obituary. 1991



Selected Subjects and Access Points

Africa -- Politics and government.
Apartheid -- South Africa.
South Africa -- Politics and government -- 1948-1994.
Southern African Development Coordination Conference.


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page