Special Collections, General Subject Manuscripts Collection

 

 
Box 7: Personal Papers of and Papers Relating to Ernest M. Mickler



#1:  Ernie Mickler. Interview by Cal Yeomans, Crescent Beach, Oct. 7-8, 1988. 118 pp. Transcription of taped interview.

#2:   Addresses and envelopes.
Addresses written on various papers, some in EMM's hand. Empty envelopes, probably saved for the address. Executive Data Book for 1987; many addresses written in Address section.
Includes some miscellaneous lists and notes.

#3:  Automobile Papers
Certificate of Title for 1984 Chevrolet, transferred from EMM to Gary Dale Jolley; Dec. 28, 1987.
Rental agreement between Yarborough Companies, St. Augustine, and EMM; June 2, 1987.
Service receipts.
Insurance policies with Liberty Mutual. Registration form.

#4:   Birth Certificate (2 certified copies); Ernest Matthew Mickler, born St. Vincent's Hospital, Duval County, August 23, 1940.

#5:  Miscellaneous Business Papers:
Bank, library, and voter registration cards. Bills and receipts.
Record of Expenses S. EMM; [n.p., n.d]
Form letter from Fidelity National Card Services; Baton Rouge, July 1, 1986, denying VISA card application.
"911 Task Force" forms; United States Postal Service and St. John County, FL.
Receipts for certified and insured mail.
Copy of invitation to party honoring "the publication of White Trash Cooking ...    February 19,    1986 ... Key West ... " Video Magic Membership card.
Copies of bills. Airline ticket copies. A.Ms. with flight information and drawing.

#6:  Deposit Receipt & Purchase Sales Agreement form S. by EMM offering William Rawle $68,000 for property in St. Johns County; Oct. 2, 1986. 3 p., incl. Addendum A. With copy of Buyer's Estimated Closing Costs 1 p. A copies).
Deposit Receipt & Purchase Sales Agreement form S. by EMM offering William Rawle $71,500 for property in St. Johns County; Oct. 4, 1986. 3 p., incl. Addendum A and B.    With copy of Buyer's Estimated Closing Costs 1 p.
Deposit Receipt & Purchase Sales Agreement form(copy) S. by EMM and William Rawle offering $71,500 for property in St. Johns County; Oct. 4, 1986. 3 p., incl. Addendum A, B and C .    With copy of Buyer's Estimated Closing Costs 1 p.

#7:  Funeral register; "In memory of EMM ... entered into rest, November 15, 1988, Moccasin Branch, Elkton, F1." Funeral Service Program; "In memory of Ernest Matthew Mickler ... St. Ambrose Catholic Church, Elkton, Fl. ...

#8:  A inscription S. 1 p. taped to ANS "Lynwood" [Dyal] to Cal [Yeomans]; [n.p.] Nov. 12, 1988 with a second note from Lynwood to Cal and a message concerning EMM's hospitalization; Nov. 4 [1988].
Photocopy of title page from SS, including the same inscription as above.    (The original is found in Box 3, #1.)

#9:  Release for use of photographs to EMM from various people; [v.p., v.d.]

#10:  Typed resume; Ernest Mathew Mickler; [n.p., 1977?]

#11:  White Trash Cooking copyright registration form (copy) with copy of money order and blank form

#12:  WTC Publicity
Press release about EMM; itinerary for several tours (1987); collection of testimonials.

#13:  Last Will and Testament of EMM (unsigned draft, 1987. 3 p. accompanied by TLS from Lucinda H. Young (attorney); Jacksonville, Nov. 5, 1987. 1 p.

#14:  Credit Bureau of St. Augustine.
Printed letter; St. Augustine, November 9, 1987. 1 with copy of credit report.

#15:  Great Western Savings
Form letter S.; Jacksonville, November 18, 1986. Denies request for property loan. Accompanied by ANS from Frank Jernigan, loan agent.

