Skip to Search



A Guide to the Lewis Berner Papers

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Berner, Lewis
Title: Lewis Berner Papers
Dates: 1933-1955
Extent: 3 linear ft. 8 Boxes
Identification: MS Group 155
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. Links are provided within this guide. For more information please see the note below.


Biographical/Historical Note

Entomologist and professor. Lewis Berner was born on September 30, 1915, in Savannah, Georgia. He received his B.S. in 1937, M.S. in 1939 and Ph.D. in 1941, all from the University of Florida. In 1941, he was inducted into the army, training in field artillery in Texas. Soon thereafter, he was assigned to Ft. McPherson Medical Laboratory (Atlanta) to make use of his scientific background. He spent six months there until his transfer to Accra, Gold Coast (now Ghana) in September 1942 to undertake mosquito control work and other tropical health programs.

Berner served as an army major and entomologist for the Inter-Allied Malaria Control Group in Accra. He received the Legion of Merit medal for his mosquito control work with this primarily British and American group, which was commanded by an Australian and staffed principally by engineers. According to Berner, the group was almost entirely successful in eliminating malaria from the Accra area of the Gold Coast, at the time a British colony (it became independent as Ghana in 1957).

When he first went to Africa in 1942 (flying via Brazil, from Miami), Berner landed in Liberia and stayed for two nights at the Firestone Rubber plantation. Continuing to Accra, he stayed in barracks built by Pan American Airlines. They were relatively luxurious accommodations with mattresses and screened windows. Pan American army planes transported the group throughout much of Africa.

Berner was the medical inspector of Morrison Field Air Base (Palm Beach) for the Africa-Middle East Wing of the Air Transport Command, and for the North African Wing of the A.T.C. He traveled to Liberia, Senegal, French Morocco, Tunisia, Nigeria, and the Union of South Africa in this capacity in 1943 and 1944. He also traveled from Elizabethville, Belgian Congo (Lubumbashi) to Johannesburg, South Africa, on a narrow gauge railway trip that took five days and four nights to complete.

After returning to the U.S. (again via Brazil) in 1945, Berner was stationed in Miami, and two months later was transferred to the Philippines. On his way there, he stopped in Hawaii, where he arrived on VJ Day, August 14, 1945. There he met his future wife, Amelia (Amy), a nurse on a ship stationed there (they married the same year). He continued to his post as Commanding Officer of the School of Preventative Medicine in Manila, but because the war ended it never functioned. He was discharged in February 1946 as a Lieutenant Colonel and was subsequently offered a position as an Assistant Professor in the Biology Department at UF, where he began work that June. He became a full Professor in 1954, later served as chair of the department, and was named Professor Emeritus in 1984.

Berner was a recognized expert on the mayflies of the Southeast U.S. He was the author of numerous publications, primarily on entomology, aquatic insects, mosquitoes and mayflies (particularly the mayflies of Florida). Throughout his career, Berner returned to Africa to conduct research and provide consultation. In 1950, he worked on the Volta River project in the Gold Coast, investigating schistosomiasis and onchocerciasis with the Inter-Allied group. He also worked in the Shire Valley of Malawi in 1952, during which time Archie Carr was his assistant. Dr. Berner died on January 19, 2004.


Scope and Content

Photographs, correspondence, field notes, reports, papers for presentations, maps, publications, and postcards. A large number of photographs and documents pertain to Berner's 1950 survey of the Volta River basin, Gold Coast, British West Africa, to produce an entomological report assessing the public health implications of a planned system of reservoirs and canals. Also covered is his trip to Nyasaland in 1952, along with Dr. Archie Carr of the University of Florida, to survey the insect vectors of human diseases present in the Shire River Valley and to report on the entomological impact of channeling and constructing irrigation drains in the region. Although the correspondence and documents do not cover Berner's Army service in Africa and the Philippines, this period is well represented by the photographs from 1941 through 1945.

A number of documents and photographs portray, or are related to, conservation biologist Archie Carr. Also included are photographs of Marjorie Carr; George Hopper, Sanitary Inspector for Nyasaland; various American and British military and medical personnel; and numerous African people. Of particular interest are the field notes and writings related to the entomological surveys and West African insects such as mosquitoes, black flies (simulium damnosum) and mayflies. Other topics and locations include French Togoland, Dakar, Denu, Lake Malombe, Ntundu, Lake Shirwa, Lake Nyasa, Zambesi River, Ruo River, Mt. Kilimanjaro, Marrakech, and a Nairobi game preserve.

