Skip to Search



A Guide to the Jean Ajalbert Letters

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Ajalbert, Jean, 1863-1947
Title: Jean Ajalbert Letters
Dates: 1887-1939
Bulk dates: 1887-1917
Abstract: 27 letters and one poem from Jean Aljabert to Léon Hennique.
Extent: 0.02 Linear feet. 28 Items.
Identification: MS Group 41h
Language(s): French
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Jean Ajalbert (1863-1947) was a French poet, journalist, art critic and lawyer. Léon Hennique (1851-1935) was a French novelist and playwright.


Scope and Content

The collection includes 27 letters and one poem written by Jean Aljabert to Léon Hennique and members of the Hennique family, including Nicolette. The letters date from 1887 to 1939, with the bulk spanning 1887-1917. The poem is dated 1889.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The Ajalbert letters are part of the Miscellaneous Papers of French Authors collection at the University of Florida.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Items in this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Jean Ajalbert Letters, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 1 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. Not dated
1 2 Ajalbert letter to Léon Hennique. Not dated
1 3 Ajalbert letter to Mme. Hennique. Not dated
1 4 Ajalbert letter to Mme. Hennique. Not dated
1 5 Ajalbert letter to Hennique's family. Not dated
1 6 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. Not dated
1 7 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. Not dated
1 8 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1887 Feb. 4
1 9 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1887 Sept. 22
1 10 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1887 Sept. 29
1 11 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1899 June 22
1 12 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1900 April 6
1 13 Ajalbert letter to Mlle. Hennique. 1900 May 10
1 14 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1905 Nov. 25
1 15 Ajalbert letter to Nicolette Hennique. 1909 May 9
1 16 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1909 Nov. 16
1 17 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1910 April 19
1 18 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1910 Nov. 6
1 19 Ajalbert letter to Mme. Hennique. 1910 Dec. 4
1 20 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1912 (?) Dec. 3
1 21 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1912 Dec. 5
1 22 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1917 April 28
1 23 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1917 Dec. 1
1 24 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1914 Dec. 20
1 25 Ajalbert letter to L. Hennique. 1917 Dec. 30
1 26 Ajalbert letter to Nicolette Hennique. 1935 Jul 7
1 27 Ajalbert letter to Nicolette Hennique. 1939 Feb. 16
1 28 Ajalbert poem, untitled - annotated "A Léon Hennique". 1889 April 15

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

French literature -- 19th century
Hennique, Léon -- 1851-1935



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page