#16:  Jargon Society
Letter of Agreement between Jargon Society and EMM for publication of WTC; Winston-Salem [n.d.] 3 p.
Invoices for copies of WTC sold to EMM;. February 11 and March 26, 1986.
Ernest Matthew Mickler. The Jargon Society invites you ... in honor of Jonathan Williams' 57th birthday at Ranleigh, McLean, Virginia, Saturday, March 8th, 1986, 7 pm ... [printed invitation]
Ernest Matthew Mickler ... and White Trash Cooking on Southern Safari, August 1986 ...[Itinerary of book signing trip in Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.]
Printed memo to Jargon Board Members and Others ... from Tom Patterson ... re: ... Jargon Weekend; January 21, 1987. [Includes WTC photography tour] With A. notes by EMM.
"White Trash Cooking ... Publication date: April 27th, 1986." Printed testimonials for WTC.
Cancelled check and copy of chek to EMM. Royalty statement.
Flyer advertising St. EOM in the Land of Pasaguan, published by the Jargon Society.

#17:  Johnson, Meredith.    South in My Mouth.    [Atlanta, 1984] Inscribed to EMM.

#18:  Jolley, Gary Dale
Miscellaneous business papers of Gary Jolley: t documents, receipts, check book, etc.

#19:  Miami Book Fair (1987)
Contract for performance, Nov. 15, 1987; November 2, 1987 accompanied by TLS from Yilliam C. Coppolechia; [Miami] Nov. 3, 1987.  LS Barbars Skigen; [Miami] Oct. 23, 1987. 2 p. Welcoming EMM as guest on Epicure Row at the fair.
Blank form "Epicure Row 1987," 2 copies. Map of exhibition area with ms. directions.

#20:  O'Dell, David (Visting Nurses Association, Duval
County) ANS to EMM and Gary Jolley, Jacksonville, July 11, 1988. 1 p. re: pharmaceutical discount with printed material on Aids-Arc Discount Modification Program.

#21:  Pruzan, Robert, photographer.
1987 South of Market Bare Chest Calendar.    [San Francisco, S. F. Eagle, 1986] Inscribed to Ernie and Gary.

#22:  "A Real Georgian ..." printed sheet; inscribed to Ernie by KGB, 1985.

#23:  Sarton, May
Letters from Maine. New York [1984]. WTC brochure with a note from EMM to Gary Jolley inserted. All in an envelope with a notation by Cal Yeomans.

#24:  Slaughter, William
Typed ms. (poem) "Losing My Innocence"; Washington [n.d.]. 2 pp. inscribed to Bob and Ernie.

#25:  Ten Speed Press (Berkeley, CA)
Typed proposal (copy) signed by Phil Wood and George Young for purchasing rights to WTC from the Jargon Society. Statements of account.
Address of Ten Speed Press in EMM's hand. Envelopes from Ten Speed Press addressed to EMM.

#26:  Wallace & Sheil Agency, Inc. (New York) Statement of accounts of EMM; Sept., 1987 - June, 1988. Envelopes.


Box 8: Miscellaneous Publications and Papers


#1:   "America, My Country," ms. poem. 3 pp. In unidentified hand.

#2:   Anderson, Donald
The Paintings of Donald Anderson ... North Dakota Museum of Art, Grand Forks, ND, Oct. 8 - Nov. 15, 1987. With envelope addressed to EMM.

#3:   Arrants, Clifford Beatrice Bishop. Yesterday Tomorrow. Aunt Cliff. [Palatka, FL.] Placebo Press, 1985. Poems with ms. corrections.

#4:  Babson, Elizabeth Dillard. Creative Cooking with the North Carolina Ramp. [Asheville, n.d.]
1960.

#5:   Betty Crocker's Party Book. New York, Golden Press,

#6:   Costume mask from Madame Tussaud's collection.

#7:  Dinner with the Authors Clippings from Today, Feb. 15, 16, and 21, 1983.

#8:  Dionne quintet calendar, 1950.

