Born Eugene Baroff, in 1924 in New York City, to Benjamin and Zissell Baroff. Graduated with a B.A. from the University of Florida
(1947), he remained at the University for approximately ten years as a graduate student, instructor, and curator of the University
Library's Creative Writing Collection. During this period, he became close friends with the novelist Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
and lived in her home at Cross Creek from 1952 until he left Florida. He began calling himself Gene Baro about 1950. He taught
English at Bennington College from 1958-1963. From about 1950, Baro was an active literary figure, publishing short stories
and especially poetry in numerous journals, as diverse as Botteghe Oscure and The New Yorker. He was a regular book reviewer for the Book Review of the New York Herald-Tribune from 1951-1961 and edited two literary anthologies. His major poetry collection was published as "Northwind" in the anthology-series
Poetry Today VI (1959).
In 1963 he removed from Bennington for several years to England, where he was a lecturer for the United States Information
Agency, a broadcaster for the British Broadcasting Corporation, and a correspondent for several publications. By the time
he returned to the United States in 1969 or 1970, he seems largely to have abandoned literary endeavors and spent most of
the remainder of his life in the art world as a writer, educator, and museum and exhibition curator. He was especially noted
for his work in arranging major museum exhibitions. Positions included curator of the Corcoran Gallery, consultantships with
the Brooklyn Museum, the Carnegie Institute Museum of Art, and teaching at Williams College. He died of cancer, November 15,
1982, in Old Bennington, Vermont. (Partially based on John Russell, "Gene Baro, 58, Organizer of Art Exhibitions," New York Times, November 16, 1982, D25.)
Primarily correspondence to Gene Baro from a wide assortment of friends and literary and artistic colleagues, some of his
own letters, manuscript and published writings, and personal documents, including a few photographs, throughout Baro's adult
lifetime, although bulk is from 1950 to 1965.
Most of the correspondence is from the period when Baro was at the University of Florida and Bennington College and may be
regarded as primarily personal correspondence from friends, "professional" literary correspondence from publishers, editors,
or other writers, and correspondence from literary figures, with whom he developed friendships, which may have overlapped
with professional connections. A significant amount of correspondence concerns his activities as curator of UF's Creative
Writing Collection.
Notable among the correspondents are Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings whose 55 letters constitute an important complement to the University
of Florida's large collection of her correspondence. The largest number of letters is from the artist Albert Eugene Stadler,
who was Baro's friend from childhood and heir upon his death. Letters from writer Clyde Miller, who lived with Baro at Cross
Creek for several years, and UF professor William Carleton, represent two of his most important contacts from the University
of Florida. A significant number of third-party letters to Miller are in the Baro Papers. The most prolific professional
contact is New York Herald-Tribune Book Review editor Irita Van Doren. Correspondence with almost all literary figures seems to have dropped off by the mid-sixties. The
smaller quantity of letters from the last twenty years of his life relates to his art endeavors and is less varied.
Principal correspondents include Robert O. Bowen (about 50 pieces), poet John Malcolm Brinnin (36 items), Princess Marguerite
Caetani (38 items), William G. "Bill" Carleton (16 items), anthropological film maker Maya Deren (27 items), a young British
friend, Dallas Edmonds (45 items), UF friend Stanley Fouraker (17 items), novelist Marianne Hauser (12 items), Colin Haycoft
(12 items), John Clellon Holmes (15 items), Don. R. Howard (12 items), bookseller and publisher George Kirgo (10 items), landlord
and friends, Mildred and Robert D. Leigh (about 40 items), Allan Lewis (10 items), David Loovis (14 items ), British journalist
Roger Machell (28 items), Wallace Meyer (15 items), Clyde Miller (62 items), poet and editor Howard Moss (24 items), UF English
professor Ants Oras (15 items), poet Bob Pack (16 items), Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings (55 letters) and her husband Norton Baskin
(32 letters), poet and Stand editor Jon Silkin (10 items) , Albert Eugene Stadler (150 items), John and Ruth Stephan (32 items), British bookseller David
Watmough (30 pieces), poet and editor John Hall Wheelock, (28 items), and novelist Marguerite Young (28 items).
Notable literary names in the correspondence, but in lesser quantities include Robert Bly, Paul Bowles, Kay Boyle, Truman
Capote, James T. Farrell, Randall Jarrell, James Jones, Henry Miller, Marianne Moore Howard Nemerov, William Styron, May Swenson,
and Dylan Thomas. Several of these letters regard contributions to the Creative Writing Collection.
There are also large segments of correspondence from various publishers or publications, often signed by well known figures,
including American Scholar (21 items, mostly signed by Hiram Hayden), Atlantic Monthly (13 letters), Chtto and Windus (6 items, by C. Day Lewis), Harper's Bazaar (12 letters), Alfred A. Knopf, inc. (13 letters), the Nation (24 letters), New American Library (23 items, principally by Arabel J. Porter), New York Herald Tribune Book Review (about 130 items, mostly by Irita Van Doren), New Yorker (17 letters, mostly by Howard Moss), Poetry (about 40 pieces from Karl Shapiro and Henry Rago), Scribner's (20 items), University of Florida Libraries (45 letters, most
by Stanley West, Director).
The manuscript portion of the papers is less rich, but does include a typed manuscript of "Northwind," and of an unpublished
collection, "Looking for Winter," as well as several manuscripts of individual poems and short stories.
A detailed calendar has been prepared for some of the correspondence from Baro's closest friends,Albert Stadler and Clyde
Miller, and individuals which have a special significance to the UF Libraries and its manuscript collections. These include
Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings and her husband Norton S. Baskin, and some of the individuals who were among their friends; important
figures in the history of the University, such as William Carleton; and the Florida writers, Marjory Stoneman Douglas, also
a friend of Rawlings, and Lillian Smith.
Boxes 1-3: Calendared Correspondence. Boxes 4-10: General Correspondence (Personal), A - Y. Boxes:11-13: General Correspondence
(Business), A - Y. Boxes 14-15: Writings (Manuscripts and printed). Box 16: Documents.
Collection is open for research.
The Bowen, Silkin, and Smith Papers, and most of the Creative Writing Collections were acquired for the University by Baro.
[Identification of item], Gene Baro Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University
of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Calendared Correspondence: Baro, Gene. Letters and cards to Clyde Miller, 1955-1957
|
| Box |
Folder |
| 1 |
1 |
3 envelopes addressed to Clyde J. Miller, Cross Creek, Hawthorne, Fl. Postmarked 1956 and illegible. Chelsea, England. |
|
2 |
12 postcards. [1955 June 15 - 1958 August 9, n.d.] [Chelsea, England] New York [Paris, Rome? Barcelona?] |
|
3 |
Letters (7), 1955 |
|
|
|
ALS. 1955 May 19 [On board the S.S. Ile de France] 3 p. The elegance of his fellow passengers reminds him of a quote from
Willa Cather. Describes young French women returning from New York, American tourists, and his tablemate, a British cargo
skipper.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1955 June 1. London. 1 p. Describes joyous mood of the voyage and the transit to London. He was sick during last three
days of voyage. Met by [David] Watmough. Urges Miller to write him.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1955 June 6. London . 2 p. Concern that he has not received a letter from Miller. Some details of his own activities
in London.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1955 June 15. London . 2 p. A rushed letter, written prior to going to theater. Says Millers letter arrived "in nick
of time." Will write more fully tomorrow.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1955 June 17. London . 2 p. Asks about which books have been received from [David] Watmough. Describes book buying activities
and the many books that Miller will be receiving at Cross Creek. Buys anything he wants. Is happy that Miller is writing,
and suggests submitting "Cat's Paw" to Marguerite Caetani. Tending the Edmond's family youngest child.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1955 June 22. Paris . 4 p. Has just had dinner at the Ritz. Describes activities, including walking, eating and drinking,
and visiting Marguerite Caetani, he has performed, since arriving in Paris approximately twenty-four hours earlier. Comments
on passage from Beckford's Vathek.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1955 July 7. London. 3 p. Comments very favorably on Miller's story, "Cat's Paw," and suggests either Caetani or New Yorker may accept it. Has been overwhelmed by friends since returning from Paris. Is going to Wales with Dick Edmonds. Suggests
they meet in New Orleans [upon his return to U.S.] Lists books that he is sending.
|
|
4 |
Baro, Gene. Letters (27) to Clyde Miller, 1956. |
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 May 18.New York 2 p. Says he has recovered. Busy with conferences, which he loathes. Has had meeting with Irita
Van Doren and Wallace Meyer. New York is "horrid." Sails on Thursday, following the Stadlers return from Europe on Tuesday.