The postcards cover various locations in Africa, including Accra, Gold Coast; French West Africa; Dakar, Senegal; East Africa; and Marrakech. The majority of the postcards are photographs, but several are illustrations portraying stereotypical images of African people.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Related Material

Archie F. Carr Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

The transcript of a 1969 oral history interview of Dr. Berner conducted by Samuel Proctor is available online in the UF Digital Collections. In addition, the Harn Museum of Art at the University of Florida holds several objects donated by Lewis Berner.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

The photograph scrapbook Album 1 (Box 6) from this collection has been digitized and is available online in the UF Digital Collections. Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Lewis Berner Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated by Lewis Berner of Gainesville, Florida, in November 2002.


Correspondence and Miscellaneous Papers, 1940-1955

Reports, correspondence, field notes, papers for presentations, and maps related to Berner's research trips in 1950 and 1952 to the Gold Coast and Nyasaland in Africa. A large amount of the correspondence is between Berner and the British Treasury and Supply Delegation and the U.S. Public Health Service. The field notes, talks, and reports pertain to Berner's entomological survey of the Volta River region as well as Berner and Carr's report on the development of the Shire River Valley in Nyasaland. Also of interest are the notes and writings related to West African insects such as mosquitoes, black flies (simulium damnosum) and mayflies. Arranged alphabetically.

Box 1

Entomological Report on Development of the Shire River Valley by Lewis Berner and Archie Carr. 1953
Gold Coast Colony Driver's License. 1944
Gold Coast Expedition. 1950-1955
Income and Expenditure Statements. 1942-1950
List of Anopheles Mosquitoes in Togo. n.d.
Map: "The Gold Coast and that part of Togoland mandated to Great Britain". 1940
Map: Gold Coast Survey Department Forest Reserve Road Map, The Gold Coast Northern and Southern Sections (2 items). 1949
"Mosquitoes of the Shire River Valley, Nyasaland" by Lewis Berner and Archie Carr. n.d. (ca. 1952)
News Clippings. 1950-1953
Nyasaland Field Notes (Bound notebook). 1952
Nyasaland Notes. 1951-1952
Nyasaland Notes (Spiral notebook). n.d. (ca. 1952)
Nyasaland Shire Valley Entomological Survey. 1951-1952
Nyasaland Talks. 1950-1953
"Simulium damnosum in the Volta River System". 1951
Transit Book (With Notes and Diary). 1942-1950
Volta River Survey - Gold Coast (Bound Notebook). 1950



Photographs, 1939-1952

This large series consists of prints and negatives created over a period of 13 years, primarily during Berner's research to Africa. The majority of the photos were taken during World War II, while Berner served in the U.S. Army conducting malaria research in the Gold Coast, primarily in Accra from 1943 to 1945. Other locations during this period include French Togoland, Dakar, the Volta River region, Denu, as well as Manila and other locations in the Philippines. In addition, the photographs also cover Berner's trips to the Gold Coast in 1950 and to Nyasaland in 1952 to conduct entomological surveys of the Volta River basin and Shire River Valley. Archie Carr is in several images, especially those from 1952. Other persons portrayed include Marjorie Carr, George Hopper, Ronnie Pink and several other British military and medical personnel, as well as a number of African men, women and children. Arranged chronologically.

