Skip to Search



A Guide to the Jose Francisco Barreto y Cardenas petition to King Ferdinand VII

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Barreto y Cardenas, Jose Francisco
Title: Jose Francisco Barreto y Cardenas petition to King Ferdinand VII
Dates: October 10, 1814
Abstract: Petition written to King Ferdinand by Spanish nobleman Jose Francisco Barreto regarding the Cuban colony government.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder (15 pages).
Identification: MS Group 300
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

In 1810, Spanish nobleman Jose Francisco Barreto (a Creole or Cuban born Spanish noble) successfully opposed the establishment of a Junta Superior to govern Cuba during Ferdinand's captivity and the French occupation of most of Spain. This earned him the enmity of the backers of the Junta idea. His trip to Seville and Cadiz to justify his actions won him the approval of the Cortes of Cadiz.


Scope and Content

Petition written by Jose Francisco Barreto. In this explanation of his actions in the Cuban colony, Barreto writes that his enemies are now blocking him from holding the Countship of Mopox with the status of grandee of Spain attached to same due to the death of his brother, the Field Marshal Count of Mopox and French captivity of his nephew. He recalls the heroic actions of his grandfather during the British occupation of Havana (1762-1764) in opposing oaths of allegiance forced on Havana officials and mentions General Count of Albemarle, leader of the British occupation of Havana. He details the countship of San Juan de Jaruco; negotiations for payment for status of grandee of Spain; the similar case of Cuban Marques de San Felipe; the sale of his office as Alcalde Mayor de la Santa Hermandad of Havana; and mentions Cortes of Cadiz Commissioner for Havana Rafael Villavicencio.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of some of the photos and documents in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC).

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Jose Francisco Barreto y Cardenas petition to King Ferdinand VII, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cuba -- History -- 1810-1899 -- Sources.
Cuba -- History -- British occupation, 1762-1763.
Ferdinand VII, King of Spain, 1784-1833 -- Captivity, 1808-1814 -- Sources.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page