A Guide to the Venezuela - Netherlands Papers
Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff
University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2004
|
|
|
|
|
|
Provenance: |
Goslinga, Cornelis Ch. (Cornelis Christiaan), Collector |
|
Title: |
Venezuela - Netherlands Papers |
|
Dates: |
1870-1876 |
|
Abstract: |
Duplicates of documents, dated 1871-1900, including communiques, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, and other documents.
Research materials of C. C. Goslinga for a book about smuggling.
|
|
Extent: |
0.3 linear feet. (1 Box) |
|
Identification: |
Ms Group 75 |
Communiques, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, and other documents. The Venezuela - Netherlands Papers contain a great
deal of information about these countries from 1870-1876. There are documents about the negotiations of the national debt
of Venezuela with other countries, communiques and reports about various ships that were either captured or used to smuggle
goods and arms to and from Venezuela, as well as legislation regarding children born in Venezuela of foreign parents. Some
of the documents discuss the involvement of the United States in an attempt to settle disputes between Venezuela and the Netherlands,
and there are materials regarding Venezuelan presidential elections.
Cornelis C. Goslinga assembled the papers in preparation for a work on smuggling that he was having published.
Access
Collection is open for research.
The papers are extracts from the archives collection VZ, A-128, covering 1870-1894, at the Rijks Archief, The Hague. The original
documents are located in the Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores of Venezuela, and with Netherlands officials in The Hague.
[Identification of item], Venezuela - Netherlands Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries,
University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
Gift of Dr. Cornelis C. Goslinga.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Venezuela - Netherlands Duplicate Documents
|
Box 1 |
Negotiations of the national debt of Venezuela with foreign powers. Participants: D.A. Ruijters, Vella de Oro, H.F.G. Wagner,
Mazel, Rolandus, Rojas Paul, Roest Van Limburt, J. Rieras Aguimagalde, J.H. Beaujon, J.B. GravenHorst Gravenhage, Antonio
D. Guzman, Willem Sassen. 1870-1871
|
|
Memorandum and other communications in reply to General Guzman dealing with the Schooner Los dos Amigos and Mr. Rolandus. Participants: Wagner, Anotonio L. Guzman, Van Basse. 1871
|
|
Agreement by which Netherland agrees not to reappoint Mr. Rolandus as Charge d'Affairs at Carracas and will send a high official
to re-establish the diplomatic relations and set the debt of Venezuela. Participants: Hamilton, Fish, Westenberg, L. Gericke
Brakel. 1872
|
|
Legislation about those born in Venezuelan soil from foreign parents and foreign countries reaction. Compensation to foreigners.
Participants: Brakel, Westenberg, Hamilton Fish, Guzman Blanco, Gutierrez, B. Gericke Van Hervijnen. 1873
|
|
Diplomatic relations between Holland and Venezuela because of smuggling of products and arms for Curacao. Participants: Jesus
Ma. Blanco, A.F.G. Wagner, Jose A. Freyle. 1874
|
|
The affair of the vessels Midas and Coro, and Maracaibo smuggling of arms from Curacao to Venezuela. Participants: Van der Does deWillebois, Jose M. Rojas. Included
is the pamphlet: Het Nederlandsch Venezuelansch incident 1875. Doon Amigo delas Antillas (Jose Ma. Rojas). 1875
|
|
Communiques No. 1-14 exchanged between the Foreign Affairs ministers of Venezuela and the Netherlands, dealing with the rupture
of diplomatic relations of their countries. Printed material. Jose Ma. Rojas, Jose Ma. Blanco, J.D. de Villebois. 1875
|
|
Manuscript variation of the Communique No. 1, printed. It is a translation from the Spanish mss. of Jose Ma. Blanco. 1875
|
|
Summary of the evidences of grievances which support the Venezuelan claims for indemnification. Participants: Luis Maria Diaz,
Pedro Jose Rojas, Jesurum, Oduber, J.A. Mendez, Everty, Jeduah Senior, Maduro, Generales Leon Colina, Adame, Riera, Ramon
Rivas, Romaldo Falcon. All accused of illegal activities against Venezuela. Document signed by Jesus Ma. Rojas. 1875
|
|
Documents referred to by the summary. Includes all letters sent by Jesus Ma. Blanco to the Minister of Foreign Affairs during
the year 1874; letters of L.M. Diaz, Silva, S. Tejada, Brakel, B. Benitez, Angulo Guridi, Alexandro Goiticoa, Jorge Phillips,
Franco Hernandez M. Itrube, F.M. Bocauegra, Luis. Name of boats aprehended: Midas, Caro, Civiladades, J.p. Rodas Paul, Viciente
Coronado, Eduardo Caleaguo. 1875
|
|
U.S.A. negotiations to settle the dispute between Venezuela and the Netherlands. Participants: V.dD. de Willebois, Della Costa.
1876
|
|
Smuggling of merchandise and arms by the vessels Midas and Julius. Re-negotiations of the Venezuela National debt. Participants: Wagner, J. Cappe, G.A. Phillips, Igell Kliss, Andres A. Silva,
Brakel, Van Buiren, Dalman Kip. 1876
|
|
The vessels Julius, Juliette and Midas were taken with cargo bound for S[aint] Domingo and later returned. Wagner, J. Peruren, J. Cappe, Dalman Kip, Jusierum Van
Buiken. 1876
|
|
Re-negotiation of the Venezuela debt with world powers. Campaign for election of the new president. Participants: J. Cappe,
J.G. Wagner, Dalman Kip, Ervin Stamman, Eduardo Calcagno, Derby, Does de Willebois, Guzman Blanco. 1876
|
|
Concise Report of the Netherlands General Consul about his actions in Venezuela. 1876 |
|
Diplomatic and business relations of the Netherlands with Venezuela. 1876 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog: |
|
|
|
Subject Terms: |
|
|
Debts, Public -- Venezuela -- History -- 19th century. |
|
|
Diplomatic negotiations in international disputes. |
|
|
Netherlands -- Foreign relations -- Venezuela. |
|
|
Presidents -- Venezuela -- Election. |
|
|
Smuggling -- Venezuela. |
|
|
Venezuela -- Foreign relations -- Netherlands. |
|
|
Venezuela -- History -- 19th century. |
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access
Services.