#9:  Duval Aids Care & Education (DACE) portfolio of information for HIV-positive individuals.

#10:  Johnson, Ronald, "And Save the Burning Lava Flow," a Bouquet of the Uncookable."  Typescript (copy) . Signed by the author.

#11:  Jonathan Williams' Day Book, ;week no.4; printed leaflet.

#12:  Kahn, Gus, "The Kinky Kid Parade" [music score]  New York, Leo. Feist, 1925.

#13:  Liberty magazine calendar for 1932 [1988].

#14:  Clippings and pages from the Macon (Ga) County Times [v.d., 1987] Includes columns by Melissa [Falls]

#15:  Mills, Evelyn. Typed ms., "If I'd Only Listened to Daddy."

#16:  Owens, Walter.  Original work of art. Signed; Owens '84.

#17:  Publishers Catalogs Doubleday, Spring & Winter, 1988 Bantam, 1987-88; Summer, 1988.

#18:  Real estate and soil maps; St. Johns County, Fl.

#19:  United Daughters of Confederacy Magazine, v. 40, no.5 (May, 1987).

#20:  Young, Joyce LaFray. Tropic Cooking; the New Cuisine from Florida and the Islands of the Caribbean. [Berkeley, Ca., Ten Speed Press] 1987.

#21: WTC pin-on button, etc.

#22:  Printed business cards, cash register receipts,

#23:  Miscellaneous clippings, copies from magazines, newsletters, etc.


Box 9: Andrew Holleran Writings


#1:  "Advise and Castrate," New York Native Sept. 23, 1989, p. 15-18.

#2:  "Black is Black," Village Voice, April 3, 1990, p.39

#3:  "Letter from Home: Keystone Heights," copies from unidentified magazine. With note from Cal Yeomans attached.

#4:  Wigway, Dec., 1990 [Article by Andrew Holleran about Gainesville Murders, 1990]

#5:  Christopher Street, no. 89, 90, 96, 99, 112-124, 126-129, 132, 135 [v8, no. 5, 1984 - v. 12, no.3, 1989] Each issue contains Holleran's "New York Notebook." Some issues contain additional articles. [No. 130 may be found in Box 5, Folder 2].


Box 10: Cal Yeomans Papers


#1:  T.L.S. from Robert Chesley; San Francisco, Jan. 10, 1990. 3 p. Photo and typed ms. (copy) of Chesley's Gay Theatre for the 90's attached. 6 p.  Chesley. Private Theatricals; Morning, Noon & Night Obituary Notice; Robert Chesly, 1943-1990, from San Francisco Bay Guardian; Dec. 17, 1990.

#2:  White, Edmund. "Out of the Closet; onto the Bookshelf," New York Times Magazine, June 16, 1991, p. 22-24,35.

#3:  Bukovnik, Gary. Flowers. New York, Abrams, 1990. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, Easter, 1991.

#4:  Patrick, Robert. Untold Decades. New York., St. Martins Press, 1988. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, July 11, 1989.
Mercy Drops and Other Plays. N.Y. Calamus Books, 1979. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, July 11, 1989. Kennedy's Children. N. Y., Samuel French. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans, July 11, 1989.  Theatre Programs for his Judas. Trial of Socrates.

#5: Williams, Jonathan. Quote. Unquote. Inscribed to Cal Yeomans

#6: Yeomans, Cal.  Program from The Monk and the Hangman's Daughter; a Folk Opera. [Atlantic Center for the Arts, May 7-8, 1985). The Line Forms at the Rear; typed ms. (copy).  Crystal River, 1980.
Review (photocopy) of performance of Sunsets: a Trilogy by Cal Yeomans. Bay Area Reporter, Sept. 16, 1982.
"Cal Yeomans Reading from Pieces of Way ... New York ... October 10, 1986." In envelope inscribed to EMM.
"Calvin Yeomans, CS Portfolio," Christopher Street, no. 114, p. 40-47.


