Skip to Search



A Guide to the Francisco Anibal and Ramon Anibal Roldan Collection

Finding aid prepared by Carl Van Ness

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Roldan, Francisco Anibal
Creator: Roldan, Ramon Anibal
Title: Francisco Anibal and Ramon Anibal Roldan Collection
Dates: 1910-1970
Abstract: correspondence chronicling the businesses of Francisco Anibal and Ramon Anibal Roldan in the Dominican Republic.
Extent: 0.4 Linear feet. 1 box.
Identification: MS Group 150
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Francisco Anibal Roldan was a businessman in La Ramona, Dominican Republic. He started a stationery store in the early 1900s and later expanded to newspaper publishing, printing, real estate and imports. He established Imprenta Romana, a printing company, in 1918.

Roldan began publication of "El Triunfo" newspaper in 1930, the same year that General Rafael Leonidas Trujillo Molina came to power in the Dominican Republic. Roldan died in 1961, the year that Trujillo was assassinated. Francisco Roldan's son, Ramon Anibal Roldan, took over the family's business interests.

U.S. Marines were dispatched to the Dominican Republic in 1965 and there is documentation in the collection regarding Ramon Roldan's role in the "Constitutional Command" of La Romana, a local militia force.


Scope and Content

The correspondence chronicles the Roldan businesses as they developed over the years. The day-to-day operations of the printing company, periodicals, and import enterprises are revealed in great detail throughout the collection. For example, there is documentation on pricing and shortages during World War II.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of some of the photos and documents in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC).

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Francisco Anibal and Ramon Anibal Roldan Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 1 Roldan, F.A. and Imprenta Romana, 1910-1925
1 2 Roldan, Francisco Anibal, 1923-1927
1 3 "Una Revista por el Este" 1929-1930
1 4 "El Triunfo" (1 of 2 files) 1931
1 5 "El Triunfo" (2 of 2 files) 1931
1 6 "El Triunfo" 1932
1 7 "El Triunfo" 1933
1 8 "El Triunfo" 1930-1934
1 9 "El Triunfo" Roldan, F.A. and Imprenta Romana, 1939-1943
1 10 Roldan, F.A. and Imprenta Romana, 1942-1959
1 11 Roldan, Ramon Anibal, 1953-1971
1 12 Advertisements for Writing Supplies, 1930s and 1940s
1 13 "Constitutional Command" of La Romana, 1965

For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page