Box 2

Berner, Lewis, "In case you've forgotten what a pre-war Berner looked like". 1939
Hobbs, Horton, "Science Hall". 1940
Carr, Archie. December 1940
Carr, Marjorie. December 1940
Peggy and Mary "one pretty Saturday in... Atlanta - 4th Corps area". May 1942
Carr, Archie and Margie and Mrs. Carr - Umatilla. September 1942
"The Scrub, Margie". December 1942
"Along coast, Gold Coast". 1943
Berner, Lewis, at tennis, Accra. 1943
Berner, Lewis, in Liberia. 1943
Berner, Maj. Lewis, Accra. 1943
Berner, Maj. Lewis (left) with Australian officers, Accra. 1943
Christenbury Castle, Accra, Gold Coast. 1943
"Hausaman, Gold Coast". 1943
Marshalls, "Season's Greetings". 1943
"Merry Christmas, Nina, Georgia and Horton Hobbs". 1943
"Merry Christmas, Peggy and Bill Harkness". 1943
"Road paving, Gold Coast". 1943
Dakar Zoo. June 1943
Hobbs, Nina. July 1943
Carr, Marjorie "Age 5 weeks, her first sun bath". "July 25, 1943"
Carr, Margie and baby. September 1943
Carr, Archie and Marjorie. September 1943
Carr, Marjorie, Jr. September 1943
Berner, Lewis, World War II, "Sphinx near Cairo, Egypt" (2 items). November 1943
Accra. 1944
Berner, Lewis, in Accra (various poses) (9 items). 1944
Berner, Lewis, with Brown, Sullivan, Moore, Franklin, Christian, at Accra (2 items). 1944
British Army Officers, beach, Accra (2 items). 1944
Brown, Col., Accra (2 items). 1944
Castle remains, Gold Coast (3 items). 1944
Driver ants, Gold Coast. 1944
Gold Coast (4 items). 1944
Kapok tree and unidentified man, Gold Coast. 1944
"My mosquito plane," Accra (2 items). 1944
Office and lab, malaria and mosquito survey (4 items). 1944
"One of our drainage ditches," Accra. 1944
On the Volta River, Ghana (Gold Coast) (3 items). 1944
Pink, Ronnie (British Army), Accra (7 items). 1944
Termite mound and Capt. Franklin, Gold Coast. 1944
Tribal markings, Accra (3 items). 1944
Weaver birds, Accra. 1944
Weisen, Maj., Accra (2 items). 1944
Major Bamber, Major Woodrow, Capt. More (RAMC) in native compound. May 1944
Mountains near Sempene, Gold Coast. May 1944
Berner, Major Lewis, and Mosquito Trap #2. June 1944
Friend in bathing at Bawaleshi. June 1944
Ziperman, Capt., Accra. June 1944
Winneba road at Lagoon day after 4.33 inch rain. July 1944
Drinking sewage water from main Achimota drain near Ring Road. "July 7, 1944"
Native house or compound in the village of Nkwantanang on Dodowah Road (2 items). "July 13, 1944"
Aburi. August 1944
Gogel, KW, searching for larvae. August 1944
Homowa celebration at Accra with chief and subchiefs. August 1944
Capt. Hoffman's room at Maiduguri. September 1944
Castle on coast, Gold Coast. October 1944
Hausa man leading Brahama bull to slaughter house, Accra. November 1944
Loading a mahogany log near Kumasi, Gold Coast. December 1944
Berner, Lewis, with group of men at table, drinking (5 items). n.d. (ca. 1944)
Unidentified man (shirtless) seated (2 items). n.d. (ca. 1944)
Aerial Photo "A-1026-A, 8th ADG." (on verso: "Village near Accra, Gold Coast"). 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-B, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-C, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-D, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-E, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-F, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-G, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-H, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-I, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-J, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1026-K, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-A, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-B, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-C, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-D, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-E, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-F, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-I, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-J, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-K, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1021-L, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-A, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-B, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-C, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-D, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-E, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-F, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-G, 8th ADG." (2 items). 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-H, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-I, 8th ADG.". 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-J, 8th ADG." (2 items). 1945
Aerial Photo "A-1020-L, 8th ADG.". 1945
Berner, Maj. Lewis, Accra, Gold Coast. 1945
Volta River, Gold Coast. 1945
Berner, Lewis, on road to Abusi, Gold Coast. March 1945
Adolescents near Keta, Gold Coast. April 1945
African village near Denu, Gold Coast. April 1945
Beach scene at Leventis' Beach, Accra, Gold Coast. April 1945
Berner, Lewis, at rest house in Denu, Gold Coast. April 1945
Berner, Lewis, in native dugout on Volta River, Gold Coast. April 1945
"Boy-pickin with yaws, near Keta," Gold Coast (5 items). April 1945
British Medical Officers - Maj. Woodrow, Lt. Stevens at Accra Beach. April 1945
British officer, Lt. Stevens, Mr. Leventis, Mrs. Paige, Mrs. Leventis, Accra, Gold Coast. April 1945
Bush trail near Volta River, Gold Coast. April 1945
Chwatt, Maj. Leonard, at rest house, Denu, Gold Coast. April 1945
Chwatt, Maj., and douche bowl at "Lome hospital where we lived for two days," French Togoland. April 1945
Chwatt, Maj., and Lewis Berner in French Togoland. April 1945
"Fishing god near Keta, Gold Coast, smeared with blood". April 1945
Gogel and Berner in dugout with oarsman on Volta River. April 1945
Hausaman near Volta River, Gold Coast (2 items). April 1945
Idol to fishing god in village near Keta, Gold Coast. April 1945
Lagoon at Lome, French Togoland (2 items). April 1945
Le Gac, Lt. Col., and Maj. Chwatt, Lome, French Togoland. April 1945
Le Gac, Lt. Col., at his lab in hospital, Lome, French Togoland. April 1945
Lome, French Togoland. April 1945
Monkey island and outing on Volta, Gold Coast. April 1945
Monkey island in Volta River near Senchi, Gold Coast. April 1945
Outing of Malaria survey men on Volta River, Gold Coast. April 1945
Outing on Volta River, Gold Coast. April 1945
Outskirts of Denu, Gold Coast. April 1945
Parker and Adotey at rest house in Denu, Gold Coast. April 1945
Rest house at Denu, Gold Coast (2 items). April 1945
Road scene on road to Keta, Gold Coast. April 1945
Soldiers of malaria survey on outing at Volta River (L to R: Dawkins, Thornbury, Rowe, Slettin, Rothstein). April 1945
Survey group at Volta (L to R: ?, Nolan, Stewart, Dawkins, Thornbury, Rothstein, Berner, Slitten, ?, Montgomery, Gozel). April 1945
Typical Denu house, Gold Coast. April 1945
Typical "pickins" (African youths) near Keta, Gold Coast (3 items). April 1945
Vann, Charlie, at Leventis Beach, Accra, Gold Coast. April 1945
African Linesman, Gold Coast (2 items). May 1945
Chwatt, Maj., on Volta River, returning from French Togoland. May 1945
Crossing the Volta River by Ferry. May 1945
Gold Coast road leading to Volta River ferry. May 1945
Parker and Adotey and Volta River, Gold Coast. May 1945
Parker and Adotey, mosquito boys, on Volta River ferry. May 1945
Volta River from ferry, Gold Coast. May 1945
Old Spanish lighthouse off Miami Beach. June 1945
Amadon, Corp., and Corp. Poll and Capt. Dow in mountains near Manila. September 1945
Amadon, Corp., on mountain road near Manila. September 1945