Mentions things he would like for Miller to do. Stad 's singing.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 June 5. London . 2 p. Describes details of his "dull and wearisome" voyage, including anecdote about an American
tourist, his cabin mates, meals, etc. The Edmonds met him at Paddington. Is getting reacquainted with London. Has seen [Jon]
Silkin and [David] Watmough. Comments on Miller's new story. Elizabeth Otis has taken him on as a client. Is being confused
with Peter Ustinov, who lives a short distance away.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 June 14. London . 1 p. Suffering from cold, which he has passed on to David Watmough and Bongey Edmonds. Misses
Miller. A handwritten note refers to a recent heart attack of T.S. Eliot.
Accompanied by a news photograph of Eliot entering hospital, and a copy of an unrelated anecdote from a British newspaper.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 June 18. London . 2 p. Awakened by the arrival of Miller's welcome letter. Describes trip with the Edmonds to Repton
for Speech Day and the enjoyable picnic and cricket that followed. Describes Dallas Edmonds, fifteen, and a cousin, Andrew.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 June 28. London . 2 p. Received his letter at breakfast time with the Edmonds family. Describes yesterday, spent
with the Edmondses, including the dinner he prepared, wines, and an evening walk. Refers to a poem he has written for Miller.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 July 2. London . 2 p. List of things he would like from Miller, following a more intimate introduction. |
|
|
|
ANS [no addressee] 1956 July 5. London . 1 p. Enclosing a "little poem." Accompanied by a 12 line manuscript poem, dated 6-29-56 |
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 July 8. London . 1 p. Refers to an enclosed clipping, apparently relating to Dylan and Caitlin Thomas. [The clipping
was not found with the letter]
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 July 19. London. 2 p. Stanley [Fouraker] has arrived. Describes time spent with him. |
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 July 25. London. 2 p. Is making arrangements to get money for Miller. Stanley [Fouraker] is sick, and probably needs
surgery. Tourist crowding made it difficult to get a proper room for Fouraker, but a good room will soon be available at the
Westbury. Baro is becoming friends with Edith Sitwell. He will see her this evening. Longing to be at Cross Creek.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 July 30. London. 1 p., with envelope. Describes condition of Stanley Fouraker, who has undergone surgery. Small
photograph of Baro, London, July 16, 1956, enclosed.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 August 4. London 2 p. His own health and energy is being run down, partly as a result of looking after Fouraker.
Asks if Miller received the funds he needs from Albert Stadler. Reference to Edith Sitwell. Asks if Stanley West spoke of
him.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 August 26. London. 2 p. Leaving to visit Marguerite Caetani in Paris. Stanley [Fouraker] is better and was glad
to receive Miller's letter. Says that Miller has a "Carletonian disposition" [refers to UF professor William Carleton] Would
exchange all his "delights for Cross Creek."
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 August 29. Paris. 6 p. Weather is horrible. Describes meeting and a "Jamesian episode" with Marguerite Caetani.
Met and had a long conversation with Blanche Knopf in the Ritz dinning room. Both women say the other should support him financially.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 September 12.London 2 p. The Edmonds family is returning from Majorca. Paris gave him a rest, and he is feeling
well for the first time since he left Florida. Has had a serious quarrel with Stanley Fouraker.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 September 13. London 2 p. Comments on Miller's letter and his prose on the death of cats at Cross Creek. The tension
he feels between longing to be at Cross Creek and what he feels he must do in London. Will be reviewing for Time and Tide. Marguerite Caetani has taken more of his poems and will publish a group in the spring issue of Botteghe Oscure. Asks Miller to submit a story, such as "A Structure in the Sea" to be published simultaneously. Observation on the future
of Norton Baskin. Expecting to have lunch with Portuguese poet Albero de Lacerda.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 September 15. London 1 p., with envelope. His plans for the day: football game with Richard [Edmonds?] tea with
Bill[ Patterson?] a German performance of Mother Courage, then supper at Alexander's. Asks Miller to get his driver's license renewed.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 October 1. London. 1 p. Tries to allay Miller's concerns about repairs at Cross Creek. Has sent him copies of works
by Woolf and Collette. Assessment of the work of Denton Welch, whom he consider to have had great talent. "A Structure in
the Sea" has arrived.
|
|
|
|
TLS . 1956 October 9. London. 1 p. A quick note, bringing Miller up to date on several items. |
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 October 16. London. 2 p. Refers to an enclosed article from the Evening Standard about Antonia White [The enclosure is not included] Describes concert that he has just come from.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 October 25. London.1 p. Preparing to go to dinner and to theater to see Look Back in Anger.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 December 4. London. 1 p. Concern that he has not heard from Miller. Longing for Cross Creek. On the nature of desire. |
|
|
|
ALS. 1956 December 6. London. 2 p. Received his letter at last. Says he will return to the Creek, if conditions permit. If
not, he will go to Rome in January. Asks Miller to have Ants Oras pressure Archie Robertson about a job for himself.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 December 13. London. 2 p. Is sick with cold, reading Trevelyen's "English Social History." Stanley [Fouraker] has
sailed for New York. Appraisal of Fouraker and of their friendship.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 December 16. London. 1 p. Expects Stad to be in Florida Asks that Miller have Stad sound out Norton Baskin regarding
maintenance of the Cross Creek house and about Baskin's attitude regarding him, and to have Ants Oras "represent" him to Archie
Robertson regarding a job.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 December 18. London. 1 p. He is distracted. Sent the "wrong" book, Nora Wydenbruck's My Two Worlds to Miller for Christmas, whereas he had intended to send another, unnamed book. Will send the "intended" volume today.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1956 December 21. London. 1 p. Lunch with Alan Dent and Roger Machell. He will write Stanley [West about a UF library
job] and wants Miller to work on Robertson through Oras. If a job is available, he believes he can persuade the UF president
[to hire him] If job is good enough, he will return to UF, even if he cannot live at the Creek.
|
|
5 |
Baro, Gene. Letters (16) to Clyde Miller, 1957 |
|
|
|
TLS. 1957 January 4. London. 2 p. Has not heard from either Stanley West or Archie Robertson about employment. Comments on
"rudeness" of Stanley Fouraker. Has not heard from Stad, and is uncertain if he went to Florida. Is waiting to hear form Marguerite
Caetani about invitation to Rome. Appears to say that he would prefer to live at Cross Creek, rather than one of the world's
great capitals. Expresses possibility that Norton Baskin may buy the Creek property and that he could lease it for a long
period of time.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1957 January 22. London. 2 p. Has word from Stanley West that it is likely he can be rehired, but final agreement is
needed from the president. Does not believe that he should come to Gainesville to persuade him. He can stay in London until
April 4th. If a favorable decision is made, he will probably return to the Creek by way of Italy.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 February 4. London. 1 p. Asks him to confirm his February check. Has not heard from him, or anyone in Florida recently. |
|
|
|
TLS. 1957 February 13. London. 1 p. Dismayed that he has not heard from Miller and that his check has not been deposited.