PHOTOGRAPHS AND VIDEOS
BOXES 11 and 12:



Photographs probably taken by EMM for use in his book. Pictures are primarily of backwoods areas in North Florida, or southern Georgia and Alabama. Photographs are lettered consecutively by roll A - Z and AA-GG and are also lettered on back, but there is no list, or description of the photographs. Some numbers are missing.


Box 11: Two plastic cases, containing photos marked as A-J and K-T.

Box 12: Continuation of Box 11.

One plastic box marked U-BB. Rolls CC-GG have been inserted.

One envelope containing roll HH and processing envelopes for CC-HH. The envelope for EE is labelled "Jolley Family," apparently photographs taken on a trip to North Carolina by EMM and Gary Jolley.

Five Video Cassetts:
Key West Video, Jan. 12, 1986-Jan. 22, 1986. EPCOT, Curry House, Ernest Mickler, Mallory Square, Fairchild Gardens, Everglades.

Dinner with the Authors, 1986.

Dinner with the Authors, 1987. Length: 58:00, Date: April 22, 1987. Copyright 1987, the Orlando Sentinel.

White Trash Cooking, Newscenter 39, Aircheck, Nov. 17, 1986. San Diego, KCST.

Ernie on David Letterman.


Box 13: Photographs


#1:  Photographic negatives of pictures in boxes 11 and 12. Mounted in plastic sheets, labelled A-Z and AA-HH. Filed in loose-leaf notebook.

#2:  Color photograph ( trimmed to 8' x 8 ") of Cal Yeomans (nude) and woman identified as Debby; mounted with ANS to EMM on verso; Key West, December, 1985. Signed by Photographer Michael Haykin(?).

#3:  Two mounted photographs of EMM by Cal Yeomans; black and white photo, "Ernie, Key West, Summer, 1985," and color photo with ANS "Cal Yeomans, Key West, 1985" on front and verso of mount.

#4:  B&W negatives and prints of EMM with envelope marked "Cover jacket photos."

#5:  Photographs of EMM and Gary Jolley (B&W).  Three 1x1 1 1/2 photos mounted on [Valentine's?] card, annotated "Ernie & Gary," Key West, 1986. Signed inside, "Cal" [Yeomans].
One (5x7) photo of GJ.    Inscribed on verso "To Mother with Love, Gary," Key West, 1986.
Two (5x7) photos of GJ and EMM.

#6:  Eleven colored slides of EMM and unidentified woman; Feb., 1986.

#7:  Sheet (8 1/2 x 11) of twenty-four b&w individual portraits of EMM (1x1 1/2").

#8:  B&W photograph (8 1/2 x 11) of EMM receiving diploma at Mills College. Photo by Larry Tiscornia, San Francisco Chronicle.

#9:  B&W photograph of EMM signing copies of WTC at the Book Collection, Greensboro, NC. Event and participants described on verso. Accompanied by ANS "Carol Lock," of the Book Collection, Septa 10, 1986.

#10:  Ten B&W photographs of EMM preparing food. Identified on back as "print property of Time Inc." Mailed to EMM, September 8, 1986.

#11:  B&W photograph (8 1/2x11) of EMM with fry pan and copy of WTC.

#12:  Two B&W photographs of EMM with dog and peacock. Accompanied by explanatory letter from St. Augustine Record writer, Feb. 29, 1989.

#13:  Thirteen b&w photographs (8 1/2x11) numbered consecutively on verso of an unidentified artistic or dramatic performance.

#14:  Celebrity photographs:
BW photo of Stephan Boyd signed "Best Wishes" as Messala in Ben Hur. Printed note on back.
B&W photograph of Skeeter Davis. Inscribed to EMM. Also inscribed to Ernie by Ralph Emery.
B&W photograph of Connie Francis inscribed to EMM.
Photographs removed to Belknap Collection.