Amadon, Corp., washing off mud in mountains near Manila. September 1945
Battle-scarred mountains near Manila. September 1945
Mountains near Manila (3 items). September 1945
Neepa-hut, quarters for Capt. at San Fernando La Union. September 1945
Philippines. September 1945
Bombed Bridge at Baguio. October 1945
Chinese grave, Manila (7 items). October 1945
Church in Manila. October 1945
Church in walled city, Manila. October 1945
Crowded cemetery, Manila (2 items). October 1945
Crypt in cemetery, Manila (note open crypt). October 1945
Dining room, officers' mess, Manila. October 1945
Living room, officers' mess, Manila. October 1945
Luzon, Philippines (3 items). October 1945
Luzon, Philippines, bridge destroyed by Japanese (2 items). October 1945
Market scene, Manila. October 1945
Miniature Japanese garden at officers' quarters, Manila. October 1945
Mountain road at Baguio (2 items). October 1945
Mountains on Luzon, Philippines. October 1945
Officers' quarters, Manila. October 1945
Old Cemetery, Manila (Capt. Frank Wood). October 1945
Old Church in Manila (2 items). October 1945
Open crypt, Chinese cemetery, Manila. October 1945
Pier 13, largest in world, Manila. October 1945
Public buildings, Manila (5 items). October 1945
Ruined church, walled city, Manila. October 1945
Ruined city of Baguio. October 1945
Shrine in Chinese cemetery, Manila (2 items). October 1945
Street scene in walled city, Manila. October 1945
Street scene, Manila (7 items). October 1945
University in Manila. October 1945
Water buffalo, Luzon, Philippines. October 1945
Berner, Lewis. 1948
"Island Waterway, Biscayne Bay". June 1948
Carr, Archie, and Al Loessle. Late 1940s
Afram River, Gold Coast (2 items). 1950
Cattle after swimming, Volta River, Gold Coast. 1950
Cattle near Kumasi, Gold Coast. 1950
Cattle swimming, Volta River, Gold Coast (5 items). 1950
"Checking for oncho. - Gold Coast". 1950
Checking for parasites, Dr. Hughes, Gold Coast. 1950
"Checking for Tryps., Gold Coast". 1950
Crossing the Volta River, Gold Coast. 1950
Footprints along Volta River. 1950
Gold Coast. 1950
Gold Coast (2 items). 1950
Gold Coast cattle, Yeji. 1950
Hughes, Dr. Mark, looking for oncho., Gold Coast. 1950
Hughes, Dr. and Mrs., Gold Coast. 1950
"Looking for onchocerciasis larvae, Gold Coast". 1950
"Mealtime - Gold Coast" (puppies). 1950
"Our home in Accra". 1950
Typical oncho. Wrinkles - Gold Coast. 1950
Volta River in flood. 1950
Yeji, Gold Coast. 1950
"Zachery and Isafu, Gold Coast". 1950
Zachery (cook) and driver, Gold Coast. 1950
"Along edge of Lake Nyasa," Nyasaland. 1952
Berner, Lewis, at termite mound, Nyasaland. 1952
Berner, Lewis, in Nyasaland (2 items). 1952
Carr, Archie, and George Hopper, sampling mosquitoes, Nyasaland. 1952
Carr, Archie, Nyasaland (4 items). 1952
Dugout, Nyasaland. 1952
Mayfly on screen, Nyasaland. 1952
Native dugout, lower Shire, Nyasaland. 1952
Nyasaland (5 items). 1952
Shire River, Nyasaland (5 items). 1952
Shire River, rapids, Nyasaland (3 items). 1952
Unidentified (possibly Shire River), Nyasaland (5 items). 1952
Unidentified Nyasaland (9 items). n.d. (ca. 1952)
"Sincere Greetings" note cards with photos of African scenes (2 items). n.d.
Southern Rhodesia. n.d.
Unidentified African men, women and children (10 items). n.d.
Unidentified city with river or lake in background. n.d.
Unidentified image of bellows and kiln or oven. n.d.
Unidentified image of conjoined, deceased babies (2 items). n.d.
Unidentified image of malformed, deceased baby (2 items). n.d.
Unidentified image of malformed, deceased baby (3 items). n.d.
Unidentified man in front of dwelling with logs leaning against wall. n.d.
Unidentified scene with Jeep and field. n.d.
Unidentified square in city. n.d.
Unidentified woman with men in uniform in forest scenes (2 items). n.d.