The Orases apparently are sick and have done nothing on his behalf. Regrets that his letters are so full of mundane things,
such as money and Stanley West, when he would prefer to write or more interesting things, such as epic tales and the cats
at Cross Creek. Gives an account of his lunch with the Baroness Budberg.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1957 February 14. London. 1 p. Has received letter from Miller. Preparing to attend the Dunn-Sanford wedding ceremony,
the season's most fashionable. Describes the principals, she, "voluptuous"; he, a "prig."
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1957 February 15. London. 1 p. Incorporates a "Yeats-Moore" poem, "Imaginary Colloquy." |
|
|
|
TLS. 1957 Februaury 22. London. 1 p. Comments on publication of new Andrew Lytle novel by firm of McDowell-Oblensky. Critique
of Lytle's esthetics.
|
|
|
|
ALS. [1957 February 27] London. 1 p. Asks him to deposit March checks as soon as possible, as he had immediate need of funds. |
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 March 13. London. 2 p. Asks about March checks. Busy with the Home Office over question of his status. |
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 March 16. London. 2 p. Received his letter, which answered questions. Beset with problems, such as mistake of Marguerite
Caetani, his mother is sick, problem with Italian cultural attaché, and a big wine bill.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1957 March 26. London. 2 p. Letters from Gainesville indicate that his return is imminent, contingent only upon budgetary
approval. He will return, if offer is decent. Hopes they both can live in England someday. Discusses Clyde's situation, about
which he is more optimistic than is Clyde himself.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 April 8. London. 2 p. Corky arrives tonight; will perform at Blackpool with the Cristiani [circus] Has written
to Archie [Robertson]
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 April 9. London. 2 p. Says that Miller is an "amateur" at wasting time, compared to himself. Muses on justification
for life, and encourages Clyde to be more optimistic.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 April 29. London. 1 p. Returned from Oxford to find his letter. Criticizes Tove for thinking she can tinker with
the minds of others. Asks him to deposit checks quickly.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 July 7, New Orleans. 2 p. Stad and he will be with him in a few days. Mentions things he is looking forward to at
the Creek, and to tell no one he is coming.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1957 July 22. New York. Stad and he will leave for Chicago soon. Is sending him a present and is eager to see him. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Calendared Correspondence: Baro, Gene - Other Correspondence (chronological)
|
| Box |
Folder |
| 1 |
6 |
TLS to Mr. Wimberly (Prairie Schooner). 20 November 1951. Gainesville, Fl. Asks for contributor's copies for issue in which his story appears. ANS "E. B. Wilson"
indicates that copies were sent, Nov. 30, 1951.
|
|
7 |
ALS to Jack (Jock?); 28 Jan. 1957 [London] 1 p. Perplexed that he had not heard from him. |
|
8 |
TL (draft, with annotations) to [J. Wayne] Reitz. 25 September 1957. Cross Creek. 2p. Accompanied by carbon of final letter.
Argues the value of the Cross Creek property to the University and the potential for UF to be a center for creative arts in
the Southeast. Says the two potential of the two may be cojoined.
|
|
9 |
AL to Mrs Gibbs. 28 February 1959 [s.l.] 1 p. RE post office box, he has shared with Clyde Miller. Countersigned with reply
from Pinnell, University Station, Gainesville, Fl., 7 April 1959.
|
|
10 |
TLS to "Sirs"; 1959 August 10 [s.l.] 1 p. Requesting corrections to proofs or review of Churchill's Improper Bohemians and Lipton's Holy Barbarians. Returned to the writer with note signed "M. Hess" that mistakes were on the part of the printer.
|
|
11 |
TLS to Alfred Chester. 17 September 1961, Bennington, VT. Would like to include Chester's story, "Berceuse," in an anthology.
Letter returned to sender by post office, addressee unknown.
|
|
12 |
TLS to Ziss. 10 October 1964 [London] 2 p. He is back in London. Thanks her for shirts. Enjoyed Ireland. Leaving shortly for France
and Italy. Sending her magazine with copy of his poems.
|
|
13 |
TLS to Craig Smith. 27 August 1978. Old Bennington, VT. Contract for rental of apartment, countersigned by Smith, Sept. 4,
1978.
|
|
14 |
AN to Robert D. Leigh [n.d., s.l.] Written on Western Union telegram form. Condolences on the death of Mrs. Leigh. |
|
15 |
TLS to Eli; 1961 April 12, Bennington, Vt. 1 p. Unable to locate John Weiner, or anyone who can give permission to reprint
a Weiner poem in an anthology. Reply, written on verso 9April 17 1961] says that he is unable to help.
|
|
16 |
TL (carbon) to William Tregoning. 7 May 1974 [s.l.] 1 p. Enclosing transparencies of Stuart Davis's. |
|
17 |
TL (carbon) to William Gaines, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. 9 May 1974 [s.l.] 1 p. Support of Ron Stark's application for
grant assistance.
|
|
18 |
TL (draft) to Grace Albee. 10 May 1976, Washington, D.C. 1 p. Would like to buy her prints for his collection. |
|
19 |
TL (photocopy) to Eugene de Christopher. 22 June 1976. Washingtopn, D.C. 3 p. Likes his research proposal and feels that he
can help. Copy of Baro's C.V. enclosed.
|
|
20 |
ANS to "Dear Curator." [n.d. Washington. Asking if Louise Nevelson prints are in his collection. Countersigned by Christopher
J. M. Johnstone, saying there are no such works in the Tate Gallery.
|
|
21 |
TN (draft) to Matsu, Todyou Gallery. [n.d., s.l.] 1 p. Thanking him for courtesies when he visited Japan. |
|
22 |
Baroff, variously identified as Ciss, S., and Ziss (Gene Baro's mother; 4 items) |
|
|
|
ANS "Ciss," to Gene Barow[sic] 12 Jan.1953, Chicago, Ill. Birthday greeting written on Western Union form, with envelope postmarked
Hawthorne, Fl.
|
|
|
|
Telegram /s/ Ziss to Gene Baroff, Cross City [sic] Fl., 7 July 1953, Atlanta. Arriving in Gainesville this afternoon. |
|
|
|
ALS "Ziss" to Gene Baro. [27 Nov. 1959. Chicago] 5 p. Asks why he is angry with her, citing alienation that dates back to
1947. Is in ill health and seeks reconciliation. Form of name in return address is S. Baroff. Mailed to Baro, care of Gene
Stadler in New York, and enclosed in another envelope from Stadler to Baro in Bennington.
|
|
|
|
ALS "Z." to "Gene." 1976 Feb. 16 [s.l.] Sorry that he is sick, but he should have gotten a flu shot. Advice for caring for
himself.
|
|
23 |
Baskin, Norton - Correspondence to Gene Baro [1953?]-1961. 14 items |
|
|
|
TLS "Norton," to Gene. [1953?] Crescent Beach, 1 p. Marjorie is doing better after another attack. |
|
|
|
A. postcard S. [Postmark: 1954, July 6. Van Hornesville] Has had a wonderful time and will return home soon. |
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1954 August 28] Marineland, Fl. 2 p., with envelope. Bed from the Creek will go to Jim Hardy.
