Skip to Search



A Guide to the Records of the Archives of Recorded Poetry

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Archives of Recorded Poetry
Title: Records of the Archives of Recorded Poetry
Dates: 1974-1978
Extent: 1 linear feet. (2 Boxes)
Identification: Ms Group 99


Biographical/Historical Note

In the 1970's the University of Florida Libraries' Rare Book and Manuscripts Department instituted a program to make recorded poetry available to schools in Florida as well as to preserve audio recordings of Florida poets. Although most of the tapes were from the Library of Congress poetry program, unique recordings were made of approximately thirty Florida poets, discussing poetry and reading from their works. The project was partially funded by a Florida Fine Arts Council grant.


Scope and Content

Audio recordings, correspondence, photographs, poems, biographies, and transcripts. The program's archives include records of the project and correspondence with individual Florida poets who were taped or with whom the project was discussed. A typical correspondence folder may also contain photographs, copies of poems, and bio-bibliographical information. Most of the correspondence is with Laura V. Monti, the project coordinator and chair of the Rare Book and Manuscript Department. Transcripts of fourteen of the Florida recordings are included.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Archives of Recorded Poetry, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Archives of Recorded Poetry Records and Transcripts


Box 1

Archives of Recorded Poetry - Brochure. 1977
Archives of Recorded Poetry - Grant, Budget, Contracts. 1974-1976
Archives of Recorded Poetry - Planning and organizaion. 1974-1978
Archives of Recorded Poetry - Release forms from recorded poets. 1975-1976
Transcripts of 14 recordings of interviews and poetry readings, conducted by Jon Gillespie and Laura V. Monti. Except for Juergensen and Maxwell, all have the poets listed as having transcripts below also have files of correspondence.
Janet Burroway
Robert Dana
Laurence Donovan
James Hall
Han Juergensen. (See also the Hans Juergensen Papers.)
Hanna Kahn. (See also the Hannah Kahn Papers.)
Gilbert Maxwell
Peter Meinke
James Nolan
Edmund Skellings
William Taylor
Evelyn Thorne
Charles Willeford
[Wyatt] Laurence Wyatt
Recorded poetry information from the Library of Congress.



Correspondence with Poets


Box 2

Recorded poetry information from the Library of Congress.
Miscellaneous.
Blackwell, Harriet Gray.
Branch, Beatrice.
Brock, Van K.
Browne, Roland A.
Burroway, Janet.
Chapman, Stella Tuttle.
Childers, Joanna.
Dana, Robert.
Donovan, Laurence.
Fitzgerald-Bush, Frank S.
Flaig, Phyllis M.
Goran, Lester.
Hall, James.
Hamilton, Alfred Starr.
Hetrick III, Lawrence.
Kahn, Hannah. (See also the Hannah Kahn Papers.)
Kershner, Brandon.
Locke, Duane. (See also the Duane Locke Papers.)
MacArthur, Gloria.
MacKenzie, Jean West.
Maxwell, Gilbert.
Meinke, Peter.
Nathan, Norman.
Noble, James.
Nolan, James.
Owen, Guy.
Rubin, Larry.
Shapiro, Nolan.
Shows, Hal Stevens.
Skellings, Edmund.
Taylor, William E.
Thorne, Evelyn.
Ventadour, Fanny.
Wallace, Aurelia "Chick".
Wyatt, Wyatt.
Willeford, Charles.



Selected Subjects and Access Points

The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog:
Organizations:
Archives of Recorded Poetry.
Florida. Fine Arts Council.
University of Florida. Libraries. Rare Book and Manuscripts Dept.
Personal Names:
Monti, Laura Virginia.
Subject Terms:
Contemporary Florida, 1960-.
Poetry -- Study and teaching -- Florida.
Poets.


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page