Photographs - Nyasaland Trip, 1952 and n.d.

Prints and negatives of photographs created during Berner's trip with Archie Carr to Nyasaland to survey the Shire River Valley. A number of photographs include Carr and other researchers (e.g., George Hopper) at work: inspecting insect traps, catching mosquitoes, examining foliage, and interacting with African people. Locations represented include the Shire River, Lake Malombe, Ntundu, Lake Shirwa, Lake Nyasa, Zambesi River, Ruo River, and several villages in Nyasaland. Although most of the images are of Nyasaland and the surrounding region, there are also a few images of London, Rome, Mt. Kilimanjaro, and a Nairobi game preserve. Several prints are washed out. Arranged alphabetically.

Box 3

Baboon (Bongine); Archie Carr holding baboon; Carr and native house (Chirowe area); native canoe (18 items). 1952
Berner and trusty vehicle; Native fish trap; tea plantation; tsetse fly inspection station; on the Zambesi (14 items). 1952
Carr, Archie: on banks of Shire River; with George Hopper, inspecting fish traps, looking for Anopheles (8 items). 1952
Ferry on Shire River (7 items). 1952
Lake Malombe, North Ed (14 items). 1952
Likabula stream; Mlanje Mountain; Limbe; Port Herald birds; native dance in Port Herald (29 items). 1952
Limbe-Imp. Tob. Co. Eucalyptus plantation; Lake Nyasa; Ilala (ship); Kota Kota; Chipoka (24 items). 1952
Monkey Bay; Lake Shore Hotel; selling meat in Chipoka (11 items). 1952
Mt. Zomba (10 items). 1952
Mt. Kilimanjaro; Archie Carr and Mich. Geologist at Dar-es-Salaam; Ntundu; Zoniba; Ft. Johnson; Shire (23 items). 1952
Mt. Kilimanjaro; Nairobi; Kenya (13 items). 1952
Murchison Falls and Lake Shirwa (10 items). 1952
Nairobi game preserve (17 items). 1952
Nairobi game preserve; Archie Carr in Rome airport; Nairobi mosque (26 items). 1952
Namwere Hills stream; Archie Carr and George Hopper with children; palms and corn pile in Namwere region (12 items). 1952
Native canoe (3 items). 1952
Negative Album, "Nyasaland," including description of negatives 1-290. 1952
Negatives - various, Nyasaland (7 items). 1952
Negatives: Archie Carr, George Hopper in marsh (Ntundu mosquito catch). 1952
"Nyasaland": Shire River; Lake Nyasa; ferry; chameleon; Lake Shirwa; Mt. Zomba; Zambesi River; Mpatamanga (56 items). 1952
The Ormistons; London; Windsor Castle; Archie Carr at Rome airport; Kew Gardens; Carr in Kew Gardens (26 items). 1952

Box 4

Shire River (8 items). 1952
Shire River; Mpatamanga; Matope; tadpole (20 items). 1952
Shire River; Ntundu; Lake Malombe; Carr, Hopper and Taylor; Nyasaland (10 items). 1952
Sir William Halcrow's team and George Hopper at Chiromo; Archie Carr and Berner on Shire; Zambesi; dry woodland (12 items). 1952
Unidentified field with utility pole (3 items). 1952
Village near Chiromo; Shire River; Ruo River; Archie Carr on Ruo; ferry; native female with large breasts (18 items). 1952



Photographs - Miscellaneous, 1933-1945 and n.d.

This series primarily consists of large-size photographic prints, a negative album, undated prints, and several unidentified negatives. The negative album does not contain negatives, but includes descriptions for images created between 1943 and 1945.

Box 4

"Accra - at the races" (group of women at ticket window). 1944
Aerial photograph of unidentified region. n.d.
African men standing in a field. n.d.
Chart illustrating "West African Snakes" (by Accra Medical Research Institute). 1933
Gathering at a celebration. n.d.
Headquarters Staff, WASC. n.d.
Hut. n.d.
Lake Taal. n.d.
Lip adornments (piercing/labret). n.d.
Man fishing at a river. n.d.
Man walking by a lake shore. n.d.
Man preparing meat. n.d.
Men pulling a boat onto the shore. n.d.
Men selling clothes. n.d.
Men weaving (mats and baskets). n.d.
Negative Album, "Maj. Lewis Berner, Sanitary Corps, U.S. Army," including description for negatives 1-1176 (these negatives have been transferred to binder in Box 8). 1943-1945
Rivers (includes waterfall). n.d.
Road to Baguio (Hagin Lian Road). n.d.
Street barbers waiting for customers. n.d.
Unidentified negatives (12 items). n.d.
View from H.Co porch (mountain view). n.d.
Hut. n.d.
View of hills. n.d.
View of houses. n.d.
Village. n.d.
Village by a river. n.d.
Woman bathing a baby. n.d.
Women at a market. n.d.
Women (Ju-Ju): Ju-Ju woman and orchestra at Sempene near Accra. Ju-Ju women at Homowa celebration, Labadi (Note marking inscribed in clay covering.). 1944
Young boy weaving. n.d.



Postcards and Souvenir Cards, 1942 and n.d.