He can make another bed availale to Baro.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1954 Oct. 19. Saint Augustine, Fl. 1 p., with envelope. Enclosing check. for Martha. |
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1954 August 1] Marineland, Fl. 4 p. Will not be able to go to New Orleans, because of wedding
if family of someone who works with him. Cats are furious with him.
|
|
|
|
ANS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1954 Nov. 26. s.l.] 1 p., with copy of receipt to be signed by Martha Mickens to the Estate of
Marjorie Kinnan Baskin.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1955 Feb. 11, St. Augustine] 1 p., with copy of receipt to be signed by Martha Mickens to the
Estate of Marjorie Kinnan Baskin.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1954 June 18. St. Augustine] 1 p. Enclosed is TLS "Phil" [May] to Norton Baskin, June 15, 1954,
Jacksonville, re statement of account of Will Mickens.
|
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1955 Oct. 6, St. Augustine] 1 p. Moe [Marjorie Rawling's dog] is missing. |
|
|
|
Telegram to Gene Baro. 1957 July 23 Does not have tomorrow off. |
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro and Clyde Miller. [Postmark: 1957 August 2. St. Augustine] 2 p. Expects them and Lewis this coming Friday.
Hopes they will not bring fleas this time.
|
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1957 August 7, Union Springs, Ala.] Crescent Beach, 1 p. with envelope and enclosure. Encloses
a clipping (photocopied) from the New York Times, August 2, 1957 re to films which John Huston may direct. Says he bets Jane Mansfield will play the geisha in one of them.
He is leaving for Alabama. His mother is very sick.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. [Postmark: 1961 May 13. St. Augustine] 1 p. Thanking him for Bennington publications. Refers to someone
named Norma and a television show. Expects handling of Marjorie's estate to be turned over to the University of Florida Foundation.
He will be glad to be "out of it" because of Arthur [Kinnan's] attitude. He has given up the Dolphin [restaurant]. Death of
Edith Pope and comment about her husband. Talked to Stad[ler] on phone. Hopes that Baro will come south in the summer and
stay at the Creek.
|
|
24 |
Baskin, Norton. Correspondence to Gene Baro, 1954-1958. 9 items. 1 TLS and 7 ALLS signed "Norton," to Gene Baro. [n.d., s.l.,
Marineland, Fl] accompanied by 9 envelopes, postmarked 1954 Oct. 27 - 1958 June 11. It is not known if letters are in same
order as the envelopes. The typed letter contains an amusing incident regarding a Miss Slagle, who interviewed Norton about
MKR. Several of the letters are notes sent to accompany payments to be given to Martha Mickens to fulfill the bequest left
her by Marjorie Rawlings. Topics include visits between them Baskin and Berg, references to Norman Berg, Eugene Stadler, Arthur
and Jeff Kinnan, and a trip to Alabama by Norton. One letters is addressed "Dear Guys," apparently Baro and Clyde Miller.
|
|
25 |
Baskin, Norton. Letters (9) to Clyde Miller, 1955-1959 |
|
|
|
ALS [n.d. PM: 1955 June 1.] Marineland, Fl. 2 p, with envelope. Enjoying book of Joyce stories that Miller sent him. Has sold
the Van Hornesville house. Invites him to go there with him.
|
|
|
|
TLS [n.d. PM: 1955 June 9. St. Augustine] 1 p., with envelope. Invites Miller to accompany him to New York. Discusses expenses. |
|
|
|
ALS [n.d. PM: 1956 June 13] Marineland, Fl. 1 p., with envelope. Happy to see him this weekend. Has bad cold. |
|
|
|
ALS [n.d. PM: 1956 August 23] Marineland, Fl. 1 p., with envelope. Hope Miller can visit before school starts. Has sold "Conch[?]
Island for large sum.
|
|
|
|
ALS [n.d., 1956 Oct. 9] Marineland, Fl. 2 p. with envelope. Has received an invitation to have dinner with Lee Burnham [sculptor
of Marjorie Rawlings] She plans to invite him too.
|
|
|
|
ALS [n.d., PM 1956 Nov. 26] Nov. 25. Marineland, Fl. 1 p., with envelope. |
|
|
|
ALS. [n.d. PM: 1957 Nov. 28. St. Augustine] 2 p., with envelope. Refers to living with a teen-ager. Julia Scribner says there
is interest in "making a Broadway musical from The Yearling." Aaron Copeland may do the music.
|
|
|
|
ALS [n.d., PM: 1956 Dec. 2] Nov. 25. Marineland, Fl. 2 p., with envelope. Must go to Union Springs [Ala.] Mother is the same. |
|
|
|
ALS to "Clyde and Gene." 1959 April 20. Marineland, Fl. 5 p, with envelope addressed to Gene Baro, Bennington, VT. Refers
to the "witch hunt" at the University [of Florida]. Sorry they did not come by the cottage. Still hoping to settle [MKR] estate.
Arthur [Kinnan] complaining. Julia [Scribner Bigham] has been here, with family. Put her on plane with Edith [Pope] who is
going to hospital in New York. Julia wants him to come to New York to make final disposition of Marjorie [Rawlings's] papers.
She thinks there are enough short stories for a book.
|
|
26 |
Berg, Norman |
|
|
|
TLS to Gene and Stad. 1949 Oct. 10 [Atlanta] 1 p., with envelope addressed to Gene Baroff. Regrets he did not see them. His
behavior at visit to Norton's. Hopes to see them in Gainesville and invites them to visit.
|
|
|
|
ANS to Gene Baro [1949? Cross Creek?]. Regrets that he missed him. |
|
27 |
Bigham, Julia Scribner |
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro. 17 Dec. [1954] New York. 3 p., envelope. His plans to see her about Marjorie Rawlings's papers. Says she
is expecting a child in March, and does not have time or energy now to expend on new projects.
|
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro. 5 March [1953. Enroute to San Francisco. Postmark: Carmel, CA., 7 March 1953. 3 p. About a book on Leonardo
and other manuscripts she is reading [as an editor for Scribner's?]
|
|
28 |
Carleton, William G. (1902-1982, Professor of History and Political Science, University of Florida). 15 letters, 4 postcards
to Gene Baro, 1951 June 15 - 1959 Sept. 4. Gainesville, New Orleans, Blacksburg, VA. Letters from Baro to Carleton, 1964-1965
are found in the William G. Carleton Papers, University of Florida Archives.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 15 June 1951. Gainesville. 1 p., envelope. Refers to "deal" that Gene has "cooked up" with Blanche [Knopf?] Wants Baro
to get him a reservation on the June 29th sailing of the Queen Mary, and details travels plans from Evansville [Indiana] to
New York.
|
|
|
|
3 Postcards, year illegible, Gainesville, addressed to Baro in New York, accompanied by envelope postmarked Oct. 30 1951,
apparently forwarding cards back to Gainesville.
|
|
|
|
ALS. [1951 December 14] Gainesville. 2 p., with envelope. Baro's appointment as curator has been announced. Asks Baro to reserve
him a room at the Grosvenor at the end of the month. Plans for New York visit and appointments [to UF faculty?]
|
|
|
|
ALS. [1952 July 26] Gainesville. 4 p. Long comment on "magnificent" speech of Adlai Stevenson [to Democratic National Convention]
Compares him to Woodrow Wilson and Newton D. Baker, ands says a speaker of his quality will be a new experience for the current
generation, which is unfamiliar with great presidential orators. Speaks of Baro's pride and hope it will not prevent him from
returning. The letter is apparently written as Baro is planning to embark for London.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1952 August 9. 2 p. Gives him advice for seeing London. Has deposited money into Baro's checking account. |
|
|
|
ALS. 1953 October 23 1952. Gainesville, 2 p., envelope. Welcomes him back [from England] |
|
|
|
ALS. 1953 January 20. 2 p., envelope. Has just reread their correspondence with the intention of destroying it, but could
not do so. Destroyed only four letters which involved others. Comments on the quality of his own letters. Would like them
back, if Gene does not want them. Letters indicate a "break" in their friendship when he bought the house.