#15:  Color photograph (8 1/2 x 11) of cake. Proposed cover photograph for SS. In paper cover.

#16:  Color photograph of unidentified woman.    Inscribed, "To Molly from Polly ..." Mounted signed: Don Van Der Linden, photographer(?).

#17:  Black and white photographs (prior to 1950), possibly Mickler family.

#18:  Nude male photographs;
3 1/2" x 5" photograph of EMM at beach.
4 4"x6" photos of EMM and others. Processed July, 1983.
1 negative roll with 22 4"x6" prints, including several nude shots of GJ. Roll also includes seascapes and domestic photos. One print from this roll is mounted on the scrapbook pages noted below.
2 4"x6" nude photos of GJ and homoerotic photo of unidentified male.
17 4"x6" photos mounted on scrapbook sheets. Include EMM, GJ, and unidentified others.

#19:  Renfern, Robert C. "Bobby", Nov. 6, 1944-April 19, 1987.    Color photograph (5x4 1/2)

#20:  Postcards
Blank picture postcards of various sizes and scenes. 1 note card with cover photo of watermelons.

#21:  Colored slides in plastic box of Mexican weaving and embroidery. 32 slides, 1977-1981.


BOX 14: Miscellaneous Photographs


The collection contains many snapshot photographs of EMM, taken by him, or in his posession. Insofar as possible the photos are grouped together according to the original roll. In some cases, both negatives and prints are found. In other cases, only one or the other. Where the original roll could not be determined, photos of the same size and processing style have been placed together and are grouped to some extent by subject.

Envelopes #1 - #17 contain both colored negatives and prints. Some negatives/prints may be missing. Prints are usually 4" 6". Negatives are 35 mm. (1 x 1 1/2").

#1:  Two rolls (55 prints), apparently taken in Hawaii, Oct. 1987(?).

#2:  20 photos of details of a weaving (by EMM?).    "And also Ernie Mickler" overlaid on weaving.

#3:  26 photos, apparently from a book signing trip.

#4:  2 photos of bullet-riddled kitchen range.

#5:  38 photos of group, possibly a Mickler family/friends gathering.

#6:  Two rolls of photos of North Florida(?) woods/cypress swamp, incl. EMM and friends.

#7:  27 photos from the Washington, D.C. area, incl. EMM.

#8:  22 photos ( 3 1/2" x 5"), some apparently taken in NF at EMM home(?) and others around Mount Mitchell, NC. Envelope marked "Rosemary [Rinni?], Ernie, etc."

#9:  31 photos (3 1/2" x 5") of a social event, probably a Jargon Society gathering. Includes EMM and Jonathan Williams.

#10:  21 photos (3 1/2 x 5) of New York City scenes, especially around Central Park.

#11:  Negative roll and partial prints of small group in a home, featuring a zebra rug. Includes six additional prints which appear to be of same gathering, but which are from a different roll.

#12:  21 photos, incl. exterior and interior photos of [EMM's home in Elkton?]; domestic animals, church cemetery, etc.

#13:  21 Domestic photos, including EMM and group. Includes photo of roadside stand, advertising WTC, which was used on cover of SS.

#14:  Informal gathering of friends, including sea and boat scenes. Probably taken in Key West. Includes 6 photos of EMM, GJ, and others.

#15:  Negatives only of various scenes, including deer and scenes from London. Probably taken on EMM's trip to England to visit Kit Wolcott. Eight prints similar in content, but from a different roll, are included.

#16:  Six negatives and 49 prints. Photos appear to be of birthday party for Jonathan Williams, held at Ranleigh, McLean, Va., March 8, 1986. The envelope also contains six smaller photos from the same party labelled on verso "Photo: J M Edelstein, March 8, 1986,"

#17:  Photographs of crossed-dressed males, including one roll of negatives in envelope marked: "First Ladies - Trick or
Treat." , 1 strip of four negatives, and a disc negative. Includes 24 different prints, with multiple copies of two.
Envelopes #18 - 20 contain 35 mm. negatives for which matching prints have not been identified:

#18:  Strip of four negatives, including EMM in a domestic setting.

