Skip to Search



A Guide to the Brandt and Brandt Papers Related to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
June 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Brandt & Brandt
Title: Brandt and Brandt Papers Related to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
Dates: 1932-1974
Abstract: Correspondence of the Brandt and Brandt literary agency pertaining to author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.
Extent: 2 Linear feet. 5 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 246
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Brandt and Brandt served as literary agents for several prominent authors in the 20th century, including Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. The principals of Brandt and Brandt were Carol and Carl Brandt. Rawlings's association was almost exclusively with Carl and with an associate named Bernice Baumgarten who apparently handled foreign rights for Rawlings' writings.


Scope and Content

The collection contains copies of Brandt and Brandt letters to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, her letters to them, and original and file copies of correspondence with publishers and others with whom the Brandts dealt. There is substantial documentation with MGM regarding The Yearling and other films. Much documentation, especially from the 1932-1940 period, concerns foreign translation and publication rights. The contracts to which the correspondence refers are included. The correspondence contains information on Rawlings; short stories, including several unpublished ones. Although the bulk of the material involves business matters, several of the letters from Rawlings are personal in nature and include information on Norton Baskin's wartime experiences in India. Much of the correspondence from around 1946 involves the Cason vs. Baskin Cross Creek suit and trial. Many of the older copies, on pulp paper and in deteriorating condition, have been photocopied. Correspondence for the years 1941-1969 has been microfilmed.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Papers Miscellaneous Papers (Box 6) contains correspondence and reports provided by Brandt and Brandt directly to Norton Baskin regarding the Estate of Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Brandt and Brandt Papers Related to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Acquired by the George A. Smathers Libraries as three accessions: (1) Brandt and Brandt returned the files to Norton Baskin, who donated the 1941-1969 portion to the University through Gordon Bigelow on 1 September 1981. (2) The earliest and latest files, 1932-1940, and 1970-1974 (most of Box 0) were given by Baskin to Rawlings scholar Rodger Tarr, after the letters by Rawlings had been removed, and the University acquired them from Tarr in 2002. The University acquired separately in 2002, from collector Philip May, Jr., the letters that Rawlings had written Bernice Baumgarten and Carl Brandt from 1932 to 1940. They are filed with the general Rawlings correspondence. (3) The foreign contracts to which much of the 1932-1940 correspondence refers were acquired by the University in the summer of 2005 from collector Phil May, Jr.


Contents List

Box Folder
0 1 Provenance file
0 1 Foreign contracts and legal documents 1938-1955 (1 folder)
0 1-9 1932-1940 (9 folders)
0 1-4 1970-1974 (4 folders)
1 1 1941
1 2 Jan. - June, 1942
1 3 July - Dec., 1942
1 4 1943
1 5 1944
1 6 1945, pt.1; Jan. - June.
1 7 1945, pt.2; July - Dec.
2 1 1946, pt.1; Jan. -June.
2 2 1946, pt.2; July - Sept.
2 3 1946, pt.3; Oct. - Dec.
2 4 1946, Re Cason v. Baskin
2 5 1947, pt.1; Jan. - June.
2 6 1947, pt.2; July - Dec.
2 7 1948, pt.1; Jan. - June.
2 8 1948, pt.2; July - Dec.
3 1 1949
3 2 1950
3 3 1951
3 4 1952, pt.1; Jan. - June.
3 5 1952, pt.2; July - Dec.
3 6 1953, pt.1; Jan. - June.
3 7 1953, pt.2; July - Dec.
3 8 1954
3 9 1955
4 1 1956
4 2 1957
4 3 1958
4 4 1959
4 5 1960
4 6 1961
4 7 1962
4 8 1963
4 9 1964
4 10 1965
4 11 1966
4 12 1967
4 13 1968
4 14 1969

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Authors and publishers -- United States -- 20th century.
Baskin, Norton S. -- Correspondence.
Literary agents -- History -- Sources.
Literary agents -- United States -- 20th century.
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan 1896-1953 -- Correspondence.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page