|
|
|
|
TLS. [1953 March 22] 1 p., with envelope. Suggests they meet this week. |
|
|
|
ALS. [1953 March 27] 1 p., envelope. Sorry for Baro's illness; wants to talk. |
|
|
|
ALS. 1953 April 29. 1 p., envelope. Suggests they meet for dinner. |
|
|
|
ALS.1953 May 13. 1 p., envelope. Thanks him for dedication. |
|
|
|
ALS. [1953 June 27. Gainesville] 1 p., envelope. Declines invitation. |
|
|
|
ALS [1953 June 9. Gainesville] 2 p., envelope. Congratulates him on Times review, linking him with [Alberto?] Moravia. His
own piece ["An Atlantic Curtain"] in the American Scholar is bringing him acclaim. Moravia and Sartre have asked permission
to reprint it in European magazines.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 1953 August 23. 4 p. Thinks it is time to renew their friendship. He has come to know New Orleans well. Asks him to tell
Clyde [Miller] that he feels New Orleans has not been fully exploited literarily
|
|
|
|
ALS [1958 Feb. 23] Gainesville. 1p., envelope. His mother appreciates Baro'o visits to her in hospital. Invites him to dinner. |
|
|
|
Postcard. [1958 October 10. Gainesville] |
|
|
|
ALS in Christmas card. [1959 December 17] Gainesville. Refers to being in Blacksburg [VA] with Dallas [Edmonds?] The University
is in a state of decline. Johns Committee has moved on to Florida A&M College
|
|
|
|
TLS. 1959 Sept. 3, Gainesville. 2 p., envelope. Has sent his financial and business mail, and will mail "literary things"
immediately. He read some of Marjorie Rawlings's letters and is highly laudatory of them. Also sending things from the office.
|
|
29 |
Chappell, Virginia. ALS to Marjorie K. Rawlings; 7 Feb. 1956, East ST. Louis, IL. 4 p. High school student asking for list
of books, photographs, and biographical material.
|
|
30 |
Doherty, Jack |
|
|
|
6 TLLS and to Gene Baro. 19 April - 23 July 1953. Chapel Hill, NC. Written while completing his Ph.D. dissertation at the
University of North Carolina. Account of a research trip to Washington; comparisons of Chapel Hill and Gainesville; political
liberalism in Chapel Hill; investigation of person named Reynolds for leftist leanings; reading Reinhold's Niebuhr's Irony of American History.
|
|
|
|
A Postcard S. 15 December 1953 [Gainesville]. Invitation to party. |
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 3 March 1959. Gainesville. 1 p. Encloses mail for Clyde [Miller] in Vermont. Asks his help in finding a
job. Tension over report that has been forwarded to [UF President] Reitz. Property left by Clyde.
|
|
31 |
Douglas, Marjory Stoneman |
|
|
|
ALS to Gene Baro; 16 Jan. 1952 [Miami]. Appreciation for his review of her Road to the Sun for the Herald-Tribune. His comments
about "Rules of Evidence." With this is a TLS "Deacon[?] Murphy"; 23 Jan. 1952, Brooklyn, N.Y., to Gene Baro. The writer identifies
himself as an attorney and a friend of Douglas to whom he sent a copy of Baro's review. Says that Baro's comment on "rules
of evidence," while correct theoretically, are not followed in all jurisdictions.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro; 6 Feb. 1952. Coconut Grove, Fl. Is happy with his letter, because of its increased detail over her book.
Pleased to learn that he is in Gainesville and hopes to see him when she visits in April. She is giving her manuscripts to
the University of Miami. Letter from Marjorie Rawlings. The letter he received from her friend in New York concerning court
procedure.
|
|
|
|
A postcard S. to Gene Baro; 20 Feb. 1952. Coconut Grove, Fl. Set date to see him. |
|
|
|
TLS. 12 May 1952. Coconut Grove, Fl. Enjoyed talk with him in Gainesville. She is trying a story for the New Yorker, and the contract for a juvenile work has arrived from Scribner's.
|
|
|
|
TLS. 22 Dec. 1952. Coconut Grove, Fl. Sales of her novel. Has written a "junior novel" [Freedom River, Florida 1845] to be published by Scribner's. Concerned about what to do next, bur wants to write a non-fiction book on the Caribbean.
Has traveled extensively in the area. Also wants to write more novels. Says she relies on his judgment as did Marjorie Rawlings.
|
|
|
|
A Postcard S. 28 April 1953. Coconut Grove. Selling books for a dollar to the Coconut Grove library. |
|
|
|
TLS. 13 January 1954. Coconut Grove, Fl. Feelings of guilt and unhappiness [in Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings] Remorse over her
death. Expecting him to visit.
|
|
|
|
ALS. 25 October 1958, Old Bennington, Vt. Happy that she met him in the post office. A pleasure to find him in Bennington
and believes he will like it. Says she will give manuscript of her Alligator Crossing to University of Florida Library.
|
|
32 |
Dykes, John |
|
|
|
Telegram. 14 August 1953. Gainesville. Will not be on Monday's train [to New York] |
|
|
|
ALS. [17 August 1954. Citra, Fl.]. Home news; discarded girl from Wildwood. Regards to Maya [Deren?] and others. |
|
33 |
Ellis, Joe (Nephew to Norton Baskin). ALS to Clyde Miller. Crescent Beach, Fl. 26 Feb. 1957. 1 p. Asks for advice on attending
the University of Florida.
|
|
34 |
Keller, Helen. Form letter signed to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. 2 Feb. 1956. New York. 1 p. Asking support for the American
Foundation for Overseas Blind.
|
|
35 |
May, Philip S. (The writer was the attorney for Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Baskin. The Phil May Papers and other papers in the
Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Collection extensively document their relationship). 6 letters to Gene Baro; 28 May 1954 - 3 Feb.
1956. Jacksonville, Fl. Concerning various aspects of Marjorie Rawlings's estate, including the shipping of desk to Otto Lange,
claim of Will Mickens, bed bequeathed to Jim Hardy, and transfer of Cross Creek property to the Florida Endowment Corporation
(University of Florida). Also includes carbon copies sent to Baro of letters to Lange, 28 June 28 - 15 July 1954; Lange's
letter of June 25, 1954; Martha Mickens, with note to Baro, 17 November 1954; and Richard H. Suddarth, 19 Nov. 1954.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Calendared Correspondence: Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro and Other Miller Correspondence
|
| Box |
Folder |
| 2 |
1 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro 1954 (1 letter) |
|
|
|
Five envelopes, addressed to Gene Baro in London and with a Cross Creek return address, and without legible postmarks, that
cannot be matched with letters in the collection. At some point, prior to acquisition by the University of Florida, letters
and envelopes were separated
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1954 Sept 4., Gainesville, Fl., 1 p. Back in Gainesville after trip to New Orleans. Describes trip. Describes
conditions at the Creek. Learned that the Florida Endowment Fund board is considering moving Rawlings's books and furniture
to the Century Tower and establishing a Marjorie Rawlings room.
|
|
2 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro 1955. 5 TLLS with autograph notations to Gene Baro, 1955 June 7-July 12. Cross Creek.