#19:  Negative roll taken at cemetery with tombstone of Lt. W. A. Mickler, C.S.A.

#20:  Two rolls of photos of peacocks and other fowl. Probably taken at Elkton.

The remaining envelopes contain prints, without negatives. Prints found in the same processing envelope have been kept together. Others have been grouoed together, according to size, processing style, and similarity of subject matter.

#21:  18 Miscellaneous photos, primarily of caged fowl and other domestic animals.

#22:   3 Culinary photographs, incl. EMM cooking.

#23:  11 Domestic photos; location unknown.

#24:   8 photos of picnic scene, apparently at St. Ambrose Church at Moccasin Branch.

#25:   2 domestic scenes. Inscribed "Your 'White Trash Family' " on verso; Jan.

#26:  19 photos of dilapidated chairs.

#27:   Photograph of moth on wall; with processing envelope made out to John W. Keasler, Los Angeles, March 25, 1988.

#28:   Swimming pool scenes and costume festival; Key West?

#29:   Mardi Gras scenes; also. still photos of vegetables; New Orleans?

#30:   Photographs probably from Mexico; 1980.

#31:   EMM and friends; Monterey, 6 oct. 1982. Inscribed on verso to Bob and Ernest from Carlos.

#32:   Photographs of EMM and various unidentified friends.

#33:   Photographs of various scenes and people.

#34:   Publicity photo of EMM taken by Cal Yeomans, 1988 with ANS by "Cal."

#35:   Two photos of EMM and friends from the Oasis (Key West), Jan. 1984.    Iron on stove, Sept. 1981, published in WTC, and 3 photos stamped Sept. 1984 on verso, probably from guest house in Key West.

#36:   Two photos of individual men; Sept. 1984.

#37:   5" x 7" exterior photograph of home. This house appears in numerous photographs throughout the collection and may be EMM's home at Elkton, Fl.

#38:   Photo of Cal Yeoman inscribed to EMM, date 1985; photo of unidentified man with note on verso from Cal Yeoman for "real good big '86!"

#39:   Photographs of men and women swimming.

#40:   Photos at Yardley(?) Cottage, including EMM.

#41:   Photos of EMM at book signing.

#42:   Miscellaneous photos.
Two unidentified women; March, 1971.
3 small studio portraits, school pictures and wedding
couple.
Polaroid photo of EMM and unidentified man. Polaroid of man, identified as Frederick Hartley on verso, cooking stew.

#43:   Two photos (3 1/2x5 and 5x7) of EMM lying on ground with pigs in the background. The same, or similar, photograph was published in the dust jacket of WTC.

#44:  14 photographs of a group dinner, sea scenes, and food. Key West?

#45:  Miscellaneous photographs of mixed sizes, most including EMM.

#46:  Outdoors photographs, including wildflowers, inland waterways, beach, and sea. Numerous photos of EMM, GJ, and unidentified friends.

#47:  9 photographs of EMM, GJ, and unidentified men.

#48:  Black and White Photos.
1 photo of woman, inscribed with note [to EMM) on verso. The Studio 1986 ... Love, Stephen & Tommy"; with envelope; Savannah, 12 Dec. 1986.
Couple, in envelope marked "Ernie (White Trash Cookbook)."

#49:  Post card of hotel pool in Merida, Mexico, with cut-outs of nude male and of a female figure pasted on.


Box 15:

GA: a Monthly Gay Magazine no. 30, July, 1988-no. 32, Oct. 1988, no. 34, Nov. 1988 - no. 37, Feb. 1989; 39, April, 1989, - 42/3, August, 1989.




















 


UF LIBRARIES

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

MANUSCRIPTS PAGE

MANUSCRIPTS GUIDE


For further information (please register before receiving staff assistance), please contact:

Special Collections Access Services.