The bulk of these postcards depict Dakar, the colonial capital of French West Africa (in what is now Senegal), along with some images from Bignona (Casamance region) and a few from other small villages. Other regions included are Accra, Gold Coast (now Ghana), Marrakech, Morocco, "East Africa," and the Ivory Coast (now Cote d'Ivoire). The majority of the postcards are commercial photographs, but several are illustrations. Most of the cards are loose, but many are bound in souvenir booklets or enclosed in envelopes. Subjects vary somewhat by region, but there is an emphasis on people (cultural practices, ceremonies, hairstyles, dress), economic activities, architecture, landscapes, wildlife, and cities. Of particular interest are the illustrations portraying stereotypical images of African people. Topics include pirogues (fishing boats), Kolda, Mandinka children, various women (Peul, Toura, Senufo, Bobo), Dakar's Corniche area, Kenya's Ngong Hills, the Asantehene,, West Suk, Masai, a "Kikuyu witch," Ngor village, and the town of Mbao, Senegal. Place Protet, Folders are arranged alphabetically.

Box 4

Accra, Gold Coast by Methodist Book Depots (22 cards). 1942
Afrique Occidentale Francaise by M. Viale (19 cards). n.d.
Afrique Occidentale Francaise, Dakar, Senegal by J. Helou (13 cards). n.d.
Afrique Occidentale Francaise (Dakar, Senegal) 10 photographic cards with envelope. n.d.
Bignona (Senegal) by P.E.J. Casamance (20 cards). n.d.
Dakar by Helou (5 cards). n.d.
Dakar, "du hazard des rues...," 10 illustrated cards. n.d.
Dakar, eight photo postcards by M. Viale (with envelope). n.d.

Box 5

Dakar (Senegal) - Apres la peche. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) - Aurore sur la Corniche. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) by Maurice Viale (21 cards). n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) - Depart pour la peche. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) - La Corniche le matin. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) - Piroguiers au bord de la Corniche. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) "Scenes de la Vie Indigene" (10 photo postcards showing African people). n.d.
Dakar (Senegal), 10 miniature photo postcards. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal), 10 photo postcards in envelope. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) - Un coin de la Corniche. n.d.
Dakar (Senegal) - Un coin du Port de Commerce. n.d.
East Africa; "East Africa Types;" E. Africa Game; Kenya; Nairobi by Pegus Studio (10 cards). n.d.
"en Afrique" and "Mamadou, Samba et Cie" illustrated cards by Ch. Boirau (with envelopes). n.d.
Lion and Bongo (3 cards). n.d.
Marrakech by CIM - Combier Imp. Macon (9 cards). n.d.
Marrakech (Maroc) by Photo Flandrin (7 cards). n.d.
Marrakech, souvenir card booklet by C. Hebreard (10 cards). n.d.
Marrakech, two 10-card booklets (2 items). n.d.
Marrakech - various creators (16 cards). n.d.
Miscellaneous: Kipsigis girls dancing (East Africa); Marrakech (Maroc); Atlas Marocain (3 cards). n.d.
New Art Series (Christmas and New Year cards featuring African animals). n.d.



Publications, 1941 and n.d.

This small series includes two publications pertaining to Marrakech: a tourism booklet of photographs and a guide to the city that includes a street map.

Box 5

"Marrakech" by Guides Maroc-Presse" (with street map). 1941
"Marrakech" photo booklet by Photo Albert. n.d.



Photograph and Negative Albums, 1943-1945 and n.d.

This series includes five photograph albums and one negative album. The five photograph albums contain photos and postcards, primarily from the mid-1940s during Berner's research to Africa. The majority of these images were taken during World War II while Berner served in the U.S. Army conducting malaria research in the Gold Coast. The negative album includes those negatives removed from Berner's bound negative sleeves (see the "Photographs - Miscellaneous" series).

Box 6

Album 1 (Available online in the UF Digital Collections, and an item list is available). n.d.
Album 2. n.d.
Album 3. n.d.

Box 7

Album 4. n.d.
Album 5. n.d.

Box 8

Negative Binder, "Maj. Lewis Berner, Sanitary Corps, U.S. Army" (an item list is available). 1943-1945



Selected Subjects and Access Points

The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog:
Subject Terms:
Accra (Ghana)--History.
Entomology--Africa.
Insects--Africa.
Malaria--Africa--Prevention.
Malaria--Africa.
Malawi.
Mayflies.
Mosquitoes.
Nyasa, Lake.
Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
Volta River Valley (Ghana).


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page