8 pp. Letters to Baro in Europe, passing on news from Cross Creek, the University of Florida and about himself. Norton Baskin
has sold Marjorie Rawlings's Van Hornesville, New York, house, and invited him to go to New York with him. Secret River was
just published and is receiving good reviews. Mentions several stories he is working on and what he is reading. Has been rehired
by the University for the coming year, but at no increase in pay. Asks Baro to submit the story "Car's Paw" to Botteghe Oscure
for him. Plans to meet Baro in New Orleans, when he returns to the U.S.A.
|
|
3 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro, 1956 (19 letters, 3 postcards, 2 photographs) |
|
|
|
Postcard S. and 2 TLLS, with autograph notations, to Gene Baro, 1956 May 8-May 21. Cross Creek. 1 card, 2 pp. Commiserates
on Baro's illness. Things are the same at the Creek. Has had Estelle [relative, probably granddaughter of Martha Mickens]
in to clean. He is reading studies of Proust and considering a Proust parody. Thanks Baro for the Sibelius recordings. News
on cats at the Creek.
|
|
|
|
4 LLS to Gene Baro. 1956 June 1-June 26. Cross Creek and Gainesville. Asks about his interview with Elizabeth Otis. Advises
him to give her certain stories. Discusses his own work, principally a story called "A Structure in the Sea." Talks he had
recently with UF professors Archibald Robertson and Andrew Lyttle. Baro's annoyance over being mistaken for Peter Ustinov.
His recent illness. News of cats at the Creek. News of recent visit to Norton Baskin and dinner at Marineland. Miller Leake,
UF professor, has just died of a heart attack.
|
|
|
|
3 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1956 July 10-31. Cross Creek. 5p. Visit with Stanley Fouraker. News of the Creek includes reference to
rainy and hot period, work being done by Chet Crosby, threat of Mediterranean fruit-flies, and mating time among the animals.
His story, "The Blue Kimono." Asks to borrow money. Reading Joseph Conrad. Illness and recovery of Stanley [Fouraker?] Stanley
West brought a woman interested in writing her thesis on Rawlings to the Creek. Apologizes for inconveniencing Baro with request
for loan. Jack Lamb has been seriously injured in accident. Says that Baro is teasing him with incomplete details on becoming
friends with Edith Sitwell.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1956 August 6-August 17. 3 p., with photograph of Miller holding cat, enclosed with August 6th photo.
Stanley [Fouraker's?] health. Received check from Stad. Refers to clipping regarding a disagreement between Caitlin Thomas
and [John Malcolm] Brinnin. Visit from Stanley West. Went to Jacksonville with Bill Patterson. Martha [Mickens] has made him
guava jelly. Describes inner conflicts.
|
|
|
|
Postcard and 2TLLS. 1956 6 Sept. - 21 Sept. Cross Creek. 4 p. Comments on receiving Baro's letter from Paris and visit to
Norton. Norton is becoming absorbed with his family, and is separating himself from the world of Marjorie Rawlings. A seventeen
year-old nephew is living with him. Norton received a large amount of money from sale of Conch Island. News about Estelle
and Cissie [members of the Mickens family] Describes visit from Archie and Aline Robertson. Robertson was friendly and said
work on the house would be done shortly, but aroused some fear in Miller. Very unfavorable critique of Mrs. Robertson. New
about various publications, including the inclusion of Baro's work in Botteghe Oscuro. Sorry that Gene and Stanley have quarreled.
|
|
|
|
Postcard and 2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1956 Oct. 3-Oct. 28. Cross Creek. 3 p. Hurricane weather in Florida. Norton told him that
a group is interested in making a musical of The Yearling. Repairs on the house turned out to be more minor than he had expected. Long literary discussion involving his "A Structure
in the Sea," a story by Robert Musil with a similar title, Herman Broch's The Sleepwalkers, book by Colette, etc. Story in Time about Maria Callas.
|
|
|
|
4 LLS to Gene Baro. December 1-30. Cross Creek, New Orleans. 9 p., with photograph of Miller enclosed with Dec. 1st letter.
He is broke, due to dental work, expensive car repairs, etc. Claims he lives frugally. Compliments Gene on the Sebastian poems
in Stand. Publication opportunities in a magazine called Talisman. Relates news of a long confidential talk with Stanley West, who says that UF president J. Wayne Reitz will make the final
and irrevocable decision on whether Baro can return to UF. Reitz said he will not be able to live at the Creek again. Speculates
on possibilities of having this decision rescinded. Miller anticipates that he may no longer be allowed to live there after
this school year. From New Orleans, while on his way home, he relates additional news about the possibility of Gene's returning
to UF, as related by Stanley West and Archie Robertson through Ants Oras. Describes Christmas time in New Orleans. Back in
Cross Creek, he says that Stanley Fouraker has been in the area, but did not try to contact him. Elaborates on his conversation
with Stanley West about the prospects of Gene's being rehired at UF and on a visit to Ants and Livia Oras. Possibility of
a visit from Stad. He visited Crescent Beach a couple of weeks ago and Norton's attitude remains very cordial towards Gene.
The Creek grounds are in very poor condition; blames Chet Crosby. Norton thinks UF might sell it, and would buy it. Met Harnett
T. Kane in New Orleans. Has read Three Geishas.
|
|
4 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro, 1957 (8 letters) |
|
|
|
Envelope addressed to Gene Baro, London, from C. Miller, Cross Creek, postmarked Jan. 1? 1957, cannot be matched to any letter. |
|
|
|
TL to Gene Baro; 1957 Jan. 17. Cross Creek . 2 p. Stad has visited the Creek. They are jointly concerned about Gene's status
at UF and the Creek and think he should return. Nancy Cunard's memoirof George Moore. He and Stad had lunch with Stanley Fouraker
in Jacksonville. Fouraker was very critical of Baro. Barbara Larkin's sale of story to Good Housekeeping
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1957 Feb. 10, 16. 3 p. Says Baro is right in claiming that Reitz should not be pressured in making a
decision. The fruit has been picked from the grove by West Indian workers. Discusses prospects for two of his stories, "The
Blue Kimono," and "A Structure in the Sea."/ Describes a conversation with Andrew Lytle regarding the publication of Lytle's
new novel, In What Corner of the Night. Describes the cats at the Creek. Reading a Compton MacKenzie novel and Elizabeth Sprigg's study of Gertrude Stein.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1957 March 13, 21. Cross Creek. 3 p. Problem with broken water pump at the Creek. Glorious spring weather. Is troubled by forthcoming uncertainties. He is financially strapped and seeking new employment, as he is not sure of prospects
at UF and whether Baro will return. Has not heard from Norton.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1957 April 5, 24. Cross Creek. 3 p. Will choose to stay at UF, if he can get money for the summer and
a raise for teaching next year. Does not want to be permanently separated from Baro. He is nervous over a projected work,
"Ambuscade," for which he will seek a fellowship to write. Has just read all of Carl Van Vechten's novels. Need for a novel,
such as "Ambuscade," to parody contemporary southern literature. Unpleasant visit from Tove Neville, who asked many personal
questions. Believes Archie Robertson may be planning to do something to help Baro's situation.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1957 November 7. Cross Creek. 1 p. Baro's meeting with Dorothy Waring. Had an unpleasant visit from Norman
Berg, who described Marjorie Rawlings as a "failure." Stories sent to Harper's Bazaar were rejected.
|
|
5 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro, 1958 (14 letters, 3 postcards) |
|
|
|
2 envelopes, addressed to Gene Baro, 549 Madison Avenue, New York, from C. Miller, Cross Creek, without cancellation dates,
cannot be linked to any letter. Letters with this address are dated between January 9th and July 19th, 1958.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1958 January 9, 19. Cross Creek.2 p. Has written to Marguerite [Young?] Cold weather at the Creek, and
the pump has broken. Work on a story about a collapsed porch [an idea suggested by Cissie in an earlier letter. Cf. Sept.
1956] Went with Johnny Walker of Ocala to a Gerard Souzay concert. Refers to Baro's Jones review and to a [Tennessee] William
review and interview.
|
|
|
|
2 Postcards S. to Gene Baro. 1958 March 11-April 1. Postmark: Hawthorne, Fl. |
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1958 April 2. Cross Creek. 1 p. A spring night on Orange Lake. The pump has broken. Will spend Easter holidays
with Bill in Jacksonville. Sorry that Gene will not return as early as expected.
|
|
|
|
Postcard to Gene Baro. 1958 April 24. Potsmark: Hawthorne, Fl. Hopes that Gene's mother has improved. |
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro.1958 May 1. Cross Creek. 1 p. Details of Marjorie Rawlings's estate, as learned from Norton Baskin, who appears
to want to get away from St. Augustine. Glad that Gene's mother will be able to go back to Chicago. UF coeds may be permitted
to wear shorts to class. Gene will find the grounds of the house overgrown, when he returns. Received manuscripts from Mademoiselle.
Concern of Stanley West over Gene's situation.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1958 June 19. 1 p. An incident regarding Estelle [Mickens?] while she was cleaning the house. Baro has received
checks for reviews in the [Herald]-Tribune. Titus, a cat, is lost. Reading the Memoirs of St. Simon.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1958 July 4-18. Cross Creek. 3 p. The return, illnesses, and hospitalization of Titus. Baro's contacts
with Burroughs Mitchell of Scribner's and McDowell-Oblensky. Accidental death of Claude Murphree. Fourth of July spent with
Bill in Jacksonville. Hot weather.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1958 July 19. Cross Creek. 1 p. Visit from Norton regarding status of the Creek estate. He has leased the
grove. The University will not sell the house, or the property, expecting eventual appreciation in value. It wishes to maintain
the house as a monument, but will not spend any money on its upkeep. No news of their own status at the house. Norton's mother
has died. Thanks him for a photograph of Cynthia. In addition to mechanical difficulties with the car, he also received a
traffic ticket. Post script regarding Lillian Smith's Two Freedoms.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1958 August 1. Cross Creek. 1 p. Congratulates him on Bennington College appointment. Titus's illness. Describes
a new story, "The Bullet of the Hunter," he has written and complains that Mademoiselle still has not returned "Cat's Paw." Enjoyed Baro's review of Clellon Holmes's The Horn. Mozart's "Serenade for Winds."
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1958 August 4. Cross Creek. 2 p. Describes a visit from John Dykes, who is now a divorced father and has
been in the Army in Korea. Gives a physical description of Dykes and appraisal of changes in his character. Discussed people
they knew in Gainesville. Dykes plans to return to school. Discussion of Baro's work and feelings about him.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1958 August 23-Sept. 6. Cross Creek. 3 p. Problem with lost mail. Visit from Archie Robertson, Andrew
Lytle, and prospective UF faculty member, named McCloud, whom, Miller believes, is expected to replace him at the house. Fear
that he will be immediately evicted. Investigations are being resumed at the University. Finally got "Cat's Paw" back from
Mademoiselle, revised it and submitted it to Sewanee Review, which rejected it immediately. Has sent Baro's clothes, etc. to him. Titus and several other of the Creek cats have died.
Check for Gene from Poetry. Dreads coming of the new semester and will investigate all other possibilities.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1958 November 3-December 6. Gainesville, 2 p. Has been evicted from the Creek and is living temporarily
with Jack Doherty. He hopes to get an apartment that Phil Yonge, a law professor, is vacating. Explains arrangement for holding
Baro's property. Investigation by the Johns Committee continues. MacMillan has offered him a contract for"Ambuscade." Plans
to leave Gainesville. Illness of Professor [William] Carleton's mother. Carleton speaks of retiring.
|
|
6 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro, 1959 (4 letters, 1 clipping, 1 photograph) |
|
|
|
Unpostmarked envelope addressed to Gene Baro, Bennington Vermont. Return address Gainesville, Fl. Contains a photograph of
Miller with a. notation: "Boris Pasternak in America - at summer dacha," and news clipping with the headline "L'humiliation pamplemousse," and a. note "Letter follows! Clyde."
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1959 Feb. 5-19. Jacksonville Beach, Fl. 4 p. He has resigned from University, after being denounced to
the Johns Committee. Several others are leaving also. Johns is rumored to have called Cross Creek the "center of organized
debauchery." His application to Stanford was rejected. He speaks of coming to Bennington and emphasis that Baro "must not
come down here."
|
|
|
|
ANS to Gene Baro. 1959 March 6. Jacksonville Beach, Fl. Written on Western Union form. Problem with auto insurance. Expects
delay.
|
|
|
|
2 TLLS to Gene Baro. 1959 July 13-Sept. 11. New York, 3 p. News about a number of mutual friends. Goes to the ballet regularly
without paying. Performance of the Seven Deadly Sins with Lotte Lenya.
|
|
7 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro, 1960 (9 letters) |
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 Jan. 8. [Jacksonville Beach, Fl.] 1 p. Sees a lot of Stanley Fouraker, who is leaving soon for New
York.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 Jan. 22. Jacksonville Beach. 1 p. Unclear reference to a fashion model. Weather in Vermont and Florida.
His birthday. Hears little from Gainesville. Stanley [Fouraker] is now in New York.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 Feb. 11. Jacksonville Beach. 1 p. Critical response to a review by [Karl?] Shapiro [Baro's "Northwind"]
A visit from a friend from Gainesville. Adopted a sick kitten, which now is well.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 April 25. Jacksonville Beach. 1 p. Leaving for New Orleans. Asks him to send mail from creditors to
an address in San Francisco. First draft of "Ambuscade" is finished.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 March 31. Jacksonville Beach. 1 p., with envelope. Refers to a poem [by Baro?] in the Times. "Ambuscade"
is almost finished. Contacts with Stanley [Fouraker] Expects to go to New Orleans within the month. Asks about Norma.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 May 9. Jacksonville Beach. 1 p. Trip to New Orleans was not very interesting, but saw the DeGaulle's
and the new public library. Pleased for Baro's success with "Norma." Rita Smith appears to no longer be the fiction editor
of Mademoiselle; criticism of her successor. Stanley Fouraker has left for New York. William Carleton has postponed his retirement from UF.
Comment on Tennessee Williams and Gore Vidal.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 October 23. [New York] 1 p. Asks Baro to send trunk. Interview with Hunter [College] librarian. Jack
Avery may become Gian Carlo Menotti's secretary. Living at the Hotel Latham.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 November 5 [New York] 2 p. Trunk arrived. His step-father has had a stroke, and may not live. The Bronx
job [Hunter College?] has been offered to him, but he is afraid of what may happen if employer contacts the University of
Florida. Issue of Stand magazine. Probably will not get to Bennington before December. He is busy typing ["Ambuscade"]
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 October 23. [New York] 1 p. Starts new job at the Bronx. His step-fathers condition is unknown. Lunched
with A. L. Hart of Macmillan. Has more time for rewriting. Stad plans to visit Baro. Stanley [Fouraker] is arriving. Charles
Parrish was "up for Thanksgiving." Mentions old Florida contacts.
|
|
|
|
Neiswander, Rosemary. Typed transcript of a very unfavorable review [of Summer Dancers] Library Journal, December 1, 1960, with ANS "Clyde.'
|
|
8 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro, 1961 (3 letters) |
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1961 March 4. [New York] 1 p. Listening to Turandot. News of Stanley [Fouraker]
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1961 May 2 [New York] 2 p. Does not know what happened to Baro's books, which were taken from Cross Creek
house to the UF library. Comments about the condition of Baro, who apparently has been injured in an automobile accident.
He is moving into Herschel' apartment. Making final revisions to Summer Dancers [published 1961] He does not think it will be successful, but can do no more.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1960 May 16 [New York] 1 p. Will not be coming to Bennington as planned. Stad told him about Baro's new
car and condition. Possible showing and gallery deal for Stad with Tony Smith. Last two issues of Stand.
|
|
9 |
Miller, Clyde. Letters to Gene Baro, 1974. 2 letters. |
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1974 May 14. 1 p. Enclosing the official invitation for him to read at Pan American [University] Did not
get as much money for his Mexican trip as he wanted. University employment is difficult. May be able to get a job in Latin
American bibliography at Library of Congress.
|
|
|
|
TLS to Gene Baro. 1974 May 15. 1 p. Official letter inviting him to read poetry on Pan American University campus. (Accompanied
by copy of typed letter from Baro, May 25, 1974, accepting invitation.
|
|
10 |
Miller, Clyde. TLS to Miss Kulerich. 1955 August 22. RE proposal for the serial rights to his novella, "The Gentle Season."
Accompanied by TLS from Bernard W. Shir-Cliff, Ballantine Books, to Miller, 27 June 1955, and TLS Eaith Kulerich, A/S Bookman
Literary Agency, to Miller, 30 June 1955.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Calendared Correspondence: Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. Letters to Gene Baro, 1949-1953.
|
|
Consists of letters from the Pulitzer Prize winning author to Baro. Baro and Rawlings apparently became acquainted in 1949,
at the time she was preparing to donate her manuscripts and literary correspondence to the University of Florida. Baro was
Curator of the UF Libraries Creative Writing Collection. The bulk of the letters were written from Van Hornesville, NY, where
Rawlings spent the summers during the last years of her life. Other letters are written from Cross Creek, Crescent Beach,
and Gainesville, Florida, Richmond, Virginia, and from New York City, when Rawlings was hospitalized.
|
|
Rawlings was engaged in the writing of her final book, The Sojourner, during the period in which the letters were written. The writing and revision of the novel is one of the major topics of
the correspondence. Other topics include the donation of her papers to the University of Florida, her daily experiences in
Van Hornesville and elsewhere, including her domestic life and a succession of domestic helpers, visits to and from poet Robert
Frost, contact with the Owen Youngs family and other Van Hornesville neighbors, contacts with the dancer Pearl Primus, and
friends such as Julia Scribner Bigham and Bee McNeill. Rawlings had several illnesses during the period, which she discusses
in the letters. Her husband, Norton Baskin who remained in Florida during the summers, except for short visits to New York,
is frequently mentioned. She often discusses her current reading and other writers. The author most frequently referred to
is probably Marcel Proust. Letters from Richmond concern her research as the authorized biographer of friend and novelist
Ellen Glasgow.
|
|
She was concerned with the progress of her friend Gene Baro, as an aspiring writer, and a good part of the letters concerns
his personal well being and that of his friend, Albert Eugene Stadler (Stad), who painted the first portrait of Rawlings.
|
|
The corresponding letters from Rawlings to Baro are found in the Correspondence Series of the Marjorie Rawlings Papers. |
| Box |
Folder |
| 2 |
11 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS "Marjorie K. R. Baskin" to Gene Baroff. 1949 Feb. 28; St. Augustine. 2 p., envelope. Questions
spelling of his name and corrects that of hers. Suggests that he and [Stanley] West come to St. Augustine, rather than meet
her at Cross Creek. Has decided that the Maxwell Perkins letters should go to the University of Florida along with her manuscripts,
when she is ready to part with them. Clifford Lyons has urged that she donate her papers and letters to the University of
North Carolina. Does not want any fan-fare, when she donates the papers to UF.
|
|
12 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene Baroff. 1949 April 4; St. Augustine. 1 p. envelope. [James Branch] Cabell has returned
to Richmond, cancelling party. Has invited UF President James H. Miller and wife to dinner instead. Invites him and Stadler
to visit. Proust's peculiarities don't bother her.
|
|
13 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene Baroff. 1949 April 30; [postmark St. Augustine] 2 p. with envelope. She and Idella
are packing to leave for Van Hornesville. Invites him and Stadler to the Creek for a drink. The Cross Creek house has grown
shabbier since she married Baskin. Will spruce it up some, if she stays there during the winter. Describes the situation of
the Gilkysons, who are staying there at present. Finds that Baro is in the same "leaky-life boat" as herself as a writer.
Tells him to send Mann book to New York.
|
|
14 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene Baroff, with autograph note. 1949 May 30. Van Hornesville, N.Y. 2 p. with envelope.
Refers to dinner plates, apparently a gift from him. Nourished by reading the Mann stories. Comments on the openness
of Proust's letters and compares them to Gide's Journals. Describes work on her novel [The Sojourner] and life at Van Hornesville. Says that Marcia Davenport (East Side, West Side) has caught the spirit of New York better than any writer she knows. Describes Swiss music box.
|
|
15 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene Baroff. 1949 July 2, with July 7 note.Van Hornesville, N.Y. 4 p., with envelope. Report
from Norton on Baro's and Stadler's visit to him. Way to serve mango. Comparison of Gide and Proust. Death and reminiscence
of Sigrid Undset. Visit from Norton and Julia Scribner. A local woman will replace Idella, who is returning to Florida. Invites
him and Stadler for visit.His character, personality and "cruel smile." In the note, she reports that her new helper is not
"working out."
|
|
16 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene Baroff. 1949 July 27. Van Hornesville, N.Y. 1 p., with envelope. Remark on "big black
Bar" in the Smoky Mountains. Idella says she is ready to come back. MKR is waiting until she is certain Idella will stay she
is ready to leave. Has a young, Norwegian woman helping her. His expected visit.
|
|
17 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene [Baro]. 1949 August 1. Van Hornesville, N.Y. 2 p. Idella is begging to return and
is expected by the 20th. Describes route for him and Gene to take, when they visit.
|
|
18 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene [Baro]. 1949 Sept. 29 . Van Hornesville, N.Y. 3 p. Sorry that he is ill. Enjoyed his
visit. Uki [her cat] is ill, possibly a neurosis, and she will take him to the Cornell Veterinary College tomorrow. Has finished
reading the "superb" Proust letters. Likes to think Uki is "suffering for and with" her. The book is a "torment," and must
be largely rewritten. Quotes Proust and describes her writing technique. Urging Norton to visit. She will stay until November,
and she looks forward to him and Stad visiting at the Creek.
|
|
19 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene [Baro]. 1949 December 7. [Cross Creek] 2 p. Explains her comment that he may not take
his writing seriously enough. Asks him to bring some of his prose to read when he comes Saturday. A letter from a Van Hornesville
neighbor has made her "homesick" for New York. Norman Berg may be here Saturday. Expecting Norton, his boss Sonny Whitney,
and maybe the [Edith and Verle]Pope. Disagreement with Idella over cooking. Says her own bark is worse than her bite.
|
|
20 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. TLS to Gene [Baro]. 1949 Dec. 12 . Cross Creek. 2 p. Comments favorably on several of his stories.
His potential role as a father. Stadler is creatively freer than Gene or she. Is sending letters of introduction for him to
Carl Brandt, her agent, and to Charles Scribner. Norman Berg is arriving this afternoon.
|
|
21 |
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan. Photographic Christmas card of cat /s/ Marjorie, with envelope addressed to Gene Baro [1949? S.l.] |
|